« ZurückWeiter »
his mother to Eldred in 1837, and was reared in that town and in Portville. In 1860 he settled in Eldred township, where he has since resided, and cleared and improved the farm he now occupies. December 31,1853, he married Fannie E., daughter of Daniel and Hannah (Ferrington) Childs, of Eldred, and they have had five children: Frank A., Charles A. (deceased), William E. Mc., Walter W. and Ada T. R. Mr. Windsor is one of Eldred township's substantial farmers and citizens. He has held the office of constable and collector five years in succession, and politically he is a Democrat.
LEWIS WINDSOR, farmer, P. 0. Coryville, was born in Franklinville, N. Y., March 28, 1834, a son of Samuel and Phebe (Wright) Windsor, who were among the pioneers of Eldred township, McKean Co., Penn. His maternal grandfather was Rensselaer Wright, the first sheriff of McKean county. Lewis Windsor was reared in Eldred from three years of age, where he has since resided. October 15, 1857, he married Deborah, daughter of Nehemiah and Nancy (Rockwell) Moody, of Eldred township, and they have four children: Lewis E., Drew, Amulette and Phebe. In 1858 Mr. Windsor settled on the farm he now occupies in Eldred township, all of which he cleared and improved. He was in the war of the Rebellion, enlisting March 27, 1864, in Company D, Fourth United States Artillery, participated in several engagements, and was honorably discharged in 1867, after three years' service. He is a representative citizen; politically he is an advocate of prohibition.
EDGAR C. WOLCOTT (deceased) was born in Eldred, Penn., March 6, 1843, a son of John and Rhoda (Brainard) Wolcott. John Wolcott was a native of Massachusetts, of Puritan stock, and was among the first pioneer lumbermen to locate in Eldred township, where he cleared and improved a farm. He reared a family of seven children: Lydia (Mrs. Ashley Calhoun), Charles, Aaron, Betsey (Mrs. Myron Barton), Ruth (Mrs. Horace Merriman), Edgar C. and Lottie (Mrs. E. Middaugh). John Wolcott died in 1851. Edgar C. was reared and educated in Eldred, where he has always resided, and for twenty years was engaged extensively in the lumber business; he also conducted a large general merchandise business in Eldred for fifteen years, to which A. N. Squires was admitted as a partner in October, 1885, since which time the business has been conducted under the firm name of E, C. Wolcott & Co. September 2, 1888. Mr. Wolcott was taken ill with Bright's disease, and was a great sufferer for the remaining fourteen months of his life. He died November 2, 1889, at the age of forty-six years and eight months, after a life of uprightness and industry. Together with his large business interests Mr. Wolcott owned at the time of his decease a large farm in Eldred township, of which he was himself overseer. During the war of the Rebellion he enlisted, October 10, 1861, in Company H, Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was honorably discharged from the service February 12, 1864. Mr. Wolcott was married March 21,1866, to Celestia, daughter of Alonzo and Jane (Dimmick) Shaw, of Eldred, Penn., and they became the parents of five children: Myrtie, Jennie, Nellie, Bertha and Edgar C. Mr. Wolcott was a prominent and influential business man, and a leading citizen of Eldred. He was a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and in politics he was a stanch Republican.
LEWIS J. WRIGHT, farmer, Eldred, was born in Eldred, McKean Co., Penn., October 25, 1833, R son of Rensselaer and Sally (Moore) Wright. His paternal grandfather, James Wright, who was among the first settlers of Eldred, cleared and improved a farm within the present limits of the borough, and died a few years after his arrival. His children were Rensselaer, William and McCague. The father of our subject and his family were the eighth family to settle in McKean county, removing here from Delaware county, N. Y., and clearing the farm now occupied by John Cotton and Lewis J. Wright. He was the first sheriff of McKean county, served as county commissioner several terms, and for many years was a justice of the peace in Eldred. His children were eleven in number: Phebe (who married Samuel Windsor, and for her second husband John Stull), Patty (Mrs. Edick Wright), John, James, Maria (Mrs. Russell Miller), Phelps, Sally (Mrs. Nathan Palmer), Nelson, Carroll, George and Lewis J. Lewis J. Wright was reared on the old homestead, where he has always resided. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Nehemiah and Nancy (Rockwell) Moody, of Eldred, and <they have two children living: Genevieve (Mrs. Dr. R. J. Sharp) and F. Milton. Mr. Wright is a leading farmer and citizen of Eldred. In politics he is a Republican.
