Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

Germany, July 17, 1845, and came to this country with his parents in his boyhood. When fourteen years of age he began work as a laborer, at Clermont, Penn., and afterward went to Wilcox, where he worked for Col. A. I. WTilcox, for three years, after which he was employed by an engineering party for one year, when he returned to Wilcox, and was re engaged by Mr. Wilcox. In March, 1875, he married Miss Jennie Potter, a daughter of John F. and Phebe (Farley) Potter, of Lycoming county, Penn., and they have reared a family of four children, viz.: Idela M., Edith A., Edna L. and Earl P. In 1876 Mr. Hafner came to Marvin Creek, Hamlin township, McKean Co., Penn., and purchased the farm where he now resides.

JOHN HAFNER, farmer, was born in Germany, in 1835, a son of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner. He came to McKean county, Penn., with his parents in 1853, and at seventeen years of age began work for himself as a laborer. He was married, in 1861, to Miss Theresa, daughter of Christopher and Minnie Heinemann, of Norwich township, McKean Co., Penn., and she bore him one child, Mary L., wife of G. H. Graff, of Mount Alton, Penn. After his marriage he came to Hamlin township and purchased a farm. His wife died in 1878, and in 1881 he married Miss Minnie Fedder, of Smethport, who died in 1883. In 1885, Mr. Hafner married Miss Elizabeth Martin, of Farmers Valley, Penn.. who died in 1889. She was a member of the Lutheran Church, as is also Mr. Hafner. He has held various township offices,

CHARLES G. JACKSON, merchant, Mount Jewett, is a native of Sweden, born January 28, 1858. He remained in his native country till manhood, working on a farm from the time he was old enough for manual labor. In 1880 he came to the United States and located at Mount Jewett, where he obtained employment as a laborer. In 1885 he embarked in mercantile business, and in 1887 became associated with O. Haglen, which partnership continued until April 1, 1889, when they dissolved by mutual consent, and Mr. Jackson is now conducting business alone. He is a successful young man, and is one of the well-known citizens of Mount Jewett. He was married September 15, 1883, to Miss Amanda Lumberg, also a native of Sweden, and they have one child. They are members of the Lutheran Church.

JOHN R. JOHNSON, contractor and house builder, Mount Jewett, is a son of Johannes and Anna Elizabeth Johnson, of the township of Hellefors, county of Orebro, located in the central part of Sweden, the city of Orebro being the capital of said county, and iron mining and lumbering the chief industries of that part of Sweden. Johannis Johnson, shoemaker by trade, was born in 1818, and died of consumption when forty-eight years old; his remains lie buried in the Hellefors Cemetery. His wife, Anna Elizabeth, was born in 1813, has worked hard all her days, and is yet living in her native country. They had six children, two of whom are deceased, and four are living in America. Of these, John R., who was the youngest child, was born February 4, 1858, in Orebro county, Sweden. He received his education in his native country, and spent his boyhood days with his parents, learning the carpenter's trade. In May, 1878, he left his native country and came to America, locating at Mount Jewett, where he worked at his trade, and after some time he bought a piece of land. As the place was growing, the land rose in price, and he became very successful in selling land lots. On December 24, 1882, Mr. Johnson married Miss Emma F. Eken, a daughter of John and Lena Eken, former a wealthy farmer of Mount Jewett. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have a fine home, where they reside on the main street, Mount Jewett, and have a family of three children: Ernest R. W., born October 3, 1883; Ethel Beatrice, born Novemwell-selected goods. He is an enterprising young man, and holds a high position among the business men of Mount Jewett. He has held several of the township offices, and has served efficiently and acceptably. Mr. Gallup was married September 20, 1887, to Miss Alma J., daughter of J. W. and Sarah Brennan, all natives of Smethport, Penn.

GEORGE O. GARLICK, farmer and postmaster, Kasson, is a son of Truman and Catherine (Rifle) Garlick, the former a native of Otsego county. N. Y.. and the latter of Tioga county, Penn., who came to Hamlin township in 18.J5. They reared a family of six children, of whom George O. is the second son. He was born in Hamlin township, McKean Co., Penn., June 8, 1839, received his education in the public schools of the township, and spent his boyhood days upon the farm with his father. In May, 1864, he married Miss Phebe McKean, a daughter of Bernard and Bridget (Graham) McKean. natives of Ireland. They have three children: Bertie, Eva and Bernard. After his marriage, Mr. Garlick went to Minnesota with a team, but returned in one year, then went to Wilcox, Penn., and engaged in shoemaking, although he had never learned the trade. Here he remained for ten years, at the end of which time he settled upon the farm he now owns. In politics Mr. Garlick votes with the Republican party, and has filled the following offices: school director, road commissioner, town clerk, collector, overseer of poor, treasurer, and has filled the postmastership of Kasson for six years.

