« ZurückWeiter »
ical engineering firm of Mitchell & Wallace, Glasgow, who made a specialty of coal-pit machinery. After a voyage to South America, in 1865, he came to the United States and entered the employ of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company, at the anthracite coal mines near Scranton, Penn., working in various capacities inside and around the mines until 1873, when he was employed by the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad Company to take charge of the transferring of their coal from standard to broad-gauge cars at Waverly, N. Y. In 1874 he came to Elk county, as assistant superintendent of the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, and opened up the coal fields around Dagus Mines and on the Toby branch. Some years later he was promoted to superintendent, and is now the general superintendent of the Blossburg Coal Company and the Towanda Coal Company, whose mines and mills are in Tioga and Bradford counties, Penn,, operated by the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad Company. The Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, ten years ago, mined less than 100 tons of coal daily, but are now producing 3,500 tons per day, besides shipping a large quantity of lumber and bark. They employ about 1,200 men, supplying the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad with coal, as well as doing a large commercial trade, including the Grand Trunk Railroad of Canada, the N. Y., P. & O. R. R., and numerous other railroads, also steamship lines, including the Guion Steamship Company, the Union Steamboat Company, and others. The mines and mills of the Northwestern Company are at Dagus Mines, Toby, Kyler's, Hellen Mills, Mead Run and Clarion. Mr. Robertson is superintendent of the Toby Branch Railroad and the Daguscahonda Railroad, which connects with the Pennsylvania Railroad system over which the coal, etc., is transported to market. In 1878 Mr. Robertson married Miss Annie Elizabeth, daughter of Ralph Bell, of Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., and by this union have been born three children: Edward, Jesse and David. Mr. Robertson owns a fine farm, and pays particular attention to the breeding of Jersey cows. He is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., and of the American Institute of Mining Engineers. He is a Republican, but his life is too busy a one to permit him to take an active part in politics. He and his family attend the services of the Episcopal Church.
PASCO SHAVER, farmer, P. 0. Kersey's, was born in Schoharie county, N. Y., February 16, 1883, a son of George and Jane (Mulford) Shaver. He was reared and educated in that county, and in 1859 came to Elk county, but went back again in 1861, and remained in New York State engaged in farming until 1873, when he returned to Elk county and has since lived on his present farm of 400 acres. He married, in 1861, Miss Ann, daughter of John Largay, of Fox township, and they have five children, viz.: Myrtie, wife of Harry Trude, of Fox township; Mary, Alvin, Charles and William, at home. Mr. Shaver is a Democrat, and is tax collector of the township. His wife is a member of the Catholic Church, while he belongs to the Protestant faith, and is a member of the Patriotic Order Sons of America.
JOHN SPLEEN, merchant and lumber manufacturer, Kersey's, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., October 15, 1853, a son of Jeremiah and Catherine (Donovan) Spleen, natives of Ireland, who engaged in farming in For township, where the father died. The mother is still living. John Spleen received an ordinary education, and early began work in the lumber woods as a day laborer. At the age of thirty years he began to manufacture lumber for himself, and now operates two mills in Fox township, with a capacity of 6,000,000 feet. In September, 1888, he established his present grocery business at Kersey. He married, in 1886, Miss Annie Kramer, of Wilcox. Elk county, and they have two children—a son, named John, and a daughter named, Florence. Mr. Spleen is independent in politics, and a member of the Catholic Church.
GEORGE F. SPULLER, proprietor of the Spuller House, Kersey's, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co. Penn., February 20, 1856, a son of Matthias and Barbara (Verner) Spuller, natives of Paris, France, and Alsace, Germany, respectively. They were married in this country, first locating in St. Mary's, then settling in Kersey, where the father was for some years engaged in the butcher business. He was a Democrat in politics, and was a member of the Catholic Church. He died in 1882, but Mrs. Spuller still survives. Sixteen children were born to their union, nine of whom are still living, viz.: John, of Kersey; Joseph, of Smethport, Penn..; George F.; Catherine, wife of Frank Showers, of Benezette; Barbara, wife of E. R. Emery, of Allegheny City: Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Pontzer, of Fox township; Mary, wife of John Wilhelm, of St. Mary's; Josephine, wife of Jonathan Davis, of St. Mary's: Rosa, wife of George McCloskey, of Johnsonburg. George F. Spuller moved with his parents to Iowa when three years of age, and came to Kersey at the age of eleven years. He received a common-school education, and has been engaged in book-keeping, clerking, etc., having lived in Baltimore, Md., Pitts burgh, and in Indiana county, Penn. In 1880 he purchased his present hotel, which he has since conducted. In 1882 he married Miss Cassie, daughter of James McCloskey of Fox township, and they have three children: Fred G., Bernard F. and James M. Mr. Spuller is a Republican in politics, and has served as township auditor for three years. Mr. and Mrs. Spuller are members of the Catholic Church.
