« ZurückWeiter »
parents removed to Whitesville, N. Y., and he made that his home until the commencement of the Civil war, when he enlisted in Company H, Eighty-fifth N. Y. V. I. He was captured April 19, 1864, at Plymouth, N. C., and was held prisoner for a period of eight months, being confined at Andersonville, Charleston and Florence, where he incurred disabilities from which he never can recover. He was exchanged December «13, 1864, and mustered out of the service July 6, 1865. Returning to Whitesville, he here married, July 15, 1866, Eugenia E., daughter of Rev. Joseph W. Selden. They made Whitesville their residence until March, 1870, when they removed to Port Allegany, where he engaged in the jewelry trade, and has a very pleasant and remunerative business. In 1871 he was appointed postmaster, a position he held until July, 1885. Mr. and Mrs. Larrabee have five children: Pauline, Effie, Allie, Florence and Lawrence. Mr. Larrabee is a member of Liberty Lodge, No. 505, F. & A. M., and of Arnold Chapter, R. A. M.; he is a member of Star Hose Company No. 1, of Port Allegany. Mr. Larrabee is a supporter of the Republican party, and has been a member of the county committee several times; he has held various official positions in the borough, and at present is a member of the council and justice of the peace. With C. N. Barrett, he was instrumental in organizing Henry Metcalf Post, G. A. R., at Port Allegany.
ALVA N. LILLIBRIDGE, Port Allegany, son of Lodowick and Anna C. (Stanton) Lillibridge, was born August 19, 1823, in what is now Port Allegany, McKean Co., Penn., on the place he now owns. His maternal grandfather, Samuel Stanton, was born at Mount Pleasant, Wayne Co., Penn., and was afterward judge of that county, and one of its able and prominent men, extensively engaged in various enterprises. There he married Martha Morse, and they came to McKean county, at a very early day, where they purchased 1,700 acres of land on Marvin creek, in what is now Hamlin township, and a tract of 300 or 400 acres now owned by W. J. Davis, in Liberty township. At the latter place he erected a store and log houses, having plans made for many buildings. He returned to bring his family to Port Allegany, but, on arrival at Jersey Shore, found seven of his children prostrated with typhoid fever. He had previously been to Philadelphia, and made plans to bring a colony of 200 families to Port Allegany, the purpose being to make that the county seat of McKean county; but before his plans were fully executed he discovered that the county was losing large sums of money appropriated for road purposes. He proceeded to Belief onte to have justice done, accomplished his design, was taken with croup and died there. The colonists, having lost their chief, proceeded to Ashtabula county, Ohio, and located there. The widow of Samuel Stanton went to McKean county, where she remained until her decease. Their children were Samuel, Polly, Anna C., Lucy, Rebecca, Lydia, Daniel, Abel and Hannah, of whom Samuel, Abel, Anna C. and Hannah became permanent residents of McKean county, all of whom are deceased but Hannah. Anna C. Stanton married Lodowick Lillibridge, and located in what is now Port Allegany, where they were among the first settlers, engaging in most anything to make a living. They reared a family of eight children: Elias, Samuel, Alva N., Phebe A. (Mrs. Renuselaer Vanderhule). Hannah (Mrs. Terrance Green), Amy (Mrs. Hiram Baker), Lucy (Mrs. G. M. Hall, of Oliphant, Lackawanna Co., Penn.) and Lowell L. Lillibridge. Alva N., the third son, made his home with his parents until his marriage, June 24, 1847, to Leona S., daughter of Isaac Viner, of Port Allegany. They located on the place he now owns, where, with the exception of three years, they have since resided. He is engaged as farmer and lumberman, and has been prosperous in his pursuits. In 1863 he was elected sheriff, which necessitated his removal to Smethport for the term of three years. To Mr. and Mrs. Lillibridge have been born two children, Mason A. and Ora, now Mrs. O. L. Snyder, of Buffalo. Mr. and Mrs. Lillibridge are members of the Baptist Church; in politics he is a Republican.
