« ZurückWeiter »
MR. PHILIDOR in his early editions used initial letters only in his games, a practice which he corrected in the later ones, by putting the words at length. In this he has been followed by other writers on the subject. I have adopted a method between both, having put the pieces moved or taken in words at length, but the descriptive words in initials only: and I flatter myself that it will be found productive of greater facility in playing the games, since the piece alluded to will be more easily discovered.
In the notes references are made to the elementary rules, instead of their being printed over again. It is hoped, that the avoiding repetition will not be the sole advantage resulting from this mode, since it is adopted under the idea of fixing the rules, by reference to them, more firmly in the learner's mémory:
The Edition from which this is printed is that of 1791, where Philidor first added some important remarks, particularly on the back games.
The Reader is addressed as the player of the whites, and the player of the blacks in the third person.
( ) Shews that from this move a back game com
1. Wh. The K. Pawn 2 sq. Bl. The same.
2. Wh. The K. Bishop at his Q. B. 4th. sq. Bl. The same.
3. Wh. The Q. B. Pawn one sq. Bl. The K. Knight at his B. 3d
4. Wh. The Q. Pawn two sq. (a) Bl. The Pawn takes it.
(a) This pawn is played, first to hinder your adversary's king's bishop playing upon your king's bishop's pawn; and secondly, to get the strength of your pawns into the middle of the board.
5. Wh. The Pawn takes the Pawn. (6) Bl. The K. Bishop at his Q. Kt. 3d sq. (c)
Wh. The Q. Knight at his B. 3d sq,
Wh. The K. Knight at his K. 2d sq. (d)
Wh. The K. Bishop at his Q. 3d. sq. (e)
(6) When you have two pawns in this situation, push neither before your adversary proposes to exchange, according to Rule A. 6. and see A. 4.
(c) If he had given you check with it, you would cover the check with your bishop, in order to take his with your knight, in case he took yours; your knight would then defend your king's pawn, otherwise unguarded. Probably he will not take your bishop, because a good player strives to keep his king's bishop as long as possible.
(d) Do not play him at the bishop's third square.See Rule A. 14.
(e) He retires to avoid being attacked by the black queen's pawn, which would force you to take his pawn with yours; this would weaken your game, and spoil the project of getting your pawns into the centre.
Wh. The K. Pawn çne sq.
11. Wh. The Queen at her 2d sq. (8) Bl. The K. B. Pawn takes the Pawn. (h)
12. Wh. The Q. Pawn takes the Pawn. Bl. The Q. Bishop at his K. 3d. sq. (i)
(f) To give an opening to his king's rook; and this you cannot hinder, whether you take his pawn or not.
(g) You would have done wrong in taking the pawn offered to you, because your king's pawn would then lose its line; whereas, if he takes it, that of your queen supplies the place, and you may afterwards sustain it with your king's bishop's pawn. These two pawns will
probably win the game, because they can now no more be separated without the loss of a piece, or one of them will make a queen. You play your queen there to support your king's bishop's pawn, and your queen's bishop, which, being taken, would otherwise oblige you to take his bishop with the pawn; and thus your best pawns would have been divided; and the
(h) To give an opening to his king's rook.
(1) To protect his queen's pawn, and with a view of pushing that of his queen's bishop. He might have