Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

C. F. GILLESPIE, farmer, P. O. Whig Hill, was born in Kittanning, Armstrong Co., Penn., March 31, 1827, a son of David and Rebecca (Hayse) Gillespie, of Scotch-Irish nativity. When he was eleven years of age he removed to Sandy Lake, Penn., where he assisted his father in clearing a farm. At the age of nineteen years, he went to Franklin, Penn., where he learned the saddler's trade, and worked in the iron works at that place. In 1849 he came to Forest county, and worked at plastering and painting in Tionesta, and then for thirteen years manufactured lumber for H. Stowe. He removed to his farm in Whig Hill, in October, 1865, and here he has since resided. Mr. Gillespie married, September 23, 1853, Miss Catherine E., daughter of Henry and Dorothy Zuendel,and to them have been born five sons and one daughter: Frank, R. Z., H. E., W. S., F. W. and Katie E.

GEORGE S. HINDMAN, farmer, P. 0. Whig Hill, was born in Armstrong county, Penn., October 15, 1834, a son of William and Mary (Long) Hindman, natives of that county. He came to Forest county in 1859, and followed lumbering at Newtown Mills until 1861, when he enlisted in Company G, Eighty-third P. V. I., being honorably discharged in 1863. He then engaged in lumbering until 1867, in which year he settled on his present farm. He married, in 1864, Miss Matilda J. Manross, daughter of William Manross, of Venango county, and they have four children: William, Mary (Mrs. L. H. Barnes, of Kingsley township), Frank and Irene. Mr. Hindman is a Democrat, and has filled various township offices. He is a member of Tionesta Post, No. 274, G. A. R., and of the Evangelical Church, in which he is steward.

CHARLES A. HOWE, superintendent of the Tionesta Tanning Company, Tionesta, was born in New Bedford, Mass., December 16, 1832, a son of Roswell and Sylvia (Freeman) Howe, of Plymouth county, Mass., and Windham county, Vt., respectively. Mr. Howe was reared in his native county, until twelve years of age. He secured his education by his own efforts, and entered a mercantile store as clerk, where he obtained a good business training. He afterward served an apprenticeship to the tanning business, under his uncle, after which he had charge of tanneries in New Hampshire and Vermont. In April, 1886, he came to Tionesta, and built the present tannery at Kellettville for the Tionesta Tanning Company, and has since acted as general superintendent of the same, having full charge of the business. July 3, 1871, he married Miss Lucy A. Bazin, daughter of John Bazin, of New Market, N. H., and by her has two children: Charles Roswell and Benjamin Freeman. Mr. Howe is identified with the Republican party. He is a member of King Solomon'8 Lodge, No. 43, F. & A. M., of Bellows Falls, Vt.

JOHN R. OSGOOD, lumber jobber and justice of the peace, Newtown Mills, was born at Newtown Mills, Penn., July 28, 1858, a son of Hiram and Christiana (Shelus) Osgood. John Osgood, the grandfather of John R. and who was a miller by occupation, settled in Kingsley township, Forest Co., Penn., about the year 1834. Hiram Osgood, who was a lumberman and farmer, died in January, 1880; his widow still survives him. John R. Osgood was educated at the township schools, and has always been engaged in jobbing lumber. He married, September 6, 1883, Miss Annie, daughter of Seibert Burhen, of Kingsley township, and they have one child, Katie May. Politically, Mr. Osgood is a Republican, and has filled various township offices. In February, 1889, he was elected justice of the peace. He is a member of Tionesta Lodge, No. 369, I. O. O. F.

JONAS SHUNK, farmer, P. 0. Whig Hill, was born in Centre county, Penn., January 22, 1833, a son of John and Lydia (Breune) Shunk, of that county. In 1848 he moved to Venango county, and afterward settled in Forest county, locating on his present farm in 1875. He married, in 1855, Miss Susanna Young, daughter of Joseph Young, of Clarion county, and they have six children: Isaac (in Ohio), John (in Kingsley township, married to Hilda Berlin, and has one child, Gertrude), Ida (Mrs. I. C. Delo, also in Kingsley township), Minnie, Dnrie and Nellie. In 1863 Mr. Shank enlisted in Company K, Seventy-sixth P. V. I., serving until the close of the war; he was wounded at Petersburg, July 30, 1864. Mr. Shunk is a member of Tionesta Post, No. 274, Gr. A. B. He is a steward in the Methodist Episcopal Church; in politics a Republican.

