« ZurückWeiter »
family of ten children born to Chauncey and Rhoda (Nichols) Brockway, natives of New York State, who came to Elk county in 1817 and located in Jay township, where they remained until 1820, when they moved to Brandy Camp, Penn.. and in 1828 settled in Keystone, where the father built a large mill, and was extensively engaged in lumbering. N. M. Brockway received a practical business education, and has always been prominently identified with the lumber interests of Elk county. He is one of the leading lumbermen, and is regarded, socially, as a promoter of all good causes in the township. He married, October 14, 1848, Miss Catherine, a daughter of David and Betsy (Kriger) Taylor, of Elk county.
A. H. BUCKLAND, merchant miller, Ridgway, is a native of England, born September 15, 1839, and is a son of James and Jane (Gilley) Buckland, also natives of England. His parents dying when he was very young, the subject of our sketch, when four years old, came to the United States to live with an uncle in Camillus, Onondaga Co., N. Y. Here he spent his boyhood days, attending the common schools of the neighborhood, which early education he supplemented by attending night schools in Rochester, N. Y. At the age of eleven years he engaged as clerk in a store in Jordan, N. Y., remaining there but a short time, and then entered a paper-mill at Marcellus Falls, N. Y., in order to learn the trade of paper-making; but this he soon abandoned to enter a grist-mill in the same place, and here he learned the milling trade. Mr. Buckland has spent all his time since 1858 in the milling business, chiefly in St. Louis, Mo., and other large cities of the West, where he has remodeled and built several large flour-mills. In 1880 he left St. Louis for Olean, N. Y., in which place ho built the large roller flouring-mills, now owned by the Acme Milling Company, the original proprietors being Chesbrough & Buckland. In 1883 he came to Ridgway, where he has erected a fine mill, and is doing a large business. Mr. Buckland was married, June 26, 1868, to Miss Mary B. Ray, daughter of William and Margaret (Rowan) Ray, of Sparta, Ill. He has always been a strong temperance man, and now, at fifty, has never tasted beer or liquor of any kind. He is a member of the Congregational Church, and a Republican in politics.
JACOB BUTTERFUSS, harness-maker, Ridgway, a son of Christopher and Catherine (Baker) Butterfuss, natives of Germany, was born in Germany, September 6, 1844. He received his education in his native country, and when twelve years of age, he entered a harness shop as an apprentice, where he served two and one-half years. In 1865 he entered the German army, and served three years. In. 1868 he came to America, and in 1878, located in Ridgway, where he established his present business. He married, August 4, 1874, Miss Louisa Meffert, of Wilcox, Penn., and they are the parents of two children, Emma J. and Christopher. Mr. Butterfuss is a member of Ridgway Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., also of K. of H., No. 1644.
ROBERT I. CAMPBELL, merchant, Ridgway, was born in Philadelphia, Penn., in 1842, a son of Thomas and Rebecca Campbell, natives of Ireland, who came from County Armagh, in 1840, to the United States, and were here married and located in Philadelphia. In 1850 they moved to Highland township, Elk county, where they both died in 1876. They had a family of seven children: Robert I., James W., Thomas, John, Mary, William and Alexander. Robert I. Campbell began business life as a lumberman, and, being an industrious, economical young man, accumulated considerable money, and in 1872 moved to Ridgway and embarked in the general mercantile business, and is now one of the leading merchants of the borough, his genial, accommodating manner and fair dealing having gained for him a good patronage. He is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and in 1871 was elected a member of the board of county commissioners and served one term. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379; Elk Chapter, No. 240; Orient Council; Knapp Commandery, No. 40, and Bloomsburg Consistory, thirty-second degree.'
