« ZurückWeiter »
Knights, and of the Masonic fraternity. In politics he is a Democrat. Mr. Dana was married June 3, 1868. His wife, Louise Dana, was born in Hamburg, N. Y., July 30, 1848; she has borne her husband four children—one daughter, Louise H., and three sons, A. G., F. W. and E. N.
MASON G. DENNIS, farmer, P. O. Rixford, was born in Eldred town ship, McKean Co., Penn., August 28, 1845, a son of George T. and Mary A. (Crandall) Dennis. His paternal grandfather was Nathan Dennis, who settled in Eldred in 1822. Mason G. Dennis was reared in Eldred, and was in the Civil war, enlisting September 5, 1864, in Company C, Two Hundred and Eleventh Pennsylvania Regiment, and was in the battle of Fort Stedman, also in front of Petersburg, and was honorably discharged June 8, 1865. After the war Mr. Dennis resided in Burt county, Neb., four years, going first in October, 1867, returning in December, 1868, to wed January 1, 1869, Jennie H., youngest daughter of William and Ann Janett Rixford, returning to Nebraska, and residing there until December, 1871, when they came back to Otto township, and settled down on the farm where they now reside. Mr. Dennis paid for his farm (ninety-three acres), in 1872, $800, and in 1878, the time of the oil excitement, he sold his oil and mineral right in said farm for $7,000. He has been in the oil business since 1879, and is still a producer. Mr. and Mrs. Dennis have three living children: Burdette (aged sixteen), Ann J. (aged eight) and Fred (aged four years). Their oldest boy, Willie, died October 11, 1881, aged eleven years. Mr. Dennis is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and Equitable Aid Union; has been school director for five years, and secretary of the school board, two years. Politically he is a Republican.
JOHN DUKE, the subject of this sketch, was the second of ten children of William and Elizabeth (Cokayne) Duke, true English people, of Derbyshire, England, but who, after marriage, and about the year 1829, removed to America, settling in Broome county, N. Y., where they lived until 1841, when they removed to Scio, Allegany Co., N. Y., on what is known as Knight's creek, where the father died in 1848. After the father's death Mr. Duke remained at home with his mother until his majority, when he entered the world as a millwright, which occupation, interspersed with a little farming and lumbering, he followed for twenty years. He lived at Scio until about 1868, when, with his two brothers, Thomas and Charles, he removed to McKean county, Penn., and settled on what is now called (and was named in their honor) Duke Centre. He engaged in his old occupation until 1878, when oil was discovered there. Owning some land, he commenced operations by sinking two wells, which are producing at this writing. He still owns these, and the oil right in 104 acres of land at the same place. Mr. Duke's house at Duke Centre was burned, and he lost heavily in the noted Tram Hollow fire in 1880, which doubtless influenced his removal in the following year to Olean, N. Y., where he built himself a beautiful home and now resides. Mr. Duke soon became interested in Olean's industries, and built, among others, the beautiful brick structure known as the Duke Block. The Young Men's Christian Association has a fine suite of rooms in this building, which it has occupied ever since its organization. He has also been interested in real-estate deals. While fortune has smiled on Mr. Duke, and he has had his share of this world's store, yet he has always been mindful of his duty to his God, and, being of a religious turn of mind, early in life identified himself with the Wesleyan Methodist Church at Scio. Later he cast his lot with the people known as the Disciples of Christ, and during his sojourn at Duke Centre, donated the ground and the principal part of the funds for the erecting of the building occupied by what was incorporated as the First Church of Christ, at Duke Centre. He also planned and laid out the Duke Centre Cemetery. Mr. Duke was born at Corbettsville, in the town of Conklin, Broome Co., N. Y., on April 14, 1832. He is a man five feet eight inches in height, weighs about 190 pounds, has dark hair and eyes, and strong features; a man of the best of morals, good business tact, and is highly respected by all who know him. He is untiring in his efforts, positive, yet not aggressive in his manner, honest to the last, and generous to a fault. He is now a prominent and enterprising citizen of Olean, where he is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and one of the leading Prohibitionists. Mr. Duke married Nancy J., daughter of Joseph Morgan, of Scio, N. Y., who during their married life has fittingly taken her place beside him, and borne her share of life's toil. They had no children, but adopted William Carr, who took their name—William C. Duke, now a farmer of Duke Centre.
