« ZurückWeiter »
salary until he was twenty-one. He then opened a meat market, which he carried on one year, and in 1878 he embarked in general mercantile business at Mount Alton. There he remained three years, and in 1881 moved to Kane, and thence, in 1884, to Mount Jewett, where he opened a meat market, which he still conducts, having one of the best places of the kind in the town. Mr. Phillips was married, January 5, 1876, to Miss Dora Willey, of Crawford county, Penn., and they have one child, Woodley.
SAMUEL PHILLIPS, merchant, Mount Jewett, is a native of Germany, born February 22, 1867, a son of Elisha and Shera Phillips, natives of Russian Poland. When he was twelve years old he came to the United States, and lived in New York City until 1885, when he came to McKean county, Penn., and lived in Bradford a year. When he began life for himself he found employment as a clerk in a dry goods store, and in 1886 he formed a partnership with B. Applestine, and opened a store in Mount Jewett. This partnership continued about three years, and in the spring of 1889, he bought Mr. Applestine's interest, and is now conducting the business alone. He is a young man of good business ability, and is one of the enterprising merchants of Mount Jewett .
JAMES RANDALL, Jn., farmer, P. 0. Kasson, is a son of James and Annie (Fields) Randall, natives of New York State, who came to Hamlin township in 1854, and reared a family of five children, James being the third son. He was born on the farm, where he now lives, March 4, 1862, and when he was five years old his parents sold the farm and moved to Tioga county, Penn., where they remained one year, then returned to Hamlin township, and settled on Marvin creek. James Randall, Jr., the subject of these lines, spent his early days working for his parents, and in 1884, in company with his brother, Dan, bought back a part of the old farm, which their father had previously sold. April 26, 1886, Mr. Randall married Miss Sarah Richards, a daughter of Thomas and Catherine (McElwee) Richards, the former a native of England and the latter of Ireland, who were among the early settlers of Hamlin township, Mr. and Mrs. Randall are the parents of one child, Wallace J. In 1886 Mr. Randall bought his brother's interest in the farm, and he is now one of the most prosperous farmers of the township.
WILLIAM SMITH, farmer, P. 0. Mount Jewett. was born December 15, 1838, a son of Lyman and Betsy (Lytle) Smith, the former a native of Massachusetts, and the latter of Indiana. The mother died when William was quite young, and the father married, for a second wife, Miss Polly Gleason, a daughter of Daniel and Ella (Houck) Gleason, of Allegany county, N. Y. William Smith spent his boyhood days with his parents in Yorkshire. Cattaraugus county, N. Y. In December, 1861, he enlisted in the United States service, and was assigned to Company K, One Hundred and Fifth Regiment New York Volunteers, serving three years. In 1866 he, in company with his father's family, came to Mount Jewett (then known as Howard Hill), and settled upon the farm which he now owns. In December, 1871, he married Miss Fannie A. Simmons, a daughter of Ensley and Irena (Gleason) Simmons, natives of New York State, who has borne him three children: Flora, Alice and Arthur. Mr. Smith is a member of Smethport Post, No. 347, G. A. R. He has held various township offices, and is one of the leading citizens. He and his wife are members of the Baptist Church at Smethport.
IRA WARFLE, farmer, P. 0. Kasson, a son of Thomas and Phoebe R. (Dixon) Warde, natives of New York State, was born in Broome county, N. Y., April 29, 1836. He was reared and educated in his native county, and when twenty-one years old came to Marvin Creek, Hamlin township, bringing his family from Steuben county, N. Y., in a sleigh drawn by oxen. He married, June 18, 1854, Miss Mary E., daughter of Joseph T. and Hulda (Harrington) Hicock, natives of Steuben county, N. Y., and they have had a family of ten children: Joseph B., Hulda A., Mary Enmina, Juan S. (deceased), Cora A. (wife of George Richards), Phoebe M. (wife of N. D. Hausler), Benson A., Millie G., Sadia A. and Henry N. residing at home. In 1850 Mr. Warfle bought a piece of wild land on Marvin creek, where he now lives. He has been successful in business, and now has a fine home. Prominent in local politics, he has held various township offices.
