« ZurückWeiter »
nett, *George Brakey, Abram Cooper, W. and A. Carrius, John Cherry, William Deer, John Drum, S. Flint, Charles J. Fox (1,250 acres, four horses, three yoke of oxen, one cow, one gold watch, one double saw-mill of which Albert Fox was millwright), J. W. Groves, W. Griffith, Nathan Hathway, Reuben Hubberd, *A. Jarvis, John Kelly, *J. Stewart, W. Stillson, *N. McMillen, James McLaughlin, A. and D. Mason, *G. Medberry, Sam Norcross, William Porter, William Patterson (one ox and one cow), Thomas Patterson (one ox), *Shannon Riddle, *P. L. Rafferty, Rogers & Co. (double sawmill), *C. L. Shipman, T. and W. Smith, Isaac Watson, F. West, A. Weid. The valuation of seated lands and personal property was placed at $7,850, and of unseated lands at $20,620.
The assessment of Howe township, made by Thomas Porter in the fall of 1867, contains a memorandum of the lumber manufactured in that year. At Howeville (or Balltown) were 60,000 feet of square timber, 500,000 of pine and 100,000 lath, together with 400,000 feet rafted, 200,000 feet ready for rafting and 400,000 feet of hemlock. At Fox's mill 200,000 feet of pine were sawn. The tax-payers were C. J. Fox (saw-mill owner), C. F. Fox, James Leech (president of the Pittsburgh & Forest Lumber Company, whose mill stood on Warrant 4823), John F. Mercilliott (farmer), S. H. Norcross, Thomas Nugent, T. S. Patterson, Thomas Porter, William Patterson, John S. Rappee, Isaac Watson, James Woodruff, James T. Wisner and Harrison Wisner (each owner of a gold watch), R. S. Wisner, F. Huper, Toby Rinaldo, H. W. Sawls, Shelton Oil & Manufacturing Company, then represented by A. H. Barnes, John Miller and A. Pearson. The Marcy Oil Company requested that their 1,976 acres on Salmon creek should be placed on the seated list.
The Brookston Tannery, erected in Howe township in 1871 by Brooks & Co., employed sixty men, and in March, 1872, the village comprised this large tannery, a saw-mill and thirteen houses. In August, under the management of G. W. Brennan, 160 men were employed, and there were twenty-six dwelling houses. J. H. Berry was then superintendent of the tannery.... In February, 1877, Edward D. Stone, the illicit distiller of Brookston, was arrested .... In 1880 the population of Brookston village was 276. In 1888 there were 59 Republican and 40 Democratic votes cast here.
Horton, Crary & Co., the great Sheffield, Warren county, tanners, buy hides in Texas and as far away as South America, manufacture them into leather and market large quantities of their product in England and other parts of Europe. They have five tanneries—one in Forest county, one in Elk county and three at Sheffield. They have been in business nineteen years. In this time they have stripped thousands of acres of hemlock bark in their immediate vicinity, and now have a railroad running thirty-seven miles, which terminates now at Duhring, Forest county, with various branches already built and more contemplated in Elk, McKean and Forest counties to bring them the needful supply of bark.
Brookston E. A. U., No. 501, was organized in November, 1884, with fiftysix charter members, including the following named officers: Chancellor, Samuel D. Brecht; advocate, Mrs. F. W. Brooks; president, F. W. Brooks; vice-president, Charles R. McClure; auxiliary, Mrs. Lucy Tousley; secretary, James I. Cochran; treasurer, C. C. Smith; accountant, A. P. Anderson; chaplain, G. B. M. Borge; warden, John Ryan; sentinel, Mrs. C. C. Smith; watchman, Gust Miller; conductor, Hiram Tousley; assistant conductor, Mrs. C. R. McClune; trustee, A. P. Anderson; examining physician, Dr. G. F. McNutt; representative to Grand Union, F. W. Brooks.
Frost's Station, on the Pittsburgh & Western Railroad, was established in 1881. when Frost purchased 200 acres there and built his large saw-mill.
Walter Byrom, of Byromtown, died in September, 1886. When the place was established, the name was given in his honor. Here, in June, 1884, the Equitable Aid Union was organized with forty-two members, the officers being, chancellor, N. C. Wiltsie; advocate, W. H. Frost; president, Walter Byrom; vice-president, Mrs Belle Drury; auxiliary, Mrs. A. C. Wiltsie; secretary, Miss Nina Slade; treasurer, D. S. Drury; accountant, John Bates; chaplain, Rev. J. W. Sloan; warden, Mrs. Chapman; sentinel, Mrs. W. L. Loomis; watchman, A, S. Brecht; conductor, Mrs. W. Chapingham; assistant conductor, L. H. Nichols; trustee, L. H. Nichols; representative to Grand Union, Ed Klabbats; examining physician, Dr. S. S. Towler.
