« ZurückWeiter »
Frederick and Robert. Mr. Lion is a member of the Catholic Church. Politically he is a Democrat, and has held the office of councilman and school director of St. Mary's.
CHARLES LUHR, merchant and brewer, St. Mary's, was born in the grand duchy of Baden, near Freiburg, Germany, September 25, 1830, and is a son of Joseph and Barbara (Loesch) Luhr, who settled in what is now St. Mary's borough, Elk Co., Penn., in 1846. His father, who was one of the first hotel-keepers in St.' Mary's, cleared the lot on which the Luhr House now stands, erected the building and conducted the hotel from 1846 to 1869, when he retired from business. His family consisted of four children: Charles, Frank X., Josephine (Mrs. Dr. W. James Blekley) and Henry . Our subject was reared in Germany until fifteen years of age, when he came to the United States, landing in New York in September, 1845. He attended school in Baltimore until July, 1846, when he set out to join his parents at St. Mary's, taking ten days to make the journey from Baltimore. Mr. Luhr remained with his parents until twenty-seven years of age, attending to the business of the hotel, teaching school, and for a short time acting as agent for the Ridgway Farm & Land Company. In 1857 he embarked in the mercantile business, in which he has since been successfully engaged, and is now a member of the firm of J. C. Frank & Co., general merchants. September 9, 1876, with his brother, Henry, he purchased the St. Mary's brewery, which they have since operated. He is also interested in the real estate business, having purchased and made Luhr's allotment an addition to the borough of St. Mary's. Mr. Luhr was married November 30, 1857, to Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Knickenberger) Beleke, of St. Mary's, and by her he has had ten children, six of whom are living now: Rosa M. (Mrs. J. C. Frank), Joseph J., Charles W., Frank E., Fred A. and Alfred F. The deceased children were named Josephine J. (Mrs. Charles D. Miller), Henrietta B., Fredericka A. and Emma E. Mr. Luhr and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is a' representative and leading citizen; has filled the office of county auditor one term of three years: county treasurer one term (1863-64), and associate judge one term of five years. He has held all the leading offices in the borough of St. Mary's, including burgess, justice of the peace, councilman and school director. Politically he has always been a stanch Democrat.
JOSEPH J. LUHR, merchant tailor, St. Mary's, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co., Penn., May 5, 1864, and is a son of Charles and Elizabeth (Beleke) Luhr. He was reared in his native town and educated in the schools of St. Mary's and at St. Vincent's College, Latrobe, Penn. He began life for himself as a clerk, and January 1, 1889, embarked in his present business in St. Mary's. On September 22, 1885, Mr. Luhr married Frances, daughter of John and Caroline (Sternberger) Krug, of St. Mary's, and they have two sons, Augustin C. and Vincent H. Mr. Luhr is a wide-awake and enterprising young business man. He is a member of the Catholic Church, and of the Catholic Mutual Benefit Association of Emporium; in politics he is a Democrat.
CHARLES W. LUHR, saloon-keeper, St. Mary's, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co., Penn., December 25, 1866, and is a son of Charles and Elizabeth (Beleke) Luhr. He was reared and educated in his native town, and in 1886 embarked in his present business, in which he has since successfully continued. Mr. Luhr married, May 1, 1888, Theresa, daughter of John and Anna (Gerg) Schauer, of St. Mary's. He is a member of the German Catholic Church, and St. John's Benevolent Society. In politics he is a Democrat.
HENRY LUHR. brewer, St. Mary's, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co., Penn., September 20, 1849, and is a son of Joseph and Barbara (Loesch) Luhr, who settled in St. Mary's in 1846. He was reared and educated in his native place, where he has always resided, and at the age of eighteen entered his brother's general store as a clerk; afterward, for fourteen years, was engaged in the mercantile business. Since 1876, in company with his brother, Charles, Mr. Luhr has successfully operated the St. Mary's brewery. On November 13, 1875, he married Amanda, daughter of Barnard B. and Mary A. (Faegle) Weidenboerner, of St. Mary's, Elk county, and they have five children: Alois, Eugene, Edward, George and Mary A. Mr. Luhr and family are members of St. Mary's German Catholic Church; he is a member of St. John's Benevolent Society, and in politics is a Democrat.
