Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

a mercantile business for twenty years. He also built his present hotel, which he ran for many years. In 1853 he married Miss Caroline Houserman, a native of Germany, and a resident of Philadelphia, Penn. She died in 1881. Seven children were born to their union, six of whom are living: George, of Wilcox; Mary, wife of Elijah Kroat, of McKean county; Louisa, at home; Frank, hotel-keeper of Wilcox; Edward, operator for the B. R. & P. R. R. at Ridgway, and William, at home. Mr. Sowers has been a supporter of the Republican party since its organization. He has served as school director and supervisor, and is treasurer of the township at the present time. He is a member of Wilcox Lodge, No. 571, F. & A. M., and of the Reformed Lutheran Church.

C. W. SPETTIGUE, general manager for the Wilcox Tanning & Lumber Company, Wilcox, was born in Wayne county, Penn., September 16, 1844. His parents, George G. and Grace Spettigue, were natives of England, and both died in Wayne county, Penn. They were farmers by occupation. C. W. Spettigue was given the advantages of the township schools, and has been engaged in the mercantile business since he was eighteen years of age. He was in business in Sullivan county, N. Y., for sixteen years, and in 1878 came to Wilcox, and has since held his present position. In 1871 he married Miss Annette, daughter of Nelson Thomas, of Delaware county, N. Y. They have one child, Lizzie W. Mr. Spettigue has always been a supporter of the Republican party.

MARK D. SPROAT, resident member, at Wilcox, of the firm of Henry, Bayard & Co., of Philadelphia and Wilcox, was born in Elmira. N. Y., April 15, 1839, a son of Stephen C. and Mary (Schontz) Sproat, natives of Orange county. N. Y., and farmers by occupation. Mr. Sproat was educated at Myron G. Peck's Academy, in Rochester, N. Y., and has been engaged in the lumber business since he was seventeen years of age. He engaged with Henry, Bayard & Co. in 1879, and he has been a member of the firm for seven years. They began manufacturing lumber in Elk county, Penn., in 1880, and Mr. Sproat has since resided at Wilcox. He married, in 1872, Miss Rebecca Lesher, a native of New York City. Mr. Sproat is a member of Acacia Lodge, No. 58, F. & A. M., of Cottage Grove, Minn.; has always been identified with the Democratic party, and is a member of the Tabernacle Baptist Church at Philadelphia, Penn.

M. H. TOOMEY, proprietor of the East Branch Hotel, Glen Hazel, was born in Fox Township, Elk Co., Penn., July 4, 1860, and is a son of Dennis and Mary (O'Hara) Toomey. He was reared and educated in his native county, and worked at lumbering several years, afterward clerking in a number of hotels in the county. In November, 1888, Mr. Toomey settled at Glen Hazel, and here built his present hotel, which he has since successfully conducted. In December, 1887, he married Josephine, daughter of Ferdinand and Margaret (Groll) Wank, of Jones township. Mr. Toomey is a popular landlord, and one who knows how to cater to every requirement of his guests. He is a member of the Catholic Church; in politics a Democrat.

WILLIAM J. WANK, blacksmith, Glen Hazel, was born in Jones township, Elk Co., Penn., February 13, 1863, and is a son of Ferdinand and Margaret (Groll) Wank, natives of Bavaria, Germany, and pioneers of the borough of St. Mary's, and later of Jones township. Ferdinand Wank was a carpenter by trade, but after coming to this country, he followed agricultural pursuits, and cleared and improved a farm in Jones township. He had ten children: Christopher W. (deceased), Mary R. (Mrs. John Stoltz), Lizzie (Mrs. John Foley), Albert G. (deceased), William J., Josephine (Mrs. Michael H. Toomey), Ida (Mrs. Michael King), John A., Matilda M. and Jennie M. The subject of this sketch was reared in Jones township, where he received a common-school education, and learned the blacksmith's trade, which he has followed for six years. He is the pioneer blacksmith of Glen Hazel. November 7, 1888, Mr. Wank married Carrie Weis, of Clermont, McKean Co., Penn. He is" a member of the Catholic Church; in politics a Republican.