Forest City was platted late in 1882, by Frank Whittekin and Floyd Proper, surveyors, for G. W. Agnew, agent of the proprietors. In January, 1883, a population of 100, twelve dwellings, Tim. Mahony's hotel and Tom. Willoughby's restaurant were the evidences of its sudden growth.
Mount Agnew post-office was established at Forest City in 1883, whence it was moved to Gusher City under the name of Cooper Tract post-office, of which Capt. Haight is now master. Gusher City was the name given to one of the oil towns of 1883, and in January, 1885, it was falling into decay. The St. Petersburg House was destroyed by an explosion of gas on August, 1887, and with it the town hall, A. L. Anderson's, J. J. Haight's and the post-office buildings being also burned. In 1888 this place gave 19 Republican and 12 Democratic votes.
The fire at Duhring, of July 14, 1887, resulted in the destruction of Browne & Co.'s stable, and the burning of eight horses, one mule and a yoke of oxen.
Eureka City was established in 1883-84. It is located on the banks of the winding Tionesta, where it widens out into a placid little lake or mill pond, and where the road from Sheffield to Foxburg crosses the creek. Precipitous hills shield from the bleak winds of winter, and give the citizens advantages unequaled in the world for sliding down hill. There is one street, and room for several others. C. D. Holtsworth put up the first building, and shortly after from fifteen to twenty others were completed, while several were in course of erection. There were seven or eight boarding-houses, several hotels, a bakery, grocery and other buildings necessary to the body as well as to the mind; among the latter are classed certain rooms in which it is supposed secret lodges meet; for such phrases as "I stand," "flush," "ante up, you sucker," and kindred exclamations are occasionally heard from them. The town is quiet and orderly, and presents a lively appearance. C. D. Holtsworth provided the mental pabulum for the community, besides running the penny post. All the mail and newspapers were "toted" over the hill from Hoover's, on the narrow-gauge road, a distance of two miles and a half. Tony Willoughby and Andy White were running the Petrolia House here. A telephone office and a very muddy road connect the town with the outside world.
James Nesmith, one of the pioneers of Howe township, was crushed to death by a falling tree near the Cooper tract in December, 1889.
Elulalia post-office at Sheffield Junction was established in 1887 with John Hernon in charge.
Balltown is contemporary with the first oil excitement, but not until 1882-83 did the settlement assume village shape. In 1884 C. W. Hawks was appointed postmaster, followed in 1887 by T. W. Corah, who was succeeded in August, 1889, by C. F. Griffin. The history of the town is so connected with the Forest county oil field, described in the first chapter, that little remains to be written here. A Methodist Church building and a few religious organizations show that Providence is not forgotten away up the Tionesta. In March, 1885, the Equitable Aid Union was organized here with forty-four members, among whom were the following named officers: Chancellor, H. B. White; advocate, W. J. Pringle; president, J. W. Solley; vice-president, Mrs. C. B. Neely; auxiliary, J. S. Sax ton; secretary, C. F. Griffin; treasurer, Mrs. William Hawks; accountant, C. A. Hawks; chaplain, M. W. Vincent; warden, Dr. W. B. Hottel; sentinel, Mrs. M. W. Vincent; watchman, N. N. Darling; conductor, J. R. Anderson; assistant conductor, Mrs. J. R. Andrews; trustee, C. A. Hawks; examining physician, Dr. W. B. Hottel; representative to Grand Lodge, Dr. Hottel.
The fire of August 25-26, 1887, destroyed C. W. Hawks' general store. The fire, it is said, originated in escaping gas catching fire. Balltown, in 1888, recorded 28 Republican and 12 Democratic votes.
Streams— Minerals— Population—Officers Elected In February, 1890— First Assessment Roll—The Township In 1882—Daniel Harrington's Description—Miscellaneous. Marienville First SettlementAdditions And Improvements—The Village In 1884-85-86—Schools, Churches. Societies, Etc.
JENKS TOWNSHIP occupies a central position in the eastern half of the county. The west branch of Spring creek, rising in Howe township, flows through the extreme eastern warrants; Millstone Creek rises on the ridge northeast of Marienville, and drains the central warrants, while Salmon creek and its feeders are found in the northwest quarter.