C. H. STRAESSLEY, harness-maker, Kersey's, was born in Clarion county. Penn., January 24, 1857, a son of Dr. Herman and Caroline (Grover) Straessley, natives of Germany, who came to America and first settled in Lycoming county, Penn. The father practiced his profession in that and Clarion counties, and in about 1870 they moved to Kersey, where the father died May 20. 1884. C. H. Straessley received a common-school education, and learned the harness-maker's trade, which he has since followed, conducting a store for one year in St. Mary's, and establishing his present business in 1879. In 1883 he married Miss Maggie, daughter of Peter Pontzer of Kersey, and they have three children: Herman, Mary and Edward. He affiliates with the Democratic party, is treasurer of the township, and is a member of the Catholic Church.
LEWIS THOMAS, proprietor of the Exchange hotel, Kersey's, was born in South Wales, in 1842, a son of David and Barbara (Williams) Thomas, both of whom died in that country. Mr. Thomas came to America in 1866, and first located in Tioga county, Penn., where he found employment as a coal miner for nine months. He then came to Elk county and found employment at the Shawmut mines until 1869, when he moved to Renovo, Clinton county: lived there until July 17, 1870, when he moved to Centreville, Elk Co., Penn.. where he found employment as a coal miner until 1880, when he established his present hotel. He married, in Wales, in 1864, Miss Ann Owen, and they have four children, named as follows: David Thomas (of St. Mary's, Penn.. married to Miss Tinnie Puncheon, and has four children: Lewis, Jeanette, David and William), Lewis Thomas, Jr. (an employe of the P. & E. R. R.. married to Miss Anna S. Emmett, of Kersey, and now residing at Johnsonburg, Elk county), Margaret and William John (at home). Mr. Thomas is a member of the Democratic party, and belongs to Renovo Lodge, No. 595, I. 0. O. F. He and family are members of the Baptist Church.
PETER THOMPSON, carpenter and farmer, P. O. Kersey's, was born in Centre county, Penn., November 15, 1812, a son of Robert and Catherine (Wantz) Thompson, the former a native of Lancaster county, and the latter of Centre county, Penn. They came to Elk county in 1824, locating upon a farm in Fox township. Robert Thompson was a weaver by trade, but followed farming after coming to Elk county. He was one of the prominent men of his time, and filled various township offices. He died in Clearfield county, Penn., in 1868, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Peter Thompson came to Elk county with his parents, and in 1836 married Miss Sally, daughter of John Kyler; she died in 1838 and he was next married, in 1842, to Miss Eliza Dixon, who died in 1845, leaving one son, Prochorus, of Warsaw, Jefferson Co., Penn. His next marriage was in 1846, to Miss Hannah Rogers, and by her he has ten children, viz.: Elvira (wife of Alonzo Myers, of Ridgway, Penn.), Herbert (of Lake City, Minn.), Eugene (of Horton township, Elk Co., Penn.), Gilbert (of Forestville, Penn.), Simon (of Brandy Camp), Reuben (of Horton township, Elk county), George and Ida (at home), Eliza (wife of Daniel Clark, of Ridgway) and Ada (wife of Isaiah Bell, of Ridgway). Mr. Thompson has always been identified with the Democratic party, and has served as justice of the peace for fifteen years, also filled other township offices. He is one of the oldest and best-known residents of Fox township, and has been a deacon in the Baptist Church for many years.
ALLOIS URMANN, proprietor of Elk Brewery, Kersey's, was born in Bavaria, Germany, July 4, 1861, a son of Ludrich and Teressa (Shimburger) Urmann. Allois Urmann came to America in 1881, and in 1884 engaged in hotel-keeping at Kersey. In this he was successful, and he continued in same until 1885, when he purchased the Elk Brewery, and has since conducted the same, proving himself to be a man of marked business ability. He married, May 9, 1883, Miss Teressa, daughter of Andrew Hau, of Fox township, and to them have been born four children: Andrew, Teressa, Wally and Emma. Mr. Urmann is a member of St. Boniface Society, and is a Democrat.