HIRAM CARMAN, one of the leading lumber manufacturers of Elk county, and whose post-office address is Carman (the town of that name being named in his honor), is a native of Grove, a beautiful rural town in the county of Allegany, N. Y. He is a son of Edmund and Lois (Bailey) Carman, worthy farming people of that county, and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the father, a native of Cayuga county, N. Y., and the mother of Vermont. The subject of the present writing was reared and educated in Allegany and Livingston counties, N. Y., and in 1854 he came to Elk county, locating at Wilcox, where for several years he was engaged in the lumber business. In 1858 he moved to Spring Creek township, and has since been engaged in manufacturing lumber, being a member of the firm of W. H. Hyde & Co., and also of the Portland Lumber Company. In 1856 Mr. Carman married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Ira Westcott, of Onondaga county, N. Y., and they have seven children: Lucy, Flora, H. Alonzo (married to Miss Alice Rumbough, of Clarion county, who bore him one child, Roland), Carrie, Ira Edmund, W. W. and Harry. Mr. Carman is an influential and active member of the Republican party, and served with marked ability as county commissioner six years, from 1881 to 1887. He is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., and Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. T. He and his family are members of the Episcopal Church.
BURR E. CARTWRIGHT. Although a resident of little more than a decade in that portion of the State of Pennsylvania, of which this work chiefly treats, the gentleman, whose name heads this biographical record, has attained to a pre-eminence second to none among the business men (particularly in the lumbering industry) of this region; and this enviable position is not the issue of fortuitous circumstances, but the result of a life of close business application, piloted by an active mind largely endowed with nature's best and most useful faculties.
Burr E. Cartwright is a native of Buffalo, N. Y., born October 26, 1850, a son of Edward and Elmira (Hotchkiss) Cartwright, residents of near Buffalo, former a native of Wales, and latter of Connecticut. The subject of our sketch attended the common schools until fifteen years of age, at which time he entered the Hethcote school, where he remained until his nineteenth year. The first commercial experience of Mr. Cartwright was in the lumber business in Buffalo, when, in 1879, he removed toRidgway, Elk Co., Penn., as purchasing agent, in the lumber trade, for the firm of Scatchard & Son, in whose employ he remained until 1881. In that year he and W. W. Mattison formed a partnership in the lumber business, which organization resolved itself, in 1883, into the Ridgway Lumber Company, the several members thereof being Burr E. Cartwright, D. C. Oyster, Alfred Short and W. W.. Mattison. In the fall of 1885 Mr. Mattison retired from the firm, W. H. Horton taking his place. In the following year Mr. Cartwright and Mr. Horton withdrew from the Ridgway Lumber Company, and entered into a co-partnership in contracting with the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, to cut the lumber and peel the bark on 8,000 acres. In 1888 Mr. Cartwright purchased Mr. Horton's interest in this enterprise, keeping, however, intact the former contract, made under the firm name of Horton & Cartwright. In order to fulfill this contract. Mr. Cartwright has in operation three saw-mills, having a capacity of 200,000 feet per day. He also operates a shingle and planing-mill at Horton City, a place located near the Mead Run school-house, and in the carrying on of the enormous business, 500 men are constantly employed. He has, in all, seventeen miles of standard-gauge railroad in operation, equipped with five locomotives and fifty logging cars. In the spring of 1889, Mr. Cartwright completed a contract with the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, for the building of one hundred dwellings at Mead Run. He owns and carries on two general stores, doing an aggregate business of $15,000 per month—one store being located at Horton City for the convenience of his own men, the other, an outside enterprise, being at Mead Run. The Horton City saw-mills are, perhaps, the best equipped mills in the eastern part of Pennsylvania, being provided with circular and gang saws; lath mills are attached, with the latest improved labor-saving appliances, the whole being lighted by electricity. The daily shipments of bark and lumber from the several stations along Mr. Cartwright's line, amount to twenty-five cars. Thus, in his management of his gigantic lumber and bark interests and contracts, together with the necessary saw-mills, adjuncts and appointments; in the conducting of his mammoth stores, and the directing of his army of employes, it may be said of Mr. Burr E. Cartwright, that he stands in the front rank among the lumbermen of Pennsylvania, and, perhaps, of the entire Union.
In addition to the above-mentioned enterprises, Mr. Cartwright has, since the writing of this sketch, organized the Brock Coal Company (capital $50,000), of which he is president. It is their intention to fully equip these mines (which are located at Brockwayville, Jefferson Co., Penn.) with electrical mining machinery, and they expect to have a daily output of 1,000 tons. They will commence shipping coal about May 1, 1890.
