Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

Wm. Boyd FERGUSON, President of the Howard Association of Norfolk, Va.

Greater love hath no man than that he lay down his life for his friends.

His grave is consecrated by the widow's prayer, the orphan's tear, the blessing of the desolate.

His ministry of mercy ceased only when “God's finger touched him and he slept."

Erected by the Maryland Cadets, the first Baltimore Hose company, and other Baltimoreans, in memory of a citizen who died in his effort to stay the pestilence that desolated Norfolk, 1855.

[graphic]

In memory of WILLIAM STUART, born in Baltimore, June 12, A. D. 1780, died Feb. 12, 1830. Colonel in the army of the U.S. in the war of 1812 ; Delegate from Baltimore in the Legis

FERGUSON MONUMENT, BALTIMORE. lature of Maryland in 1823; member of the Executive Council of the State in 1827; and mayor of his native city in 1831. ID all the relations of domestic life, he was exemplary, and he possessed the affectionate esteem of all classes of his fellow citizens.

ANNAPOLIS, the capital of the state of Maryland, is a city and port of entry on the west side of Severn River, three miles from its entrance into Chesapeake Bay, 25 miles from Baltimore, and 44 E, N. E. of Washington. It is connected with the Baltimore and Washington Railroad by the Apnapolis and Elk. ridge Railroad, which is 21 miles long. The town is regularly laid out; its streets diverging from the state bouse and the Episcopal Church, as from two centers. Population, about 3,000. An

napolis was founded about SOUTH-EASTERN VIEW OF THE STATE HOUSE, ANNAPOLIS.

1649. The settlement at first was called Providence; afterward, Ann Arundeltown; and lastly,

[graphic]

having obtained a city charter, in 1708, it received the name of Annapolis (i. e., the city of Ann), in honor of Queen Anne, the reigning monarch of Èngland. The state house is a venerable and substantial building, and is distinguished as the building where the American congress held some of their sessions during the revolutionary war, and the place where, in the senate chamber, Washington resigned his commission. These apartments have been preserved unaltered.

Annapolis was first settled by a company of Puritans from Virginia, who were obliged to leave that province on account of the severe laws passed against them, and the persecutions they endured. They came into Maryland, where they were promised the enjoyment of religious freedom. In or about the year 1649, they commenced a settlement at Greenberry's Point, a peninsula two miles east from the state house, then known as Town Neck. These emigrants were about 100 in number; their bounds were soon extended, and the entire settlement received the name of Providence. In 1650,

they sent two burgesses to the general assembly at St. Mary's. At this as. sembly an act was passed, erecting Providence into a county, and the name given it was Ann Arundel, that being the maiden name of Lady Baltimore.

After Cromwell obtained the sovereign power in England, collisions took place between the Puritans and Gov. Stone, who acted under the authority of Lord Baltimore. Gov. Stone, determining to enforce his claims by a resort to arms, assembled his followers on board 11 or 12 vessels, small and great, and appeared in the Severn, at Providence. One Heamans, the master of a ship called the Golden Lyon, at this time lying at anchor in the river, was induced to offer his services to the Puritans. The following account of the conflict which ensued is from Ridgely's Annals of Annapolis :

Governor Stone, with his little fleet and army, had by this time, about the shutting in of the evening,' as it is said, on the 24th of March, 1654-5, (O. S.) arrived within the outer harbor of Providence. He was now also within the range of the shot of the Golden Lyon, from whence a gun was fired at him, in order, as is said, to bring him or some mes. senger on board. Governor Stone did not think it proper to pay any attention to this sig. mal of war, as it appeared ; but, having arrived within the mouth of the creek, which forms the southern boundary of the peninsula on which the city of Annapolis now stands, proceeded to land his men on a point of land which lies on the southern side of both the river Severn and the before-mentioned creek, nearly opposite to and in an eastern direction from what is called the dock or inner harbor of Annapolis, and on which point or peninsula a small fortress, called Fort Horn, was afterward built during the American revolutionary

While Gov. Stone was landing his men on this point of land or peninsula, the commander Heamans, or Mr. Durand, thought it proper to repeat their fire upon the boats of Gov. Stone as they were rowing to the shore. The shot thereof lighting somewhat near to them, the governor deemed it most prudent to send a messenger on board the Golden Lyon to know the reason of their conduct, with directions to the messenger to inform the captain of the ship that he (Gov. Stone) thought "the captain of the ship had been satisfied;" to which the captain answered--in a very blustering tone, as it appears—"satisfied with what? I never saw any power Gov. Stone had, to do as he hath done, but the superscription of a letter. I must and will appear for these in a good cause." It would appear that Gov. Stone and the captain had some explanation previous to the firing of this last gunat least it is fair go to presume, from the nature of the captain's reply to his message.

