Abbildungen der Seite
[ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]
[ocr errors]




[ocr errors]


those acts or treaties shall relate to the said States, or their citizens and inbabitants; and that the Judiciaries of the several States shall be bound thereby in their decisions, any thing in the respective laws of the individual States to the contrary notwithstanding

8. Resolved, That in the original formation of the Legislature of the United States, the first branch thereof shall consist of sixty-five members; of which number,

New Hampshire shall send three,

Rhode Island

one, Connecticut

five, New York

six, New Jersey

four, Pennsylvania

eight, Delaware

one, Maryland

six, Virginia

ten, North Carolina

five, South Carolina

five, Georgia

three. But as the present situation of the states, may probably alter in the number of their inhabitants, the Legislature of the United States shall be authorized, from time to time, to apportion the number of representatives; and in case any of the States shall hereafter be divided, or enlarged by addition of territory, or any two or more States united, or any new States created within the limits of the United States, the Legislature of the United States shall possess authority to regulate the number of representatives, in any of

[ocr errors]



[ocr errors]


[ocr errors]


[ocr errors]



the foregoing cases, upon the principle of their number of inhabitants, according to the provisions hereafter mentioned, namely--Provided always, that representation ought to be proportioned to direct taxation. And in order to ascertain the alteration in the direct taxation, which may be required from time to time, by the changes in the relative circumstances of the States,

9. Resolved, That a census be taken within six years from the first meeting of the Legislature of the United States, and once within the term of every ten years afterwards, of all the inhabitants of the United States, in the manner and according to the ratio recommended by Congress in their resolution of the eighteenth of April, 1783; and that the Legislature of the United States shall proportion the direct taxation accordingly.

10. Resolved, That all bills for raising or appropriating money, and for fixing the salaries of the officers of the Government of the United States, shall originate in the first branch of the Legislature of the United States, and shall not be altered or amended by the second branch; and that no money shall be drawn from the public treasury, but in pursuance of appropriations to be originated by the first branch.

11. Resolved, That in the second branch of the Legislature of the United States, each State shall have an equal vote.

12. Resolved, That a National Executive be instituted, to consist of a single person ; to be chosen by the National Legislature, for the term of seven years; to be ineligible a second time; with power


to carry into execution the national laws; to appoint to offices in cases not otherwise provided for; to be removable on impeachment, and conviction of malpractice or neglect of duty; to receive a fixed compensation for the devotion of his time to the public service, to be paid out of the public treasury.

13. Resolved, That the National Executive shall have a right to negative any legislative act; which shall not be afterwards passed, unless by two third parts of each branch of the National Legislature.

14. Resolved, That a National Judiciary be established, to consist of one supreme tribunal, the Judges of which shall be appointed by the second branch of the national Legislature; to hold their offices during good behaviour; to receive punctually at stated times, a fixed compensation for their services, in which no diminution shall be made so as to affect the persons actually in office at the time of such diminution.

15. Resolved, That the National Legislature be empowered to appoint inferior tribunals.

16. Resolved, That the jurisdiction of the National Judiciary shall extend to cases arising under laws passed by the General Legislature; and to such other questions as involve the national peace and harmony.

17. Resolved, That provision ought to be made for the admission of States lawfully arising within the limits of the United States, whether from a voluntary junction of government and territory, or otherwise, with the consent of a number of voices in the National Legislature less than the whole.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

18. Resolved, That a republican form of government shall be guaranteed to each State; and that each State shall be protected against foreign and domestic violence.

19. Resolved, That provision ought to be made for the amendment of the Articles of Union, whensoever it shall seem necessary.

20. Resolved, That the Legislative, Executive and Judiciary powers, within the several States, and of the National Government, ought to be bound, by oath, to support the Articles of Union.

21. Resolved, That the amendments which shall be offered to the Confederation by the Convention ought, at a proper time or times, after the approbation of Congress, to be submitted to an assembly, or assemblies, of representatives, recommended by the several Legislatures, to be expressly chosen by the people to consider and decide thereon.

22. Resolved, That the representation in the second branch of the Legislature of the United States shall consist of two members from each State, who shall vote per capita.

23. Resolved, That it be an instruction to the Committee to whom were referred the proceedings of the Convention for the establishment of a National Government, to receive a clause, or clauses, requiring certain qualifications of property and citizenship in the United States, for the Executive, the Judiciary, and the members of both branches of the Legislature of the United States. 200

With the above Resolutions were referred the propositions offered by Mr. C. PINCKNEY on the

Vol. I.-77*

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

twenty-ninth of May, and by Mr. PATTERSON on the fifteenth of June.


MONDAY, August 6TH.

In Convention,--Mr. John FRANCIS MERCER, from Maryland, took his seat.

Mr. Rutledge delivered in the Report of the Committee of Detail, as follows—a printed copy being at the same time furnished to each member:

We the people of the States of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia, do ordain, declare, and establish the following Constitution for the government of ourselves and our posterity.


The style of the Government shall be, “The United States of America."


The Government shall consist of supreme Legislative, Executive, and Judicial



The legislative power shall be vested in a Congress, to consist of two separate and distinct bodies of men, a House of Representatives and a Senate;

« ZurückWeiter »