WILLIAM A. McCOY, assistant superintendent of the coal mines of Kaul & Hall, St. Mary's, was born in Milesburg, Centre Co., Penn., June 15, 1843, a son of Thomas and Jane (Hall) McCoy, natives of Pennsylvania. He was reared and educated in his native county, where he served one term, 1857 to 1860, as deputy sheriff. On April 19, 1861, he enlisted in Company A. Second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, served three months, and was honorably discharged; then re-enlisted, July 17, 1863, in the United States Navy, and August 9, 1864, was honorably discharged. On August 17, following, Mr. McCoy again enlisted; this time in the Forty-fifth Pennsylvania Regiment, in which he served until the close of the war, being mustered out July 17, 1865. He then returned to Centre county, and there followed farm ins; until 1869, when he commenced in the hotel business in Philipsburg, Penn., which he carried on until 1870, in which year he located in Clearfield county and engaged in the lumber trade for one year. In 1871 he came to St. Mary's, and lumbered in the woods until 1873, when he secured the position of weigher of coal at Dagus Mines, Elk county, for the Northwest Mining and Exchange Company, remaining there until March 17, 1878, when he accepted his present position. On July 5, 1873, Mr. McCoy married Mary, daughter of James and Margaret (Casey) Sullivan, early settlers of Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., and has four children: T. Edgar, Laura, William A., Jr., and Maggie. Mr. McCoy served one term (five years) as justice of the peace of Benzinger township, Elk Co., Penn., but refused a second term. He is a member of the G. A. R., and in politics is a Democrat.
CHARLES McVEAN, druggist, St. Mary's, was born June 4, 1827, in Oswegatchie, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., where he was reared and educated. In 1851 he settled in Ridgway, Elk Co.. Penn., where for two years he served as clerk for John Cobb in general business. He afterward acted in the same capacity for J. S. Hyde for two years, and in 1859 entered into partnership with Mr. Hyde, with whom he was associated in business up to 1861, when he embarked in general mercantile business with Jacob Houk, which partnership existed two years. In 1866 he located in St. Mary's, where he commenced the general merchandise business with James Coyne, which continued up to 1868, when he opened out his present drug business. Mr. McVean has always been an active Republican, and has served one term as clerk, prothonotary and recorder of Elk county. He was postmaster of St. Mary's for eighteen years, having been appointed during President Grant's first administration.
CHARLES D. MILLER, merchant, St. Mary's, was born in the province of Nassau, Prussia, September 1, 1854, and is a son of Theodore and Mary- garetta (Schneider) Miller, the former of whom came to America in 1857, where he became a jobber in lumber, in which business he continued until 1882, when he retired. The subject of these lines came to America when thirteen years of age, and worked on the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, until 1873. In 1874 he embarked in his present business in St. Mary's as dealer in books, stationery, tobacco and cigars, and has built up a successful trade. He was twice married—first to Josephine, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth (Beleke) Lnhr, of St. Mary's, afterward to Clara, daughter of William Mechleiser, also of St. Mary's. Mr. Miller is a member of the Catholic Church and St. John's and St. Joseph's Societies. He is a Democrat and one of the auditors of the borough of St. Mary's.
ALFRED MULLHAUPT, physician and druggist. St. Mary's, was born in White Hall township, Lehigh Co., Penn., August 30, 1859, and is a son of Mathias and Josephine (Meyer) Mullhanpt. He was reared in his native county, receiving a public-school education, after which he served an apprenticeship of four years to the drug business—two years in Catasauqua. Penn., and two years in Philadelphia—and was graduated from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, March 10, 1882. He began the study of medicine in that city in 1881 with Dr. S. Mason McCollin, and in the fall of 1882 entered Jefferson Medical College, where he was graduated April 2, 1884, during which time he practiced two years in Philadelphia. On July 18, 1884, he located in St. Mary's, where, with the exception of two months, he has been in active practice since, and has also conducted a drug store since February 27, 1887. The Doctor married, December 30, 1886, Helena M., daughter of Dr. John and"Sarah (Hoops) Davis, of Pottstown, Penn., and by her has one child, Alfred. Mrs. Mttllhaupt was graduated from the Woman's Medical College of Philadelphia in the spring of 1880; then practiced one year in the Woman's Hospital, and afterward in Pottstown, Penn., until the spring of 1885, when she went to Jacksonville, Fla., as superintendent of St. Luke's Hospital in that city for six months, after which she resumed practice in Pottstown, and in January, 1887, she located in St. Mary's, with her husband, where she has built up a lucrative practice.
