Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

1887. He was postmaster at Marienville four years, and has filled various township offices. He is member of Capt. George Stowe Post, No. 224, G. A. R.

T. J. REYNER, merchant, Marienville, was born in Clarion county, Penn., November 22, 1853, a son of William and Sarah (Henry) Reyner, also natives of Clarion county. The father, who was a carpenter by trade, a Republican in politics, and a member of the Universalist Church, died in 1872; the mother is still living. They reared six children, as follows: C. B., S. H., D. E., W. C. (all of Tylersburg, Penn.), T. J. and Ada (living with T. J.) Mr. Reyner was educated at the public schools of Clarion county, and learned the trade of a carpenter, which he followed for three years. In 1879 he engaged in mercantile business, in Jefferson county, Penn., and continued there for three years. In June, 1882, he came to Marienville, and established his present business, erecting the first stone building in the town. He married, in 1877, Miss Jennie, daughter of Conrad Darner, of Clarion county, Penn., and they have three children: Sarah, John B. and Ida. Mr. Reyner is a member of the Republican party, and for several years was auditor of Jenks township. He is a member of Jenks Lodge. No 250,1. O. O. F., and of the P. O. S. of A., No. 140.

SAMUEL F. ROHRER (deceased) was born in Lancaster county, Penn.. October 15, 1817, a son of John and Magdalena (Herr) Rohrer, also natives of Lancaster county, and of German descent. The subject of this commemorative record attended the academy at Strasburg, in his native county, and fitted himself for college, but was prevented from entering the latter by his father's failure in business. It being Mr. Rohrer's earnest desire to become a physician, he pursued the study of medicine for some nine months, but being unable to carry out his plans, and being in a great measure influenced by his parents, he relinquished his studies in that direction, and turned his attention to civil engineering. In this connection he assisted in the surveying of the Cumberland Valley Railroad and other lines, but at length turned his attention to teaching, the schools in Berks, Venango and Clarion counties, Penn., first coming under his able tuition. Between the years 1855 and 1859 Mr. Rohrer moved to Forest county, where he taught school for over twenty-five years. He served as commissioners' clerk for several years, county surveyor, township treasurer, etc., and was county superintendent of Forest county three consecutive terms. He was very active in all educational enterprises, and took great interest in the system of public instruction. He died in Marienville, Penn., January 19,

1888. Mr. Rohrer was an honorable, upright man, and had the unqualified good-will of the community in which he lived. He was married October 12, 1870. to Miss C. L. Blood, daughter of Cyrus Blood, of Marienville, and one child was born to this union, Miss Mary Rohrer, who resides in Marienville with her mother.

GEORGE W. ROSE, farmer and justice of the peace, P. O. Marionville. was born at Silver Lake, Susquehanna Co., Penn.. October 25, 1813, a son of James and Isabella (Hall) Rose, natives of Philadelphia. Penn. His father was a lawyer by profession, and practiced in Philadelphia, afterward at the bar of Susquehanna county, where he moved to act as agent for the Bingham lands. He was a prominent member of the Whig party, and served as treasurer of the county for one term. The mother of George W. died in 1816, and the father married, for his second wife, Clarissa Griswold, of Vermont, who is also deceased. The father died in 1840. His family consisted of nine children, all by the first wife, two of whom are living: Mary B. (wife of Frederick Leonard, in Bradford county, Penn.), and George W., who was reared in Susquehanna county, Penn., and received his education at the high schools of Tioga county, N. Y. At the age of fourteen years he went to Potter county, Penn., and when he was eighteen moved to Clarion county, where he was one of the pioneer school teachers. In 1854 he came to Forest county, and located on his present farm, in Jenks township, which was then a wilderness. He has cleared 150 acres, and made all the improvements with the help of his family. He married. July 10, 1844. Miss Lodema, daughter of Joseph Gates, of Albany, N. Y. She died in 1852, leaving four children, three of whom are living: James (on the homestead), Mary Isabella (widow of Warren P. Mercelliott, and living with her father), and Annie (wife of John De Hoover, of Brookville, Penn.); Elizabeth is deceased. Mr. Rose was again married, on this occasion, in 1852, to Miss Harriet Barnes, of Warren county, Penn., by whom two children were born: Timothy (residing in Michigan), and Walter (deceased). Mr. Rose has always been an active member of the Democratic party, and held the office of justice of the peace since twenty-four years of age, except from 1857 to 1803, when he served as prothonotary of Forest county. He has also been superintendent of schools for many years.