CHAUNCEY BROCKWAY, farmer, P. 0. Brockport, is a son of Chauncey and Rhoda (Nichols) Brockway, natives of Albany county, N. Y., who came to Elk county, Penn., in December, 1817, and located in what is now Jay township. Consider Brockway, the grandfather of the subject of this sketch, traded property in Albany county, N. Y., for 400 acres of wild land, which was settled by his son, Chauncey. He was in the Revolutionary war. Chauncey, the father of Mr. Brockway, was a soldier in the war of 1812, and Chauncey, Jr., served nine months in the war of the Rebellion, in Company E, of the One Hundred and Seventy-second Pennsylvania Regiment. Chauncey Brockway, Sr., built the first saw-mill in the township, and was extensively engaged in lumbering and farming. He was a Jacksonian Democrat, and was serving as county commissioner when Elk county was set aside from Clearfield county, and served as justice of the peace for thirty-one years. He and wife were members of the Free-Will Baptist Church, in which he was a deacon for many years. He died December 16, 1886, and his wife in April, 1885. Jonathan Nichols, the father of Mrs. Brockway, was a physician and Baptist minister, and came to Elk county in 1819. Mr. Brockway's family consisted of ten children, five of whom are living: Louisa, wife of Jacob Smeltzer, of Illinois; Lucy S., wife of Adam Shaffer, of Illinois; Chauncey; N. M., of Forestville, Jefferson Co., Penn., and O. O, of Indiana. Chauncey Brockway, Jr., was born at Brandy Camp, Horton township, Elk county, March 16, 1823, and received but a limited education, as he was put to work in the woods at twelve years of age, to assist in clearing the homestead. He has followed the occupation of a farmer, lumberman and gunsmith. He married, in 1844, Miss Margaret, daughter of David Taylor, of York county, Penn., and two children were born to this union: Gilbert, born in October, 1847, a merchant and farmer of Jefferson county, and Wilhelmina, born July 26, 1849. Mr. Brockway is identified with the Republican party. He is a member of the Church of the Messiah. N. M. Brockway, brother of the subject of this sketch, served as captain of a company in a three-months regiment, in 1863, at the time of Lee's invasion.
CHARLES A. BROWN, farmer, and superintendent for W. H. Hyde, P. 0. Brandy Camp, was born in Elk county, Penn., October 8, 1851, a son of Andrew J. and Harriet (Coleman) Brown. Mr. Brown attended the township schools, and has always followed farming, owning a fine farm in Fox township. November 1, 1888, he came to his present location, where he superintends the farm and hotel for W. H. Hyde. June 3, 1873, he married Miss Georgia, daughter of Robert McIntosh, of Horton township, and they have two children: Chester S. and Edna A. Mr. Brown is identified with the Republican party.
C. L. CHAMBERLIN, of the firm of Horton & Chamberlin, Brockport, was born June 28,1854, received the advantages of a good academic education, and has followed book-keeping as a profession, having kept the books of \V.H. Horton for many years. In 1884 he established a grocery business at Brockport, under the .firm name of Nulf & Chamberlin, which continued four years. At present Mr. Chamberlin and Daniel Nulf are conducting a pool-room, restaurant and barber shop. In April, 1889, he became a member of the firm of Horton & Chamberlin, by purchase of the interest of W. H. Horton in the old firm. In 1883 Mr. Chamberlin was united in marriage with Miss Agnes, daughter of William Cheatle, of Horton township, and they have two children: Claude and Donald. Mr. Chamberlin is a Republican, and has served as auditor, school director, etc., and also served for several years as town treasurer and treasurer of the school board. Mr. Chamberlin has two brothers: Celo W., of Punxsutawney, and William E., of Horton City. W. H. Horton. A. S. Horton (whose sketches appear elsewhere) and Mr. Chamberlin, are cousins. He is a member of Ridgway Lodge, I. O. O. F., and of the Patriotic Order Sons of America.