S. C. SARTWELL, proprietor of the Sartwell House. Port Allegany, is a son of Joel and Elizabeth (Otto) Sartwell, and was born at Farmers Valley, McKean Co., Penn., in 1840. Solomon Sartwell, his grandfather, who was a native of New Hampshire, where he married, removed to McKean county, Penn., at a very early time, and located at Farmers Valley, where both he and his wife resided until their decease. Joel, son of Solomon, and father of S. C. Sartwell, was also a native of New Hampshire, and removed with his parents to Farmers Valley, where he married Miss Elizabeth Otto, after which they located at Farmers Valley, where he was engaged in the lumber trade, and where they raised a family of ten children, of whom but six are known to be living: Helen (who married the Hon. W. J. Davis), Joseph, Sylvia (now Mrs. J. L. Behn), S. C., Henry and Lucy (now Mrs. Dean Cheadle). Wilbur, who was born before these, went to California in 1857, and is probably deceased, as no tidings have been received from him. S. C. Sartwell was reared and educated in McKean county, and in 1865 married Rose Thomson, after which they located at Portville, where he was engaged in business. He afterward purchased a farm near Port Allegany, which he sold in 1874. and then removed into the borough where he became the owner and proprietor of the Sartwell House, a hostelry noted for the excellency of its management, and which has the exclusive patronage of the traveling public. Mr. and Mrs. Sartwell have two children living, Grace and Stephen (twins); two children. Willett and Winifred, are deceased. Mr. Sartwell is a member of the Democratic party, and one of the able and representative citizens of Port Allegany.
F. P. SHANER, formerly of Port Allegany, son of Matthias and Margaret J. (Stewart) Shaner. was born in Freedom, Venango Co., Penn., in 1859, where he remained until fifteen years of age, when, with his parents, he removed to Clarion county, same State. His father's family consisted of eight children, viz.: John L., David G., Emma (Mrs. William U. Over), Daniel C., Horace U.. Ella (Mrs. Jerry Weter), F. P. and Ambrose C. F. P. Shaner began his edu cational course in the schools of Venango and Clarion counties, and after attending school several terms at the academy in Rimersburg and West Freedom, he taught school for four years, and in 1883 accepted the position as book-keeper for Root & Keating in their tannery at Port Allegany; he is a member of the Knights of the Maccabees, Tent No. 11, of Port Allegany. He is an active worker in the ranks of the Republican party, and has served as a member of the county committee, and of the borough council. He is also a member of the Methodist Church. He was married June 12, 1889, to Miss Jennie F. Simar. He has now moved to Olean, N. Y., where he has accepted a position as superintendent of Root & Keating's tannery.
WILLIAM J. TEMPLETON, merchant, Port Allegany, is a son of James and Sarah Templeton, and was born in the County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1837. When thirteen years of age he came to America, and located at Buffalo, N. Y.; afterward he was employed as manager of A. Rumsey's farm for several years. In 1873 he married Agnes S. Mills, and located at Colton, N. Y., where he owned a farm and also carried on the lumber trade. Removing to Keating Summit, he here engaged in business as lumberman, and in 1887 located at Port Allegany, where he became a dealer in general merchandise. Mr. and Mrs. Templeton have four children: George D., James F., Charles S. and Edward Ray. Mr. Templeton is a member of Erie Lodge, No. 161, F. & A. M., of Buffalo. In politics he votes with the Union Labor party.
V. R. VANDERHULE, farmer and lumberer, Port Allegany, son of Gershain and Lavina (Mead) Vanderhule, was born in Bainbridge, Chenango Co., N. Y., in 1831. His father was born and reared in Dutchess county, N. Y., near what is now Poughkeepsie. Gersham Vanderhule's father helped to gain our independence, having served as a soldier four years in the Revolutionary war; he was in many hard-fought battles, and one of them was the great battle of Bunker Hill. He was once taken prisoner by the British, and died soon after the war closed, through the effects of a wound received in battle. V. R. Vanderhule's mother was born and reared near Albany, N. Y. The famous Gen. Meade, who commanded a portion of the Union forces in the late Civil war was a relative of hers. Mr. and Mrs. Vanderhule reared a family of twelve children, six of whom are deceased; those living are Samuel, Elisha, V. R., Robert, Mrs. Adelia Penrith and George. V. R. Vanderhule was reared and educated in Chenango county, N. Y., and made his home with his parents until 1846, when he was employed in Susquehanna county, Penn., remaining there until 1852, when he removed to McKean county, Penn., and was employed by Jacob Coss, a lumberman, until 1856, and then went into lumbering and other branches of business for himself, and in 1865 purchased a farm in what is now the borough of Port Allegany, and has since been engaged in farming and lumbering. In 1856 he married Phebe A., daughter of Lodowick and Anna C. (Stanton) Lillibridge; they became the parents of three children: Alice, who died at the age of fifteen years; George and Rose. Mr. Vanderhule is emphatically a self-made man. Beginning his business life under adverse circumstances, he has by his own exertion secured a competency and is now one of McKean county's representative men. He is an active member of the Republican party, and cast his first vote in Port Allegany, then called Canoe Place, and when there were only seven Republican votes cast beside his own in the whole township.