HENRY A. PARSONS, Jr., St. Mary's, was born in Ridgway, Elk Co., Penn., May 26, 1852, and is a son of Henry A. and Caroline E. (Russell) Parsons, natives of Massachusetts and New York, respectively, who settled in Ridgway in 1848. The mother died December 30, 1866. The father, who was a shoemaker by trade, which he followed in Ridgway for twenty-five years, died in Nebraska, October 10, 1885. His children were Henry A., Jr., Clara A. (Mrs. F. H. Burr), Jennie L. (Mrs. J. W. Morgester), Laura L. (Mrs. S. P. Fisher) and Grace (Mrs. Dickinson). Reared in Ridgway and educated in the public schools of that place, and the normal school of Edinborough, Penn., he learned the printer's trade at Ridgway and Emporium, and for fourteen years was editor and publisher of the Ridgway Advocate. Mr. Parsons was married March 17, 1873, to Eva M. Fuller, of Edinborough, Penn., and has two sons: Frank H. and Edward A. He served six years in Ridgway as member and secretary of the first school board of that borough. Mr. Parsons located in St. Mary's in 1887, and was appointed postmaster of the borough May 28, 1889, and confirmed by the United States Senate December 21, 1889. Politically he has always been an ardent Republican; was chairman of the Elk County Republican Committee in 1884, and one of the conferees from Elk county to name the delegate to the convention at Chicago from the Twentieth Congressional District that year. He is first lieutenant of Company H, Sixteenth Regiment, N. G. P.
WILLIAM L. PRICE, photographer, St. Mary's, was born in Baltimore county, Md., March 16, 1847, a son of Stephen R. and Mary (Laird) Price, and was reared and educated in his native county. In April, 1870, he went to Milford, Oakland Co., Mich., and married, March 19, 1872, Caroline E., daughter of Joseph Nute, of Oakland county, Mich. In 1881 he moved to Smethport, McKean Co., Penn., where he learned the photographic art, in the gallery of S. L. Bergstresser, and in 1882 located in St. Mary's, where he worked as an operator in the photograph gallery of H. W. Bridges nine months. He then purchased his present business, in which he has been eminently successful, having secured, by his ability, a handsome patronage. Our subject is a member of the F. & A. M., and of the E. A. U. Politically, he is an advocate of Prohibition.
FRANK G. ROTHROCK, merchant, St. Mary's, was born in Caledonia, Elk Co., Penn., May 8, 1859, and is a son of Robert and Jane D. (Hicks) Rothrock. His paternal grandfather, John Rothrock, a lumberman by occupation, settled, in 1850, in Caledonia, where he died the following year; and his maternal grandfather, John C. Hicks, was a son of Levi Hicks, who settled in Driftwood (now in Cameron county) in 1804. Robert Rothrock, father of Frank G., is now a resident of Driftwood, where he is a prominent dealer in lumber and real estate. The subject of our sketch was reared in Elk and Cameron counties, and educated in the public schools of Williamsport, Lycoming county, and at Selin's Grove Institute, Selin's Grove, Penn. He began active business life in the store of A. B. Noyes & Co., of Williamsport. since when he has been connected with mercantile trade at various points, and he is now manager of a fancy grocery store in, St. Mary's, owned by his father, a position he has occupied since May 1, 1889. On November 4,1879, Mr. Roth: rock married Kate, daughter of James and Clarinda (Hoover) Crossley, of Driftwood, Penn,, and they have had four children: Eva, Ralph, Edward (deceased) and Paul. Mr. Rothrock is a member of the Episcopal Church; in politics a Republican.