CHARLES DUKE, banker, Duke Centre, is a native of Broome county, N. Y., a son of William and Elizabeth (Cokayne) Duke, natives of England and pioneers of Allegany county, N. Y. Charles was reared in Scio. N. Y., where he received a common-school education. He began life as a lumberman, and has always been interested in that business in Allegany county, N Y., and McKean county, Penn. He located in Otto township in 1868, in what is now Duke Centre (named in his honor), where he was engaged in lumbering four years. He then went to Wellsville, N. Y., and engaged in the same business, in which he is still interested. In 1876 he returned to Duke Centre and re-embarked in the lumber business, purchasing his former mill, which he is still conducting. The oil excitement started in Duke Centre in 1877-78, and the present town was laid out in lots by Mr. Duke. He took an active part in developing this territory, opened a general store, and was twice burned out. In 1878 he built the Duke House, the principal hostelry of the place. In March, 1883, he succeeded to the banker's business established by a Mr. Robbins. He is a member of the drug firm of Duke & Mills, and is a representative and prominent citizen. Politically he is a Republican. In 1869 he married Lydia E. Taylor, of Friendship, Allegany Co., N. Y. They have three children, named respectively Charles A., Jr.. Darwin T. and Mary Alice Duke.
GEORGE FISCHER, grocer, Duke Centre, is a native of Wyoming county, N. Y., and a son of Bernard and Abby (Koscher) Fischer, natives of Alsace, Germany. They immigrated to America in 1847 and located in WTyoming county, N. Y.; later removing to Erie county, same State, where George was reared and educated. In 1878 he came to Duke Centre and embarked in the grocery business, which he still successfully conducts. Mr. Fischer has been engaged in the oil business, three years, and is now the owner of nine producing wells in Foster township, this county. Politically he is a Democrat, and served two terms as member of the council when Duke Centre was a borough.
F. C. GILFILLAN, oil driller and manufacturer of the Gas Regulator and Low Water Alarm, Duke Centre, was born in Troy, N. Y., where he was reared until fifteen years of age. In 1865 he removed with his parents to Venango county, Penn., where ^is engaged in the drilling of oil wells, and learned all the rudiments of the business. He afterward worked in the Clarion district, and in 1879 came to Duke Centre, where he followed the occupation of a driller until June, 1887. In 1879 he invented and patented the Gas Regulator and Low Water Alarm (patented again in 1886), which, during his residence in Duke Centre, he has manufactured and sold. In 1887 he opened a shop of his own, and has already built up a lucrative business. Mr. Gil Allan is a pushing and energetic business man,, and one of Duke Centre's most worthy, representative citizens.
PHINEAS L. GOLDEN, Duke Centre, of the firms of Carlin Bros. & Golden, and Carlin & Golden, oil producers, was born in Sardinia, Erie Co., N. Y., October 18, 1845, a son of Phineas L. and Mary (Strong) Golden, former a native of Dutchess county, N.Y., born in 1804, and the latter of Fort Herkimer, N. Y. The paternal grandparents of our subject were of English and Scotch descent, respectively, while his maternal grandfather was an Englishman, his maternal grandmother being of German descent. The subject of these lines was reared and educated in his native town, and in 1865 he moved to the oil regions, to Tidioute, Penn., where he remained four years, during which time he became thoroughly experienced in all the details of the oil business, and from 1867 to 1869, he was a producer in that territory. In the latter year he went to Shamburg, Venango Co., Penn., where he carried on a hotel and livery stable, under the firm name of Carlin & Golden, and where they were also in the oil producing business from 1872 till 1874, in which latter year he located at Petrolia, Butler Co., Penn. Here at this time was formed the firm of Carlin Bros. & Golden, who developed several wells, being also engaged in a livery and in a drug business. The firm commenced operations at Duke Centre in 1878, in which field they have drilled twenty-nine wells, all but one of which are producers. The firm of Carlin & Golden are interested as producers in the Allegany county (N. Y.) fields, and the Lima and Maxbury districts of Ohio. Mr. Golden has been a permanent resident of Duke Centre since 1879, and was its efficient postmaster from January 1, 1886, to August 13, 1889. Politically he is a Democrat.
