« ZurückWeiter »
pounds. The mother of our subject, Mary (Walter) Meese, who was of German descent, was born near Somerset, Penn., February 15. 1799, and was killed near New Philadelphia, Ohio, by her horse running away, December 14, I86 1. When the subject of these lines was ten years old, his parents removed to Tuscarawas county, Ohio, where he was reared and completed his education, remaining there until 1851, when he went to Somerset, Penn., and then to West Virginia, and was there employed by the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company as extra passenger and freight conductor, retaining that position until 1861. He then enlisted in Company F, Sixteenth O. V. I., for a term of three months. He was wounded at the battle of Carrick's Ford, in July of that year, and at the expiration of his term of service returned to West Virginia and resumed hi-, former position on the Baltimore & Ohio road. In the spring of 1862 he went to Hollidaysburg, Penn., was conductor between Altoona and Harris burg, and in 1863 was transferred to the Huntingdon & Broad Top road, where he remained until May 9, 1864, when he was sent to Renovo, and was conductor of a local freight train between that point and St. Mary's. October 17, 1864, the road was opened to Kane, which was made his terminal point. February 8, 1865, he was appointed yard dispatcher at Kane, a position he held until June 20, 1869, when he resigned and entered mercantile life, being associated with J. D. Leonard. This he continued until 1873; then in September, 1874, he became the proprietor of the Centennial Hotel, which he conducted until June 20, 1880. In this hotel, July 4, 1874, Mr. Meese accidentally shot himself through the thigh with a revolver, and was laid up with the wound over a year. In 1881 he built the St. Elmo hotel and opened it to the public on June 25 of that year. Mr. Meese is a genial, courteous gentleman, and this, added to his natural business ability, qualifies him for the position as landlord of one of the best hotels in Kane. Among his other accumulations he has gained in flesh until he tips the scales at 350 pounds. In politics he is a Republican, and in religion independent. F. W. Meese was married to Missouri M. Keefer. May 5, 1859, in Cumberland, Md., by Rev. Pat Hamill. His wife died March 2, 1860, in Frederick city, Md. He was next married to Kate Virginia Penner. of Cumberland, Md., November 12, 1874, by Rev. Father Delaroque, in Kane, Penn. His son, F. W. Meese, Jr. (by his first wife), resides in Kane, Penn., is a painter and paper-hanger, in politics is a Republican, and is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. On Sunday, September 16, 1866, Mr. Meese. at the suggestion of George Welker, performed a mock marriage, uniting in the bonds of wedlock, Casper Huffnagle and Miss Lizzie Marker, daughter of Fred Marker. This was the only mock marriage Meese and Welker ever were connected with, as it cost Mr. Welker some trouble and money to persuade Huffnagle to relinquish his bride.
M. W. MOFFITT, manufacturer, Kane, is a son of Jesse Moffitt, and was born in Genesee county, N. Y., in 1831. In 1832 his parents moved to Columbus. Warren Co., Penn., and thence to Erie county, where his school-days were completed, and where he grew to manhood. When he started in his business career he embarked in the lumber trade, and afterward was in mercantile business, fourteen years. In 1879 he removed to Kane, where he became a member of the lumber firm of P. C. West & Co., and subsequently of the firm of Howolls, Moffitt & Co., manufacturers of clothespins. He is an enterprising man, and has been successful in his business operations. He was married, in 1855, to Tryphena Bassett. Mr. Moffitt is a member of Kane Lodge, No. 566. F. & A. M., Bradford Chapter, No. 260, R. A. M., Bradford Council, R. &S. M., Knapp Commandery, No. 40, Ridgway, and Presque Isle Lodge of Perfection. In politics he is a Republican, and is the present burgess of the borough. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
G. H. PRESTON, M. D., Kane, was born in Lake county, Ohio, in 1854. He attended the schools of Madison, completing his studies at Madison High School; then went in to a drug store at Painesville, same State, where he learned the business and remained three years, when he began the study of medicine with Drs. Stranahan and Preston, of Warren, Penn. In 1878 he attended the medical department of the University of the City of New York, and graduated in 1879. The Doctor began his practice at Dunkirk, N. Y., and same year removed to Kane, where he has since been in the active practice of his profession. Dn, Preston has been surgeon for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, ten years, has held the same position for the Pittsburgh & Western Railroad, three years, and is medical examiner for all the insurance companies represented in Kane. He is a member of the Acme Oil Company, the banking house of McDade, Davis & Co. and the drug firm of J. W. Griffith & Co. The Doctor also has large interests in timber land and oil property. He is one of the prosperous citizens of Kane, and a leading and influential physician and business man.