IRA WEIR, P. O. Portage Creek, son of John and Sally Weir, was born in Kanesville, Wyoming Co., N. Y., in 1837, and was reared in his native county, remaining there until manhood. He came to McKean county, Penn., in 1863, and located at Liberty, being engaged as farmer and lumberman, and a year later his parents followed him. Mr. Weir was married, in 1861, to Adeline Johnson, and they have had two children: Alva M. and Charles E. Alva M. married William Moore, a farmer near Tallmage's mill, Liberty township. Mrs. Weir dying, Mr. Weir married, for his second wife, Miss Hattie B. Ferguson, and by this marriage has two children: Walter and Ernest. When Mr. Weir located in Liberty, being a natural mechanic, his services were sought in all directions, and for a time he was the general blacksmith, carpenter, wagon maker and sleigh maker. He has been an enterprising man, and merits the success he has had. He is public spirited, and a liberal supporter of all worthy enterprises.
Charles E. Weir, son of the above, was married October 1, 1884, to Adelia Elliott, of Portville, N. Y. He located at Liberty, and in May, 1888, became owner and proprietor of the store, and has since been successfully engaged as a dealer in general merchandise. Both he and his father are supporters of the Republican party.
FREDERICK F. BISHOP, farmer, P. 0. Turtle Point, was born in Le Roy, N. Y., September 6, 1822, a son of Elisha and Fanny (Piper) Bishop, natives of New Hampshire, who settled in Annin township in 1841, clearing and improving a farm on Newell creek, on which they lived and died. Elisha Bishop was a tanner and currier by trade and operated a tannery on Newell Creek for many years. The timber cut on his farm was the first felled in that part of the township. He had six children: Frederick F., Levi, George, Henry, Olive (Mrs. William Dunbar) and Charles. Frederick F. Bishop lived in Massachusetts until fifteen years of age. He first came to Annin township in 1840, where he settled permanently in 1844, clearing and improving a farm adjoining that of his father, on Newell creek, where he resided until 1864, when he removed to the farm he now occupies, most of which he also cleared and improved. October 21, 1844, he married Lydia L., daughter of Emery and Lydia (Locke) Whitney, of Watertown, Mass., and they have had five children: Le Roy E., Wilder (deceased), Maria (Mrs. B. R. Simar). Emily L. (Mrs. Martin Simar) and Fanny (deceased). Mr. Bishop has held the office of school director of Annin township many years. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church; politically he is a Republican.
Le Roy E. Bishop was born in Annin township November 19, 1846, and lives on the old homestead. He married, October 10, 1878, Rosa, daughter of George and Hannah (Winship) Blowers, of Steuben county, N. Y., and they have four children: Florence, George, Della and Winnie. Mr. Bishop has been school director five years; politically he is a Republican.
THERON COOPER, lumberman and farmer, P. O. Turtle Point, was born in Dartmouth, N. Y., August 23, 1813, a son of Samuel and Mary (Russell ) Cooper, who settled in Annin township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1838. Theron Cooper came at the same time and took up the land which he now owns and occupies, which he cleared and improved, and where he has resided most of the time since, being for many years interested in the lumber business. In June, 1840, he married Sophia A., daughter of John and Catherine Mead, of Bolivar, N. Y., by whom he had six children who grew to maturity, viz.: Silas E., Albertus, Joel A., Elwin, John S. and Jane (Mrs. Myron Smith). Mr. Cooper is a prominent and respected citizen of Annin township, and is a member of the Baptist Church. He has held several of the local offices of the township, and politically he is a Republican.
MARSHALL J. HADLEY, surveyor, P. O. Port Allegany, was born in Jasper, Steuben Co., N. Y., November 14, 1836, a son of Benjamin F. and Lydia (Prentice) Hadley. His father was a physician by profession and settled in Annin township in 1856, where he practiced two years; he then located at Olean, N. Y., residing there until his death. He was a native of New Hampshire. Marshall J. Hadley was reared in his native town and educated at Bath (N. Y.) High School. He read law one year at Wellsville, N. Y-. anc* settled permanently in Annin township in 1858. October 16, 1861, he enlisted in Company F, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was wounded at Fort Harrison. In 1862 he went in the Ordnance Department of the Eighteenth Army Corps, where, with the exception of three months that he was on Government survey, he served until his discharge. He was promoted to sergeant in December, 1861, and commissioned first lieutenant (not mustered) in 1864, and was honorably discharged from the service in February, 1866. He then returned to Annin township, where for some time he was engaged in operating a planing-mill. Since 1868 he has been engaged in various other enterprises, and has done more or less business as a surveyor and conveyancer. He is one of the enterprising citizens of the township, and was elected justice of the peace in the spring of 1888. In politics he is a Republican, and was elected county surveyor in the fall of 1889 by a majority of 1,818—854 ahead of his ticket. He is also a member of the G. A. R.
