« ZurückWeiter »
Clarion county, and by this union they reared three children: Hannah K., who died May 18, 1888; Edwin Alexander, land agent at Springfield, Kas., and John Thomas, living at home. Mr. Watson is a stanch Democrat, and takes an active part in county politics. In 1873 he established the Jackson, of Clarion county, which paper he edited for some years. During the war of the Rebellion he received a captain's commission, but owing to an attack of bilious fever was unable to serve. He was appointed postmaster, at Marienville. in November, 18S5, and served until July 1, 1889. He was a member of Clarion Lodge, No. 252, I. O. O. F., and passed all the chairs; is also a member of Clarion Lodge, F. & A. M. Mr. and Mrs. Watson were members of the Presbyterian Church, but lately Mr. Watson declined to act as a ruling elder for good and valid reasons, and gave his name as a member to unite with the Methodist Episcopal Church. His hotel was burned with half its contents, January 1, 1890, at about one o'clock A. M., with a loss of $3,500, and no insurance. The cause of the fire was the melting of a stove in a barber shop, through over pressure of gas. With characteristic energy and vim, in two days after the fire, Mr. Watson began to arrange for another and larger house.
D. E. WHITE, machinist, Marienville, was born in Erie county, N. Y., in 1853, and is a son of James H. and Jane (Joslin) White, natives of Erie county, and farmers by occupation. D. E. White received an ordinary education, after which he learned the machinist's trade, at which he has since worked. In 1882 he came to Marienville in connection with the hub factory, and since the burning of the same has been engaged in business for himself, operating a machine shop. In 1875 he married Miss Maria Bevier, of Erie county, N. Y., and they have one child, Eugene. Mr. White is independent in politics. He is a member of Jenks Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Marienville.
A. COOK, lumber manufacturer and merchant, Cooksburg, was born in Venango county, Penn., in 1824, a son of John and Susan (Helpman) Cook. The father was born east of the Alleghany mountains, and eventually settled in that part of Jefferson (now Forest) county, where he entered a tract of land and built a saw mill. Running the lumber down the river to Pittsburgh on these trips (which he made in a canoe), he would bring back provisions for his family. His first wife dying in 1830, he married, for his second, Mrs. Ritter, who died in 1872. John Cook belonged to the old Whig party, and filled many of the early offices of the county. He died in 1858. Hon. A. Cook, who was one in a family of eleven children, was educated in the schools of the period, and when young, began to assist his father in his business. In 1846 he started in the lumber business for himself, and has since been one of the extensive dealers in the county; by hard work and good judgment, his firm has become one of the wealthiest in the county. He owns large tracts of timber land, a large mill at Pittsburgh and the mill at Cooksburg. which town was principally built by him, and is named in honor of him. Mr. Cook married, in 1849, Miss Robecca Ann, daughter of John Mays, of Forest county, and they have reared six children: J. W. (at home), A- W. (attending to the Pittsburgh branch of the business), and Jake, Ida May, Burt and Hattie, all at home. Mr. Cook has always been identified with the Republican party. In 1870 he was elected associate judge of the county, serving five years. He has also filled the offices of county auditor, county commissioner, and all other local offices. He has been a stockholder and officer in the Second National Bank of Clarion. Penn., since its formation, and for the past three years its president. He is a believer in the Universalist doctrine.
