« ZurückWeiter »
Esq. was lord of it at the beginning of last century, from whom it passed, by purchase, to Nigel Kingscote, Esq. whose nephew, Robert Kingscote, Esq. is the present proprietor (257).
BAGPATH. is a hamlet, lying half a mile from the church. It was in the family of Pointz for several generations, and was sold by Nicholas Poiniz. Edward Webb, Esq. was lord of it at the beginning of the last century, and it is now vested in Robert Kingcote, Esq.
Calcot, or Caldecot, is a farm, formerly the demesnes of the abbey of Kingswood. This likewise was a part of the property belonging to the Pointz family, from whom it passed to the Estcourts; and Edmund Estcourt, Esq. is now lord of the manor (169).
Lurgesall, formerly belonging to the abbey of Gloucester, and granted first to Sir Walter Raleigh, and in 1606 to Peter Vanlore, merchant, and William Blake, scrivener, is now vested in the Corporation of Glou
Edw. Sheppard, Esq. of Uley, is the present lessee, by assignment from Mawle.
Fire freeholders voted in 1776.
The benefice is a rectory in Dursley deanery, the patronage of which was in the abbey of Gloucester in 1512, and is now, by purchase, in - Taylor, Esq. of Wotton-under-Edge. Thomas Hickes, A. M. is incumbent.
The church, dedicated to St. Bartholomew, consists of a nave only, and a low tower at the west end.
In P. N. tax the church of Newenton 81. In King's buoks, 111.
CCLIX. NIMPSFIELD, anciently NIMDESFELLE,
Is four niiles N. E. from Dursley, fourteen s. from Gloucester, and contains about 1130 acres. The soil is a light stone-brash, about half in tillage, with some woodland.
The turnpike road from Bath to Gloucester leads down Nimpsfield hill, which is remarkably steep. The famous Col. Massie, who had been disgusted by the conduct of the republicans in the great rebellion, and deserted the cause, after having been taken prisoner by a party sent on purpose, and placed on horseback behind a trooper, contrived in coming down this hill, to tumble himself and guard off the horse, and by this means made his escape.
The manor is a member of the Lordship of Berkeley. Robert Fitzharding gave this to his youngest son, who afterwards took the name of Fitz-Nicholls. Sir Thomas Fitznicholls died in 1419, leaving two daughters; Catherine, married to Robert Pointz, Esq. and Eleanor to John Browning, Esq. whose moiety was soon after conveyed to Robert Pointz. It came afterwards into the family of Tame (125). On the death of Edmond, without issue, the family estates came to his three sisters, co-heiresses ; and in the partition, this was settled on Sir Thos. Verney, who had married Alice, the second, whose great grandson, Sir Richard, was lord of the manor in 1608. The Bridgmans were soon after possessed of it, and John Bridgman, of Prinknash, was lord at the beginning of last century. From this family it was transferred to the noble family of Ducie; and Francis Reynolds Morton, Lord Ducie, is now lord of the manor (282), with the greatest part of the parish.
HAMLETS.-KYNLEY. or KINLINE. The manor anciently belonged to the warden and bretheren of a priory
established here, which was seized by William I. and restored by Will. II. 1099. It was dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, and became in a short time a college or free chapel of secular priests. Here was also a chantry chapel, dedicated to St. Anthony, whose figure was painted at the east end, with a boar by his side. After the general suppression the manor of Kynley was granted to William Stump, whose son, Sir James, had livery 1554.
The priory, though converted to a dwelling-house, is still chargeable with tenths. The chantry lands were for a long time the subject of dispute between Thos. Throckmorton, of Tortworth, and Sir Henry Winston, of Standish, but now are vested in Lord Ducie.
Tinkley is another hamlet, consisting of two farms. Some property in this parish belongs to the family of Estcourt.
Six freeholders voted in 1776.
The benefice is a rectory in Stonehouse deanery, in the patronage of the King, and George Hayward, the younger, A. M. is the present incumbent. The inhabitants baptized and buried at Frocester, which was the mother church in 1185. The chapel of Nympsfield and the advowson of Frocester were given to the abbey of Gloucester by William de Blois, Bishop of Worcester, in 1225.
The churdi, dedicated to St. Margaret, consists of a nave, with a handsome embatteled and pinnacled tower at the west end.
In P. N. tax. the church of Nymedesfeld, 51. 6s. 8d. In the King's books (discharged) 11/. 5s. Od.
CCLX. NORTH NIBLEY, Is two miles n. w. from Wotton-under-edge, and eigliteen s. from Gloucester, situated partly on the hill and partly in the vale, and the soil, extending over 3000 acres, varies accordingly. On the former the land is light and strong, and chiefly in tillage, but in the latter are found very rich pasture and dairy farms, on which cheese of prime quality is made. The acclivities are covered with beech, but in the lowlands the elm and the oak thrive with luxuriance. Some parts of this parish lie three miles from the church. The prefix of North is used to distinguish it. from a hamlet of the same name in the parish of Westerleigh (296).
Domesday takes no notice of this place, and it was probably included in the accounts of the manors of Wotton and Dursley. Part of the parish is now within the manor of Woodmancote, in the parish of Dursley. Robert Fitzharding received this manor from Hen. II. and the noble family of which he was the ancestor have retained it ever since, excepting an interruption of 192 years, during which it was in litigation, and violently detained by Lord Lisle. It was determined in 1610 in favour of the noble family of Berkeley, who still continue lords of the
During the pendency of the suit Thomas Talbot, Viscount Lisle, sent a challenge to William, sixth Lord Berkeley, to decide the quarrel by the sword. Nibley Green was the place appointed, where, on the 20th of March, 1470, both parties met, with their respective followers to the amount of nearly 1000, of whom 150 fell, and amongst them Lord Lisle, who was shot in the mouth with an arrow hy one James Hiatte of the Forest of Dean. The victory was thus decided, and Lord Berkeley hastened
immediately to Wotton, the residence of Lisle, and seized all the papers and writings, some relating to Lord Lisle's own estate, which are still preserved in Berkeley castle, Lady Lisle, who was then pregnant with her first child, miscarried through the fright.
Some lands in this parish anciently belonged to the relie' gious houses of Lanthony and Kingswood, and the Knights Hospitallers of Jerusalem.
George Smyth, Esq. father of Nicholas Smyth, Esq. built a very good house in 1763, upon the scite of an old mansion, which had long been in the family. It has lately been sold, with a considerable estate, to John Jortin, Esq. of Bloomsbury-square, London.
John Smyth, of Nibley, ancestor of the family, made very accurate collections relating to the history of this county, and committed to writing a very minute account of the customs of the several manors within the hundred of Berkeley, and the pedigrees of their respective lords, which cost him the labour of forty years' compilation,
HAMLETS and PLACES.-I. CHURCHEND, in which is situate the mansion house; which, with 2. GREAT and LITTLE GREEN; and 3. SOUTHEND, are the property of John Jortin, Esq.
4. MILL-END; with 5. SMART'S GREEN; 6. WOODERLEN, or WOODLANE'S-END; and 7. WATERLEIGH, are the property of the Earl of Berkeley.
8. SWINNY, belongs to Mr. Clere.
9. WHOREND. The principal estate is vested in William Purnell, Esq. by purchase (256). It was a parcel of the great estate, late Smyth's.
10. FORTOY. The principal estate here belongs to Thomos Robinson, Gent.
11. REDEMISSE, is chiefly in wood.