L. A. GROAT, landlord of the Fairview House, Mount Jewett, is a son of Peter and Minerva (McIntyre) Groat, natives of New York State. They came to Wilcox, Penn., in 1870, and Peter Groat was engaged as foreman of the Wilcox tannery for twelve years. They reared a family of eleven children, the subject of this sketch being the third son. He was born in Bradford county, Penn., October 30, 1842, and received a practical business education in the common schools of New York State. He spent his time with his parents until he attained the age of thirty-five years, engaging in the tanning business as an overseer. In May, 1881, he married Miss Flora A. Hamilton, a daughter of David and Eleanor Hamilton,of Emporium, Penn., and they have had three children: Carrie, Harry and Bertha (the last named deceased). After his marriage Mr. Groat went to Clarendon, Warren Co., Penn., and engaged in building oil rigs and tanks. In the winter of 1887 he came to Mount Jewett and erected the hotel which he successfully conducts. Mr. and Mrs. Groat are members of the Presbyterian Church at Kane, Penn. Mr. Groat is a member of Newark Valley Lodge, No. 614, F. & A. M., and of Fisher Tent No. 45, K. O. T. M.

PHILIP HAFNER, farmer, P. 0. Kasson, was born in Germany, March 17, 1839, is a son of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner. He received his education in his native land, and came to McKean county, Penn., with his parents in 1853. When seventeen years of age he went to work as a laborer in the lumber woods. In November, 1867, he married Miss Ellen, a daughter of Lyman and M. E. (Starks) Bell, of Coudersport, Penn., and they are the parents of three children: Nellie M., Harry H. and Leo R. After his marriage Mr. Hafner was employed upon the farm of Wernwag & Co., until 1875, when he opened a meat market at Clermont, which he conducted one year, then came to Hamlin township, and purchased the farm on Marvin creek, where he now resides. He is R prominent citizen, and has held various township offices.

WILLIAM HAFNER, farmer, P. O. Kasson, is a sou of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner, natives of Germany, who came to this country, and settled in Sergeant township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1853. They were the parents of eight children, of whom William is the sixth sou. He was born in Germany, July 17, 1845, and came to this country with his parents in his boyhood. When fourteen years of age he began work as a laborer, at Clermont, Penn., and afterward went to Wilcox, where he worked for Col. A. I. Wilcox, for three years, after which he was employed by an engineering party for one year, when he returned to Wilcox, and was re engaged by Mr. Wilcox. In March, 1875, he married Miss Jennie Potter, a daughter of John F. and Phebe (Parley) Potter, of Lycoming county, Penn., and they have reared a family of four children, viz.: Idela M., Edith A., Edna L. and Earl P. In 1876 Mr. Hafner came to Marvin Creek, Hamlin township, McKean Co., Penn., and purchased the farm where he now resides.

JOHN HAFNER, farmer, was born in Germany, in 1835, a son of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner. He came to McKean county, Penn., with his parents in 1853, and at seventeen years of age began work for himself as a laborer. He was married, in 1861, to Miss Theresa, daughter of Christopher and Minnie Heinemann, of Norwich township, McKean Co., Penn., and she bore him one child, Mary L., wife of G. H. Graff, of Mount Alton, Penn. After his marriage he came to Hamlin township and purchased a farm. His wife died in 1878, and in 1881 he married Miss Minnie Fedder, of Smethport, who died in 1883. In 1885, Mr. Hafner married Miss Elizabeth Martin, of Farmers Valley, Penn.. who died in 1889. She was a member of the Lutheran Church, as is also Mr. Hafner. He has held various township offices

CHARLES G. JACKSON, merchant, Mount Jewett, is a native of Sweden, born January 28, 1858. He remained in his native country till manhood, working on a farm from the time he was old enough for manual labor. In 1880 he came to the United States and located at Mount Jewett, where he obtained employment as a laborer. In 1885 he embarked in mercantile business, and in 1887 became associated with O. Haglen, which partnership continued until April 1, 1889, when they dissolved by mutual consent, and Mr. Jackson is now conducting business alone. He is a successful young man, and is one of the well-known citizens of Mount Jewett. He was married September 15, 1883, to Miss Amanda Lamberg, also a native of Sweden, and they have one child. They are members of the Lutheran Church.