JOSEPH HODGES, farmer, P. 0. Annin Creek, was born in Somerset, Vt., February 19, 1806, and is a son of Ephraim and Catherine (Johnson) Hodges, early settlers of Broome county, N. Y., where Joseph was reared. Our subject settled in what is now Annin township in 1839, locating on the farm where he now resides, all of which he cleared and improved, and where he has lived for fifty years. August 18, 1823, when but seventeen years of age, he married Nancy, daughter of Ittair and Betsy (Page) Elliott, of Broome county, N. Y., and to them were born ten children: Sally (Mrs. John P. Evans), Nancy (Mrs. Simmons Foote), Mary (Mrs. Nathan Foote), Raymond, Lorenzo, Julius, Caroline (Mrs. Henry Wilcox), Olive A. (Mrs. Wilson Tubbs), Jerome and Joseph. Mr. Hodges is a remarkably well-preserved man for his years, and is one of the few pioneers left in Annin township, of which he is the oldest resident. He has been a member of the Baptist Church for sixty years. Politically he is a Republican, and has filled all the offices within the gift of the township, with the exception of justice of the peace.
ERASTUS H. NICHOLS, farmer, P. O. Turtle Point, was born in Halifax, Windham Co., Vt., October 14, 1822, and is a son of Samuel and Abigail (Chase) Nichols, who settled in Eldred, McKean Co., Penn., in 1830. Samuel Nichols, who was a farmer by occupation, cleared and improved the farm now occupied by his son Dana B., and died there. He had the following named ten children: Lenora, Huldah (Mrs.'Edson Warner), Erastus H., Lucinda (Mrs. Charles Calkins), Edwin, Wilbur, Adelia (Mrs. George Colvin), Permelia (Mrs. Frederick McClure), Nathaniel and Dana B. Erastus H. Nichols was reared in Eldred from eight years of age, and after reaching his majority worked by the month until he was twenty-six years old. He then engaged in farming in Eldred, and in 1861 removed to Annin township, where he cleared and improved the farm he now occupies. In November, 1861, he enlisted in Company H, Fifty-eighth Regiment, P. V. I., was wounded at Drury Bluff, and honor ably discharged from the service in December, 1864. He was twice married; his first wife was Lucinda P., daughter of Anson G. and Mary A. (Bowen) Moses, of Olean, N. Y., and by her had two children: George S. and Lillian. His second wife was Mrs. Amelia M. (Cooley) Smith, of Cuba, N. Y. Mr. Nichols is one of Annin township's most prominent citizens. He is a member of the G. A. R.; politically a Republican.
VERY REVEREND P. J. PATTERSON, V. F., was a native of Raffeny, Parish of Mullagh, County Cavan, Ireland. His classical education was received at Cavan Seminary, and in this country he studied philosophy at St. Mary's Seminary, Cleveland, Ohio, and theology at St Vincent's Seminary, Westmoreland county, Penn. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1868, and was appointed pastor of St. Mary's Church at Sartwell, where he was located up to his death. He also had charge of the following named parishes: St. Gabriel's Church, Port Allegany; St. Raphael's Church, Eldred; St. John's, Duke Centre; St. Paul's, Costello, Potter county, and the Austin Mission, Austin, Potter county. He was a hard worker, and by his efforts in 1870, the land was secured in Bradford upon which the elegant church and convent of St. Bernard now stands. He also secured the property at Smethport and built St. Elizabeth's Church, where it now stands, and to his efforts much of the growth and prosperity of the church in this vicinity is due. He died December 21, 1889, and the burial services took place at Newell creek, December 27, following. Bishop Mullin presided, assisted by the Rev. Fathers DeLaroque, of Warren; Coonan, Bradford; Hamel, Olean; Meagher, Ridgway; Winter, Meadville; Brennan, Driftwood; Galligan, Smethport; Brennan, Sharon, and Lynch, of Sartwell. About 10 o'clock A. M. , a requiem mass was commenced by Rev. M. A. DeLaroque as celebrant, Rev. J. J. Hamel, deacon,