« ZurückWeiter »
was a great hunter. George Parker asked him where there were some good "licks." He answered by saying, "Way off yonder great much lick, much deer, much elk, much salt and much medicine water." He could not tell where, or how far, but could point directly toward the present site of Norwich, Penn. In his annual hunting trips Mr. Parker, with his son, commenced going in this direction, and in June, 1838, reached what is now McKean county, to hunt elk, and found the place spoken of by Johny Hacks. At that time no place ever seen on the American continent would reward the hunter's pursuit as well as this. There was plenty of elk, immense quantities of deer, black bears and wolves very plenty, also panthers and all kinds of small game. George and N. H. Parker continued to hunt here each year, and in the winter of 1844 the father and son bought a tract at this point for the purpose of hunting, and N. H. Parker owns it still, although the game, like the red man, has all gone toward the setting sun. About the year 1800 one Capt. Thomas, said to have been a sea pirate, abandoned his ship on the coast of Florida to avoid being captured by a Spanish man-of-war, and followed the coast all the way to the Susquehanna river, thence up to this place, and eventually put a well down here on the site of the great Elk lick of the world, and made salt here until the Parkers bought of him in 1844. In 1865 N. H. Parker put down a well here near the old one, 640 feet deep, from which flows incessantly the strongest mineral water in the world, which has no equal in curing all chronic cases of disease. For all time to come thousands will receive benefit from its wonderful healing properties. This well is now famous, and is known as "Parker's Mineral Spring." George Parker commenced hunting when very young, and soon became very skillful in the capture of game. Having hunted the Alleghany mountain range all over, in 1850, George and N. H went to Lake Superior, caught 125 beaver, killed several bears and wolves, and before returning hunted around the Lake of the Woods and a great part of the northwest territory. In March, 1851, George Parker surveyed a road from the mouth of the Ontonagan River, at Lake Superior, through an entire wilderness to Wisconsin river, where no human foot had ever trod before. In 1852 the two went to California, across the plains, for the sole purpose of hunting, killing large numbers of deer, elk, antelope and buffalo. In California they killed several grizzly bears, on one occasion bringing down a very large one at the first shot, with a repeating rifle made for Mr. Parker by William Billinghurst, of Rochester, N. Y. at a cost of $150. Returning from California by steamer the same year, George Parker also hunted in the Adirondacks, in northern New York, killing many moose. He continued to hunt up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1868, having killed in his lifetime over 3,000 deer, about 200 black bears, and nearly twenty elks, besides a large number of wolves and all other kinds of wild animals on this continent. N. H. Par ker was married, January 6, 1846, to Hannah, daughter of Jesse Bullock, at that time sheriff of Allegany county, N. Y., and to this union have been born two children, George B. and Polly.
WILLIAM H. RIFLE, farmer, P. 0. Norwich, was born in Norwich township, McKean Co., Penn., July 31, 1842, a son of Daniel and Eliza M. (Colegr,ove) Rifle, who were among the early settlers of McKean county. They were the parents of six children, William H. being the third son. He spent his boyhood days with his parents on the farm, and in August, 1861, enlisted in the service of his country, and was assigned to Company I, Fortysecond Regiment, Pennsylvania "Bucktails," and served until November, 1862, when he returned home and bought the farm he now owns. He married, November 18, 186U, Miss Emma A., a daughter of Timothy and Esther (Hill) Sawyer, natives of New Hampshire, and they have four children, viz.: Ada E., Julia F., Candace S. and William V. Mrs. Rifle is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
H. SNOW, engineer, Colegrove, a son of Robert and Rebecca (Bangs) Snow, natives of Massachusetts, was born in that State February 13, 1817. When seventeen years old, he entered a blacksmith shop as an apprentice, and served four years. He married, December 24, 1841, Miss Eliza Crosby, of Orleans, Mass., where she died January 7, 1842, only living fourteen days after their marriage. June 1, 1844, he married Mrs. Caroline Cole, daughter of Jonathan and Betsy (Rogers) Kendrick, of Orleans, Mass. He worked at his trade until 1872, when he went to Brooklyn, N. Y., looking after other business. In 1881 he came to Titusville, Penn., where he was foreman in a machine shop for Dilingham, Cole & Co. He was an oil operator in Bradford for some time, and in 1881 he went to Smethport, Penn., and in company with his son, James H. Snow, bought some gas wells and supplied the borough of Smethport with gas. In 1884 he came to Colegrove as engineer for the National Transit Oil Company. Mr. and Mrs. Snow are the parents of three children, viz.: Nathan, a dry goods merchant in Boston; William B. (deceased) and James H., general superintendent for the National Transit Oil Company, New York City. James A. Snow was married, in 1874, to Delia Newell, of Titusville, Penn. July 9, 1886, Heman Snow, the subject of these lines, married Mrs. Betsey Nickerson, of Massachusetts, a daughter of Albert and Mary Esterbrooks.