STEPHEN E. WATSON, liveryman, Glen Hazel, was born in Schoharie county, N. Y., February 13, 1854, and is a son of James K. and Catherine (Halleck) Watson. He was reared and educated in Delaware county, N. Y., and began life as a teamster, an occupation he followed in Delaware county six years. In 1874 Mr. Watson located at Moose River, Lewis Co., N. Y.. where he learned the tanner's trade, and worked at the same for three years. He then accepted a position as clerk in the tannery store, acting in that capacity during a period of four years. He then removed to Limestone, N. Y., where he was foreman in the tan-yard of Hoyt Brothers for one and a half years, and was then made superintendent of the Sterling Run Tannery, at Sterling Run, Cameron county, a position he held for two years. He then had charge of the office and tannery of George L. Williams at Salamanca, N. Y., for one year, and in 1889 he moved to Glen Hazel, where he has a livery stable, and is doing a successful business. Mr. Watson married, October 11. 1874, Emma, daughter of Arthur Bull, of Delaware county, N. Y., and has one daughter, Mertie E. Mr. Watson is a member of the F. & A. M. and K. O. T. M.; in politics he is a Republican.

BENJAMIN WATSON, a member of the firm of Watson Brothers, dealers in general merchandise, Glen Hazel, was born in Schoharie county, N. Y.. July 9, 1858, and is a son of James K. and Catherine (Halleck) Watson. He was reared and educated in Delaware county, N. Y., and began life as a clerk in a general store at Moose river, Lewis county, N. Y., where he remained three years. Mr. Watson served in the same capacity at Albany, N. Y. for two years, and in 1883 he located in Salamanca, N. Y., where he held the position of book-keeper in the Salamanca Tannery for three and a half years. In March, 1888, he settled at Glen Hazel, and erected the first store in the place, there embarking in the mercantile business in company with his brother. R. J. Watson, of Limestone, N. Y. The brothers have built up a successful trade that is daily increasing. Our subject is postmaster at Glen Hazel, the postoffice having been established June 7, 1889. He married, in 1884, Mary, daughter of W. C. Palmer, of Salamanca, N. Y., and has one daughter, Evelyn M. He is an enterprising, public-spirited citizen, and in politics is a Republican.

MICHAEL WEIDERT, farmer, P. O. Rasselas, was born in Luxemburg, Germany, January 8, 1828. His parents, Bernard and Mary (Bodevin) Weidert, immigrated to America in 1847, arriving in Elk county, Penn.. August 16. They remained at St. Mary's until the following September, when they located on the present farm of our subject, in Jones township. Here the father died, in 1855, and the mother, in 1884. They were prominent members of the Roman Catholic Church. They brought eleven children to this country, nine of whom are still living: Mary, widow of John Myers; Catherine, wife of Joseph Hetznecker; Michael; John; Elizabeth, wife of Charles Nearing: Magdaline, widow of Joseph Pistner; Mary, wife of Michael Miller; William, and Lena, wife of T. L. McKean. Mr. Weidert was educated in his native country, and for eight years after coming to Elk county worked for Col. A. I. Wilcox. He has since been engaged in lumbering and farming. In 1852 he married Miss Barbara, daughter of Francis Bonnert, of Jones township. Nine children were born to this union, five of whom are living: Maggie, William M., John, Charles, Edward, all at home. Mr. Weidert has always been identified with the Democratic party and takes an active part in politics. He was elected county commissioner in 1874 and served one year, was re-elected in 1875 for three years, and re-elected in 1878 for three years. During this time the commissioners built the court house at Ridgway. He was elected justice of the peace, but did not serve. He has, however, filled nearly all the township offices. In 1885 he took a pleasure trip to his native country, remaining from May till September. He is a member of the St. John's Society of St. Mary's, and be and family are members of the Roman Catholic Church.

