« ZurückWeiter »
convent. In 1862 Miss Weidenboerner (Sister Bernardo), Miss Piltz (Sister Isadore), Miss Paulus (Sister Elizabeth), Miss Binder (Sister Mechtild) and Miss Anna Bush (Sister Scholastica) entered the convent, and are now here. In l862 three sisters from the convent went to Shakopee, Minn., to found a new convent there—Sisters Adelaide (Elder), Clara (Vogel) and Mechtild (Richter). The Johnstown convent was founded in 1870 by nuns from St. Mary's, Sister Mary being one of the founders. In 1863 there were ten receptions, and daring the last twenty-six years there were about 130 sisters made profession here. Twenty-five sisters died here and are buried in the convent cemetery. In August, 1887, Mother Isadore retired at the expiration of term, and Mother Pia was elected. She entered the convent in May, 1871, being formerly Miss Anna Tegler, of St. Mary's. The total number of the community in August, 1889, was sixty-four. In May, 1868, the convent at Richmond, Va., was founded by nuns from the mother house, among whom were Sisters Edith (Vogel), Philomena (Magill) and Clara (Mary Vogel).
The mission schools of this convent were established at Tidioute. Lucinda andFryburg, 1876; Kane, 1878; Warren, 1883, and Centreville, 1884. These are, in fact, branch houses of the house at St. Mary's. Sister Wendelin, Edwarda. Luitgard. Bernarda, Aloysia (Miss Theresa Nissell), Adelbertha (Miss Glath) and Adelbertha second (Miss Mary Withman) are numbered among the dead of all the sisters who entered from St. Mary's.
The convent chapel was built by Andrew Miller, of Philadelphia. He also donated the three beautiful altars, valued at over $2,000, together with $4,000 expended on the building. Any one who has ever been within a convent chapel may understand what beauty in church decoration means, and apply the painting of the imagination to this beautiful house of worship. The only daughter of the donor—Sister Stanislaus—is a member of this community.
Academy.—In 1853 St. Benedict's Academy was established, with Mother Walburg Deitrich, directress; Sister Boniface, teacher of English, and Benedicta, of German. School was continued in the pioneer house until 1860, when the new convent building was erected. In 1859 Mother Beatrice took the place of Madame Walburg, and presided over the academy until Sister Mary was appointed, in 1863. She served until 1870, when Sister Boniface (Cassidyl was appointed, filling the position for three years, but not continuously. Sister Genevieve (Doran), one year; DeSales (Burgoon), one year; Pauline (McDermott), nine years; Mary (Glenn), three years; Boniface (Cassidy), one year; Agnes (O'Connor), the present directress. Sister Beatrice (Wimmer) presides over the music class; Sister Edith, over the primary class; Sister Benedicts, over the senior classes; Sister Mary over the drawing classes; Sister Walburg. over the fancy work. The academy is attended varionsly, the boarders nuni bering from eighteen to fifty, and day pupils about thirty-five. The present academy building is 80x45 feet, four floors in height, with basement; supplied with hot and cold water throughout, and heated by steam. There are fifteen large rooms, together with the great dormitory on the third floor and the study hall. Such rooms extend almost the whole length of the building.
Public Schools.—Prior to 1848 the schools of this section were conducted by the R=)deinptorist Fathers, but in February of that year a school district was organized, with Gerhard Schoening. president; I. Garner, secretary and L. Vollmer, treasurer. George Weis. Adam Vollmer and Philip Stephen were members of the first board. In March, same year, R tax of ten mills was au thorized. and in April, Louis G^rmanhausen's house was rented for the use of the teacher. The old school-house stood west of the priory, and is now a carpenter shop. T. F. Klarinaar was the firjt lay teacher, he coming in 1847.
