Abbildungen der Seite

and they have since conducted a successful business under the firm name of Duke & Mills. In 1886 they purchased the copyright, trade-mark, and sole proprietorship of galvanic oil, which they have since manufactured, a remedy that has been before the public for fifteen years, and has a world-wide reputation as a liniment and counter irritant, used internally or externally, for man or beast, having an extensive sale in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. Mr. Mills is a wide-awake and enterprising business man. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Equitable Aid Union, and of the Pennsylvania Pharmaceutical Association.

SIDNEY MORGAN, blacksmith, Duke Centre, was born in Newport, England, in 1849. At the age of twelve years he was sent to London and apprenticed to the blacksmith's trade, serving until 1869, when he came to America and located at Erie, Penn., where he worked as a journeyman six months. From there he went to Dunkirk, N. Y., where he remained until 1876, when he went to Titusville, Penn., and in 1878 located at Duke Centre, where, with O. P. Irvine, he opened a machine shop, which they have since successfully conducted under the firm name of Irvine & Morgan. Mr. Morgan is also a producer of oil in the Bradford and Allegany districts. He is a leading citizen of Duke Centre, is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and in politics is a Republican.

FRANK J. NEWTON, merchant, Rixford, was born in Sharon township, Potter Co., Penn., August 31, 1859, and is a son of Alonzoand Angeline (Warner) Newton. His father was a native of Bainbridge, Chenango Co., N. Y., and among the pioneer farmers and lumbermen of Sharon township, where he now resides. His maternal grandfather, O. C. Warner, formerly of Vermont, was one of the first settlers of Sharon township, and a farmer and lumberman by occupation. Frank J. Newton was reared and educated in his native township, and located at Rixford, McKean county, in 1879, where he opened a general store in company with George W. Dodge, and they have since'conducted a successful business under the firm name of Dodge & Newton. Mr. Newton married, February 10, 1881, Ruth Russell, of Buffalo. N. Y., and they have four children: Nellie, George, Esther and Nelson. Mr. Newton is a leading merchant and citizen of Rixford. He is a Royal Arch Mason and a member of Council No. 43, Bradford. Penn. Politically he is a Republican.

W. G. NOBLE, a prominent merchant of Duke Centre, is a native of Amity. Allegany Co.. N. Y., was reared on a farm and educated in the common and grade schools. He located at Duke Centre in 1878, and with I. C. Showerman opened a dry goods, glassware and crockery store, which partnership existed three years under the firm name of Showerman & Noble. Mr. Noble then purchased the business interest of his partner, and conducted the business alone until September, 1887, when C. H. Brown purchased an interest in the hi '-incss, which has since been conducted under the firm name of C. H. Brown & Co. Mr. Noble has been, since 1886, engaged in business as an oil producer, and owns it controlling interest in twenty producing wells. He is also a lover of horse flesh, and is a breeder of blooded stock, which are registered in Wallace's American Stud Book. When Duke Centre was a borough Mr. Noble served as a member of the council. Though a young man, he is one of the pioneer merchants of Duke Centre, and one of its leading citizens and business men. Politically he is a Republican. The father of our subject was a pioneer to Allegany county, N. Y., from Whitehall, N. Y., having moved there when a small boy. At that time it was necessary to go ten miles to mill and carry a sack of corn on their shoulders through the forest path, there being no roads. The elder Noble is now sixty-nine years old, and hardly gray. He reached Allegany county in 1815, being five years old at the time. His wife was born in tho same county, and is sixty years old. W. G. Noble is the eldest of their family of six children, and was born in 1854. His father is a cousin of O. Noble, of Erie, Penn.. of the old Noble oil-well fame.