JOHN R. JOHNSON, contractor and house builder, Mount Jewett, is a son of Johannis and Anna Elizabeth Johnson, of the township of HelJefors, county of Orebro, located in the central part of Sweden, the city of Orebro being the capital of said county, and iron mining and lumbering the chief industries of that part of Sweden. Johannis Johnson, shoemaker by trade, was born in 1818, and died of consumption when forty-eight years old; his remains lie buried in the Hellefors Cemetery. His wife, Anna Elizabeth, was born in 1813, has worked hard all her days, and is yet living in her native country. They had six children, two of whom are deceased, and four are living in America. Of these, John R., who was the youngest child, was born February 4, 1858, in Orebro county, Sweden. He received his education in his native country, and spent his boyhood days with his parents, learning the carpenter's trade. In May, 1878, he left his native country and came to America, locating at Mount Jewett, where he worked at his trade, and after some time he bought a piece of land. As the place was growing, the land rose in price, and he became very successful in selling land lots. On December 24, 1882, Mr. Johnson married Miss Emma F. Eken, a daughter of John and Lena Eken, former a wealthy farmer of Mount Jewett. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have a fine home, where they reside on the main street, Mount Jewett, and have a family of three children: Ernest R. W., born October 3, 1883; Ethel Beatrice, born November 10, 1886; Lilly Elvira, born January 9, 1889, all of whom reside at home. Mr. Johnson is very successful in his business, and Mrs. Johnson is a happy mother, loving and beloved by her children, a woman who is a blessing to her family. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson attend the Lutheran Church; in politics he votes with the Prohibition party.

N. P. LANTZ, farmer, P. 0. Mount Jewett, is a son of John and Annastine Lantz, natives of Sweden, and was born June 24, 1841. He received a practical business education in the common schools of Sweden, and spent the days of his early manhood upon his father's farm, and on the railroad in the capacity of foreman. In November, 1864, he married Miss Sophia M., daughter of Aaron and Sophia Elkstrom, and they have a family of eight children. In 1872 Mr. Lantz came to Pittsburgh, Penn., and worked in the coal mines until 1876, when he moved to Hamlin township, McKean county, settling three and one-half miles from any neighbors. He then engaged with the Union Oil Company as foreman, with whom he was employed five years. Mr. Lantz owns a large farm near Mount Jewett, is one of the leading men of the township, and has held various township offices. Mr. and Mrs. Lantz are members of the Lutheran Church.

CHARLES LUNDEN, proprietor of billiard room, Mount Jewett, is a native of Sweden, born January 26, 1866, and when five years of age was brought to America and to McKean county, Penn., by his parents. He was reared in that county, and lived at home until manhood. He is now proprietor of a fine billiard parlor, and owner of considerable property, including the building where he carries on his business, and is one of the most enterprising young men in Mount Jewett. December 19, 1887, Mr. Lunden married Miss Alma Swonsy, of Mount Jewett.

THOMAS McCLELLAN, lumberman, Mount Jewett, is a son of A. J. and Eliza (Peters) McClellan, natives of Pennsylvania. They were the parents of two children, of whom Thomas is the eldest son. He was born in Phillipsburg. Centre Co., Penn., September 8, 1859, and received a practical business education in the common schools of Clearfield county. In June, 1878, he came to Kane, Penn., with the sum of $1.40 of his earnings; here he remained until 1884, when he took Horace Greeley's advice and went West. He returned, however, the next year, and purchased some land at Ludlow, McKean Co., Penn., in partnership with George Mell,and engaged in lumbering. In 1889 he entered into partnership with Elisha K. Kane, of Kane, Penn., and came to Mount Jewett, where they purchased a tract of land, and are now erecting a large mill with the latest improvements. He is also interested in the Mount Jewett, Kinzua & Ritterville Railroad, which is in process of construction. In 1885 he married Miss Mary E. Fuller, a daughter of Ambrose and Martha Eliza (Jones) Fuller, of Emporium, Penn., and they have two children, Helen and Paul. Mrs. Martha E. Fuller, was born in Springfield, Mass. Mr. McClellan is a wide-awake man, ever ready to promote the interests of his township. In politics he votes with the Prohibition party.

