Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

lectures at the Western Reserve University, of Cleveland, Ohio, from the medical department of which he graduated in February, 1885. For two and a half years the Doctor practiced his profession at Geneva, Penn., and in November, 1887, he came to McKean county, where he has since had a large practice, with good success, in Mount Alton and vicinity. In May, 1886, Dr. Ward married Miss Marguerette Amy Haire, a native of Ireland, who was a resident of Cleveland, Ohio, from an early age, she being a lady of high standing, and a member of Trinity Episcopal Church of that place. Dr. and Mrs. Ward have one child, Amy Elizabeth, born October 1, 1888. Dr. Ward is a man possessed of many good qualities. He is a member of the United Presbyterian Church of Crawford county, a member of the County Medical Society and various other societies of McKean county. In politics he is a supporter of the Democratic party.

H. C. WISCOM, proprietor of the Lafayette House, Lafayette, was born in Kings county, N. Y., January 11, 1854, a son of Herman and Elizabeth (Aven) Wisdom, natives of Germany. Our subject received a common-school education, and in 1878 came to McKean county, Penn., locating at Red Rock, where he worked at the carpenter's trade. In 1883 he moved to Lafayette, where he has since been the genial and courteous landlord of the Lafayette House. In 1881 he was united in marriage with Miss Susan Johnson, a native of Canada, and they have two children: William and Raymond. Mr. Wiscom is a Democrat in politics, and is now serving as township supervisor. He is a member of Kinzua Lodge, No. 442, I. O. O. F., and of the Knights of St. John of Malta.

SERGEANT TOWNSHIP.

W. E. BUTTS, postmaster, Clermont, was born in Arkansas, September 18, 1841. When twelve years of age he came to Pennsylvania, and lived for some time at Lawrenceville. When he started in life for himself he was employed by the Fall Brook Coal Company, and after his marriage he moved to Clermont, where he has since been employed as agent for the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad and Coal Company, and has also held the position of postmaster several years. Mr. Butts was married September 18, 1875, to Miss Elizabeth McCann, of Fall Brook, and they have four children: LulaE., Kittie A.. W. E., Jr., and Fred H. Mr. Butts is a member of Clermont Lodge, No. 749. I. O. O. F.

PETER MARTIN, farmer, P. O. Clermont, was born in Philadelphia, Penn., in December, 1835, a son of Adam and Eva (Parents) Martin, natives of Germany, who came to Poughkeepsie, N. Y., in 1833, where they remained for one year, then removed to Philadelphia, Penn. Here the father engaged as a foreman in Mr. Erie's soup factory, where he worked for eight years. In 1843 he came to McKean county, settling in Sergeant township, and in 1849• purchased the farm where his son, whose name heads this sketch, now resides. Peter Martin is the second son in a family of ten children. He received his education in McKean county, and resided with his parents until their death. He married in June, 1870, Miss Lenora. daughter of Philip and Julia A. (Wagoner) Roades, who came to Clermont in 1842. Of ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Martin, Burtan L. and Bertha L. are the only ones surviving. Mr. Martin has held various township offices; he is a member of Clermont Lodge, No. 949, I. O. O. F., and Smethport Encampment, No. 273, and is a member of the Baptist Church.

ORIN PERRY, farmer, P. 0. Kasson, is a son of Michael and Hannah (Cass) Perry, natives of New Hampshire, where Orin was born in February,

[ocr errors]

Republican party. J. B. Phillips was reared on the homestead farm, and obtained a common-school education. At the age of sixteen years he apprenticed himself to a merchant at Mill Village, Erie Co., Penn., and remained with him three years. He was then in business for himself six years at the same place. In 1881 he came to Bradford, McKean county, and, in connection with his brother, A. G. Phillips, engaged in the wholesale produce business. In the fall of the same year Mr. Phillips came to Mount Alton, and has since conducted his present general store, and is also engaged in lumbering. In 1876 he married Miss Clara, daughter of Gates H. and Sophia (Willey) Manross, natives of Erie county, and they have two children, Harry B. and an infant. Mr. Phillips is a supporter of the Republican party, and has served as school director of the township. He is trustee and steward in the Methodist Episcopal Church.