ARTHUR PRENTISS, farmer, Prentiss Vale, was born in Paris, Oxford Co., Me., February 1, 1808, a son of Caleb and Mary (Morgan) Prentiss. He was reared in his native county, and labored on his father's farm until twentyone years of age, at which time (in 1829) he emigrated to Penobscot county, same State, and on July 4, 1831, he opened a variety store at the town of Lee, twelve miles from any other store, and where he sold no intoxicants. Here he resided until his removal in 1847 to Pennsylvania. "While a resident of Lee himself and brother, Addison, now of Worcester, Mass., were mainly instrumental in the establishment of an academy there, called the Lee Normal School (with a grant of half a township of State timber land), which is still in a prosperous condition. In December, 1845, Mr. Prentiss first came to Pennsylvania, and was induced by an old Maine acquaintance, Hermon Strong (who came here in 1842), to visit Otto township, with a view to purchasing the pine timber land and the locating of a colony of Eastern farmers and lumbermen, an interesting account of which, and the settlement of the township, from the pen of Mr. Prentiss himself, will be found in the history of Otto township in this book. In the spring of 1846 he a second time visited this region, and again in the fall of the same year, when he succeeded in concluding arrangements for all the land wanted. All the contracts were made to George M. Prentiss, a brother, then of Worcester, Mass., who furnished all the capital required. In April, 1847, Mr. Arthur Prentiss moved his family to Farmers Valley, and they occupied the old Sartwell (now Goodwin) farm two years, while he was locating land, etc., preparatory to building a mill, etc. In the spring of 1849 he moved into a log house in the valley, and began the erection of a saw-mill, which was put in operation in the fall of the same year.

Mr. Prentiss married, October 27, 1832, Lucinda, daughter of Stephen and Abigail (Morse) Blaisdell. of Cumberland county, Me., and they have had three children: Horatio K., who died in 1857; Ellen L. (Mrs. Joseph G. Spiller, now at Cheboygan, Mich.) and William A. (now at Prentiss Vale). Mr. Prentiss has been postmaster at Prentiss Vale nearly forty years. Politically he is a Republican and an advocate of prohibition, having long been a teetotaler, Maine Law Prohibitionist and anti-slavery man, and, in his own words, he is thankful that he has never made drunkards, but has done some little to benefit humanity. Mr. Prentiss was active in forming a Congregational Church at Prentiss Vale, which at one time had more than thirty members, but which is now nearly extinct, owing to deaths, removals and other causes.

THOMAS D. ROSS, M. D., Duke Centre, is a native of Chautauqua county, N. Y., where he was reared and educated. He began the study of medicine, in 1871, with Dr. Wilson, and later with Dr. A. Ross, of Chautauqua county, N. Y. He entered the medical department of the University of Wooster, Cleveland, Ohio, in 1875, and was graduated in 1878. The same year he began the practice of his profession in Duke Centre, where he has since been located, and has built up a large and successful practice. He is a member of the McKean County Medical Society, and of the F. & A. M. Politically he is a Democrat.

ROBERT SHAFER, hardware merchant, Duke Centre, is a native of Mercer county, Penn., but was reared and educated in Lawrence county. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Thirty-first Permsylvania Volunteers; participated in the battles of Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville, and was honorably discharged from the service in May, 1863. He then located in the oil district, and has been engaged, more or less, as a producer in the fields of Butler, Venaugo, Clarion and Bradford. He located at Duke Centre in 1880, and here embarked in the hardware trade in 1887. He is a member of the G. A. R , and of the A. O. U. W., Select Knights. Mr. Shafer served as burgess of Duke Centre one term, and as councilman one term, during its incorporation. Politically he is a Democrat.

FRANCIS W. SPRAGUE, oil producer, Duke Centre, was born in Bath, Me., October 16, 1825, a son of Pelog and Charlotte W. (Owen) Sprague. His ancestors came from England to America about 1630. He was reared in his native town, and when eighteen years of age removed to Taunton, Mass., where he learned the machinist's trade, and resided for twelve years. In January, 1856, he settled in Otto township, McKean county, where he has since resided, and cleared and improved the farm he now occupies. He was in the lumber business in Otto township, the first eight years of his residence, and for a number of years worked at his trade in Olean, N. Y. Since 1878 he has been a producer of oil, and has twelve producing wells on his farm, seven of which he opened. Mr. Sprague married, in 1847. Mary, daughter of Cyrus and Sylvia (Philbrick) Baldwin, who settled in Otto township in 1855. and who were formerly of Maine. The issue of this marriage was ten children: William F., Everett E., Mary E. (Mrs. M. Fisher), Emma L. (Mrs. Edward Bryant), Sarah J., Merritt B., Cyrus W.. Mertie A. (Mrs. D. E. Jones), Annie L. and Fred W. (deceased). Mrs. Sprague died March 4, 1881. Mr. Sprague has always taken an active part in local politics, and from 1870 to 1874 held the office of county auditor. Politically, he was originally a Whig, and cast his first presidential vote for Zachary Taylor in 1848. He has been a supporter of the Republican party since its organization; he is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Congregational Church.