JOHN P. SHIPE, farmer, P. O. Marionville, was born in Northumber land county, Penn., September 15, 1840, a son of Abraham and Sarah Ann (Gulp) Shipe, natives of Northumberland county, and farmers by occupation, former of whom died in 1860, and latter December 27. 1865. They were prominent members of the German Reformed Church. They reared nine children, four of whom are living: Jonas, in Kansas; Sarah, wife of Eli Persing, in Northumberland county; Abraham K., in Jenks township, this county, and John P. The subject of this sketch was reared in his native county, and in 1805 married Miss Lucinda Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Keller, of Columbia county, Penn. In 1874 they moved to Forest county, where he has since been engaged in farming and lumbering in Jenks township. Mr. and Mrs. Ships have four children: Henry A., Daniel H, Annie Ester and James Albert. Mr. Shipe affiliates with the Democratic party, and has filled various township offices. The family are members of the German Reformed Church. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. of Northumberland county, Penn.

A. D. STULL, merchant, Marienville, was born in Fayette county, Penn., April 14, 1839, and is a son of David and Sarah (Davis) Stull, of Cambria and Fayette counties, Penn., respectively. A. D. Stull moved in 1842, with his parents, to Clarion county, where they engaged in farming near Edenburg. His father was a Democrat, and served as justice of the peace for five years. Mr. Stull remained on the homestead until he was seventeen years of age,' receiving a common-school education. In 1855 he engaged as clerk in the mercantile business, and in a few years became a member of the firm, which partnership existed eight years. He then engaged in business at Parker's Landing, Penn., for two years, was four years in Pittsburgh, Penn.. after which he established his present prosperous business at Marienville. in February, 1889. He married, in 1861, Miss Mary P., daughter of Daniel B. and Annie Curll, of Clarion county, Penn., and she died in 1872, leaving three children: William Reynolds, in Clarion; Josephine Plummer, wife of Bart Sheridan, in Pittsburgh, Penn.. and Clara Van Lier, living at home. Mr. Stull was again married, on this occasion June 20, 1889, to Miss Annie A. Rankin, of Clarion county. Mr. Stull sent a substitute to the war of the Rebellion. He is a member of Clarion Lodge, No. 277, F. & A. M., and of Clarion Presbyterian Church.

DR. S. S. TOVVLER. Marienville. was born in Manchester, England, June 6, 1843. a son of Rev. William and Mary (Phillips) Towler. who came to America in 1845 and located in New York City, where the father had charge of a Methodist Church Rev. William Towler was one of the noted ministers of his country, and was sent to New York by special request to take charge of American missions. He died in that city, November 4, 1846. The mother and family soon after removed to Toronto, Canada, and while on a visit to her brother in England, in 1870, she died. Four of their children are living: Mary, wife of John Flesher. in Manitoba; John P., in Chicago; Dr. S. S., and Charles, a commercial traveler, in Collingwood, Canada. Dr. S. S. Towler was reared in Canada until seventeen years of age, and was educated in Toronto Model School. In 18(50 he located at Cleveland, Ohio, and remained there until 1863 when he went into the quartermaster's department at Nashville Tenn., and was honorably discharged in 1865. He read medicine with Drs. Mahaffey and Hickman, of Cleveland, and graduated from the University of Michigan in 1873. He first began practice at Reynoldsville, then moved to Millerstown, Butler Co., Penn., and in 1878 came to Marieaville, where he has since practiced his profession. He also operates in oil and hardwood timber. He married, in 1874, Miss Clara B., daughter of the late Col. John D. Hunt, of Marienville, and they have two children: Maude and Harold. The Doctor is a member of the Butler County Medical Society; has acted as surgeon for the Pittsburgh & Western Railroad for many years, and is a member of the National Association of Railroad Surgeons. He is a member of Jenks Lodge, No. 250, I. O. O. F.; of the E. A. U., No. 351, and is deputy grand worthy patriarch of the Sons of Temperance. He is a Republican in politics, and has filled the office of justice of the peace for ten years. He is an elder in the Presbyterian Church. Dr. Towler is medical examiner for the Equitable Life Insurance Company, of New York; the Penn Mutual, of Philadelphia; the Metropolitan; the Mutual Benefit, of New York; the New England Mutual; the People's Mutual, of Pittsburgh; the A. O. U. W., and the E. A. U.