At a point 8,000 feet east of Marienville the old Pine Ridge coal mine was opened at an elevation of 1,742 feet. At Marienville summit a three-foot bed of U. A. coal was found under 65 feet of sandstone, and M. U. coal at 170 feet, resting on conglomerate. At Walton's, between the Eldridge and Hunt farms, the Upper Alton coal was struck at fourteen feet, and also on the Beaver Dam tract, three and one-quarter miles east by north of Marienville, at an elevation of 1,745 feet. From 1869 to 1872 coal was taken out here for blacksmithing purposes. Prior to 1883, when Col. Hunt's new house was built, coal mines were opened near his old home at an elevation of 1,660 feet. On the Parker farm, near the old school building, 1,690 feet above tide, is the bog-iron-ore tract; near the Salmon creek bridge, in the vicinity of Hunt's old saw-mill coal also exists at an altitude of 1,492 feet, while near by, at an elevation of 1,617 feet, coal outcrops. Near Marienville, at 1,610 feet, coal was mined in 1873 by Dr. Towler. In the dry hollow, below the village, bog iron-ore is found. On warrant 3173 coal was mined some years ago. In 1858 Col. Hunt's mines in the bed of Millstone creek were opened; near Kinnear's hunting shanty coal was mined in the "seventies." In 1863 Kinnear opened a coal bed on Gilfoyle run at an elevation of 1,780 feet, while near Byrom station David S. Eldridge opened mines in 1859; near Nugent's summit an outcrop was worked in 1875, and near Rose's summit, above the marl swamp, another outcrop was worked that year. The township is full of fine building stone, but there is no record of limestone being found.
In 1880 the population of the whole township was 219. In 1888 there were 137 Republican, 93 Democratic and 15 Prohibitionist votes recorded, or a total of 245, showing the population to be about 1,225.
The officers elected for 1890 are as follows: Justice of the peace, E. Whitling; constable and collector, A. H. Smith; treasurer, C. S. Leech; auditor, A. B. Watson; clerk, J. A. Scott; road commissioner, A. K. Shipe; school directors, L. Burkhart, A. B. Niller; judge, W. Seigworth; inspectors, J. S. Williams, J. E. McClellan. The first assessment roll of Jeaks township in possession of Clerk Brennan is that of 1852, by Cyrus Blood, assessor. Among the names of residents given thereon are James Anderson, an alien, and his son, the former owning 544 acres, and the latter a yoke of oxen; Thomas Anderson, Isaac Allen and William Armstrong, lot owners in Marienville; Cyrus Blood, owning 1,973 acres, 1 cow, 2 horses and a gold watch; K. L. Blood, 300 acres; Aaron Brockway, 160 acres, 1 yoke of oxen and 5 cows; U. H. Brockway, 2 cows and 137 acres; Russell Buffum, 210acres, 2 horses and4 cows; Ben Buffum, 1 cow; Stephen Buffum, 100 acres, oxen and cow; D. H. Burton, 50 acres; Oran Bennett, oxen and 80 acres; D. Buchanan, 150 acres; D. W. Burke, 100 acres and lot in Marienville; A. D. Beck, a lot in Marienville; also Peter Clover, W. W. Corbet, William Coon, Rufus Dodge, Bennett Dobbs, Dr. J. Dowling and Sam. C. Espy, lot owners in Marienville; James Eldridge, 869 acres, 2 horses, oxen and 3 cows; David Eldridge, 100 acres; Dan. Earl, 1 horse; John Gilfoyle, 100 acres; John D. Hunt, 874 acres, 3 yoke of oxen and 3 cows; C. D. Hart, 186 acres, oxen and cow; J. H. Hershman and Ralph Hill, single men; Isaac Heath, 60 acres; Michael Imhoos, a cow; N. H. Jones, 220 acres and 2 horses; John P. Jones, 480 acres, oxen, horse, cow and silver watch; G. McLaughlin and J. S. McPherson, lots in Marienville; John Nees (or Nuss), yoke of oxen; Thomas Porter, oxen and cow; Benj. Sweet, tutor, 100 acres; Dan. Stowe, Abram Winsor and John Wynkoop, lots in Marion; William Walton, James Pickman and Thomas Nugent. Urial H. Brockway was appointed collector. The assessed value of seated lands was $9,531, and of unseated lands, $30,128.