Gov. Stone having moved his vessels further up the creek during the night, Capt. Heamans, or the Puritans on shore, contrived early the next morning to place a vessel or vessels, “ with two pieces of ordnance," at the mouth of the creek, and by that means blockaded Gov. Stone's little fleet within the same, so as to prevent them from coming out. The governor soon after, however, on the same day, appeared with his small army, in military parade, on a narrow neck of land-most probably that on which the remains of the before. mentioned fort now are-near where he had landed. The captain of the ship (Hermans) observing this, brought his guns to bear upon them, and, firing at them, killed one man, and by that means forced them to march further off into the neck. In the meantime Capt. Fuller, the Puritan commander, with his company, consisting of a hundred and twenty men, embarked in their boats, most probably from the peninsula whereon Annapolis now stands,

war.

and went up the river some distance, where they landed and marched round the head of the creek to where Gov. Stone and his people were waiting to receive them, a distance of six miles.

On the approach of the Puritans, the sentry of the people of St. Mary's, or Marylanders, fired his alarm-gun, when the men of Gov. Stone immediately appeared in order. Capt. Fuller, still expecting that Gov. Stone might possibly give a reason for their coming, commanded his men, upon pain of death, not to shoot a gun, or give the first onset-setting up the standard of the commonwealth of England, against which the enemy shot five or six guns, and killed one man in the front, before a shot was made by the other.

Then the word was given, “ In the name of God fall on ; God is our strength-that was the word for Providence; the Marylander's word was, "Hey for Saint Maries."

The charge was fierce and sharp for the time ; but, through the glorious presence of the Lord of Hosts, manifested in and toward his poor oppressed people, the enemy could not endure, but gave back, and were so effectually charged home, that they were all routed turned their backs, threw down their arms, and begged mercy. After the first volley of shot, a small company of the enemy, from behind a great fallen tree, galled us and wounded divers of our men, but were soon beaten off. Of the whole company of the Marylanders, there escaped only four or five, who run away out of the army to carry news to their confederates. Gov. Stone, Col. Price, Capt. Gerrard, Capt. Lewis, Capt. Kendall, Capt. Guither, Maj. Chandler, and all the rest of the counselors, officers and soldiers of the Lord Baltimore, among whom, both commanders and soldiers, a great number being papists, were taken, and so were all their vessels, arms, ammunition and provision ; about fifty men were slain and wounded. We lost only two in the field, but two died since of their wounds. God did appear wonderful in the field, and in the hearts of the people--all confessing him to be the only worker of this victory and deliverance."

In giving the above account of the battle, the words of Mr. Leonard Strong have been used, who, it is probable, was an eye-witness, and in the battlehe being one of Capt. Fuller's council, at Providence.

It is alleged that the Puritans of Providence, several days after the fight, put to death four of Gov. Stone's party. We wish it was in our power to contradict and disprove this cold blooded outrage, even at this late period, for the sake of humanity and the character of the first settlers of our native city ; but the evidence seems to be too strong to admit a doubt of its truth.

Dr. Barber says—and he appears to be entitled to full credit—that, “after the skirmish, the governor, upon quarter given him and all his company in the field, yielded to be taken prisoners ; but, two or three days after, the victors condemned ten to death, and executed foure, and had executed all had not the incessant petitioning and begging of some good women saved some, and the souldiers others—the governor himselfe being condemned by them, and since beg'd by the souldiers-some being saved just as they were leading out to execution."

Mrs. Stone, also, in a letter to Lord Baltimore, states that, " after quarter given, they tried all your councellors by a councell of warre, and sentence was passed upon my husband to be shot to death, but was after saved by the enemy's owne soldiers, and so the rest of the councellors were saved by the petitions of the women, with some other friends which they found there.”

In 1694 Annapolis was constituted a town, port, and place of trade, under the name of "Anne Arundel Town.” In this year, also, the seat of government, which had been at the City of St. Mary's from the earliest formation of the province, was transferred to this place. The records were, by Gov. Nicholson, ordered to be placed in good strong bags, secured by cordage and hides, with guards to protect them night and day, and thus to be delivered to the sheriff of Anne Arundel county, at Anne Arundel Town.

“The legislature, at a session in 1696, passed an act establishing an academy by the name of 'King William's School,' for the propagation of the gospel, and education of youth in good letters and manners."