JOHN SIMPSON, oil producer and merchant, Riderville. P. O., Mount Alton, was born in Sugar Grove, Warren Co., Penn., September 15, 1851. a son of John and Melvina Simpson, natives of that county and farmers by occupation, who were prominent members of the Lutheran Church. Our subject received a common-school education, and has followed the oil business in all its branches, having worked at rig building, tool dressing, etc. In 1879 he came to McKean county, where for five years he worked at rig building, and has since been oil producing, now operating eight wells. In 1885 he established his present general store at Riderville, where he acted as postmaster until the office was discontinued. May 1, 1881, he married Miss Mary, daughter of John Hill, of Warren county, Penn., and they have three children: George, Annie and John. Mr. Simpson is a supporter of the Republican party. Mrs. Simpson is a member of the Lutheran Church.

WILLIAM TALBUT, farmer, P. O. LaFayette, was born in the town of Virgil, Cortland Co., N. Y., July 16, 1814, a son of William and Elizabeth (Preston) Talbut, natives of Otsego and Herkimer counties, respectively. They were among the early settlers of Cortland county, and followed farming there up to the time of their death, being hard-working, Christian people. William Talbut, the subject of these lines, received but a limited education. In 1836 he married Miss Esther Maria Steele, a native of Connecticut, and a settler of Otsego county, N. Y. February 9, 1846, they came to McKean county and lo cated on their present farm, clearing and improving the same. They reared eight children, all of whom are deceased except the following-named three: Esther, wife of A. J. Parker, of Smethport, Penn.; Mary, wife of S. T. Aldridge, of Wellsville, Penn., and Amelia, wife of Lyman Merrill, of Potter county. Mr. Talbut is a supporter of the Republican party, and has served as justice of the peace five years, also as school director, supervisor, etc. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church, but as they have no church near them, are not regular attendants of any. They are among the early families of the county, and are highly respected in the community in which they dwell.

DR. J. WARD, Mount Alton, was born in Venango county, Penn., March 7, 1859, and is a son of Robert and Nancy (McElwee) Ward, former of whom died March 3, 1887. The parents were both members of the United Presbyterian Church, of which the father was an elder for many years; he also filled various township offices, and was a supporter of the Democratic party. The subject of this sketch was reared in Crawford county, Penn. (whither his parents had moved when he was seven years of age), and his education was obtained in the select schools of that county. He early began the study of medicine in the office of Dr. A. Thompson, of Meadville, Penn., and attended lectures at the Western Reserve University, of Cleveland, Ohio, from the medical department of which he graduated in February, 1885. For two and a half years the Doctor practiced his profession at Geneva, Penn., and in November, 1887, he came to McKean county, where he has since had a large practice, with good success, in Mount Alton and vicinity. In May. 1880, Dr. Ward married Miss Marguerette Amy Haire, a native of Ireland, who was a resident of Cleveland, Ohio, from an early age, she being a lady of high standing, and a member of Trinity Episcopal Church of that place. Dr. and Mrs. Ward have one child, Amy Elizabeth, born October 1, 1888. Dr. Ward is a man possessed of many good qualities. He is a member of the United Presbyterian Church of Crawford county, a member of the County Medical Society and various other societies of McKean county. In politics he is a supporter of the Democratic party.

H. C. WISCOM, proprietor of the Lafayette House, Lafayette, was born in Kings county, N. Y., January 11, 1854, a son of Herman and Elizabeth (Aven) Wisdom, natives of Germany. Our subject received a common-school education, and in 1878 came to McKean county, Penn., locating at Red Rock, where he worked at the carpenter's trade. In 1883 he moved to Lafayette, where he has since been the genial and courteous landlord of the Lafayette House. In 1881 he was united in marriage with Miss Susan Johnson, a native of Canada, and they have two children: William and Raymond. Mr. Wiscom is a Democrat in politics, and is now serving as township supervisor. He is a member of Kinzua Lodge, No. 442, I. O. O. F., and of the Knights of St. John of Malta.