WILLIAM TOBEY, lumber manufacturer, Kellettville, Penn., was born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., August 9, 1825, a son of Alden and Bloomey (Bugg) Tobey, of Vermont. Mr. Tobey remained on the homestead until thirty years of age, when he engaged in lumbering in Cattaraugus and adjoining counties. In April, 1856, he went to McKean county, Penn., and acted as superintendent for a lumber firm, for five years, and afterward went to Warren county, where he remained four years, and from there he came to Balltown, Forest county, where he operated the lumber-mill for Howe & Co. In 1867 he settled upon his present homestead, and has since had charge of the Buck mills. Mr. Tobey was first married in 1849, to Jane Mason, of Cattaraugus county, N. Y., by whom he had four children: Darius, pastor of the Free Methodist Church in Franklin, Penn.; Kate, Mrs. Jas. T. Brennan, in Tionesta; Nettie, Mrs. Pat. Normill, in Tionesta, Penn., and Hattie L. In 1887 Mr. Tobey was again married, on this occasion, to Mrs. Mary Ann Catlin. He affiliates with the Democratic party, and has filled various township offices. He is a member of Tionesta Lodge, No. 369, I. O. O. F.

H. A. ZUENDEL, farmer, P. O. Starr, was born in Germany in 1821, a son of Henry and Dorothy Zuendel, who emigrated to America in 1840, and first located in Nebraska, Penn. In 1841 they settled on Dutch hill, on the farm now owned by Henry Kizer, which they cleared and improved. Henry Zuendel was an elder in the German Reformed Church, and helped build the first church on the hill. In 1865 he moved to Erie county, Penn., where he died in 1872; his widow still lives in that county. They reared six children: Conrad, in Erie county; John Adams, in Kingsley township; H. A.; Annie (Mrs. William White, in Kansas); Eva Elizabeth (Mrs. A. B. Boot, in the State of Washington) and Kate Elizabeth (Mrs. C. F. Gillespie, of Whig Hill). H. A. Zuendel was educated in Germany, and has followed the occupation of farming and lumbering, settling on his present farm in 1853. He married, in 1847, Miss Annie Christina Zuendel, daughter of Adam Zuendel, of Green township, and they have reared seven children: Elizabeth; George, in Green township; John H., in Kingsley township; Conrad; Ernest E., in Hickory township; John M. and Mary E. Mr. Zuendel was formerly a Democrat, but is now a supporter of the Prohibition party; for three years he served as county auditor, and three years as county commissioner; was school director for nineteen years, and filled various other township offices. He is class leader in the Evangelical Church, and has a local license to preach.

GREEN TOWNSHIP.

F. E. ALLISON, of East Hickory, was born in Clinton county, Penn., about five miles from the city of Lock Haven. His grandfather, Archibald Allison, who was of Scotch-Irish descent, born in 1718, was married to Mary Kennedy, third daughter of John Kennedy, a native of the shire of Galloway, and parish of Kirkniaddon, Scotland, November 1, 1730. They landed in America June 18, 1773, the family consisting of four sons: David, Mathew, Archibald, Jr., and James—and three daughters: Catherine, Jane and Eleanor. Archibald, Jr., was about six feet three inches in height, weighing about 190 pounds, "cordy as an elk, and swift as a reindeer." He was an expert with the rifle in his day, and was a chosen scout of Loe and Washington. [See history of the early settlement in the eastern counties, also, history of Dauphin and Cumberland counties. ] His brother, Mathew (the father of the subject of our sketch), was born September 15, 1756. He enlisted in the Revolutionary army, at the age of nineteen, and at the close of the war he received his pay in what was called "Continental money," which afterward proved to be worthless. He married Sarah Mahaffy, of Cumberland county, Penn., and to thein were born four children: William, Margaret, Mary and Sarah. Removing from Cumberland to Nittany Valley, Mathew there purchased 200 acres of land, where he opened up a farm. In 1800 he was appointed by the governor of Pennsylvania to run the boundary line for a new county which he named '' Centre County,'' and for many terms served as commissioner of the same. After the death of his wife, Sarah, he married Miss Catherino Lamb, who bore him eight children: Samuel L. (who in turn enlisted and served during the war of 1812-13, under Gen. Wm. Harrison, grandfather of our present chief magistrate), Archibald, James, David, John, Jane, Catherine and Nellie. John removed to Ohio, married a Miss Mary Williams, and became the father of William B. Allison, the present United States senator from Dubuque, Iowa; Jane married William Goodfellow, of Wayne county, Ohio; Nellie married James Moore, of Seneca county, Ohio, and Catherine married Hugh McManigal, of Big Valley, Centre Co., Penn. Mr. Allison was again married, to a Miss Sarah Baine, a Quakeress of Philadelphia, and to this union were born five children: Mathew Jackson Allison, of Enterprise, Warren county, Penn.; Mary Ann (now Mrs. George Rishel, of Clinton county), Robert C. Allison (a Presbyterian minister, graduate of Amherst College), died in Southerlaud, Mass., A. D. 1886; Thomas J. Allison (removed to Freeport, EL, in 1846), died May 22, 1850. Their father died February 9, 1828. F. E. Allison was reared in Clinton county, in the small village of Salona, until he was eighteen years of age. When a youth he was the " village chore-boy," earning and receiving small sums of money for doing errands, chopping stove wood, etc., which money he invested in books, and tallow candles to enable him to study by night. Having obtained a fair education by his owu efforts, he came to Venango county, and engaged in school teaching, but soon abandoned the profession as $13 were the highest monthly wages paid by the school boards; and it might be added here that he boarded around with the scholars, and occasionally "aired the spare bed." He was employed as superintendent of an iron furnace by James Hughes. Myers & Hunter, for several years, and again accepted a similar position with William Cross, in Hickory township, where subsequently he engaged in the mercantile and lumber businesses. Mr. Allison was married in August, 1851, to Barbara A. Smith, and to them were born nine children, viz.: Orlando I., Josephine A., William Forest. Mary, Ann, Susan Almyra (now Mrs. I. L. Klienstiver), Emma Jane (now Mrs. N. G. Cole), Lucy Elvernon and Irvine Holbrook. Mrs. Allison died on November 17, 1885.' He has also an adopted daughter, Ellen O, who married James K. Green, now of Harmony. (The oldest son was blown up by the premature explosion of nitro-glycerine, near the mouth of Scrubgrass, in Venango county; he had a wife and three children—two boys and one girl). Josephine A. was thrown from a carriage near Plummer, Venango county, and killed, on the 4th of July, 1854. Politically Mr. Allison was one of the first Republicans in northern Venango county (now Forest), but is now among the prominent leaders of the Prohibition party. He is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