WALTER B. SMITH, hardware merchant, Kane, a son of William J. and Roxana Smith, was born in Lottsville, Warren Co., Penn., in 1852. He remained in his native county until 1869, when he removed to Ridgway, Elk county, where he learned the tinner's trade. In 1872 he revisited Warren county, and went into the hardware business, which he continued until 1874, when he sold his interests there, and returned to his former employer in Ridgway. He went to California in 1875, but remained only about a year, returning to Elk county in 1876, and in 1879 moved to Kane, and embarked in the hardware business. He took George Welker as partner in 1887, the firm name being the Smith & Welker Hardware Company. They carry a complete stock in their line, and have a paying business. Mr. Smith takes an active interest in public affairs, and has served several terms as poormaster, and two terms as burgess of the borough. In politics he votes independent of party. He is a member of Kane Lodge, No, 566, F. & A. M.; Ridgway Chapter, R. A. M.; Bradford Council, and Knapp Commandery, K. T., also Kane Lodge, No. 512, I. O. O. F. In 1883 he married Rosa Welker, a daughter of his business partner, and they have one child, Roxana.
FRED SWANSON, blacksmith, Kane, is a native of Sweden, born in 1855, a son of S. M. and Annie Swanson, the former deceased. He was reared in his native country, and in 1878 came to America, and to Pennsylvania, locating at Kane; then went to Warren, where he was employed in the foundry of Strutbers & Wells, and was afterward with the Northwestern Mining Company at Dagus Mines, Elk county. He subsequently removed to Kane, and has since been working at the blacksmith's trade. He is one of the reliable citizens of the town, and takes an interest in all matters pertaining to the public welfare. He is a member of Kane Lodge, No. 566, F. & A. M. In politics he is a Republican. Mr. Swanson was married in 1881 to Josephine Oleson. and they have one son, Harry. Mr. and Mrs. Swanson are members of the Lutheran Church.
J. A. VOLLMER, dealer in furniture, and undertaker, Kane, was born in Elk county, Penn., in 1855. He was reared and educated in his native county, remaining at home until his majority, when, in 1876, he went to St. Mary's and then to Philadelphia, and learned the cabinet maker's trade. He located at Kane in 1882, and in addition to working at his trade is engaged in the furniture business, keeping a good stock in his line, including sewing-machines, etc. He also keeps a stock of undertaker's goods, being the only undertaker in the town. Mr. Vollmer was married in 1882 to Laura Tyler, and they have four children. They are members of the Catholic Church. In politics Mr. Vollmer is a Democrat, and is a member of the borough council.
GEORGE WELKER, hardware merchant, Kane, is a native of Germany, born in Rhenish Bavaria in 1836, a son of Michael Welker. In 1853 the family came to America and located at Philadelphia, where the subject of our notice learned the shoemaker's trade, and in 1857 moved to Williamsport, same State, where he worked at his trade until 1864, in which year he came to Renovo and bought the Ulrich House, which he conducted about a year. In 1865 he came to Kane, where he purchased the first lot after the town was laid out and surveyed, and built the first house on the town site. He opened a hotel, and also engaged in the boot and shoe business until 1886; he next became a member of the firm of Smith & Welker, dealers in hardware. He has taken great interest in the prosperity of Kane, and has been one of the foremost to assist all laudable enterprises. He has served several terms as a school director. Mr. Welker married Rosa Richly, who died in 1883, leaving three children: Rosa, wife of W. B. Smith; Lizzie and Emma. In 1885 Mr. Welker married Mary Sullivan, and they have two children: John and Edna. Mr. Welker is a member of Smethport Lodge, F. & A. M., and Williamsport Lodge, No. 570, I. O. O. F. In politics he votes independent of party.