In 1874 Mr. Cartwright was married to Miss Sophia Rouse, of Gaines, Mich., who survived her wedding but ten months, and one son was born to them, Morgan Rouse, now attending Deveaux College, Suspension Bridge, N. Y. In 1877 Mr. Cartwright took for his second wife Miss Alice Jane Higham, who has borne him one daughter: Orrel Higham. Mrs. Cartwright attends the Congregational Church. Mr. Cartwright, who is one of the most active workers in the Republican party, served three years as chairman of the Republican county committee; in the fall of 1888 he was named as the choice of Elk county for congress, and at the congressional conference held at Du Bois he was tendered the nomination, but owing to his vast business engagements, the constituency had, reluctantly, to accept his refusal. He is a member of the F. & A. M., Elk Lodge, No. 379; of Elk Chapter, No. 230, R. A. M.; of Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. T., and of Bloomsburg Consistory.
E. F. CUMMINGS, station agent for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad at Johnsonburg, was born in New Bethlehem, Penn., January 17, 1858, the only son of S. M. and Mary A. (Space) Cummings, natives of Pennsylvania. He was educated in his native town, and when twelve years of age was employed in a store as clerk. When he was eighteen years of age he became station agent for the Allegheny Valley Railroad, and in 1881 went to Ceres, Penn., where he had charge of an office for the Bradford, Eldred & Cuba Railroad. In 1866 Mr. Cummings came to Johnsonburg, where he is station agent for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad Company. He married, December 17, 1884, Miss Mary, daughter of L. T. and R. C. T. (Fuller) Moore, early settlers in Cameron county, and they are the parents of one child, Eleanor.
D. B. DAY, M. D., Ridgway, was born at Union, Broome Co., N. Y., March 16, 1847, and is a son of Augustus and Judith C. (Otto) Day, the former a native of Broome county, N. Y., and the latter of McKean county, Penn. In his boyhood his parents moved to McKean county, Penn., where he completed his literary education, and began the study of medicine with Dr. Clark, of Brock way ville, in 1874. He later attended lectures at the Eclectic Medical Institute of Cincinnati, Ohio, where he graduated in 1877. Dr. Day first located at Kane, but in the fall of 1877 he moved to Ridgway, where he now has a good practice. In the course of his medical experience, he has prepared several formulas, which he is placing before the public in a more extensive way than could be done in a local practice, and these are already giving him a wide reputation. He purchased the property known as the " Hyde House," which he has fitted up as a comfortable resort for invalids, and in the building adjoin ing is his drug store and laboratory. He has been very successful in his practice, and is well known throughout this part of the State. The Doctor married, in 1872, Miss Lucy A. Schram, daughter of W. H. Schram, of Ridgway, and they have two children—Edith and Grace. In politics Dr. Day is a Democrat.
WILLIAM L. DEVINE, Rolfe, superintendent for Henry, Bayard & Co., lumbermen, was born in the town of Liberty, Sullivan Co., N. Y., September 24, 1852, and is a son of George and Catherine (Travis) Devine, both natives of the county named above. His father was a millwright by trade, but principally followed farming as a vocation. The subject of these lines is also a millwright by trade. In 1869 he moved to Williamsport, Penn., remained there several years, and in 1882 came to Rolfe, where he has ever since held his present position. In October, 1876, Mr. Devine married Miss Alfaretta M., only daughter of William D. Myers, of Lebanon Lake, Sullivan Co., N. Y., and to this union have been born children as follows: Maggie Louise (born at Gilman's Depot, Sullivan Co., N. Y., January 16, 1878), Maud J. (born April 30, 1880, at the same place, where, at the time, Mr. Devine was superintendent of mills for the late W. W. Gilman, then of No. 10 Ferry Street, New York City) and Clara J.( born in Rolfe, Penn., November 6, 1885). Mr. and Mrs. Devine also adopted, in their early marriage days, a little girl, Mamie E. Fahrenkrug, now a young lady and still a member of the family. Mr. Devine is a member of Ridgway Lodge, No. 369, F. & A. M., and also of the lodge of the I. O. C. F. at Ridgway. He belongs to no church, although he liberally contributes toward the spread of the gospel and the support of the church generally, as is evidenced by the bell that hangs in the belfry of the Method ist Episcopal Church edifice at Rolfe, which was placed there through his generosity; the beautiful new school building, comprising four rooms, was also erected within the past year,.through his untiring zeal and energy, at a cost of $2,500. This school at present is taught by three instructors, viz.: W. F. McCloskey, of Caledonia, Penn., principal; Miss Kate O'Conner, of Ridgway. in the intermediate department, and Miss Mame Schoening, also of Ridgway, in the primary department. These departments make use, at present, of three rooms, but, as they are now over-crowded with pupils, the fourth room will be called into requisition within a year. In politics Mr. Devine is a Republican; he has served as school director of Ridgway township, and since 1884 has been postmaster at Rolfe. Mrs. Devine and children are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