'ALBERT WTBOKG, merchant, of the firm of A. & O. Wiborg, Mount Jewett, is a son of C. G. and Lena Wiborg, natives of Sweden, who reared a family of five children, one of whom is deceased, and four still living, Albert, our subject, being the second son. He was born in Ostergotland, Sweden, June 12. 1867. His father immigrated to America in the spring of 1869, leaving his family in Sweden. He was working on railroad building for eight years, and in the spring of 1877 came toMcKean county, Penn., where he bought some land located eight miles east of Kane, by the Smethport & Kane road, it being a great forest at that time, and the nearest railway at Kane, and not a house within two miles in the direction of Kane, and four miles to Howard Hill, now called Mount Jewett, where at that time there were only four farmers. As soon as he was settled down, he sent for his family, who came to McKean county, Penn.. in the fall of 1877. The subject of these lines attended the common schools of his native country, and on arriving in McKean county he worked on the land with his father for eight years, helping to clear off the timber which had to be burned on the ground. His father and mother are still living on the farm, which is known as "Pleasant Farm," and is now yielding good crops. Here a fine house was erected. In the fall of 1885 Mr. Wiborg left the farm, to work for himself; then engaged in canvassing for a magazine for two years, and also worked in a shingle-mill. In 1888 he, in company with his cousin, O. Wiborg, embarked in mercantile business in Mount Jewett, where they rented a store building. In the spring of 1889 they purchased a lot and erected the store where they are now located and are doing a thriving business.
J. W. BEACON, Mount Alton, was born in Westmoreland county, Penn., April 13, 1844, ft son of Johnson W. and Rebecca (Miller) Beacon, former a native of Westmoreland county, latter of Allegheny county, Penn His father was a farmer by occupation, was a stanch member of the Democratic party and filled various township offices. He and his wife were prominent members of the Presbyterian Church, in which he was an elder for many years. Mr. Bpacon died in Westmoreland county, Penn., in 1868; his widow is still living and resides on the homestead. They had a family of five children, three of whom are still living, viz.: Cyrus Scott, of Westmoreland county; Rev. John J., pastor of the Presbyterian Church, of Pittsburgh, Penn.. and J. W., our subject, who was reared on the homestead farm and obtained a commonschool education. He is among the pioneer oil producers, having operated on the Storey farm in Venango county. In 1879 he came to McKean county and located at Mount Alton, and in 1881 established a general mercantile business; he has served as postmaster since September, 1885. In 1872 he was married to Miss Lottie Gappen, of Washington county, Penn., and they have six children: William, Jessie, Harry, Orpha. Ella and Paul M. Mr. Beacon is an active member of the Democratic party, and for several years has served as school director of the township. He is a member of McKean Lodge, No. 51, F. & A. M., of Smethport; of the Knights of St. John of Malta, of Alton; of Columbian League, of Alton, and of Kinzua Lodge, No. 541, I. O. O. F., of Bradford. In 1889 he retired from the mercantile business, and moved to Randolph, N. Y., where he is drilling with the expectation of supplying the place with gas.
GEORGE. E BEAUMONT, merchant, Mount Alton, was born in Rocky Hill, Hartford Co., Conn., January 17, 1845, a son of Charles and Mary (Pratt) Beaumont, natives of that State. His father was a harness maker and saddler, and in 1847 moved his family to Illinois, but returned to Connecticut in 1857. He was a Republican and a member of the Presbyterian Church: he died in Connecticut, and his widow is still living. George E. Beaumont received an ordinary education, and at the age of fourteen years left home and shipped as a cabin-boy on a coasting vessel running on the Connecticut and Hudson rivers. In 1862 he shipped aboard a transport carrying a cargo of hay and oats for the Union soldiers. In 1863 he went to Philadelphia and obtained a position as inspector of oil, afterward was located at Pittsburgh and Oil City in the same capacity. In 1881 he came to McKean county, and for three years acted as gauger for the United Pipe Line Company; since then he has been engaged in the mercantile business at Mount Alton. In 1867 he married Miss Emma L. Ward, daughter of Egbert S. Ward, of Pittsburgh, and they have four children: William, Schuyler Colfax, George E., Jr., and Fannie Ellison. Mr. Beaumont is a member of the Knights of St. John of Malta; in politics he is a Republican. He has served one term as township auditor, and has also acted as school director, being now on his second term; he is also postmaster at Mount Alton, having been commissioned August 6, 1889. Mrs. Beaumont is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
