« ZurückWeiter »
Booth are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Mount Pleasant. He has held various township offices, and is one of the popular men of the village.
JOHN DALEY, proprietor of the Daley Hotel, Benezette, is a native of Ireland, born June 23, 1845, a son of Daniel and Margaret (Cronan) Daley, also natives of Ireland. He remained in his native country until eighteen years of age, and was there educated, and worked as a farm hand. In 1803 he came to the United States and located in Elk county, Penn., where he was employed as a laborer in the woods until 1867, and then worked on the railroad until 1872, when he opened a store near Benezette, which he conducted about four years. In 1873 he moved to Benezette and opened the hotel, and has proved to be a popular and efficient landlord. He is a genial, whole-souled man, and his hotel is well patronized by the traveling public. Mr. Daley was married, April 22, 1867, to Miss Mary Nefey, daughter of Patrick and Alice (Higgins) Nefey. she, at the time of their marriage, being employed by W. H. Schram in a hotel at Brockwayville, Penn. They have nine children: D. C, Alice E., Johanna V., John, Jr., James M., Mary, Patrick H., Catherine and Michael. In politics Mr. Daley is a Democrat.
MILES DENT, lumberman and merchant, Dent's Run, is a son of Thomas and Elizabeth Dent, natives of England, who were among the first settlers of Elk and Cameron counties. Miles Dent was born in what is now Gibson township, Cameron Co., Penn., June 3, 1823, and in January. 1850, married Miss Lydia Miller, a daughter of Daniel and Mary Miller, of Gibson township, and they have reared a family of eight children, all still living: Isaiah, married and living at Dent's Run; Febaney, wife of Charles Teller, of Warren county, Penn.; Austin, married and living at Dent's Run; Alice, wife of S. D. Billings, at Dent's Run; Warren, married and living at Dent's Run; Abel E., married and also residing at Dent's Run; Mary, wife of JohnR. Hicks, of Gibson township, Cameron county, and Jennie. Mr. Dent built, in 1865, one of the first grist-mills in Gibson township, and in 1866 built a small water-power mill. In 1881 he built a steam mill, the capacity of which is 30,000 feet of lumber per day. He also does a flourishing business in the store at Benezette, Elk county, where he resides, and where he is recognized as a practical business man.
ISAIAH DENT, P. O. Dent's Run, is the son of Miles and Lydia (Miller) Dent, of Dent's Run, Penn., at which place Isaiah was born August 31, 1850. His preliminary education, acquired at the school of his native town, was finished at Bellefonte, Penn. As a minor, he worked for his father until twentyone years of age, when he entered his father's store in the capacity of clerk, continuing in that position for eight years. August 10,1879, he married Miss Etolia A. Smith, a daughter of Robert F. and Annie (Conner) Smith, of Dent's Run, who has borne him two children: Miles F. and Carl A., the latter deceased. Mr. Dent has served his township in the capacity of school director, and is an excellent business man.
HENRY D. DERR, farmer, P. O. Benezette. is the eldest son in a family of five children born to William and Eva R. Derr, natives of Pennsylvania. He was born in Centre county, Penn., May 22, 1834, and was reared and educated in Bellefonte, Penn. He came to Elk county in 1851, and settled in Benezette in 1853. He worked in his father's blacksmith shop until 1858, when he engaged in blacksmithing on his own account until 1SS7. then he removed to his father-in-law's farm and cared for him until his death. Mr. Derr married, January 1, 1858, Miss Amelia, a daughter of Erasmus and Mary (Weed) Morey, whose parents came to Elk county, Penn., in 1813. Mr. and Mrs. Derr have a family of four children, viz.: Will E.; Mary E.. wife of N. S. Shaffer, of Caledonia, Penn.; Carrie V., wife of Byron E. Smith, of Sterling Run, Penn., and Della M., at home. Mr. Derr is highly respected by his fellow-citizens, and has been honored with the offices of county auditor (serving three years) and of county treasurer (also for a term of three years), and has held various minor offices in the township.