JOHN WEIGEL. blacksmith and farmer, Rasselas, was born in St. Mary's, Elk Co., Penn., April 10,1855. His parents, George and Barbara Weigel, were natives of Europe, and emigrated to America in 1844, locating at St. Mary's. His father, who was a blacksmith by trade, is now deceased; his mother is still living at St. Mary's. Mr. Weigel received a common-school education, after which he learned the blacksmith's trade, and has always resided in Elk county with the exception of two years spent in Michigan. He located at Rasselas in 1885. In 1879 he married Miss Mary, daughter of Joseph Smith, of St. Mary's, and they have three children: Julia, Edward and Frederick. Mr. Weigel is a supporter of the Democratic party. He is a member of St. John and St. Patrick societies. He and family are members of the Roman Catholic Church.

DR. J. H. WELLS, Wilcox, was born in Ellenville, Ulster Co., N. Y., March 5, 1854, the son of J. B. and Mary (Hart) Wells, the former a native of Schoharie county, N. Y., and the latter of Ulster county. In 1868 they came to Elk county, where the father has since been in the employ of the Wilcox Tanning Company, in the capacity of harness-maker. Dr. Wells received a common-school education, and read medicine with Dr. Ernhout, then of Wilcox. He attended the medical department of the Bellevue Hospital in New York City, and was graduated in 1884, since which time he has been practicing his profession at Wilcox. He married, in 1875, Miss Mary M., daughter of Seymour Skiff, of Onondaga county, N. Y., and they have one child, Mabel. Dr. Wells is president of the Elk County Medical Society, and is a member of the State Medical Society. He is a member of Wilcox Lodge, No. 571, F. & A. M. Politically he is a Republican, and has served as clerk and treasurer of the township. • His wife is a member of the Reformed Church.

CHAPTER XIX.

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES—FOX TOWNSHIP—
HORTON TOWNSHIP.

FOX TOWNSHIP.

J. HENRY BEADLE, superintendent of stores for J. H. Steell & Co., Dagus Mines, was born in Schuylkill county, Penn., September 14, 1851, a son of Jesse and Annie (Oldknow) Beadle, natives of England. Mr. Beadle received an ordinary education, and for the past fifteen years has been connected with J. H. Steell & Co., in different capacities. In 1878 he came to Elk county, and has since had charge of the stores at Dagus Mines. He is Republican in politics, and was a delegate to the State convention in 1888; was appointed the first postmaster of Dagus Mines, and is now serving his second term of office. He is an elder in the Presbyterian Church, and takes an active part in Sabbath-school work, having served as superintendent of the Dagns Mines Sabbath-school for a number of years. His natural disposition is gentle and unobtrusive; while, as a man of business, he is characterized by industry, energy and strict integrity.

CLINTON A. BUNDY, lumberman, Kersey's, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., September 8, 1840, a son of Elijah and Lavina (Vial) Bundy. During his youth Mr. Bundy was engaged in farming, until he entered the United States service. He enlisted in April, 1861, and was assigned to Company G, First Pennsylvania Volunteer Rifles, ''Bucktail " Regiment. He served until April, 1863, when he was honorably discharged, but in January, 1864, he re-enlisted in the same company, and served until the close of the war. Mr. Bundy married, March 22, 1864, Miss Emma Sophronia, daughter of William and Elizabeth Meredith, and to them have been born five children, viz.: B. L. (of Kersey), William S., Mary M., Fannie and Free. He is actively engaged in the lumber business, and is counted as one of the live, enterprising citizens of Kersey. He is a Republican in politics, and has served as assessor and supervisor of Fox township. He is a member of Ridgway Post, G. A. R., and of Kersey Lodge, No. 967, I. O. O. F., also of Rebecca Degree and the Sons of America. Mr. Bundy and family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.

PATRICK CALLAHAN, farmer, P. 0. Kersey's, 'son of Jeremiah and Margaret (Reede) Callahan, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn.. in 1847, and has since been engaged in lumbering and farming. He was married, July 3, 1883, to Miss Margaret, daughter of James Sheely, of Fox township, and they have four children, viz.: Mary Cecelia, Jeremiah Frederick, Annie Margaret and Alice Agnes (twins). Mr. Callahan is an active worker in the Democratic party, is a member of the school board, and has also served as treasurer of the township. The family are members of the Catholic Church.