G. W. ELDER, proprietor of the Shields House, Clarington, was born in Clarion county, Penn., May 28, 1834, a son of William and Mary (Barr) Elder, natives of Centre county, Penn. He received his education in Clarion county, and has since followed lumbering and farming. In 1880 he came to Clarington, and engaged in boat building, which he still follows. In 1884 he took possession of his present hotel. He married, in 1858, Miss Alvina Shaffer, daughter of Charles Shaffer, of Venango county, and they have nine children: Charles, in Venango county; John A. and L. S., in Barnett township; G. B., at home; Emma, wife of Dr. H. Simming, in Barnett township; Ida, wife of Isaac Payne, in Gilfoyle, Penn.; W. S., in Barnett township; Jennie and J. K., at home. Mr. Elder is a Democrat; he sent a substitute to the war of the Rebellion. Mrs. Elder is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JOSEPH HALL, farmer and lumberman, P. O. Redclyffe, was born in Butler county, Penn., May 23, 1845, a son of Cornelius and Susan (Slater) Hall, former of whom was born in Crawford county, Penn., of Prussian and French parentage, latter being a native of Clarion county, same State. They were farmers by occupation, and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Cornelius Hall was a Democrat in politics, and tilled various township offices; he died in Butler county, Penn., in 1874; his widow yet survives. Their family consisted of thirteen children, twelve of whom are still living: John H. (in Clarion county). Joseph, Samuel J. (in Oklahoma). Susan (wife of August P. VonSlyke, in Wisconsin), Jerry M., Cornelius W. (in Redclyffe), Nancy A. (wife of John Stevenson, in Butler county), Mary J. (wife of Lewis Stevenson, also in Butler county), Thomas A. (in St. Louis), Melinda (wife of Henry Young, in Redclyffe), Melvin A. and William C. (also in Redclyffe). Joseph Hall was reared and educated in Butler county, Penn., and has been principally engaged in lumbering in Clarion, Elk and Forest counties, settling in Barnett township, this county, in 1866. He married, in 1867, Miss Harriet, daughter of Robert Huling, and they have had seven children: Sarah O. (Mrs. J. B. Work, in Jenks township), Cora A. (Mrs. E. L. Sutton, in Redclyffe), Lewis R., Mary E., Matilda S., Alice (deceased) and Hattie. Mr. Hall in politics is a Republican. He has been auditor, and is now school director of the township. He has been steward and exhorter in the United Brethren Church.
CORNELIUS W. HALL, farmer, P. 0. Redclyffe, was born in Butler county, Penn., January 31, 1854. He has been principally engaged in farming and lumbering, settling in Barnett township, Forest county, in 1885. He married, in 1885, Miss Aurissa, daughter of John H. Love, of Forest county, and they have two children: Benjamin Melvin and Bessie A. Mr. Hall is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church; in politics an adherent of the Republican party.
ROBERT HULING (deceased) was born at Lock Haven, Penn., December 25, 1809, a son of William and Jane (Chatham) Huling, natives of that place. In 1820 they moved to Clarion county, Penn., where Robert received an ordinary education. He learned the blacksmith's trade, which he followed for some years, and in 1839 he moved to Jefferson county, where he worked at his trade and also cleared a farm. In 1857 he came to Forest county, and here settled upon his late farm in Barnett township. Mr. Huling married, in 1837, Miss Mary Mays, daughter of John Mays, of Forest county, and they reared eight children, four of whom are living: Albert and John (in Redclyffe), Louisa (wife of Emanuel Cook, in Jefferson county) and Harriet (wife of Joseph Hall, also in Redclyffe). Mr. Haling died July 2, 1888, a prominent member of the United Brethren Church. Politically he has always been identified with the Republican party, and filled various township offices.
WILLIAM SHIELDS, retired, Clarington, was born in North Londonderry, Ireland, August 9, 1820, and is a son of William and Margaret (Douglass) Shields. He was educated in Ireland, and in 1847 came to America, remaining in New York City for some time, then went to Putnam county, N. Y.. where he obtained employment in the blacksmith department of the West Point Foundry, remaining there three years. In 1850 he moved to Jefferson county, Penu., and obtained employment in the lumber woods. May 1, 1851, he came to Clarington, and for five years worked for Mr. Armstrong. He then purchased the hotel known as the Shield's House, which he conducted for twenty-one years, and since then he has been engaged in farming. Mr. Shields married, October 13, 1851, Miss Nancy Winlack, of Jefferson county. Penn., and they have reared three children: W. D. and S. H., merchants in Clarington, and Jennie, living at home. Mr. Shields is a member of the Democratic party, and served five years as justice of the peace.
WILLIAM D. SHIELDS, lumber manufacturer and merchant, Clarington, a son of William and Nancy (Winlack) Shields, was born at Clarington. Forest Co., Penn., May 18, 1858. He was educated at the township schools, and Iron City Commercial College, at Pittsburgh, and has since been engaged in lumbering, boat-building, etc., in connection with his brother. S. H. Shields, under the firm name of W. D. & S. H. Shields. They also conduct a general mercantile business, which was established in 1881. Our subject was married, in 1884, to Miss Edith, daughter of Henry L. Van Horn, of Indiana county, Penn., and they have one child, Van S. Mr. Shields is identified with the Democratic party; was elected county commissioner in 1884, and is now serving his second term; has also filled various township offices. He is a member of Mingo Lodge, No. 502, I. O. O. F., of Clarion county, and of the K. of P., No. 477, of Brookville. Jefferson county.