D. M. WRIGHT, sawyer, Digel, Penn., was born in Eldred township, McKean county, Penn., August 13, 1845, a son of M. and Ruth (Brainard) Wright, natives of New York State, who came to Eldred township, McKean county, in 1815. They were the parents of nine children, D. M. being the third son. When D. M. Wright was five years of age his mother died, and he was thrown upon his own resources. He was in the Civil war, enlisting in June, 1862, and was assigned to Company C, One Hundred and Fifty-fourth Regiment, New York Volunteers; he served until June 26, 1865, when he was honorably discharged and returned to Portville, N. Y., where he followed lum bering. He married, January 28, 1872, Miss A. E., a daughter of D. D. and Polly V. (Smith) Comes, of Norwich township, and they are the parents of two children, Ethel and Nellie. Since his marriage Mr. Wright has been engaged in lumbering in McKean county. He is a member of Eldred Lodge, No. 56U, F. & A. M.; Arnold Chapter, No. 254; St. John's Commandery, No. 24, Olean, N. Y.; Clermont Lodge, No. 949, I. O. O. F., and of the G. A. R., J. R. Jones Post, No. 258, of Eldred, Penn.
FRITZ BLOCK, Sr., farmer, P. O. Kasson, was born in Germany, November 15, 1846, a son of Fred and Getta Block, Fred Block came to America in 1859, and enlisted in the Civil war in 1861, where he was killed, leaving his family in Germany. Fritz Block worked as a laborer in Germany until 1872, when he came to Morris Run, Tioga Co., Penn., and went to work in the coal mines; here he remained two years, then went to work in the mines at Clermont, McKean Co., Penn. He married, February 8, 1873, Miss Augusta Bemkoskey, of Germany, and they are the parents of seven children, viz.: Maggie, Anna, Mary, Minnie, Matilda, Fritz, Jr., and Johnnie. In 1886 Mr. Block came to Hamlin township and purchased the farm on which he now resides. He is one of the well-to-do farmers in the township, and has held various local offices. Mr. and Mrs. Block are members of the Lutheran Church.
W. W. BREWER, proprietor of hotel, Mount Jewett, is a native of Mc Kean county, Penn., born in Norwich township November 24, 1843. He remained at home until eighteen years of age, and August 13, 1861, enlisted in defense of the Union in the noted regiment known as the "Pennsylvania Bucktails," participating in all the engagements of his regiment. He was wounded at the battle of Antietam, but was disabled only a short time. He was discharged August 13. 1864, and returned home. In 1884 he built a fine hotel in Mount Jewett, and upon its completion opened it to the public, and is still its genial proprietor. Mr. Brewer was married, August 9,1865, to Miss Orpha Homer, and they have two daughters: Nellie and Hettie. Mr. Brewer is a member of the Masonic fraternity, McKean Lodge, No. 388, Bradford Chapter, No. 260, and Trinity Commandery, No. 58.
H. W. BURLINGAME, farmer, P. O. Kasson, is a son of Isaac and Sophronia (Wolcott) Burlingame, natives of New York State, who came to McKean county in 1815 with Timothy Wolcott and others, and settled in Norwich township (then Sergeant township) in the year 1816; it was what is known among the old settlers as "the cold season;" the crops were all destroyed, and Isaac Burlingame, in company with Timothy Wolcott, went in a canoe to Pittsburgh for provisions, taking six weeks to make the trip. Isaac Burlingame was one of the party who were pushing a canoe load of potatoes up what is now known as "Potato Creek, '' and tipped the load over in the creek, from which incident the stream derived its name. H. W. Burlingame was born in Sergeant township, McKean Co., Penn., March 3, 1818, on the old farm now owned by George Burdick. His father was a mason by trade, and H. W. worked with him until February 26, 1841, when he married Miss Sally Rifle, a daughter of Amos Rifle, of Norwich township, and then began life for himself. They reared a family of four children, viz.: H. L., living in Smethport; Wilbur, died in the Civil war; Amanda, wife of James Barnes, of Michigan, and Arabella C., wife of Lucas Wilson, of Ludington, Mich. Mr. Burlingame, after his marriage, resided in Norwich township until 1848, when he sold out and came to Hamlin township. His wife died in 1849, and in June of the same year he married Miss Casandana King, a daughter of Joseph P. and Harriet (Berry) King, natives of New York State, who came to McKean county among the early settlers. Mr. and Mrs. Burlingame have had a family of five children, viz.: Carlton K.; Millie J., wife of E. L. Olmsted, Norwich; George D., deceased; Effie and Royal H., who reside with their parents. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Burlingame has built by contract many of the roads in Hamlin township, and has been an enterprising and successful business man. He has held various township offices, including those of State road commissioner, supervisor, school director, town clerk, auditor and postmaster.