JOHN GBIDLEY, lumberman, Duke Centre, is a native of Schoharie county, N. Y. He settled in Allegany county, N. Y., in 1849, where he was engaged in teaming until 1874, when he located in Eldred, McKean Co., Penn. Here he followed farming, one year; then settled in Otto township, and soon after, with his sons, embarked in the lumber business at Gridley Station, where they have since carried on an extensive trade, manufacturing about three million feet of lumber per annum. Mr. Gridley is one of the most prominent cit izens and lumbermen of Otto township.
OWEN W. GRIDLEY, of the firm of John Gridley & Son, lumbermen, Duke Centre, was born in Irwin Centre, Steuben Co., N. Y., September 3, 1843, a son of John and Susan (Colgrove) Gridley, natives of Steuben county, N. Y. He was reared in Steuben and Allegany counties, educated in the common schools and Union school at Wellsville, same State, and began life as a teamster in the woods. He was also engaged as a mover of buildings in Wellsville, for five years. In 1875 he located on the old Dennis farm in Eldred, where he carried on farming one year; then removed to Otto township, and with his father purchased a farm of 300 acres of A. N. Taylor, which they conducted two years. When the oil excitement struck that locality they sold 100 acres for oil purposes, and still own the balance. In 1878 they erected a saw-mill at what is now Gridley Station, and have since done a large and successful lumber business, manufacturing about three million feet of lumber annually. Mr. Gridley married, in 1861, Sarah, daughter of William Ockerman, of Steuben county, N. Y., and they have three children living: George W., Susie and Arthur. Mr. Gridley was in the Civil war, enlisting August 13, 1863, in the First Brigade Band, Harding's Division, Twenty-second Army Corps, served two years, and was honorably discharged at Washington, D. C. He is a member of the G. A. R. Politically he is a Democrat. In addition to their lumber business Messrs. Gridley & Son have been operating in oil for the past Mx years, and now have three producing wells on the farm, and are continually developing more of their oil property.
MARION HENSHAW. oil producer, Duke Centre, is a native of Butler county, Penn., where he was reared and educated. He began life in the oil fields of Venango county, and there learned all the rudiments of the oil business. In 1871 he located at Petersburg, Clarion county, where his business was principally putting down wells by contract, and where he was also a producer to some extent. In 1877 he came to Custer City, McKean Co., Penn., where, with Col. Vera, he engaged in the production of oil, and was associated with him for three years. Since 1880 he has been located at Duke Centre, operating on his own account, and now has twenty-eight producing wells in McKean county, besides having been interested in seventy-five wells in the entire oil fields. Mr. Henshaw is one of the pioneers in the oil business at Duke Centre, and one of the few who still remain in the field. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity; in politics a Democrat.
O. P. IRVINE, machinist, Duke Centre, is a native of Montreal, Canada. In 1853 he located at Lawrence, Mass., where he served an apprenticeship of over three years at the machinist's trade, after which he worked as a journeyman in the cities of Boston, Mass., Rochester and Dunkirk, N. Y., Titusville, Penn., and other points. In 1864 he was in the employ of the United States government at Nashville, Tenn. In 1878 he located at Duke Centre, where he opened a blacksmith and machine shop with Sidney Morgan, under the firm name of Irvine & Morgan; they have built up a successful business in the manufacture of oil drilling and fishing tools, and all kinds of machine and repair work necessary in the oil district. For five years the firm had a branch shop at Bolivar, N. Y., and they are also large oil producers in the field of McKean county, Penn., and Allegany county, N. Y. Mr. Irvine is one of Duke Centre's prominent and representative citizens. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Politically, he is independent. William Irvine, grandfather of the subject of these lines, came from Glasgow, Scotland, and landed in Quebec in 1802. His son, William, father of O. P. Irvine, was born in the same year in Quebec, and married Miss Matilda Lebare, of Montreal, about the year 1824. O. P. Irvine was married in Dunkirk, N. Y., to Miss Mary Young, a resident of that place, but a native of Schenectady, N. Y., and of Scotch parentage. To this latter union have been born children as follows: William Andrew (born April 14, 1860, in Dunkirk, died March 13, 1881), Addie E. (born September 16, 1861, at Dunkirk), Fred G. (born at the same place February 28, 1864), Mary Ellen (born also at the same place in 1866, died December 25, 1870), Albert (born February 1, 1871, also at Dunkirk), Mary (born at Dunkirk February 5, 1875, died at Duke Centre, Penn., March 21, 1881), and Isabella (born in Duke Centre, August 7, 1879).