J. B. EBERHART, merchant, Benezette, was born in Union county, Penn., June 23, 1858, son of Daniel W. and Elizabeth (Whitmere) Eberhart, natives also of Pennsylvania. He obtained a practical education in the schools of Centre county, Penn., and when seventeen years old began an apprenticeship at the miller's trade in the Mount Eagle Flouring Mill, and served two years. He was then employed in the flouring-mill of Duncan, Hale & Co., in Bellefonte, Penn., and in 1880 he came to Benezette and took charge of a flouringmill. He also had charge of a gents' furnishing goods store, which was destroyed by fire in 1884, and he soon afterward formed a partnership with C. A. Haskins in the mercantile business. Mr. Haskins continued in the business but a short time, however, retiring from the firm, and Mr. Eberhart became associated with Henry Blesh, and they are now doing a large general mercantile business. Mr. Eberhart was married May 19, 1881, to Miss Isabella Rothrock, of Benezette, and they have three children, Charles V., Joseph L. and Arthur I. Mr. Eberhart has filled various township offices. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. E. FREE, physician and druggist, Benezette, is a son of Dr. A. C. and Emily (Kirby) Free, the former a native of Pennsylvania, and the latter of Cincinnati, Ohio. They reared five children, our subject being the eldest son. He was born in York county, Penn., August 14, 1860, and was graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Md., in 1882. Dr. Free commenced the practice of his profession in Harrisburg in the latter year, and came to Emporium in 1884, where he met Miss Alice M. Lloyd, a daughter of W. F. and Sue (Clark) Lloyd, of Emporium. They were married, June 30. 1886, and in 1887 he returned to Harrisburg. He again came, however, to Benezette and in May, 1889, he purchased of Eberhart & Blesh a drug store in the town. Dr. and Mrs. Free are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ALBERT GREINER, merchant, Benezette, is a native of Germany, born September 20, 1848, a son of George F. and Juliane R. Greiner, who spent their lives in their native country. He "was given a practical business education in the schools of Germany, and when thirteen years of age began to learn the shoemaker's trade and served an apprenticeship of three years. He then worked as a journeyman eight years, and in 1871 came to the United States; he settled in Benezette in 1873, where he opened a boot and shoe store, which he conducted until 1885, when he added a stock of dry goods, notions, etc., to his other stock, and now has one of the largest mercantile stores in the town. October 17, 1873, Mr. Greiner married Friedoline G. Kolb, a daughter of Johann Thomas and Margarethe Kolb, of Germany. They have a family of four children: George F., Ernest W., Otto A. and Esther G. Mr. Greiner has held the office of justice of the peace since 1882; he has also filled the offices of town clerk, township auditor and tax collector, and was appointed postmaster in 1889. In 1882, Mr. Greiner, in company with his eldest son, George F. —then seven years old—visited his native home, in Germany, and returned after an absence of three months.
D. E. HEWETT, farmer, P. O. Benezette, is a son of Gerdon and Elizabeth (Stevens) Hewett, natives of Pennsylvania, who reared a family of eleven children, the subject of this sketch being the fourth son. D. E. Hewett was born in Wyoming county, Penn., March 2, 1840, receiving his education in the district schools of the county, and worked upon the home farm until he attained his majority. He participated in the Civil war, enlisting in 1861, and, being assigned to Company H, One Hundred and Thirty second Regiment, P. V. I., served nine months. Upon his return home, he came to Benezette township, and engaged in lumbering. He married, August 26, 1876, Miss Rosa, a daughter of John and Catherine (McEwen) Largay, natives of Ireland, who came to Elk county, in 1827. Mr. and Mrs. Hewett have a family of three children, all at home. Mr. Hewett, in 1880, bought a farm in Benezette township, and in 1888 purchased a dwelling-house and store in the village of Benezette, where he now resides. He is a Democrat in politics, and has held various township offices. Mrs. Hewett is a member of the Catholic Church.