D. H. DAVIS, lumberman, Mount Jewett, was born in Wales, the eldest son in a family of four children born to Joshua and Annie (James) Davis, natives of Wales, who came to Cambria county, Penn., in 1837. The father died when D. H. was seven years of age, and since that time he has earned his own livelihood. He learned the shoemaker's trade, at which he worked thirty-three years. In September, 1861, he entered the United States service, serving three years and nine months, when he was honorably discharged. Returning home he married, in June, 1867, Miss Clementine Eason, of Cherry Tree, Penn., and they are the parents of five children. Mr. Davis worked at his trade until 1885, when he came to Mount Jewett and started a basket factory in company with W. H. Reese, and they afterward put in a saw-mill. In 1887 the mill was destroyed by fire, but has since been rebuilt, and is run under the firm name of Hitchcock & Davis, manufacturers of "dimension stuff." Mr. Davis has held the office of justice of the peace for twelve years. He is a member of Burnside Lodge, No. 679,1. 0. O. F. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the Methodist Protestant Church.
JOHN F^ASTBURGH, Mount Jewett, is a son of Johnson and Brita (Nelson) Eastburgh, natives of Sweden, was born in Gefle city, Sweden, September 17, 1852, and received a practical business education in his native country. His mother died when he was quite young. At twenty-one years of age he engaged with a lumber firm as foreman, and was employed by them for eight years. In June, 1881, he located at Jamestown, N. Y., but in a short time came to Brad ford, Penn., where he engaged as a laborer upon the railroad. From Bradford he went to Hillsville, Ohio, and finally returned to Jamestown, engaging with the P. & W. R. R. as a section foreman, in which capacity he came to McKean county. In December, 1884, he married Miss Annie C. Johnson, a daughter of Peter and Charlotte Johnson, natives of Sweden, and they have two children: Jennie Mathilda (born December 17, 1885) and Annie Emelia (born May 6,1889). In 1886 Mr. Eastburgh came to Mount Jewett as section foreman, and here he has purchased a piece of land and erected his residence. Mr. and Mrs. Eastburgh are members of the Congregational Church.
JOHN EKEN, farmer, P. O. Mount Jewett, is a son of Daniel and Melissa (Yons) Eken, natives of Sweden, where he was born November 18, 1825. He received his education in the common schools of Sweden, and spent his boyhood days upon the farm with his father. In November, 1847, he married Miss Lena Johnson, a daughter of John and Mary (Nels) Johnson, natives of Sweden, who has borne him eight children: Mary L., wife of G. Nelson, in Brooklyn, N. Y.; Charlotte T., wife of G. M. Jackson, in Baltimore, Md.; Ida S., in Brooklyn, N. Y.; Annie A., also in Brooklyn, N. Y.; Emma, wife of J. R. Johnson, in Mount Jewett; Augusta W., Charles and Jennie R. Mr. Eken came to McKean county in 1869, and in 1871 located at Mount Jewett, where he now resides. Mr. and Mrs. Eken are now members of church. He has always been very successful in business, and they have a fine home at Mount Jewett.
J. F. GALLUP, farmer, P. 0. Easson, is a son of Nathaniel C. and Dinah (Edmunds) Gallup, natives of Connecticut, who came to Sergeant township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1815. They reared a family of nine children, J. F. being the eldest son. He was born' in Connecticut, March 17, 1809. His educational advantages were limited, there being no schools in that part of the country at that time. He spent his boyhood days with his parents upon the farm, and, when he was twenty years of age, his father died, leaving him seventy-five acres of land, on the condition that he would pay the debts he owed. The condition he accepted, and in four years had succeeded in canceling all obligations. In March, 1833, he married Miss Docha Brewer, a daughter of Nathaniel and Phebe Brewer, of Norwich township, McKean Co., Penn., and to this union were born three children, viz.: Orson D., Ellen A. (deceased) and Orpha A., who resides with her father. Mrs. Gallup died September, 14, 1885. Mr. Gallup came to Marvin Creek, Hamlin township, in 1861, and here he now has a fine home and farm. He has held the office of county commissioner one term, besides various township offices.