ORLANDO HAGADORN, farmer, P. 0. LaFayette, Penn., is a son of Aaron Hagadorn, who was born in Saratoga county, N. Y., January 4, 1806, of Dutch parentage on the father's side, the mother, nee Mary Schemerhorn, being a native of New Jersey. October 13, 1839, Aaron married Miss Abigail Walker, who was born in Vermont in 1808, and moved with her parents to New Hampshire and afterward to Broome county, N. Y. In February, 1843, Mr. Hagadorn and wjfe came to McKean county, and purchased their present farm in Lafayette township. Here they started in the wilderness, single-handed, and by their own hard labor, cleared and improved their farm, and made themselves well to do. Mr. Hagadorn has been an active worker in the Republican party, and has filled various important township offices. He and his wife both united with the Methodist Episcopal Church when eighteen years of age, and have ever since led an active Christian life. For many years Mr. Hagadorn was class leader of the church. They have reared three children, one of whom, the eldest, Henry D., was a member of the Fifty eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment, Company H, and was killed at the battle of Cold Harbor. The living are George W., engaged in the feed business at Salamanca, N. Y., and Orlando, our subject, who was born in Union, Broome Co., N. Y., March 23. 1841, and came to McKean county with his parents. He received the advantages of the township schools, and has always lived on his present homestead. October 23, 1861, he was united in marriage with Miss Rachel, daughter of Alexander Hoag, a native of Scotland, and now a resident of Salamanca, N. Y. To them have been born two children: Samuel H. and Jennie L. Mr. Hagadorn has always been identified with the Republican party, and has served the township as school director, constable, poor master, etc. His wife and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
MARK HARDIE, farmer and agent for the Lafayette Coal & Land Company, Mount Alton, was born in County Armagh, Ireland, December 10, 1843, a son of John and Mary Jane Hardie, former a native of same county. His mother's father was a soldier in the British army, and was in the battle of Waterloo. Mark Hardie moved with his parents to Scotland and located near Glasgow, where he received an ordinary education, and was also educated for a practical miner. He was married in Salisbury, Scotland, by Rev. John Ritchie, of Shotsburn, in 1863, to Miss Sarah Jane Stewart, who was born in Ireland. Her parents, William and Mary (Brown) Stewart, were Highland people, who moved from Scotland when she was three years of age. In
1865 our subject and wife emigrated to Canada, and later in the same year they came to the United States, tirst locating in Bedford county, Penn., where Mr. Hardie began prospecting for ore, coal and limestone for the Huntingdon & Broad Top Railroad Company, and afterward sunk a shaft to the coal at Fairplay, Penn., and assisted in opening a new drift for Wigton & Co. He also prospected successfully in Somerset county, Penn. In the spring of
1866 he came to McKean county and engaged with the Bondvein or Gilsville Coal Company, Lafayette & Longwood Coal Company, and located in Lafayette township. He is one of the early prospectors in this part of the State, and has done much toward developing the coal, ore, etc. He also prospected over the State for Gen. Thomas L. Kane. For many years he has successfully conducted the agency for the Lafayette Land Company. He has a wide business acquaintance among many of the largest business men of Pittsburgh and other States. Mr. Hardie is an active member of the Republican party. In 1876 he was elected justice of the peace of Lafayette township, also treasurer of the board of education for three years. Mr. Hardie is a member of nearly all the secret societies; among the most prominent are Bradford Lodge, No. 334, F. & A. M.; Bradford Chapter, No. 260, R. A. M.; Bradford Council, No. 43, R. & S. M.; Tuna Valley Lodge, K. of P.; charter member and past grand of Kinzua Lodge, No. 442, I. O. O. F., of Mount Alton; charter member of the Knights of St. John of Malta; assistant State deputy and counselor of the Knights of the Maccabees; charter member of the Big Shanty Lodge, and past chief of the Good Templars Lodge. He and family are members of the Presbyterian Church. In connection with his other business Mr. Hardie conducts a fine farm just outside of the village of Mount Alton. Mr. and Mrs. Hardie are the parents of ten children, viz.: Margaret, wife of H. L. Shurwin, of Mount Alton, Penn.. has two children, Alfred LeRoy and William; Mary, principal of the Mount Alton school; William S., on the United States boat " Boston;" Elizabeth, a teacher in the intermediate department of the Mount Alton school; Ella, Mark Alexander, Jennie, Sarah, Laura Edna and George Walter, at home. Mr. Hardie has recently prospected across the State on the bituminous coal belt, and finds near the New York or northern line of Pennsylvania the coal lies near the surface and in small deposits or pockets, but toward the south and west of Pennsylvania the deposits of coal are larger, thicker, and more pure, i. e., free from sulphur and other substances, and, on account of so much oil and gas being now produced in Lafayette township, the coal at present does not pay to work, but will in the future.