T. W. CORAH, merchant, Balltown, was born in Leicestershire, England, January 29, 1848, a son of John and Annie M. (Dawson) Corah, who came to America in 1853, located in Herkimer county, N. Y., and engaged in farming. The father died there in 1856; the mother remarried, and now resides in Erie county, N. Y. She had four children by her first husband. One son, Henry, was a member of the One Hundredth New York Volunteer Regiment, and died in the Baltimore Hospital. T. W. Corah was educated in Erie county, N. Y., and in 1868 moved to theoil country, where he went through the whole field as laborer, producer, etc. In 1884 he located in Balltown, where he has since been proprietor of the Balltown House, and in 1887 he established a general mercantile business. He married, in 1876, Miss Jennie Valentine, daughter of Heman Valentine, of Warren county, Penn., and they have six children: Jessie May. Edgar, Edward Milton, Viola C, Edna Blanche and Lena. Mr. Coral, is a Democrat in politics, and served the county as auditor three years: also filled other township offices. He is a member of Tionesta Lodge, No. 557. F. & A. M.
WILLIAM H. FROST, lumber manufacturer, P. O. Pigeon,, was born in Broekwayville, Jefferson Co., Penn., November 6, 1843, a son of Abinl and Mary Ann (Wilson) Frost, natives of New York State (the former born in 1809), and early settlers in Jefferson county. His father, who was a sawyer, operated one of the first mills in the county, and afterward settled upon a farm, becoming one of the prominent men of the county, and enjoying a reputatiun for uprightness and integrity. He was identified with the Democratic , party, and filled various township offices: he was a prominent member of the
Methodist Episcopal Church for many years. He died February 12, 1889, his wife having died in 1857. Four of their children are still living: Elizabeth (wife of Justice Gage, in Brockwayville), John W. (on the homestead in Jefferson county), William H. and Hiram (in Brockwayville). William H. Frost received an ordinary education, and has been engaged in the lumber business since he was eighteen years of age. He served in the war of the Rebellion under Capt. N. M. Brockway, and helped to capture Morgan in Ohio. In December, 1880, he came to Forest county, first locating in Jenks township, where he has since been engaged in manufacturing lumber, under the firm names of W. H. Frost and Damon & Frost and W. H. Frost & Co., etc. December 25, 1863, he married Miss Annice Powell, daughter of Reuben and Angeline Powell, of Brockwayville, Penn., and they have six children: Elizabeth, Mary, Annie, Wilson, Angeline and Raymond. Mr. Frost is independent in politics, an advocate of prohibition, and served as postmaster at Pigeon for seven years. In 1882 he established a small store at that place, and his business increased until he was obliged to erect a new building. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. L. SAXTON, merchant, Balltown, was born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., March 10, 1836, a son of Charles and Samantha (Howe) Saxton. He received an ordinary education, and engaged in farming. For twelve years he followed the oil fields in different kinds of labor, and in 1883 located at Bulltown, where he established his present business. In 1857 he married Miss Angeline, daughter of Peter Schofield, of Chautauqua county, N. Y. She died in 1877, leaving six children: Riley and Rosetta (in Chautauqua county), George, Ada (now Mrs. Simon Freer, in Kansas City, Mo.), Alonzo (at Sheffield Junction, Penn.), and Maude (now Mrs. Henry Odell, in Derrick City, Penn.). Mr. Saxton, afterward married, in 1880, Mrs. Lacell. • He affiliates with the Republican party, and has served as overseer of the poor, and in various local offices. He is class-leader in the Methodist Episcopal Church.
R. R. ANDREWS, merchant, Kellottville, was born in Newburg, N. Y., October 25, 1845, a son of Ransom and Julia (Barnes) Andrews, natives of Chenango county, N. Y. His father was a printer by trade, and edited the Arus, of Binghampton. N. Y., for a number of years, and was afterward connected in business with Horace Greeley, in New York City. He now resides in Canada. R. R. Andrews received an ordinary education, and in 1865 enlisted in the Twentieth New York Battery, serving until the close of the war, after which he engaged in the extract business, at Painted Post, N. Y., Trout Run, Lycoming Co., Penn., and Smethport, McKean Co., Penn. In 1882 he came to Kellettville, and took charge of the extract works for W. W. Kcllett until 1884, when he established his present mercantile business. After leaving Trout Run Mr. Andrews traveled in Europe, making London, England, his headquarters, his family stopping at South Konsingtou, London, for one year. After making the second trip, he traveled through the Southwestern States for the same man, N. Spencer Thomas, of Elmira, N. Y., and in the spring of 1889 he took a trip through Oregon and Washington Territories, returning by way of California and Salt Lake. Mr. Andrews married, in 1878. Miss Maria Rarick, of New York State, and they have one child, Charles. Our subject is identified with the Republican party, and was appointed postmaster in 1887. Mr. and Mrs. Andrews are members of the Free Methodist Church.