P. C. WEST, manufacturer, Kane, is a son of Spencer West, one of the firm of P. C. West & Co., and was born in Minerva township, Essex Co.. N. Y., August 2, 1828. His parents removed in his early childhood to French Creek, Chautauqua Co., N. Y., and thence to Mill Creek and Harbor Creek, Erie Co., Penn., where his school-days were completed, and where he started in his business career. He was variously engaged in farming, in mercan tile trade, and in Corry, Penn., in the lumber business until 1879, when, in October of that year, he removed his mill from near Lowell Station to near West Kane, and is now associated in the lumber trade with M. W. Moffitt: is also a member of the firm of West & Britton, his son, J. L. West, being also a member of the firm. This firm manufacture clothespins, their factory, which is on Bay ard street, having a daily capacity of turning out 350 boxes, five gross each. Mr. West is one of the enterprising citizens of Kane. He was married in Concord, Erie Co., Penn., June 2, 1853, to Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel and Ellen Heath, of Concord, that county. His wife died in Corry, November 2, 1889, of paralysis, aged sixty years, nine months and twentyseven davs. In religion Mr. West is a Baptist, and in politics a Republican.
WILLIAM P. WESTON, attorney at law, Kane, Penn., was born in Burlington, Vt., in 1852. He completed his education at Lafayette College, Easton, Penn., from which he graduated in 1874. He afterward studied law at the Columbia Law School, N. Y., graduating in 1878. He was admitted to the bar of McKean county, Penn., in 1879, and began practice at Kane borough. He is enterprising and ambitious, and is connected with various business interests of the town. Mr. Weston is a member of the lumber firm of Stone, Wreston & Co., and of the banking house of McDade, Davis & Co., of which he is also cashier. He owns considerable oil land and several producing wells; also operates in oil and timber lands. He is one of the energetic, public-spirited citizens of the town, and is prominent in business circles. In politics he is a Republican.
REV. GEORGE WINKLER, priest in charge of St. Callistus Roman Catholic Church, at Kane, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y. His educational raining was received from the Jesuit fathers at Fordham. N. Y., and at Francis Xavier's College, New York City. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1886, by Rt. Rev. Tobias Mullen, D. D., bishop of Erie, Penn. His first pastorate was at McKean Corners, Erie county, and from there, in 1888, he was sent to Kane. In addition to the church at Kane he has charge of the churches at Kasselas, Johnsonburg and Wilcox. Upon his arrival at Kane he found no desirable place for holding services, and for a time the Temperance Hall was used. At Rasselas and Johnsonburg there was no place at all suitable, while at Wilcox there was a frame structure totally unfit for a church. He went to work, and now there is a good frame church at Johnsonburg, a stone church at Rasselas, a brick church at Kane, and also a frame church at Wilcox. He has superintended the building of these churches, and in the discharge of pastoral duties has endeared himself to the people of his various charges.
M. J. JOHNSON, farmer, P. 0. Corydon, Warren Co., Penn., was bor n in Livingston county, N. Y., March 9, 1835. When eighteen years of age he left home and worked for farmers by the day until he had earned enough to buy a farm in Allegany county, N. Y., which he cultivated and owned until 1867, when he exchanged his farm for a tract of wild land in McKean county, Penn., which he has cleared and improved, and now has one of the best farms in Corydon township. Mr. Johnson was married April 2, 1862, to Miss Mary A. Kirstatter, of Warren county, Penn., and they have four children—Marion W., Alice M., Cora E. and Harrie F.—all living at home. The parents of Mr. Johnson were named Daniel and Elizabeth, the former of American and the latter of German descent. Mrs. Johnson's parents were named Lorenzo and Maria Anna Kirstatter, of German birth.