J. B. PHILLIPS, merchant, Mount Alton, was born in New Richmond, Crawford Co., Penn., April 1, 1856, a son of Ananias and Julia (Gale) Phillips, former a native of Washington county, N. Y.. and latter of Plattsburg, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y. His father located in Crawford county, Penn.,when seventeen years of age, and was one of the pioneers of that county. He is a farmer by occupation, and is still living. For many years he was an official member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and a prominent worker for the
Republican party. J. B. Phillips was reared on the homestead farm, and obtained a common-school education. At the age of sixteen years he apprenticed himself to a merchant at Mill Village, Erie Co., Penn., and remained with him three years. He was then in business for himself six years at the same place. In 1881 he came to Bradford, McKean county, and, in connection with his brother, A. G. Phillips, engaged in the wholesale produce business. In the fall of the same year Mr. Phillips came to Mount Alton, and has since conducted his present general store, and is also engaged in lumbering. In 1876 he married Miss Clara, daughter of Gates H. and Sophia (Willey) Manross, natives of Erie county, and they have two children, Harry B. and an infant. Mr. Phillips is a supporter of the Republican party, and has served as school director of the township. He is trustee and steward in the Methodist Episcopal Church.
JOHN SIMPSON, oil producer and merchant, Riderville, P. O., Mount Alton, was born in Sugar Grove, Warren Co., Penn., September 15, 1851. a son of John and Melvina Simpson, natives of that county and farmers by occupation, who were prominent members of the Lutheran Church. Our subject received a common-school education, and has followed the oil business in all its branches, having worked at rig building, tool dressing, etc. In 1879 he came to McKean county, where for five years he worked at rig building, and has since been oil producing, now operating eight wells. In 1885 he established his present general store at Riderville, where he acted as postmaster until the office was discontinued. May 1, 1881, he married Miss Mary, daughter of John Hill, of Warren county, Penn., and they have three children: George, Annie and John. Mr. Simpson is a supporter of the Republican party. Mrs. Simpson is a member of the Lutheran Church.
WILLIAM TALBUT. farmer, P. O. LaFayette, was born in the town of Virgil, Cortland Co., N. Y., July 16, 1814, a son of William and Elizabeth (Preston) Talbut, natives of Otsego and Herkimer counties, respectively. They were among the early settlers of Cortland county, and followed farming there up to the time of their death, being hard-working, Christian people. William Talbut, the subject of these lines, received but a limited education. In 1836 he married Miss Esther Maria Steele, a native of Connecticut, and a settler of Otsego county, N. Y. February 9, 1846, they came to McKean county and located on their present farm, clearing and improving the same. They reared eight children, all of whom are deceased except the following-named three: Esther, wife of A. J. Parker, of Smethport, Penn.; Mary, wife of S. T. Aldridge, of Wellsville, Penn., and Amelia, wife of Lyman Merrill, of Potter county. Mr. Talbut is a supporter of the Republican party, and has served as justice of the peace five years, also as school director, supervisor, etc. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church, but as they have no church near them, are not regular attendants of any. They are among the early families of the county, and are highly respected in the community in which they dwell.
DR. J. WARD, Mount Alton, was born in Venango county, Penn., March 7, 1859, and is a son of Robert and Nancy (McElwee) Ward, former of whom died March 3, 1887. The parents were both members of the United Presbyterian Church, of which the father was an elder for many years; he also tilled various township offices, and was a supporter of the Democratic party. The subject of this sketch was reared in Crawford county, Penn. (whither his parents had moved when he was seven years of age), and his education was obtained in the select schools of that county. He early began the study of medicine in the office of Dr. A. Thompson, of Meadville, Penn., and attended