and serving in that capacity here at $25 per month. It appears that a school board had been previously organized, for in January, 1849, P. X. Bieberger is referred to as having been collector in 1847, and exonerated from paying the sum of $28.28. In 1850 Charles Roth took Klarinaar's place as teacher. Lawrence Wesnetzer was also employed with E. C. Schultz; Michael Frey was secretary, followed by Sosenheimer, who, with M. Wellendorf as president, served in 1851. Charles Luhr succeeded Schultz as teacher of English in 1852, with a Mr. Tresh. B. Weidenboerner was then a member of the school board. In September, 1852, Anthony Baecker was employed as teacher, at $25 per month. Ignatius Garner presided, with George VVeigel as secretary, and the sisters presided over the female school. The tax duplicate at the time was $387.89, and a school-house was erected. In 1853 Joseph Windfelder was secretary, but gave place to M. Wellendorf, who was president in 1854, with Bernard Eckle, secretary. A. Schmidt, E. Schultz and Charles Luhr were teachers then. B. Weidenboerner succeeded as president in 1856, and in May of that year, Francis Weis* was appointed president, John Butsch being secretary. Charles Knhler, a musician of some merit, was then a teacher in the school. In 1857 John Butsch was succeeded by Louis Vollmer, and Francis Weis, by George F. Shaefer; among the teachers was John Butsch, who taught outside the borough. In 1859 Louis Vollmer and Bernard Eckle tilled the offices of president and secretary, respectively, and continued in same until 1804, when Edward Babel succeeded Vollmer as president. F. X. Haberbusch was elected president in 1800; Joseph Windfelder, in 1807; Louis Vollmer, in!808; Joseph Wilhelm. in 1871, and, in 1875, Bernard Eckle was succeeded by Michael Brunner as secretary. John Sosenheimer was elected president in 1875; George Krellner, in 1870; Leonard Wittmann, in 1878; George Imhoff, in 1884; Charles Luhr, in 1885; J. E. Weidenboerner, in 1880-87; Charles A. Lion, in 1888, and John Haas, in 1889. F. x. Haberbusch was chosen secretary in 1870; John Foster, in 1877; J. B. Foster, in 1878; Charles Luhr, in 1880; Andrew Geeck, in 1884; Albert Weis, in 1888, and Charles Luhr, in 1889.
During 1870-72, J. A. Blater took charge of the male school, succeeding Mr. Brockbank. Frederick Barnhart came in 1873, and remained until early in 1888, when W. H. Devereaux came to preside over the senior boys' school.
Under date of February 23, 1857, an agreement was entered into by the board with Prior Rupert Seidenbusch, by which the latter bound himself to pay to the school board of Benzinger township the amount expended in refitting the house on Boniface street, whenever circumstances would require such house for monastery schools.
In early years the sisters taught the public school near the monastery for $25 per month. A frame building was erected in 1854, below the church, where the rear part of the present large brick structure, put up in 1869, stands. There, Sisters Luitgard, Hildegard, Boniface and Nepomecene presided over the several classes. The last named is still engaged in the new brick school-house, enlarged in 1885. where also the present Reverend Mother taught. There are six teachers employed: Sisters Nepomecene, Cecelia, Gabriela, Stanislaus, Aloysia and Antonia. The number of pupils is 000. . . . In December, 1889, the plan of providing books, free of charge for the pupils of Benzinger township, was adopted.
Societies.—St. John's Fraternal Society of St. Mary's was incorporated June 3, 1857, with the following-named members: B. Eckle, Edward Babel, Casper Wehner, J. Wegener, John Meyer, John Kries, Francis Kellar, D.
• Joseph Gerber presided over the old Heiizlnster district, then separate from St. Mary's.