M. J. GALLUP, merchant, Mount Jewett, was born in Norwich township, McKean Co., Penn., September 20, 1864, a son of Orson D. and Alvira V. Gallup, natives of same township. When he was eighteen years old he formed a partnership with C. A. Anderson, of Colegrove, Penn., which continued two years, when the partnership was dissolved, and he moved to Mount Jewett, where he embarked in the general mercantile business, keeping a fine store o well-selected goods. He is an enterprising young man, and holds a high position among the business men of Mount Jewett. He has held several of the township offices, and has served efficiently and acceptably. Mr. Gallup was married September 20, 1887, to Miss Alma J., daughter of J. W. and Sarah Brennan, all natives of Smethport, Penn.
GEORGE O. GARLICK, farmer and postmaster, Kasson, is a son of Truman and Catherine (Rifle) Garlick, the former a native of Otsego county, N. Y.. and the latter of Tioga county, Penn., who came to Hamlin township in 18.;5. They reared a family of six children, of whom George O. is the second son. He was born in Hamlin township, McKean Co., Penn., June 8, 1839, received his education in the public schools of the township, and spent his boyhood days upon the farm with his father. In May, 1864, he married Miss Phebe McKean, a daughter of Bernard and Bridget (Graham) McKean, natives of Ireland. They have three children: Bertie, Eva and Bernard. After his marriage, Mr. Garlick went to Minnesota with a team, but returned in one year, then went to Wilcox, Penn., and engaged in shoemaking, although he had never learned the trade. Here he remained for ten years, at the end of which time he settled upon the farm he now owns. In politics Mr. Garlick votes with the Republican party, and has filled the following offices: school director, road commissioner, town clerk, collector, overseer of poor, treasurer, and has filled the postmastership of Kasson for six years.
L. A. GROAT, landlord of the Fairview House, Mount Jewett, is a son of Peter and Minerva (McIntyre) Groat, natives of New York State. They came to Wilcox, Penn., in 1870, and Peter Groat was engaged as foreman of the Wilcox tannery for twelve years. They reared a family of eleven children, the subject of this sketch being the third son. He was born in Bradford county, Penn., October 30, 1842, and received a practical business education in the common schools of New York State. He spent his time with his parents until he attained the age of thirty-five years, engaging in the tanning business as an overseer. In May, 1881, he married Miss Flora A. Hamilton, a daughter of David and Eleanor Hamilton, of Emporium, Penn., and they have had three children: Carrie, Harry and Bertha (the last named deceased). After his marriage Mr. Groat went to Clarendon, Warren Co., Penn., and engaged in building oil rigs and tanks. In the winter of 1887 he came to Mount Jewett and erected the hotel which he successfully conducted. Mr. and Mrs. Groat are members of the Presbyterian Church at Kane, Penn. Mr. Groat is a member of Newark Valley Lodge, No. 614, F. & A. M., and of Fisher Tent, No. 45, K. O. T. M.
PHILIP HAFNER, farmer, P. 0. Kasson, was born in Germany, March 17, 1839, is a son of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner. He received his education in his native land, and came to McKean county, Penn., with his parents in 1853. Wh£n seventeen years of age he went to work as a laborer in the lumber woods. In November, 1867, he married Miss Ellen, a daughter of Lyman and M. E. (Starks) Bell, of Coudersport, Penn., and they are the parents of three children: Nellie M., Harry H. and Leo R. After his marriage Mr. Hafner was employed upon the farm of Wernwag & Co., until 1875, when he opened a meat market at Clermont, which he conducted one year, then came to Hamlin township, and purchased the farm on Marvin creek, where he now resides. He is a prominent citizen, and has held various township offices.
WILLIAM HAFNER, farmer, P. O. Kasson, is a son of Christopher and Elizabeth (May) Hafner, natives of Germany, who came to this country, and settled in Sergeant township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1853. They were the parents of eight children, of whom William is the sixth son. He was born in