In June, 1882, the township counted 50 votes and 200 inhabitants; in June, 1883, there were 130 voters recorded and 600 inhabitants. Then it had no store, later it had four; then it had three schools, later it had five; then it had three school-houses, later it had four and one building; then it had one train per day, while in June, 1883, it had four trains each way, making connections with the Philadelphia & Erie at Sheffield, Allegheny Valley Railroad at Foxburg, and other great trunk lines running east. In June, 1882, it had only one little hamlet, Marienville; in June, 1883, it had three respectable villages—Marienville, Byrom's and Curll, Campbell & Co.'s Mills. Marienville increased from no stores or hotel, to two stores, one hotel and a restaurant, and from six dwellings to thirty. Byrom's had grown from nothing to a well-regulated village of twenty dwellings. Curll, Campbell & Co.'s Mills, from a forest to a village of fifteen families, and a school pupilage of twenty-three.
Daniel Harrington, speaking of Marienville and the country south of it as it appeared in 1882, says: "The country between Marien and Clarington, a distance of twelve miles, is 'Forest,' sure enough, and always will be. It is scarcely susceptible of cultivation, except small spots, here and there. It is the country for tanneries, for the timber is mostly hemlock, with a sprinkling of ash and cherry. I saw one cherry tree three feet in diameter at the butt, and at least sixty feet without a limb. I don't believe a whip-poor-will or a blue-jay ever passed over this twelve-mile stretch of woods, between Marien and the Clarion river, without carrying a knapsack of provisions. But Marien is improving. She now has a pipe line and a line of telegraph."
To Mr. Harrington, also, the writer is indebted for the following sketch of the pioneer of Jenks township: "Cyrus Blood, the founder of Forest county, was born at New Lebanon, N. H., March 3, 1795. In his seventeenth year he went to Boston, Mass., where he remained until he finished his school education. When twenty-two years old he made a visit to his brother, then principal of an academy at Chambersburg, Penn. Soon after that date Cyrus was appointed principal of an academy at Hagerstown, Md. He remained'in charge of that institution for several years. His scholastic acquirements were such as to attract attention, and in time he was offered a professorship in Dickinson college, at Carlisle, Penn., and accepted the position. His health, however, was failing, and by the advice of his physician he resigned his professorship, and took a trip through the Middle and Southern States. In his journeying he came to Jefferson county, Penn. Finding that the northern portion of that county was an almost unbroken wilderness, he conceived the idea of establishing a settlement in those wilds, and ultimately forming a new county. For several years he made annual visits to that section, and finally succeeded in purchasing a large tract of land from one of the land companies. It was understood at the time of making the purchase that the company was to open a road to the projected settlement, but in 1833, when Mr. Blood arrived at what is now Corsica, Jefferson county, he found, to his surprise and annoyance, that no road had been made. Leaving his family behind him, he hired men and teams, and, starting from Armstrong's mills, on the Clarion river, he and his men cut their way, step by step, twelve miles, to his wilderness purchase. At uight the little party camped out the best they could, and in the morning again pressed onward. On their arrival at the new possessions, a small clearing was made, a house erected, and in October, 1833, the family, consisting of Mr. Blood, his wife and five children, settled down in their new forest home. It is almost impossible to trace, step by step, the trials and difficulties of the new settlers. They had been accustomed to all the comforts of town life. But energy and enterprise were characteristics of our pioneer, and he and his family struggled bravely to overcome present obstacles, in hope of success. In the same year Mr. Blood was joined in his undertaking by Col. John D. Hunt. From that time to the present the history of old Forest, as well as the successes and failures of our pioneer are cotemporaneous with the history, successes and failures of Col. Hunt. The joys and the sorrows, the hard trials and reverses of Cyrus Blood, were the joys and sorrows, the trials and reverses of John D. Hunt. The histories of the two men are the same and inseparable.
"The new settlement was known far and near as Blood's Settlement. For many years Mr. Blood was the only mail carrier. With every pocket loaded with letters and papers he would start from Brookville for home through the dark woods. Wolves, bears and panthers were plentiful in those days, and often was he followed on his solitary way by those wild denizens of the forest. On one occasion, in the night, he poked with his cane what he supposed was a cow lying in his path, but which proved to be a big bear. Mr. Blood took one side of the path, and the bear the other. Much to the gratification of the former, the bear was not traveling in his direction. At another time some of the children ran into the house, saying that some dogs were playing in the garden. Mr. Blood quickly took his gun down from the hooks, and went out