JAMES GILFILLAN, millwright, P. O. Nebraska, was born August 22, 1838, at the Albion mines, Nova Scotia, a son of Rev. James and Jane (Robertson) Gilfillan, natives of Scotland, who came to the United States when each was about thirteen years of age. They resided in Schuylkill county, Penn., and were there married and had two children; they then removed to Nova Scotia, where the subject of these lines was born, and when he was two years old the family returned to Schuykill county, Penn. From there, when James, Jr., was a boy of six years, they came to Clarion county, Penn., where they settled on a piece of wild land and cleared up a farm. The father was an ordained minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and died in Ohio, in 1864, while in active work. The subject of our sketch resided on the farm in Clarion county until he was in his eighteenth year, when he moved to Venango county, Penn a was there apprenticed to learn the joiner's trade, afterward carrying on that business in the same county where he put up numerous buildings. Subsequently he took up the trade of millwright, building several mills in Venango (now Forest) county and vicinity, among them the large one owned by Collins, Darrah & Co., at Nebraska; and since 1864 Mr. Gilfillan has most of the time more or less been identified with mills. He came to Forest county when it was a part of Venango county, and when the county seat was established at Tionesta. In 1863 he was united in marriage with Hannah I. Siggins, of West Hickory, Forest Co., Penn., who bore him four children: Alba J., Genevieve (Mrs. Charles Smith, of Warren, Penn.) Gertrude and Rachel D. Mr. Gilfillan is a member of the Methodist Church, and has served as classleader for a number of years. In politics he is a Democrat; has held the office of jury commissioner, and for three terms was justice of the peace. He has two brothers who served in the Union army during the Civil war—Thomas, of Indiana, who participated in every battle the army of the Potomac was engaged in, being wounded in the last one, and John R., of Tidioute, Penn., who was with Sherman's army during the last year of the war, and was discharged at the end of the struggle.

HENRY KAISER, farmer, P. O. Tionesta, was born in Germany, April 23, 1836, a son of Frederick and Sophia (Klompermeyer) Kiser, former of whom, a carpenter by trade, came to America in 1841, and died about three years after his arrival. His widow afterward married Frederick Chapman, who came to America with her family in 1848, locating at Pittsburgh. Conrad, the brother of Henry, enlisted at Pittsburgh, in the Mexican war, and has never since been heard from. Henry Kiser was educated in Germany, and, after coming to America, found employment in McKee's glass works for three years. In 1851 he came to Forest county, Penn., and for several years followed lumbering, settling on his present farm in 1866. He married, in 1858, Miss Martha, daughter of Nicholas Matha, of Green township, this county, and they have reared nine children: Edward, in Green township; Catherine, wife of Areha Puftinberg, in Kingsley township; Mary, wife of Oliver Laird, in Allegheny City, Penn., Annie, Eva, Emma, Harvey, Florence and Raphael. Mr. Kiser is a Republican, and the family are members of the Lutheran Church.