EBEN J. RUSS, M. D., St. Mary's, was born in Sunbury, Penn., May 24, 1840, and is a son of Eben and Rachel (Simpson) Russ. His father was a native of Monson, Mass., but early in life removed to Sunbury, this State, where he taught school for a time, later becoming engaged in the mercantile business, and married there. He studied law with the late Hon. Alex Jordan, and died shortly after at the age of thirty-nine years. The subject of this sketch was reared in Sunbury, having received his early education at the public and select schools of his native place, and at Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, Penn. After a term of tutelage with his preceptor, Robert Harris Awl, M. D., of Sunbury, he entered the medical department of Columbian University (known as the National Medical College) at Washington, D. C , in the fall of 1858, and was graduated in the spring of 1861. He immediately entered upon the practice of his profession, locating near Williamsport, Penn.. but shortly afterward, upon the invitation of Hon. Simon Cameron, Secretary of war. he went to Washington in order to appear before the regular army medical examining board, as an applicant for the position of medical cadet. Having passed a successful examination, he received the appointment, and. after a few months' service, was assigned to acting assistant surgeon duty. He served about one and a half years, when he was accidently poisoned, at New Creek, Va., in consequence of which he was compelled to resign. He then returned to Williamsport, Penn., and resumed private practice until 1866, when he settled at St. Mary's, where he has been in active practice of his profession ever since. July 28, 1875, he married Clare, daughter of Grundy and Louisa Hindle. He has one child, a son. The Doctor is an active member of several of the important medical associations, among which may be mentioned the Elk County Medical Society, Medical Society of the State of Pennsylvania and the American Medical Association. He has been a member of the mercantile firm of Coryell & Russ, one of the principal houses in the county, since 1873, and is largely interested in coal mining at St. Mary's and Tyler, Clearfield county, in the manufacture of coke at the latter place. He is also identified with the Otto Chemical Company, at Sergeant. McKean county, being a member of the firm. Various other business enterprises, at Williamsport and elsewhere, claim his attention. In politics he is a Republican.
JOSEPH M. SCHAEFER, accountant, St. Mary's, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co., Penn., in 1851, a son of George F. and Gereve (Werreth) Schaefer, former a native of Pforzheim. Baden, Germany, born February 19. 1812. George F. Schaefer came to the United States in 1837, landing same year in Baltimore, Md. In 1839 he was married, and in 1845 he and his wife came to St. Mary's, where he became superintendent for Benzinger & Eschbach. Joseph M. Schaefer received his education in the common schools of his native borough, and in 1871 entered the office of J. K. P. Hall, in St. Mary's. In 1874 Mr. Schaefer married Alice McGill, daughter of R. C. McGill, and they have four children: Joseph Fred, Mary P., Charles J. and Gertrude. The parents are members of the Catholic Church, in politics Mr. Schaefer is a Democrat.
IGNATIUS SCHAUT, proprietor of a planing-mill, St. Mary's, was born in St. Mary's. Elk Co., Penn., July 9, 1854, and is a son of George and Sophia (Meyer) Schaut. natives of Prussia, who came to America in 1849 and settled in St. Mary's, where they reared a family of seven children: Ignatius, Mary, Mrs. Joseph E. Foster; Joseph J. P., Josephine, Edward, Lizzie and Louisa. The father was a carpenter and painter by trade. Ignatius Schaut was reared in his native town, where, with the exception of four years, he has always resided. In August, 1873. he commenced his present business, which he has since successfully continued. He married, September 20, 1880, Mary G., daughter of Bernard and Mary A. (Fuegly) Weidenboerner. of St. Mary's, and they have three children: Charles, Alfred and Florentine. Mr. Schaut and family are members of the Catholic Church. Politically he is a Democrat, and has held the office of auditor of Benzinger township.
PETER SHOUP, bottler and wholesale liquor dealer. St. Mary's, was born at Madison Furnace, Clarion Co., Penn., October 19, 1861, a son of Lawrence and Lena (Snyder) Shoup, former a native of Germany and latter of Pennsylvania. Lawrence Shoup was a resident of Clarion county about fifty years, and Joseph Snyder, maternal grandfather of Peter Shoup, a native of Germany, was one of the pioneers of Knox township, same county. The subject of our sketch was reared and educated in his native county, and in 1881 came to Elk county, where he worked in the lumber woods up to 1885. He then embarked in the hotel business in St. Mary's, becoming proprietor of the Luhr House, which he carried on two years, and in 1887 engaged in his present business, which ho has successfully continued since, having built up a lucrative trade. In January, 1882, Mr. Shoup married Jennie, daughter of Antony Mottmiller, of Paint township, Clarion Co., Penn., and by her has four children: Bert, Nora, Mamie and Magdalena. Mr. Shoup is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Catholic Church.