C. F. KEIM, is a native of Cattaraugus county, N. Y., where he was reared and educated. He was brought up on a farm, and at the age of sixteen rented a farm, which he successfully conducted six years, after which he operated a cheese factory in Erie county, N. Y., one year; was then engaged in the sale of agricultural implements in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., two years. In January, 1885, he located at Duke Centre, and embarked in the grocery business. Mr. Keim has an interest in fourteen producing oil wells at Allentown. Allegany Co., N. Y. He is a member of the K. O. T. M. and K. of L.; is a Democrat in politics, and served as a member of the council one term while Duke Centre was a borough.
L. J. LILLY, dealer in boots and shoes, clothing and gents' furnishing goods, Duke Centre, was born in Bloomfield township, Crawford Co., Penn.. October 1, 1845, son of Orrin and Olive (Hancock) Lilly, formerly of Massachusetts, who settled in Crawford county about 1843. L. J. Lilly was reared in his native township until sixteen years of age, when he was apprenticed to the shoemaker's trade in Union City, Penn., where he worked two years. March 29, 1864, he enlisted in Battery L, Second Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery, One Hundred and Twelfth Regiment. The regiment was immediately divided, and he was assigned to the provisional Second Pennsylvania Artillery. He participated in the battles of the Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Bethesda Church, Petersburg, Cold Harbor, Chapin's Farm, and other engagements, and was honorably discharged February 8, 1866. He then returned to Crawford county, and worked at his trade in Riceville until 1872; then located at Antwerp, Clarion Co., Penn., where he opened a shoe store, which he conducted one and one-half years; then removed to Turkey City, where he was engaged in business until 1879, when he located at Duke Centre and embarked in his present business, which he has conducted with marked success. Mr. Lilly married, March 24, 1868, Sarah B., daughter of Capt. Samuel and Nancy (Laughlin) Johnson, of Crawford county, and they have three children: Ellis O., Arthur L. and Lynn M. Mr. Lilly is one of the leading and prominent merchants of Duke Centre, and while it was a borough served as member of council and school director. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Grand Army of the Republic. Politically he is a Republican.
WILLIAM F. LOVE JOY, farmer, P. 0. Prentiss Vale, was born in Washington county, Me., August 21, 1837, a son of William and Ruth T. (Treworgy) Lovejoy, who settled in Farmers Valley, McKean Co., Penn., in 1847, and in 1848 in Otto township, on the farm now occupied by William F., a part of which they cleared, and where they resided until their death. They had four children: William F., Willard T., Susan M. (Mrs. Charles C. Belknap) and Arthur P. William F. Lovejoy was reared in Otto township from eleven years of age. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Fiftieth Pennsylvania Volunteers, served three years, and was honorably discharged in July, 1865. After the war he carried on lumbering in Otto township for one year. He then removed to Minnesota and engaged in farming and lumbering there, with the exception of one year, until 1877, when he returned to Otto and has since resided on the old homestead, a part of which he cleared and improved. He is a representative citizen of Otto township, and has held various local offices. In politics he is a Republican.
J. C. LOOKER, oil producer, P. O. Summit City, was born in Crawford county, Penn., in 1855, a son of Henry and Louisa (Hatch) Looker, who now reside with him. Mr. Looker is a carpenter by trade, and worked in Warren county, Penn., previous to coming to McKean county, in 1878. He has been engaged in producing oil since 1880, and now owns and operates eighty-six wells. In 1876 he married Miss Sarah E. Putnam, of Crawford county, Penn., and they have five children: Ralph, Louise, Myrtle, James and Ida. Mr. Looker is identified with the Republican party, and is a member of the Knights of the Maccabees.
JOHN C. MILLS, of the firm of Duke & Mills, druggists, Duke Centre, was born in Sharon, Mercer Co., Penn., December 22, 1857. He was reared in Venango county, Penn., and educated in the Venango Normal school. In 1870, when thirteen years of age, he engaged as a clerk with the drug firm of Chamberlin & Tyler, of Rouseville, Penn., with whom he remained for seven years. From Rouseville he went to Colorado, where he was employed as a surveyor for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company for one year. In November, 1879, he located in Duke Centre, where he was engaged in the tank business six months, after which he was clerk in a drug store until 1882. He then, with Charles Duke, purchased the drug business of C. H. Collins,