SERGEANT TOWNSHIP.

W. E. BUTTS, postmaster, Clermont, was born in Arkansas, September 18, 1841. When twelve years of age he came to Pennsylvania, and lived for some time at Lawrenceville. When he started in life for himself he was employed by the Fall Brook Coal Company, and after his marriage he moved to Clermont, where he has since been employed as agent for the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad and Coal Company, and has also held the position of postmaster several years. Mr. Butts was married September 18, 1875, to Miss Elizabeth McCann, of Fall Brook, and they have four children: LulaE., Kittie A., W. E., Jr., and Fred H. Mr. Butts is a member of Clermont Lodge, No. 749. I. O. O. F.

PETER MARTIN, farmer, P. O. Clermont, was born in Philadelphia, Penn., in December, 1835, a son of Adam and Eva (Parents) Martin, natives of Germany, who came to Poughkeepsie, N. Y., in 1833, where they remained for one year, then removed to Philadelphia, Penn. Here the father engaged as a foreman in Mr. Erie's soap factory, where he worked for eight years. In 1843 he came to McKean county, settling in Sergeant township, and in 1849 purchased the farm where his son, whose name heads this sketch, now resides. Peter Martin is the second son in a family of ten children. He received his education in McKean county, and resided with his parents until their death. He married in June, 1870. Miss Lenora, daughter of Philip and Julia A. (Wagoner) Roades, who came to Clermont in 1842. Of ten children born to Mr. and Mrs. Martin, Burtan L. and Bertha L. are the only ones surviving. Mr. Martin has held various township offices; he is a member of Clermont Lodge, No. 949, I. O. O. F., and Smethport Encampment, No. '273, and is a member of the Baptist Church.

ORIN PERRY, farmer, P. O. Kasson, is a son of Michael and Hannah (Cass) Perry, natives of New Hampshire, where Orin was born in February, 1816. His parents afterward removed to Steuben county, N. Y., where he received his education. He remained at home until he was eighteen years of age, when he engaged as a common laborer. By thrift and economy he finally found success crowning his honest efforts. He married, in 1835, Miss Lurinda Abby, of Steuben county, a daughter of John and Mary (Head) Abby. This wife died in 1845, leaving two children, Mary (now deceased) and Malvina, wife of Calvin Pettis, of Port Allegany, Penn. Mr. Perry married in May, 1846, Miss Miranda, daughter of George and Amy (Page) Head, of Steuben county, N. Y., and they are the parents of the following-named seven children: Ann (wife of Freeman Leyzotte, of Ketner, Penn.), George, Amanda M. (wife of F. A. Briggs), Andy, John, Mary and Ellsworth. Mr. Perry was engaged in farming in Steuben county, N. Y., until 1859, when he came to Sergeant township and purchased the farm of 240 acres, where he now resides. He has always evinced an interest in the township, and has held various local offices.

CHAPTER XXVIII.

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES—WETMORE TOWNSHIP AND BOR OUGH OF KANE—CORYDON AND HAMILTON TOWNSHIPS.

WETMORE TOWNSHIP AND BOROUGH OF KANE.

W. J. ARMSTRONG, M. D., Kane, was born at Clarington, Forest Co., Penn., December 12, 1853, and is a son of William and Margaret (Hepler) Armstrong, former a native of England, latter of Germany. The subject of these lines completed his literary studies at Allegheny College, Meadville. Penn., from which he graduated in 1881, with the degree of A. B.,and in 1884 he received the degree of A. M. He began the study of medicine with Dr. C. C. Baker, and in the winter of 1881-82 attended the University of Philadelphia, and winter of 1882-83 the Bellevue Hospital Medical College, of New York City, graduating from the latter in 1883. He first located at Sligo, Clarion Co., Penn., and January 1, 1886, removed to Kane, where he has built up a good practice. The Doctor is a member of Kane Lodge, No. 566, F. & A. M. He was married, in 1882, to Hattie A. Bell, and they have three children: Madge, Minnie and Clare. In politics Dr. Armstrong is a Republican. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