GEORGE W. CLINTON, farmer, P. 0. Brockport, was born in Steuben county, N. Y., April 4, 1833, a son of Henry D. and Mary (Groves) Clinton, natives of Vermont and Steuben county, N. Y., respectively. In 1840 they moved to Potter county, Penn., and in 1843 to Elk county; they next purchased a farm in Huston township, Clearfield county, and finally located in Jefferson county, where the father died in 1872. The mother still survives and makes her home with her son, George W. They reared a family of nine children, seven of whom are living, viz.: George W., Joseph (of Jefferson county), Eliza (wife of D. H. Trude, DuBois, Penn.), Charles, William and Jeremiah (all of DuBois) and Henry A. George W. Clinton is the eldest child. He received an ordinary education, and has since followed farming, land surveying, etc., settling in Horton township in 1859. He is identified with the Republican party, and in 1882 was elected county surveyor, serving one term. He served ten years as justice of the peace of Horton township, and was ten years secretary of the school board. He is a member of Cicero Lodge, No. 897. F. & A. M., of Brockwayville, Penn.
JOHN CUNEO, merchant, Brockport, is a native of sunny Italy, bor n in 1842. Coming to America in 1854, he located at Kersey, Elk Co., Penn.. where he engaged as a laborer until 1874, when he moved to Brockport, same county, and in 1875 established here his present general store, which he has since conducted. In 1861 he enlisted in Company F, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served with them one year. He was then transferred to the Seventh Massachusetts Battery, and was honorably discharged at Chapin Farm, Va., in 1864. He married, in 1872, Miss Mary Catherine Fopeano, a lady of American birth and Italian descent, and they have eight children: Cecelia, Allie A., Phineas, Lucius, Thomas, Alena, Jennie and Ward. Mr. Cuneo is a Republican, and has served as postmaster of Brockport eleven years; at the present time he is one of the auditors of Horton township. The family are members of the Catholic Church.
HEZEKIAH HORTON, farmer, P. O. Brockport, was born at what is now Brandy Camp, Horton township, Elk Co., Penn., March 1, 1824, a son of Isaac and Lucy (Warner) Horton, the former a native of Massachusetts, and the latter of Connecticut. Isaac and Lucy Horton were married in the State of New York, and in 1818 came to what is now Elk county, Penn., where they entered a tract of land on which Brandy Camp now stands, being among the very early pioneers of this region. Isaac Horton was instrumental in organizing Elk county, and Horton township was named in his honor. He was active in Democratic circles, and served as associate judge of the county five years. In the war of 1812 he was drafted, but sent a substitute. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Isaac Horton were as follows: Minerva (wife of Joseph Taylor, of Ridgway, Penn.), Almira (of Bradford, Penn.), Matilda (wife of Frederick Shoening, also of Ridgway) and Hezekiah. The subject of this biographical record was reared in Horton township, receiving his education at the common schools, and has made lumbering and farming the chief vocations of his life. In 1850 he married Miss Hettie, daughter of Daniel Oyster, of Horton township, and to this union have been born four children: Warren H. and Alonzo S. (of Brockport, Penn.), Ella A. and Minnie L. (at home). Mr. Horton, in politics, is a Democrat, and has filled various township offices. He and his family are members of the Universalist Church. D. C. Oyster, of Ridgwav. Penn., is a brother of Mrs. Horton.
WARREN H. HORTON, Brockport. As a fair example of what a solid early training, a sound physical constitution, clear perceptions, mature judgment, an iron will and indomitable perseverance will produce, the subject of this sketch stands in the front rank in his county. Warren H. Horton was born October 23, 1851, at Brandy Camp, Horton township, Elk Co., Penn., eldest son of Hezekiah and Hettie (Oyster) Horton, the former a native of Horton township, and the latter, of Northumberland county, Penn. The boyhood days of Mr. Horton were spent on the farm, his school advantages being no better than a fair average. The chief institution of learning which he attended was the Hellen School, which, added to a course at Harrisburg Academy, makes up his educational experience. About the time he arrived at maturity he began lumbering with his father, rafting and running lumber on the creek, in the neighborhood of which they had contracts. In this way he spent winter and spring, while summer and fall found him employed by Clark Wilcox, of the firm of Short & Wilcox, in the woods on Bear run, which lumber operations he subsequently came to conduct as manager and owner, instead of working as a day hand. In 1874 Clark Wilcox died, and Mr. Short was left without an active manager. At that time Mr. Horton was twenty-three years old, but such was his shrewdness, sound judgment and acumen in business affairs, that Alfred Short could not fail to recognize in him a safe and capable man to manage a business concern of con