C. D. SEAMAN, farmer and lumberman, P. O. Cornplanter, Warren Co., Penn., is a native of McKean county, Penn., born December 25, 1836. He was reared on a farm, and on reaching manhood bought a tract of wild land, which he has improved, and which is now one of the best farms in Corydon township. In addition to attending to the cultivation of his farm Mr. Seaman is extensively engaged in the lumber business. He was married in October, 1862, to Miss Annie Smith, of Cuba, N. Y., and they have one son, Allen, who is still at home. •
JAMES ANDERSON, merchant, Morrison's, was born in Kent county, England, near London, October 25, 1814, a son of William and Mary (Bainbridge) Anderson. He lived in his native county until seventeen years of age, and learned the cutter's trade in London. In 1831 he came to America, and for a year was employed as cutter in a wholesale clothing house, and then removed to Corydon, Penn., and opened a general store, being one of the first merchants of the town. He was obliged to undergo many hardships in the early days of McKean county, but has ever been a live, energetic business man, and is now one of the leading citizens of the township. He has served one term as commissioner of McKean county, and has been justice of the peace thirty-five years. He was married February 22, 1841, to Miss Isabella Hoop, of Lafayette, Penn. Mr. Anderson's father, William Anderson, was born in Kent county, England, Octobers, 1783, and his mother was born in Pontefract, England, September 1, 1787. They were married May 6, 1806. In 1809 William Anderson bought a captain's commission in the English army, and served until after the battle of Waterloo, when he sold his commission and went into the mercantile business in London. In 1829 he came to the United States, for a year was in business in Utica, N. Y., and in 1830 bought a large tract of land in McKean county, Penn., and was one of its pioneer settlers. December 24, 1836, after a visit at his son's, James Anderson, of Corydon, he started home through the woods afoot. The snow was very deep, and the weather very cold. It is supposed that he became wearied and sat down on a log to rest, as he was found the next day, December 25, by Mr. Thomas, the mail carrier, between Smethport and Warren, Penn., frozen to death, in a sitting posture. His widow departed this life at 8 o'clock on the morning of December 3, 1889, at the advanced age of one hundred and two years.
J. G. CURTIS, tanner, merchant and lumber manufacturer, Ludlow, was born in Fairfield county, Conn., November 7, 1830, a son of John and Lucy (Blackman) Curtis. John Curtis was one of the pioneers of Fairfield county, and a tanner by trade. Mr. Curtis received an ordinary education, and when eighteen years of age left home and learned the machinist's trade at Naugatuck, Conn.; afterward went to Painted Post, N. Y., and later traveled as a journeyman workman for several years. He afterward, in connection with J. D. Hamilton, of New York, built a tannery at Curtis Station, N. Y., which they operated for eight years, after which he took charge of the Lehigh Tannery at White Haven, Penn., for Thomas Small & Sons, for three years. He then erected a tannery at Emporium, Penn., the firm being styled Hamilton, Curtis & Co. In 1869 he came to Ludlow and built the present Ludlow tannery, making harness and rough leather, associating with him Mr. Maxwell, in 1886, under the firm name of Curtis, Maxwell Co., for the purpose of finishing shoe leather. Mr. Curtis also operates an extensive mercantile business at Ludlow, and is interested in manufacturing lumber. In 1855 he married Miss Mary Chambers, a native of Yates county, N. Y., and they have two sons, Daniel and John S., living at home. Mr. Curtis is a supporter of the Republican party, and he and family are members of the Episcopal Church He has served as postmaster at Ludlow since 1882.
GEORGE P. FOULKROD, lumberman, P. O. Bradford, was born in Tioga county, Penn., January 17, 1849. When he was sixteen years old his parents moved to Sheffield, Penn., where he grew to manhood. His father was a lumberman, and he went into the mill to learn to fit saws, becoming an expert in the business, and he has fitted saws for the best lumbermen in McKean county. In 1888 he located at Martindale, Hamilton township, built a mill, and now does a good business, cutting 25,000 feet of lumber per day. He is one of the successful lumbermen of the county, and is a prominent and influential citizen. He is a member of Lodge No. 373, I. O. O. F., of Kinzua, Penn. Mr. Foulkrod was married October 15, 1877, to Miss Sarah S. Springer, of Ludlow. Penn.
EDWARD N. HALLOCK, lumberman, P. O. Bradford, was born in Craw ford county, Penn., August 29, 1852. When he was sixteen years old he began clerking in a bank in Erie, and remained there five years, then accepted a position with a pipe line company in Foxburg, Penn. In 1879 he moved to Bradford, Penn., and bought oil and lumber property, and has since been engaged in both the production of petroleum, and also owns a fine saw-mill at Watsonville, where he turns out 25,000 feet of lumber per day. Mr. Hallock was married May 21, 1878, to Miss Phebe E. Keith, of Rome, N. Y., and they have two children: Charles S. and Florence B. Samuel T. Hallock, father of Edward N. Hallock, was born in Ulster county, N. Y., July 4, 1809. and died in Crawford County, Penn., September 25, 1877. Sara C. (Baily) Hallock, the mother of Edward N., was born in Greenfield, Mass., May 6, 1814, and died in Crawford county, Penn., November 12, 1882. Charles F.