WILLIAM F. SPRAGUE, farmer, P. O. Duke Centre, was born in Mans field, Mass., October 1, 1848, a son of Francis W. and Mary (Baldwin) Sprague. He was reared in Otto township from eight years of age, and was educated in the common schools. He began life as a lumberman, which occupation he followed from sixteen years of age until 1876, when he engaged in farming, which he has since carried on, and since 1885 has to some extent been engaged in the oil business as a producer. January 1, 1874, he married Ellen, daughter of H. B. and Electa (Covert) Baker, of Otto township, and they have three children living: Francis H., Eugene and Walter. Mr. Sprague is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Knights of Pythias. Politically he is a Republican, and has held many of the local offices of the township, being at present township assessor.

EVERETT E. SPRAGUE, oil producer, Duke Centre, was born in Mans field, Mass., July 31, 1850, a son of Francis W. and Mary (Baldwin) Sprague. He was reared from six years of age in Otto township, where he received a •common-school education, and began life working in a saw-mill. Afterward, in 1878, he located on the farm he now occupies, which he cleared and improved, and on which he has since resided. He has been interested in producing oil since the first excitement at Duke Centre in 1878, and is now operating nine producing wells. He married, January 1, 1874, Eva, daughter of Benjamin and Hannah (Judkins) Bunker, of Otto township, and they have three children: Eva, Eugene and Willie. Mr. Sprague has taken thirty-two degrees in Freemasonry, and is a member of lodge, chapter, council, couimandery and consistory. In politics he is a Republican.

G. A. WILLIAMS, oil producer and proprietor of a meat market, Duke Centre, is a native of Toronto, Canada, where he was reared and educated. He came to the United States in 1808, and located in Pleasantville, Venango Co , Penn., where he conducted a meat market four years; he afterward had a market in Edenburgh, Clarion Co., Penn. In 1879 Mr. Williams located in Duke Centre, where he has since carried on the leading meat market of the place. He has been identified with the oil industry since October, 1887, and is at present the owner of six producing wells in the Allegany county (N. Y.) field. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and of the A. O. U. W., Select Knights. In politics he is a Republican.




F. H. ARNOLD, Port Allegany, son of the Hon. A. S. Arnold, was born at Smethport, McKean Co., Penn., in April, 1834. He attended Smethport and Coudersport academies, and completed his education at Addison, Steuben Co., N. Y. His father, who was a native of Chenango county, N. Y., where he married Ellen M. Medbury, came to Smethport, McKean county, about 1832, where he was engaged in business, as a dealer in general merchandise until his removal to Port Allegany in 1836. He was one of the prominent and able men of McKean county, and his business career was one of uninterrupted success. He was honored by being made a member of the legislature, and was also associate judge of the county, and to him the citizens of Port Allegany are largely indebted for the proud position it occupies among its sister boroughs of the county. His death occurred in April, 1874. and Ellen M., his widow, still has her residence in Port Allegany. Judge Arnold, at the time of his decease, was the wealthiest man in Port Allegany. He was generous to the poor, charitable to the worthy, his aim being, in helping himself, to be of benefit to others, and his death was regretted by all. He was one of the very small number of men of whom it can be said: "Their works never die." The children of Judge and Mrs. Arnold were F. H. and V. A., the latter of whom died when twelve years of age.