F. W. BRAYTON, druggist, Kane, son of D. C. Brayton, was bor n in Albany, N. Y., in 1857. In 1859 his parents moved to Avon, Livingston Co., N. Y., where he was reared. He graduated from the State Normal School at Geneseo, N. Y., in 1872, and then was employed as clerk in Avon, and was connected with the mercantile interests of the town until 1880, when he came to McKean county, and for a year was employed in the office of the Sugar Run Lumber Company, at Bradford. He was then book-keeper and clerk for Mr. Curts at Ludlow, six years, and in 1888 he removed to Kane, where he is now engaged in the drug business, and has built up a good trade. Mr. Brayton was married in 1881 to Ella J. Burleigh, and they have three children. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, lodge, chapter and commandery. He is a Republican in politics.

J. D. BROODER, manufacturer, Kane, was born in Carbon county, Penn. but when he was a child his parents moved to McKean county, where he was reared and educated. When fourteen years old, he left home, and until 1866 was employed in saw-mills. In that year he entered the employ of a railroad company, and had charge of their shops at Kane until 1880, from which time until 1885, he was in the. employ of the Standard Pipe Line Company, having charge of the pump station and the pipe line district. In 1885 he became associated with Joshua Davis and Elisha K. Kane, and incorporated the Kane Gas Light & Fuel Company, with which he is still identified, and which from the time of its incorporation has been a successful investment. Mr. Brooder was married to May Galvin, and they have four children. He is a Democrat in politics, and is a member of the borough council.

GEORGE W. CAMPBELL was born at Kinzua, Warren Co., Penn., August 3, 1831, and is a son of John Campbell, who emigrated from Lycoming county, Penn., about the year 1800, he being one of the early pioneers of northwestern Pennsylvania. Owing to the fact that his father was an invalid, George, at the age of seventeen years, assumed control of his father's business which he so managed that by the time he was twenty-one he had entirely paid his father's debts, which were considerable. A few years afterward he commenced business as a lumberman, becoming general jobber for the firm of Meade & Eddy. This he continued successfully for several years, at the end of which time he was engaged in the same business for Messrs. Charles & L. D. Wetmore. Having continued with these parties for some time, during which he had acquired quite a competency, he moved to Warren and engaged in the oil business, which proved disastrous. He then tried the mercantile business, but found this not his forte, and, gathering up his fast diminishing resources, entered into a partnership and once more betook himself to lumbering, this time in Clarion county, same State. But his partners were not practical lumbermen; difficulties arose, and Mr. Campbell retired from this venturewith a capital stock of about $2,000—indebtedness! He was advised by his friends to avail himself of the provisions of the bankruptcy act, then in force, but not considering this an honorable method of liquidating debts, he refused. For two years from this time he worked as a day laborer, but finding that his wages were not sufficient to support a large family, to say nothing of removing the debts, he consulted with his creditors, who advised him to again try lumbering, promising him assistance. Accordingly, with no capital but an honorable name, he, in 1880, built a saw-mill at Ludlow, McKean Co., Penn. This proved a success, and he liquidated his indebtedness, but fire in 1885 reduced the mill to ashes, entailing a loss of $7,000. Mr. Campbell had, however, erected another mill, which he operated until 1887, and also built one in 1886 at Mount Jewett, McKean county. In 1888 he and his sons, John and Edward, young men of rare energy and business tact, purchased the property of West & Britton, situated two and one-half miles north of Kane. This property has since been greatly improved, the mills now having a daily capacity of 60,000 feet of lumber. Mr. Campbell and his sons are owners of the Kinzua Creek & Kane Railroad, ten miles in length. Since 18S0 Mr. Campbell's business has steadily prospered. In 1854 the subject of our sketch married Mary Nutt, of Busti, N. Y., who has proved a true helpmeet. They have six children. Mr. Campbell has been a stanch Republican ever since the formation of the party. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, in the support of which they take an active part. In 1888 they purchased their present residence at Kane.

JAMES CAMPBELL, dealer in horses, etc., Kane, is a native of Ireland,.

« ZurückWeiter »