J. B. WATSON, proprietor of the Watson House, Marienville, was born in Perry township, Armstrong Co., Penn., December 9, 1827, a son of Abraham and Rachel Watson, former of whom was born at Spencer Creek, Centre Co., Penn., latter born in Venango county, same State. In 1804 Abraham Watson, moved with his father, Thomas Watson, to that part of Armstrong county which is now Clarion county. They settled near the Poke Furnace, engaging in farming and lumbering, and were among the first and prominent families of the county. Thomas Watson was a colonel in the war of 1812. He drilled the first salt well in Clarion county, at the mouth of Deer Creek on the Clarion river. Abraham Watson was Democratic in politics, voting twice for Gen. Jackson, and was a prominent member of the Presbyterian Church. He died in January, 1876; his wife died in 1866. Their children were as follows: Clemens, in Whiteside county, Ill. ; J. B.; Jane, Mrs. Harrison Elliott, in Cleveland, Ohio; Hannah, Mrs. J. R. Wick, in Rimersburg, Clarion Co., Penn.; Sarah, Mrs. Samuel Rupert, living on the homestead; Thomas, who was a member of Company A, One Hundred and Third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and died near Newport News, Va.; Annie, wife of John C. Richart, of Perry township, Clarion Co., Penn.; Margaret H., who died at the age of twenty-one years. J. B. Watson was reared on the homestead farm, obtaining his education mostly by studying at home. He was possessed of a fine voice, and for a number of years was engaged in teaching vocal music. His principal occupation was lumbering up to 1860, at which time he began operating in oil at Titusville. In 1869 he was elected prothonotary of Clarion county, serving six years in that capacity, after which he again resumed the oil business at Ehensburgh, continuing in same until 1881. Coming to Forest county December 12, 1882, Mr. Watson built his present hotel at Marienville. He married, in 1859, Miss Margaret Caroline, daughter of John and Hannah Murray, of Clarion county, and by this union they reared three children: Hannah K., who died May 18, 1888; Edwin Alexander, land agent at Springfield, Kas., and John Thomas, living at home. Mr. Watson is a stanch Democrat, and takes an active part in county politics. In 1873 he established the Jackson, of Clarion county, which paper he edited for some years. During the war of the Rebellion he received a captain's commission, but owing to an attack of bilious fever was unable to serve. He was appointed postmaster, at Marienville, in November, 18S5, and served until July 1, 1889. He was a member of Clarion Lodge, No. 252, L O. O. P., and passed all the chairs; is also a member of Clarion Lodge, F. & A. M. Mr. and Mrs. Watson were members of the Presbyterian Church, but lately Mr. Watson declined to act as a ruling elder for good and valid reasons, and gave his name as a member to unite with the Methodist Episcopal Church. His hotel was burned with half its contents, January 1, 1890, at about one o'clock A. M., with a loss of §3,500, and no insurance. The cause of the fire was the melting of a stove in a barber shop, through over pressure of gas. With characteristic energy and vim, in two days after the fire, Mr. Watson began to arrange for another and larger house.

D. E. WHITE, machinist, Marienville, was born in Erie county, N. Y., in 1853, and is a son of James H. and Jane (Joslin) White, natives of Erie county, and farmers by occupation. D. E. White received an ordinary education, after which he learned the machinist's trade, at which he has since worked. In 1882 he came to Marienville in connection with the hub factory, and since the burning of the same has been engaged in business for himself, operating a machine shop. In 1875 he married Miss Maria Bevier, of Erie county, N. Y., and they have one child, Eugene. Mr. White is independent in politics. He is a member of Jenks Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Marienville.

BARNETT TOWNSHIP.

A. COOK, lumber manufacturer and merchant, Cooksburg, was born in Venango county, Penn., in 1824, a son of John and Susan (Helpman) Cook. The father was born east of the Alleghany mountains, and eventually settled in that part of Jefferson (now Forest) county, where he entered a tract of land and built a saw mill. Running the lumber down the river to Pittsburgh on these trips (which he made in a canoe), he would bring back provisions for his family. His first wife dying in 1830, he married, for his second, Mrs. Ritter, who died in 1872. John Cook belonged to the old Whig party, and filled many of the early offices of the county. He died in 1858. Hon. A. Cook, who was one in a family of eleven children, was educated in the schools of the period, and when young, began to assist his father in his business. In 1846 he started in the lumber business for himself, and has since been oue of the extensive dealers in the county; by hard work and good judgment, his firm has become one of the wealthiest in the county. He owns large tracts of timber land, a large mill at Pittsburgh and the mill at Cooksburg. which town was principally built by him, and is named in honor of him. Mr. Cook married, in 1849, Miss Rebecca Ann, daughter of John Mays, of Forest county, and they have reared six children: J. W. (at home), A- W. (attending to the Pittsburgh branch of the business), and Jake, Ida May, Burt and Hattie, all at home. Mr. Cook has always been identified with the Republican party. In 1870 he was elected associate judge of the county, serving five years. He has also filled the offices of county auditor, county commissioner, and all other local offices. He has been a stockholder and officer in the Second National Bank of Clarion. Penn., since its formation, and for the past three years its president. He is a believer in the Universalist doctrine.