WILLIAM CALLAHAN, farmer, P. O. Kersey's, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., on his present farm, October 12, 1853, a son of Jeremiah and Margaret (Reede) Callahan, the former a native of Ireland, the latter of Luzerne county, Penn. They located, about 1844, upon a farm in Fox township. Jeremiah Callahan was a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Catholic Church. He died in 1879; his widow still survives him, and makes her home with her son, William. They reared a family of twelve children, eleven of whom are yet living, viz.: James (in Penfield, Penn.), Patrick (in Fox township), Jeremiah (in Horton township), William, Elizabeth (wife of Frederick Dickin son, in Ridgway, Penn.), Mary (wife of Stephen Fox, in Horton township), Maggie, Ellen (wife of Patrick Flynn, in Penfield), Catherine, Martha, and Emma (wife of John Bentzer, in Kersey). Mr. Callahan was educated at the township schools, and has always been engaged in farming and lumbering. In politics he is a Democrat, and is a member of the Catholic Church.

JOHN COLLINS, proprietor of the Collins House, Kersey's, was born in Cork, Ireland, May 26, 1828, a son of John and Elizabeth (Ryan) Collins. The father came to America, obtaining employment as a day laborer, and afterward, in 1836, sent for his family, finally moving them to Lancaster, Penn., where he obtained employment with the Side Water Canal Company. He died in that county, and the mother was afterward married to John Sullivan, who came to Elk county in 1841, and engaged in farming in Fox township. John Collins was the only child by the first union, and was eight years of age when he came to America. He obtained but a limited education, and early began to work in the lumber woods. In 1868 he established a hotel at Kersey, but had the misfortune to be burned out in July, 1880. He then purchased his present property, where he has since been located. He married, in 1850, Miss Ann Agnes Malone, a native of Elk county; she died in January, 1875, leaving four children, viz.: Mary, who married John McMackin and died in May, 1882, leaving three children: James E., Harry L. and Edward—three other children born to Mr. and Mrs. McMackin died before their mother; Elizabeth, the second child of John and Ann Agnes Collins, is living at home; the third died in infancy, and John James, the fourth child, died in August, 1887. John James had married Miss Alice Mann, by whom he had two children, viz: Thomas, at home, and Mary Rose, who died in May, 1889. Mr. Collins has always been an active worker in the Democratic party, and has served one term as county treasurer, also filled the offices of school director and supervisor of the township for many years. He is a member of the Catholic Church.

CHARLES E. GREEN, farmer, P. 0. Kersey's, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., August 6, 1847. He was educated in the township schools and has always been engaged in farming. James Green, his grandfather, was born in Chester county, Penn., and was a shoemaker by trade. In politics he affiliated with the Whig party, and was the first postmaster of Kersey's, which office he held until his death. John Green, father of Charles E. Green, was born in Centre county, Penn., October 12, 1799, and came to Elk county, with his parents, in 1817, where they entered a 200-acre tract of land, which they cleared and improved. John Green married, July 7, 1825, Ann Kyler, who died July 1, 1827, leaving one child, Eliza Ann, who married Aaron Harrington, and died, leaving three children, viz.: James Bruce, Benjamin Franklin and Mary. Mr. Green-was next married, March 26, 1829, to Miss Mary Thompson, who was born in Centre county, Penn., August 9, 1809. Six children were born to them, five of whom are living, viz.: Catherine, wife of John Comley, of Centre county; Rebecca E., wife of John Nulf, of Horton township, Elk county; James R., of Fox township; Elizabeth, wife of John Bonham, of Centre county, and Charles E. Mr. Green built a log hotel on his farm, but afterward established the Green House at Kersey, which he sold. He was a prominent Republican in politics, and for many years was postmaster of Kersey's; in religion he was a Quaker. He died October 23, 1883;

« ZurückWeiter »