The next year, Gov. Nicholson proposed to the house of burgesses “that his majesty, William III, be addressed that some part of the revenue given toward furnishing arms and ammunition for the use of the province, be laid out for the purchase of books to be added to the books which had been presented by the king to form a library in the porte of Annapolis; and that a portion of the public revenue be appled to the enlargement thereof; and that the library should be placed

in the office and under the care of the commissary of the province, permitting all persons desirous to study or read the books to have access thereto under proper instructions.” Many of the volumes thus presented by the king to Annapolis, are now in the library of St. John's College, to which they were removed on the burning of the state house, in 1704.

[graphic]

South-east view of St. John's College, Annapolis. In 1742 an act was passed to enable Gov. Bladen, or the governor for the time being, to purchase four acres within the fence of the city, and to build thereon a dwelling house for the use of the governor. Materials were provided, and the building was nearly finished, in a style of superior magnificence, when a contention took place between the governor and the delegates, which prevented its completion. This is now St. John's College. In 1784 the general assembly of Maryland passed an act for founding a college on the western shore, incorporated the institution by the name of the “Visitors and Governors of St. John's College," and granted a perpetual fund of £1,750 sterling, or nearly $9,000, annually. The legislature ceded four acres of land—now the college green—which had been conveyed to the governor of Maryland, repaired the unfinished building, and, in 1785, conveyed the funds of " King William's School" to St. John's College.

The college green, in the revolutionary war, was used as the encampment of the French army, and also by the American troops assembled in the war of 1812. In the engraving annexed is seen, on the right, a large forestpoplar, or "American tulip-tree," probably standing when Annapolis was first settled, in 1649. It is an object of veneration to the citizens; under its shade, Francis S. Key, the author of the “Star-Spangled Banner," while a student here, passed many hours.

The United States Naval Academy, at Annapolis, is a flourishing institution, under the direction of the academic board, and has an efficient corps of professors and teachers. There are here usually about 200 students under a course of instruction which occupies four years. During the warm season they are taught seamanship, adopting seamen's fare while on ship board. The grounds and buildings at Fort Severn occupy an area of several acres. The River Severn is here a mile wide, and sufficiently deep for the largest

ships-of-war. This section of the town was formerly much neglected; but of late years it has been greatly improved—particularly in front, and in the

[graphic]

South-western view of the United States Naval Academy, Annapolis. The Steam-works, Gas House, and part of Fort Severn, are seen on the left; the Chapel, Monument, etc., on the right; the Recitation Hall, and other buildings, in the central part. vicinity of the academy buildings. The following inscriptions are from a tasteful monument erected between the chapel and the observatory building:

To midshipmen J. W. PILSBURY and T. B. SAUBRICK—the former drowned near Vera Cruz July 24th, 1846, the latter killed at the Naval battery near Vera Cruz, March 25th, 1847, while in the discharge of their duties—this monument is erected by passed and other midshipmen as a tribute of respect.

To passed midshipmen H. A. Clemson and J. R. HYnson--lost with the U. S. brig Somers off Vera Cruz, Dec. 8th, 1846—this monument is erected by passed and other midshipmen of the U. S. Navy as a tribute of respect.

The first of the following inscriptions is from a monument in the graveyard adjoining the Episcopal Church, the others from the City Cemetery:

Here are deposited the remains of the Honorable BENJAMIN TASKER, who departed this life the 19th of June, Anno Dom., 1768, in the 78th year of his age, which, though of a constitution naturally weak and delicate, he attained through the efficiency of an exemplary temperance. At the time of his decease he was President of the Council, a station he had occupied for thirty-two years. The offices of Agent and Receiver General and Judge of the Perogative Court he successfully exercised. Such were his qualities, his probity, equanimity, candor, benevolence, that no one was more respected, more beloved. So diffusive and pure bis humanity and singular deportment, that he was no one's enemy nor any his.

To the memory of JEREMIAH TOWNLEY Chase, late Chief Judge of the State of Maryland for the Court of Appeals, who was born May 23d, 1748, and died May 11th, 1828, closing a long, useful and honored life by a death full of peace and hope. He had served his country in the day of her peril, and filled and adorned many stations of high trust to which she had called him. He had deserved and obtained the esteem of all who knew him, and the warmest affections of his friends, kindred and family. He was "ready to be offered,” for he had walked with God and trusted in a Redeemer, and found His grace sufficient for him in life and death. Reader! thank God that He hath given such a man to the world, and such an example to thee.

Here lies what was mortal of THEODORICK BLAND, Chancellor of Maryland. He departed this life at Annapolis, in the 70th year of his age, on the 16th of April, 1846. To the discharge of his various duties be deroted a mind stored with the treasures of learning, a judgment clear, accurate and profound, prompted by rectitude of purpose, and governed by truth

« ZurückWeiter »