GEORGE DICKINSON (deceased) was a son of Charles Frederick and (Abigail) Dickinson, and was born November 24, 1807, in Goshen, Litchfield Co., Conn., where he was reared and educated until he was twelve years of age, after which time he resided in Ontario, Cattaraugus and Allegany counties, N. Y., until his coming to Ridgway in 1834. Here .he engaged in the lumbering and mercantile businesses, in which be was eminently successful, and resided here continuously until the day of his death. In 1838 he was united in marriage to Miss A. E. Goff, with whom he had five children, all boys, three of whom are living. After twenty-one years of wedded happiness, his wife died in 1859, and for eight years he bore the burdens of life alone, when he married Esther Jane Thayer, daughter of David Thayer. George Dickinson was in many respects a remarkable man. Though never robust, physically, he was an untiring worker, and accomplished more in his long and active life than many who were blessed with a much stronger physical organization. Mentally, however, he was strong and vigorous. His mind was of a judicial case, and if he had been trained in the law, would have made an able judge. He was quick to perceive and prompt to act, and when his judgment was once formed, it was practically unchangeable. He had a high sense of honor, and in the various walks of life was ever zealous in the advocacy of the right and the condemnation of the wrong. His integrity was unsullied, and he leaves behind him a reputation that is a priceless legacy to those who bear his name. He was a life-long and consistent Democrat, and so conspicuous was his ability and so excellent his judgment, that he was frequently called upon by his fellow-citizens to accept positions of public trust, including those of school director, county commissioner and associate judge, in each and all of which he reflected credit alike upon himself and his constituency. He was emphatically a lover of his country and her institutions, and always took a lively interest in public affairs. In short, he was a good man and a useful citizen, and his death creates a vacuum in the community that will not soon be filled. He died, after suffering from pneumonia for twenty-six days, and his remains were followed to the tomb by a large concourse of mourning friends and relatives.
G. F. DICKINSON, lumberman, Ridgway, and the senior partner of the firm of Dickinson Brothers, was born in Ridgway, June 14, 1840, and was there reared and educated. After the finishing of his education, he employed himself in farming and lumbering, afterward associating himself with a brother in the latter business. November 25, 1869, he married Miss Elizabeth Callahan, daughter of Jeremiah and Marguriie Callahan, and is now the father of three sons: George, born September 12, 1871; Charles Frederick, born April 17, 1875, and Daniel S., born December 25, 1883. Mr. Dickinson is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M.,andKnapp Commandery, No. 40. His politics are Democratic.
GEORGE R. DIXON, attorney at law, Ridgway, was born in the town of Neversink, Sullivan Co., N. Y., July 23, 1848, and is a son of Henry and Catherine Dixon, natives of the county of Dutchess, State of New York. His parents dying when he was thirteen years of age, young Dixon found a home with Dr. J. L. Lamoree, of Grahamsville, N. Y., with whom he resided, working for board and clothes, and attending the village school until about eighteen years of age. June 20, 1868, he graduated from the Monticello (New York) Academy, and in the fall of the same year he entered Rutgers College Grammar School, at New Brunswick, N. J. In the fall of 1869 he entered the freshman class of Butgers College, graduating with the degree of A. B. in June, 1873, the same institution conferring on him the degree of M. A., in June, 1876. While in college he supported himself largely by giving special lessons in English to Japanese students, who were sent to the institution by order of the government of Japan. In September, 1873, Mr. Dixon came to Ridgway, where he was principal of the schools for two years. In May, 1875, he was elected county superintendent of the schools of Elk county, which position he held four terms, or twelve years in succession. Mr. Dixon began the study of law with Rufus Lucore, Esq., at Ridgway, and spent some considerable time like