JACOB S. JOHNSON, farmer, P.O. Benezette, is a son of Thew and Sarah (Coleman) Johnson, the former a native of England, and the latter of Pennsylvania. They came to Benezette in 1817, and reared a family, Jacob S. being the third son. He was born, November 6, 1830, in Benezette township, upon the farm where he now resides, and received his education in the common schools of Benezette. He married, in May, 1856, Miss Margaret Murray, of Benezette, a daughter of John and Hannah (Hollinsworth) Murray, and they have three children: Alice (wife of Andrew Overturf, of Benezette), Everett B. and Annie M. Mr. Johnson has served his fellow-citizens in the capacity of supervisor and school director. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. O. JOHNSON, farmer, P. O. Benezette, is a native of Benezette township, Elk Co., Penn., born February 4, 1833, a son of Thew and Sarah (Coleman) Johnson, the former a native of England, who came to America in 1802 and settled three miles east of the village of Benezette, and the latter a native of Pennsylvania. J. O. Johnson is the fourth son in a family of nine children. He was reared and educated in his native township, remaining at home and working on the farm with his father until his marriage, when he bought the farm where he now lives, which is one of the best in the township He has been a successful farmer, and is one of the representative men of Benezette township. Mr. Johnson was married, March 1, 1859, to Miss Henrietta Hollen, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Overturf) Hollen, and to them were born four children: W. B., Harriet, T. D. and Thomas. Mrs. Johnson died in 1869, and in 1871 Mr. Johnson married Miss Elvina A. Freeman, daughter of Benjamin and Rebecca (Chandler) Freeman, of Emporium, Penn. They have five children: J. O., Jr., Ralph, Frank H., Ella and Freeman. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Johnson has served his township in various official positions.
W. H. JOHNSON, farmer, P. O. Benezette, is the eldest son of Simpson and Therza M. (Woodworth) Johnson, natives of Pennsylvania. Simpson Johnson was a son of Thew and Ann (Simpson) Johnson, English Quakers, who came to what was then Gibson township, Clearfield Co., Penn., in 1817. They voyaged up the river in a canoe, built a log cabin, cleared a few acres of ground, and planted an orchard, some of the trees of which are still standing. They reared a family of thirteen children, of whom Simpson was the third son. W. H. Johnson was born in what is now Benezette township, Elk Co., Penn., May 30, 1840, upon the farm cleared and settled by his grandfather. In 1847, when he was only seven years of age, a heavy flood came in the night. Hearing water rushing, they arose, only to find the house surrounded by water. The father, thinking the barn the safer place, carried his wife and three children thither and deposited them upon the hay mow. The barn went adrift, and finally the logs parted, leaving them upon the hay. It was very dark, but finally they knew they had struck a tree, by some limbs striking them in the face. The father put his wife and children up among the limbs, then climbed up himself, where they were obliged to remain until the second morning, when they were rescued by some men on a raft. W. H. Johnson's education was obtained in the common schools of Benezette township, and he worked with his father upon the farm until June 4, 1864. when he married Miss Emily Overturf, a daughter of Andrew and Elizabeth (Hess) Overturf, of Benezette. They reared a family of four children. Mrs. Johnson died in February, 1874, and the following December Mr. Johnson married Mrs. Mary Shawl (widow of Richard Shawl) and daughter of Henry and Ann (Bounce) Binker, natives of Philadelphia, Penn. On June 1 and 2, 1889. the people in the valley along the Bennett's branch of the Sinnemahoning. suffered greatly from another flood by having their crops and other property swept away. Mr. Johnson having a daughter living at Lock Haven, and hearing that the supplies were cut off, owing to the railroad bridges being swept away, along with T. J. Shaffer, who had a sister residing at Lock Haven, he procured a boat and some flour, ham and coffee, and went to see them. Mr. Johnson found his daughter (Mrs. McMillen) in fair circumstances, though many living there were in need. Upon returning home Mr. Johnson found that his barn, with all -its contents and all his out-buildings, had been destroyed by fire, origin of the fire being unknown. Mr. Johnson is now building a roller-process grist-mill with a capacity of thirty barrels per day. He has held various township offices, and himself and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
M. D. JOHNSON, farmer, P. O. Benezette, is a son of Ralph and Rebecca (Brooks) Johnson, natives of Yorkshire, England, who came to Benezette in 1812, and settled in what is now known as Grant, Elk county, on the Allegheny Valley Railroad, twelve miles west of Driftwood, Cameron county. Here they cleared a farm and engaged in lumbering, and in 1830, Mr. Johnson built a saw-mill. They reared a family of thirteen children. M. D., the second son was born March 31, 1814. He worked for his father until October, 1845, when he married Miss Massey Overturf, a daughter of Andrew and Hannah (Jordan) Overturf, of Driftwood, Penn. After marriage they removed to the farm where they now reside, upon what is known as Mount Pleasant. Mr. Johnson has been supervisor for one term, and has also held various township offices. Politically he is a Republican. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, at Mount Pleasant.