G. W. ELDER. proprietor of the Shields House, Clarington, was born in Clarion county, Penn., May 28, 1832, a son of William and Mary (Barr) Elder, natives of Centre county, Penn. He received his education in Clarion county, and has since followed lumbering and farming. In 1880 he came to Claring ton, and engaged in boat building, which he still follows. In 1884 he took possession of his present hotel. He married, in 1858, Miss Alvina Shaffer, daughter of Charles Shaffer, of Venango county, and they have nine children: Charles, in Venango county; John A. and L. S., in Barnett township; G. B., at home; Emma, wife of Dr. H. Simming, in Barnett township; Ida, wife of Isaac Payne, in Gilfoyle, Penn.; W. S., in Barnett township; Jennie and J. K., at home. Mr. Elder is a Democrat; he sent a substitute to the war of the Rebellion. Mrs. Elder is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

JOSEPH HALL, farmer and lumberman, P. O. Redelyffc, was born in Butler county, Penn., May 23, 18-15, a son of Cornelius and Susan (Slater) Hall, former of whom was born in Crawford county, Penn., of Prussian and French parentage, latter being a native of Clarion county, same State. They were farmers by occupation, and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Cornelius Hall was a Democrat in politics, and filled various township offices; he died in Butler county, Penn., in 1874; his widow yet survives. Their family consisted of thirteen children, twelve of whom are still living: John H. (in Clarion county), Joseph, Samuel J. (in Oklahoma). Susan (wife of August P. VonSlyke, in Wisconsin), Jerry M., Cornelius W. (in Redclyffe), Nancy A. (wife of John Stevenson, in Butler county), Mary J. (wife of Lewis Stevenson, also in Butler county), Thomas A. (in St. Louis), Melinda (wife of Henry Young, in Redelyffe), Melvin A. and William C. (also in Redely ffe). Joseph Hall was reared and educated in Butler county, Penn., and has been principally engaged in lumbering in Clarion, Elk and Forest counties, settling in Barnett township, this county, in 1866. He married, in 1807, Miss Harriet, daughter of Robert Huling, and they have had seven children: Sarah O. (Mrs. J. B. Work, in Jenks township), Cora A. (Mrs. E. L. Sutton, in Redely ffe), Lewis R., Mary E., Matilda S., Alice (deceased) and Hattie. Mr. Hall in politics is a Republican. He has been auditor, and is now school director of the township. He has been steward and exhorter in the United Brethren Church.

CORNELIUS W. HALL, farmer, P. 0. Redclyffe, was born in Butler county, Penn., January 31. 1854. He has been principally engaged in farming and lumbering, settling in Barnett township, Forest county, in 1885. He married, in 1885, Miss Aurissa, daughter of John H. Love, of Forest county, and they have two children: Benjamin Melvin and Bessie A. Mr. Hall is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church; in politics an adherent of the Republican party.

ROBERT HULING (deceased) was born at Lock Haven, Penn., December 25, 1809, a son of William and Jane (Chatham) Huling. natives of that place. In 1820 they moved to Clarion county, Penn., where Robert received an ordinary education. He learned the blacksmith's trade, which he followed for some years, and in 183i) he moved to Jefferson county, where he worked at his trade and also cleared a farm. In 1857 he came to Forest county, and here settled upon his late farm in Barnett township. Mr. Huling married, in 1837, Miss Mary Mays, daughter of John Mays, of Forest county, and they reared eight children, four of whom are living: Albert and John (in Redclyffe), Louisa (wife of Emanuel Cook, in Jefferson county) and Harriet (wife of Joseph Hall, also in Redclyffe). Mr. Huling died July 2, 1888, a prominent member of the United Brethren Church. Politically he has always been identified with the Republican party, and filled various township offices.

« ZurückWeiter »