F. H. Arnold, subject of our sketch, when a young man, became associated with his father in his large business interests, the firm name being A. S. Arnold & Co., which continued until the death of the father. By the thorough business training received during the father's lifetime, the son was pre-eminently qualified to continue successfully the large enterprises his father had inaugurated. F. H. Arnold and E. B. Dolley, gentlemen now well known to the business men of McKean county, formed a partnership, purchasing the lumber and mercantile interests of A. S. Arnold & Co., and are still extensively engaged in business, affording employment to many men.

Mr. Arnold has been prominently identified with all local improvements looking to the permanent prosperity of the borough, and upon the incorporation of the First National Bank, May 2, 1888, he became its first president, a position he still holds. He was largely instrumental in the organization of the Port Allegany water-works, becoming the first president of that company; is also a stockholder in the Coudersport & Port Allegany Railroad, an organization free from all indebtedness, and of which no stock is on the market. Mr. Arnold has, with others, three gas wells, and entertains designs to put down in the near future enough to afford a supply for the entire borough. It is almost superfluous to add that his influence and aid art* cheerfully extended to any purpose having for its object the welfare and prosperity of Port Allegany. Mr. Arnold is a supporter of the Democratic party; is a member of Liberty Lodge, No. 505, F. & A. M., of Arnold Chapter, R. A. M., and of St. John's Commandery, K. T. He married (January 1, 1857) Justina P., daughter of Levi Coates, formerly of McKean county, Penn., and they have one child, Kate D., now Mrs. E. P. Dalrymple.

ASHBEL F. BARD, Port Allegany, son of Robert and Marion (Freeman) Bard, was born at Farmersville, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., in 1817. His parents were among the pioneers of that county, and for twenty-five years his father was proprietor of a hotel. His mother died about 1861, and his father about 1865. They had four children: A. F., Abigail (deceased), Margaret and Samuel P. Ashbel F. made his home with his parents until he became a merchant at Franklinville; afterward removed to Wisconsin, where he remained three years. He then returned to New York and engaged in farming, and in Octo ber, 1870, located at Port Allegany, where he embarked in the hardware trade. He married Julia A., daughter of William Waring, of Franklinville, and they have five children: Robert C., William H., Nathan R., Julia A. (Mrs. M. A. Lillibridge) and Carlton R. Mr. Bard has associated with him two sons, Robert C. and Nathan R., the firm name being A. F. Bard & Co. Robert C. was the soldier during the war of the Rebellion. A. F. Bard is a Democrat in his political views.

Nathan R. Bard, Port Allegany, third son of A. F. and Julia A. Bard, was born in Franklinville, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., in 1848. He made his home with his parents until fifteen years of age, when he learned the tinners trade, and in 1870, removed to St. Paul, Minn. In 1872 he married Mary F.. daughter of Samuel Stevens, of Concord, N. H., and soon after returned to Port Allegany, where he became associated in the hardware trade with his father. In l883, with Hon. A. M. Benton, he went into the lumber business at Roulette, the firm name being A. M. Benton & Co., Judge Olmsted, of Coudersport, being one of the firm. In 1888 his interest was purchased, and he retired; A. M. Benton's interest has now been bought, and the firm will become N. R. Bard & Co. Mr. Bard is a member of Liberty Lodge, No. 505, F. & A. M., and a charter member of Arnold Chapter, R. A. M. He was the second burgess of the borough, and has been one of the leading citizens. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. Bard is an enterprising, public-spirited man, and is prominently identified with the business interests of Port Allegany.

SOLOMON H. BARRETT, Port Allegany, son of Nathaniel "and Lydia Barrett, was born in Bethlehem, N. H. (near Mount Washington), in 1809. With his parents he removed to Paris, Oneida Co., N. Y., remaining there uptil his removal to Smethport, Penn., in 1831. He was both a miller and millwright, and speedily found employment at Smethport, where he remained several years. In November, 1842, he removed to Port Allegany, where he built a grist-mill for Sartwell & Arnold, and operated it four years; this mill was taken down in 1849. during which year Mr. Barrett erected the grist-mill now owned by Arnold & Dolley, and of which he was for thirty three years the proprietor. In 1836 he married Mary A., daughter of Charles Manning, formerly

« ZurückWeiter »