JULIUS JONES, retired. P. O. Benezette, one of the most successful farmers and lumbering men of Elk county and vicinity, than whom none is more highly esteemed by his fellow-citizens, was born March 2(5. 1814. His parents. Pellatire and Soviah (Stiles) Jones, were natives of Vermont, but about ISM, settled at Schroon, Essex Co., N. Y., where Julius was born and educated. His mother died when he was but a year old, and his father at the age of sixtythree years. From the time of his mother's death, Julius lived with David Stowell, until he was twenty-two years of age. Mr. Stowell was a native of Vermont, an early settler of Schroon, N. Y. Mr. Jones was engaged in lumbering in New York State until 1854, in which year he removed to Elk county, where he bought a tract of timber land, and continued in the lumber trade, carrying on farming in connection, until 1880, when he retired from active business life, though still residing on the old homestead in Benezette township. In 1836 Mr. Jones married Miss Polly, daughter of Elihu and Mary (Tubbs) Griswold, the former a native of Vermont and an early settler of Schroon. N. Y., and the latter of Providence, R. I., and to Julius and Polly Jones were born two children: Byron and Parmelia, both now deceased. Mr. Jones is a stanch Democrat, and has always been an active member of his party. For seven years he was county commissioner, and for five years he held the position of associate judge, besides filling various local offices of trust.
ELLIS LEWIS, farmer, P. O. Benezette, is a son of Thomas and Cynthia (Ellis) Lewis, who came to Elk county from Beliefonte, Centre Co., Penn. His grandparents came from Wales before the Revolution, locating in York county, Penn., and his grandfather, Lewis Lewis, was the first surveyor in Centre county, at the time when that part of the State up to that county was all Northumberland county, becoming afterward deputy surveyor of all the land of that territory. He surveyed all along the Susquehanna river, and afterward up Bald Eagle creek to where Milesburg now stands; also along the Juniata river, and laid out the town of Lewistown, which was named after him. located some thirty miles from Bellefonte, and now the county seat of Mifflin county. In those days the experiences of surveying parties were fraught with much danger from both Indians and wild animals; and Mr. Lewis, perhaps more on the alert than others of his party, always kept a watchful eye, never knowing when a charge on them might be made by the savages. Mrs. Lewis, grandmother of Ellis Lewis, passed from earth in 1840 at the patriarchal age of one hundred and eight years.
Thomas Lewis, the father of the subject of these lines, in 1804 visited Elk county along with a surveyor named Webb, and then returned home. In 1811 he came to where Driftwood, Cameron county, now stands, and here planted a crop of corn on shares. He raised a good crop, and then once more proceeded homeward. This region must have possessed a strong fascination for him, however, for in December, 1817, he moved hither his family (including the subject of this sketch) from Bellefonte, Centre county, the journey being made mostly in a canoe. They came up the Susquehanna river to Big Island (now known as Lock Haven), and from there to the mouth of Sinnemahoning creek, up which they pushed to the mouth of the Driftwood branch, thence up the Bennett's Branch creek to their destination, settling near where Ellis Lewis now lives. At that time there were no roads, only a turkey path from Driftwood up to the head of Bennett's Branch creek, an Indian trail continuing on through the wilderness to Sandy Lick Creek, thence on to the Indian Reservation on the Allegheny river.
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Lewis reared a family of six children, of whom Ellis is the eldest son, born at Bellefonte, Centre Co., Penn., January 1, 1808. He had no chance to obtain an education, there being no schools in this region at that time. He worked for his father until he was twenty years of age, when he learned the trade of a millwright, which he followed seven years. August 5, 1837, he married Miss Annie B., daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Butler) Michaels, who has borne him eleven children. In 1839 he came upon his father's farm, since which time he has been engaged in farming and lumbering, and has been very successful in both pursuits. In 1851 he was elected county treasurer by the Republican party, which office he held for three years, and he has also held various local offices. Mrs. Lewis is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
LUTHER LUCORE, (Lon., retired farmer, P. O. Benezette, was born in Emporium, Penn., October 28, 1833, the second son in a family of fifteen children born to Luther and Mary (Smith) Lucore, natives of Massachusetts and Pennsylvania. His father came to Emporium in 1818. Mr. Lucore worked upon his father's farm and at lumbering until September 26, 1861, when he entered the United States service, and was assigned to the First Pennsyl