E. BERLIN, merchant and farmer, Whig Hill, was born in Clarion county, Conn. , January 11, 183"), a son of Paul and Nancy (Toman) Berlin, former a native of Westmoreland county, Penn., and the latter of Clarion county, Penn. Jacob Berlin, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was one of the early settlers of Clarion county. He was in the war of 1S12, and died at the age of ninety-eight years. Paul Berlin was reared and married in Clarion county, and became one of the prominent farmers of the vicinity. He came to Forest county in the spring of 1855, and settled on the present farm of E. Berlin. He was a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Lutheran Church. He died in 1873, and his widow in 1876. They reared nine children: Lavina (Mrs. Jacob Myers, in Olean, N. Y.), Elizabeth (Mrs. William Reed, in Clarion county, Penn.), E., Jacob (who was killed by an accident in 1885), Annie (Mrs. Joseph Swailes, in Pittsburgh, Penn.), Sarah (Mrs. Wesley Whitehill, in Kingsley township), John H. (also in Kingsley township), Lucy (Mrs. Raymond Graham, also in Kingsley township) Nancy E. (Mrs. William Bailey, in Warren county, Penn.). Mr. Berlin came with his parents to Forest county, Penn., and has since resided on the homestead. He married, in 1859, Miss Hannah Neil, daughter of Robert Neil, of Venango county, Penn., and by her has seven children: J. E. (a merchant in Mayburg), Elizabeth (Mrs. Thomas Flynn, in Green township), Ida (Mrs. Thomas Bruce, in Warren county), Derilla J. (Mrs. John Shank, in Kingsley township). * Robert Adelbert Edith and Mabel. Mr. Berlin has been extensively engaged in lumbering in connection with farming. In 1883 he established his present mercantile business at Whig Hill. He is a Democrat in politics; has served as county commissioner for seven years, also filled various township offices. He was appointed postmaster in 1884. and still holds that office. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JOHN H. BERLIN, farmer, P. 0. Whig Hill, a son of Paul and Nancy (Toman) Berlin, was born in Clarion county, Penn., January 15, 1840, and was reared and educated in his native county. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company G. Eighty-third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served until the close of the war. He was wounded at the battle of Laurel Hill, taken prisoner and confined in Richmond Hospital, and for two weeks in Libby Prison. After the close of the war, he came to Forest county, and engaged in lumbering. He married, in 1868, Miss Lavina L. Beck, daughter of Jacob Beck, of Kingsley township, Forest county, and they have since resided on his present farm. He has five children: Mary May (Mrs. Richard Flynn), Ida Catherine (Mrs. Charles Hoover), Jacob L., Clemor H. and Ludia Elizabeth, all at home. Mr. Berlin is a Democrat in politics, and is a member of Tionesta Post. No. 274, G. A. R. He is a trustee in the Evangelical Church.
WILLIAM A. DUSENBURY, merchant and lumber manufacturer, of the firm of Dusenbury & Wheeler, Newtown Mills, was born in Cattaraugus county. N. Y., September 17, 1838, a son of Henry and Caroline (Butler) Dusenbury. of Delaware county, N. Y. He was reared in his native county, was educated in the township schools, and has always followed the lumber business. October 4, 1867, he came to Forest county, and located at Newtown Mills, where he has since resided. He manufactures an average of 3.000,900 feet of lumber per year; also conducts a tannery and mill at West Hickory. In 1878 he married Miss Helen Truesdale, daughter of Hiram Truesdale. a native of Warren county, N. Y. (now deceased), and Helen (Cameron) Truesdale, and they have two children: William A. and Edgar Truesdale. Mr. Dusenbury is identified with the Republican party, and has held the office of justice of the peace and other township offices. He has been postmaster at Newtown Mills since 1868. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church.