GEORGE KLINESTIVER, blacksmith, Nebraska, was born in Germany, July 3, 1836, a son of Henry and Catherine (Hess) Klinestiver, who came to America in 1848, located in Tionesta, and afterward on Ross run, where they engaged in farming. They reared four children: Christina (Mrs. Peter Wolf, in Tionesta township), George, Catherine (wife of William Maty, in Illinois) and Mary Ann (wife of Sidney Smith, in Hickory, Penn.). Mr. Klinestiver received an ordinary education, and learned the blacksmith's trade, which he has since followed. In 1857 he married Miss Dorcas Lawrence, who died in 1869, leaving five children: William (in Golinza), Jacob, Charles, Henry and Florence. He was again married in 1871, this time to Miss Fredericka Baumgardner, by whom he has three children: Emma, George and Frederick. Mr. Klinestiver is identified with the Republican party, and is a member of the German Reformed Church.

FRANK X. KREITLER, merchant and lumberman, of the firm of Collins & Kreitler, Nebraska, Penn., was born in Germany, December 4, 1842, a son of Barnhart and Mary Kreitler. He came to America in 1859, and remained three years in New Rochelle, N. Y., where he learned the barber's trade. In 1863 he moved to Brookville, Jefferson Co., Penn., where he conducted a barber shop for twenty-five years, and also engaged to some extent in lumbering. In 1869 he married Miss Eliza Knieriemen, of New Rochelle, N. Y. In 1886 he purchased an interest in the firm of Collins, Darrah & Co., and in 1887 located at Nebraska, where he has since had charge of a mercantile business, and is also a member of the lumber firm of Collins, Darrah & Co. In 1864 he enlisted in Company B, Two Hundred and Eleventh Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served till the close of the war. He is past master of Hobah Lodge, No. 276, F. & A. M., and a member of Jefferson Chapter, No. 225, of Brookville; member of Brookville Post, No. 242, G. A. R., and of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically he is a Republican.

GEORGE J. LACY (deceased), late of the firm of G. J. & F. C. Lacy, lumber manufacturers, Golinza, was born in Nebraska, Forest Co., Penn , February 28, 1852. His father, George S. Lacy, was born in Penn Yan, Yates Co., N. Y., and about 1848 came to Forest county, where he purchased 7,000 acres of land, and carried on lumbering until 1864. In 1848 he married Miss Caroline Ford, whose father, John Ford, was the original purchaser of the land, and also the lands now owned by D. T. Collins & Co., and a good share of German Hill. In 1865 George S. Lacy moved to Philadelphia, and then in 1876 to Pittsburgh, where he now conducts a lumber yard and planing-mill. His wife died May 4, 1888. Their family consisted of three children: Mary C. (Mrs. Dr. C. W. Stranahan, in Erie, Penn.), G. J., and F. C. (in Pittsburgh). George J. Lacy, at the age of twelve years, went to New Brighton to school, and completed his education at Philadelphia. In business he was always engaged in the lumber trade, and, in 1872, in connection with his brother, F. C., took charge of the business which was carried on under the firm name of G. J. & F. C. Lacy, at Golinza. On June 15, 1880, he married Miss Martha Klies, daughter of the well-known Dr. George Klies, of Pittsburgh, Penn., and to this union were born two children: George B. and Caroline M. Mr. Lacy died at noon, October 24, 1889, and was buried at Erie on the following Sunday, being laid at rest beside his mother. He was one of the most active Democrats of the county, and filled various important offices. As a general business man he was unexcelled, and as a lumberman, especially, he had not his peer in this part of tho country, his ability in that line having never been questioned, on one occasion being attested to by affidavits bearing the signatures of over thirty gentlemen eminently qualified to judge of his superiority and unquestionable business sagacity and acumen. Mr. Lacy was a man of very superior literary attainments, also, at all times impressing his hearers with his wonderful intellect and amazing retentive memory of things he had read. He could quote from the best ancient and modern writers, as time and place required, and was a most pleasing, instructive and graceful conversationalist. His library was pronounced by all to be tho largest and best selected in Forest and adjoining counties, some well-known connoisseurs judging it to be the most complete in the western part of Pennsylvania. The library is still in Mrs. Lacy's possession, with the addition, since his death, of

« ZurückWeiter »