E. B. McCOY, druggist, Mount Jewett, a son of W. Y. and Charlotte (Darling) McCoy, of Smethport, Penn., was born in Smethport June 1, 1856. He received a practical business education in his native town, and spent his boyhood days with his parents. November 22,1876, he married Miss Frances E., a daughter of Joseph and Rachel (Bovee) Lyman, of Binghampton, N. Y. Mr. McCoy worked in his father's drug store until 1883, when, in company with his brother, H. S., he bought a stock of drugs in Smethport, remaining in partnership until 1885, when he bought his brother's interest. Mr. McCoy continued in business here until 1887, in which year he sold out and came to Mount Jewett, where he built a store and put in it stock of drugs. He has been successful, and is now one of the leading business men of the place; is a member of Smethport Lodge, No. 388, I. O. O. F.; also of Fisher Lodge, K. O. T. M. Mr. and Mrs. McCoy are members of the Episcopal Church at Smethport.

DA VAULT MARTIN, farmer, P. 0. Kasson, is a son of John and Margaret (Bower) Martin, natives of Germany, who came to Philadelphia in 1835, and to McKean county in 1844, and settled at Teutonia. They were the parents of eight children, of whom Davault is the eldest son. He was born in Philadelphia June 30, 1836. He received his education in the common schools of McKean county, and spent his boyhood days upon the farm with his parents until twenty-one years of age. When he reached his majority, he began work for himself as a laborer, and August 24, 1864, married Miss Elizabeth M. Hafner, a daughter of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner. His wife died April 11, 1878, leaving four children: John C., Edward D., Philip W. and Minnie E. Four years before marriage Mr. Martin purchased the farm on which he now resides, and on which he has erected a tine residence. Mr. Martin has served as jury commissioner for three years, and has held various township offices. He is a member of McKean Lodge, No. 388, F. & A. M., Bradford Chapter, No. 260, and Trinity Commandery, No. 58, K. T.

A. MELLANDER, merchant, Mount Jewett, is a native of Sweden, born April 1, 1852. He lived in his native country until sixteen years of age, when he came to the United States, and in 1871 located near the present site of Mount Jewett, working on a farm and in the lumber camps. In 1881 he started the first store in the town, and has been a successful merchant, owning the building where he carries on his business, and which is well adapted to his needs. He also owns a large saw-mill at Mount Jewett, and is extensively engaged in the lumber business. Mr. Mellander was married, February 13, 1882, to Miss Huldah W. Burling.

E. B. MOSSER, tanner, Mount Jewett, was born in Lehigh county, Penn., January 28, 1854. He was reared and educated in his native county, and learned the tanner's trade of his father. He remained at home, working with his father until he was twenty-six years old. In 1881 he moved to Huntingdon county, Penn., started a tannery, and in 1887 came to Mount Jewett and built a large tannery, and is now engaged in business on an extensive scale under the firm name of O. B. Mosser & Co. Mr. Mosser was married March 25, 1880, to Miss Emma A. Ripley, of Lock Haven, Penn., and they have three children: Frankie, Duart and Belmont.

J. H. NELSON, farmer, P. 0. Mount Jewett, was born near Stockholm, Sweden, August 7, 1834, a son of Jacobson and Elizabeth (Anderson) Nelson. He was educated in the common schools, and remained at home with his parents until he attained his majority. He was married in October, 1862, to Miss Johanna, a daughter of Johannes and Annie (Hindrickson) Johnson, natives of Sweden. In 1873 they adopted Miss Mamie Nelson. Mr. Nelson came to Kane, McKean Co., Penn., in July, 1808, where he worked at his trade (that of a mason) for two years, when he settled in Mount Jewett, purchasing the farm where he now resides, and was one of the first three families who settled in Mount Jewett. He has been very successful in business, is a live, energetic business man, and one of the leading men in his town. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson are members of the Free Mission Church at Mount Jewett, Penn.

A. G. PHILLIPS, proprietor of meat market, Mount Jewett, is a native of Pennsylvania, born in Crawford county, May 4, 1856. He remained at home until eighteen years of age, when be began life for himself, and worked on a

« ZurückWeiter »