Red ant, Joe Kroft, Sebastian Hahn, B. Neilmuller, Joseph, Thomas and George Kerner, Charles Luhr, F. Scratzenstaller, M. Schineebeck, Paul Eberl, A. Fochtman, L. Deitz, Mathias Becker, Michael Hogerel, Joe Eckert, L. Wesnetzer, Joe Windfelder, Thomas Scheidler, G. Weigel, John Wendl, Peter and J. Gluxner, Xavier Biberger, B. Weidenboerner, Joe Gerber, Joe Kreig, George Dehl, C. Ritter, Val. Hoffman, Joe Paullus, Fred Miller, J. Sosenheimer, A. Semmler, Joe Willberle, Daniel Kries, J. Schmidstbauer, L. Gohr, M. Aumann, C. L. Kackler, F. Schneider, Michael and Adam Zimmott. Anthony Seidler, Casper Emmert, Andrew Grass, George Wegemer and Bart. Geyer. The organization was simply a benevolent one, to relieve the unfortunate or helpless families of the district. It has at the present time 254 members, and $2,800 reserve fund. Charles Luhr is president, having served fifteen years, and Michael Brunner contemporary secretary. Joseph Sporner is one of the present officials.
Lieut. M. W. Lucore Post, No. 216, G. A. R., was mustered in January 12, 1882, with W. W. Ames, C.; L. W.Gifford, S. V.; Lafayette Coop, J. V.; Dr. W. B. Hartman, surgeon; Jacob Dice, chaplain; F. M. Hanes, Q. M.; L. H. Garner, adjutant; P. C. Shaffer, O. D.; J. D. Stover, O. G.; William Gille lan, S. M., and George Krellner, Q. M. S. A week later the roster contained fortv-four names. The charter was granted August 23, 1881, to W. W. Ames. L. W. Gifford, W. B. Hartman, J. A. Dice, W. A. Hartranft, W. E. Gil I en, J. A. Muttersbough, H. S. Williams, William Irwin, Robert Warner, J. H. Rickards, Philip Shaffer, L. H. Garner, Samuel Madara, Elias Moyer, M. A. Lowry, John Koch and Frank Hanes. Since that time the position of commander has been filled by W. W. Ames, L. W. Gifford, W. W. Ames, William McCoy, G. C. Brandon, George W. Boyer and L. H. Garner, and that of adjutant by L. H. Garner, William McCoy, G. C. Brandon, W. W. Ames, L. W. Gifford, G. W. Boyer, L. H. Garner, W. A. Hartranft. The present number of members is thirty-seven. The officers of the post for 1890 are Rev. Dr. Kennedy, Com.; Rufus Lucore. S. V.; T. Thompson, J. V.; L. H. Garner, acting adjutant; W. E. Hewitt, chaplain; Dr. Hartman, surgeon; G. W. Boyer, Q. M.; C. Schnyder, O. of D., and J. Sullivan, O. of G.
Xerxes Hut, O. O. of H., was instituted November 4, 1882, with thirty-one members. The officers were G. C. Brandon, L. W. Gifford, W. B. Hartman, George Spowart, Sam. Madara, Thomas Low, Harry Weis, William Koch and Thomas Valentine.
The I. C. B. U., Branch, No. 469, was organized in July, 1883, and chartered January 13, 1884, with the following-named members: N. J. Tierney, Patrick Rogan, James Fleming, Jr., A. Gibbons, P. Sweeney, James Rogan. Sr., Mathew Kangley, M. Sullivan, R. Cloak, John J. Kreig, Edward Gorman, Frank Leary, George Laber. In May, 1883, a temporary organization was effected, with N. J. Tierney, president, who has served in that position since, except in 1887, when W. E. Meagher was elected. The first secretary was James Fleming, succeeded by Anthony Gibbons, W. J. McClure, Edward E. Timin, M. C. Butsch and John Fehely. The latter has served two years, the others one year each. The branch comprises 128 members, with place of meeting at Rogan's Opera House.
St. Johannes Wittwen Verein was incorporated January 2, 1S87. with J. A. Hanhauser, G. Brenner, M. C. Busch, J. Heindl, Joseph Schaner. Joseph Diehl, Joseph Kraft and Alois Stopf, all of St. Mary's, stockholders.
St. Mary's has not been without a band organization since 1845, when I. Garner, F. X. Kohlor, Michael Frey and John Moyer held the brass instruments. This was the pioneer band of the four counties treated in this volume.