EDICK J. WRIGHT, farmer, P. O. Eldred, was born in Eldred township, McKean Co., Penn., April 22, 1844, a son of John M. and Editha H. (Moses) Wright. His paternal grandfather was Rensselaer Wright, a pioneer of Eldred township, and first sheriff of McKean county, a son of James Wright, also a pioneer of Eldred. John M. Wright was a farmer and lumberman by occupation. He reared a family of four children: William, Edick • J., Nelson (deceased) and John M. Edick J. Wright was reared on the old homestead where he was born, and which he now owns and occupies. He received R common-school education, and after attaining manhood engaged in farming and lumbering, which he has since successfully followed. In February, 1865, he married Lucinda Willard, a daughter of Dr. Willard, of Friendship, N. Y., and they have three children: Nelson B., John E. and Nellie L. Mr. Wright is a representative farmer and citizen of Eldred. He is a member of the Knights of Labor, and politically he is a Republican.
W. A. YOUNG, of the firm of Young & Grove, dealers in hardware and house furnishing goods, Eldred, is a native of Genesee, Allegany Co, N. Y., where he was reared and educated. Mr. Young came to McKean county, Penn., in 1808, locating in Smethport. In 1870 he removed to Eldred, where he was engaged for one year as a clerk in the store of the Hon. A. T. Barden, with whom he formed a partnership which lasted five years. In 1876 Mr. Young embarked in his present business, which he successfully conducted alone until March, 1888, when W. W. Grove became associated with him as a. partner, the firm name being Young & Grove. Mr. Young is a wide-awake, enterprising business man and influential citizen, and has served one term as commissioner of McKean county, taking an active interest in all local affairs. In politics he is a Democrat.
G. B. YOUNG, physician, Eldred, was born in Farmers Valley, McKean Co., Penn., December 21, 1859, a man of Arthur and Lorinda (Stull) Young, Mr. Young was reared and educated in the common schools of his native county and at Alfred University, Alfred Centre, Allegany Co., N. Y. In 1882 he began the study of medicine, apd in the fall of 1883 entered Bellevue Medical College, New York City, where he was graduated in the spring of 1886. In May, 1886, he located in Eldred, where he has built up a large and successful practice. The Doctor is a member of the McKean County Medical Society, and of the Masonic fraternity. In politics he is a Republican.
C. C. AMALONG, oil producer, Duke Centre, was born in Fayette county, Penn., February 15, 1847. son of Christopher and Mary Amalong, Pennsylvania Germans. He was reared and educated in his native county, and at the age of sixteen started out in life as a farm laborer. In October, 1863, he enlisted in Company M, Eighteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry, and participated in the battles of Winchester, Sailor Creek and in other engagements, and was honorably discharged from the service in June, 1865. He then located at Petroleum Centre, Penn., and worked as a driller for the Columbia Oil Company. He soon after went to Chatnbersburg, and later to Butler county. In 1878 he located in Duke Centre, where he was in the employ of the Columbia Oil Company eight years. He has been a producer on his own account, and is now the owner of three producing wells. He is a representative citizen of Duke Centre, and is a collector of taxes for Otto township. He is a member of the Odd Fellows order, and of the Select Knights, A. O. U. W. Politically he is a Republican. Mr. Amalong was married, December 24, 1868, to Miss Kate Henry, and they have two children: Jennie and Anna.
JOHN E. BALDWIN, oil producer, Duke Centre, was born in Augusta, Me., May 5, 1837, a son of Cyrus and Sylvia (Philbrick) Baldwin. His father settled in Otto township, May 5, 1855, locating on the farm now occupied by the subject of this sketch, which, with the assistance of his sons, he cleared and improved. He also engaged in lumbering, to some extent, until his death. His family consisted of ten children: Dorothea M., David K., Caroline M., Samuel, James, Mary (Mrs. F. W. Sprague), all deceased, and Cyrus Jr., John E., William P. and Amanda (Mrs. Benjamin Prescott). living. Of these, four sons were in the Civil War: James, Cyrus, John E. and William P. All but John E. served in the Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers. James was wounded at Fort Harrison and died at Fortress Monroe in 1864; Cyrus lost a leg at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1863; William P. served three years. John E. enlisted in the fall of 1864 in Company H, One Hundred and Ninety ninth Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served ten months. He came to Otto township in 1855, and after attaining his majority embarked in the lumber business, which he followed until 1878. He then engaged in the oil business as an operator and producer; he has nineteen producing wells on his own farm, and is proprietor of several leases in the township. December 31, 1863, he married Josephine A., daughter of Charles H. and Mary White, of Taunton, Mass.. and they have six children living: Minnie E. (Mrs. J. C. Gault), Frank E., Arthur E., Eva, Mary and Lillian J. A. Mr. Baldwin has held most of the civil offices of Otto township. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Equitable Aid Union and Grand Army of the Republic; in politics he is a Republican.
JAMES M. BALDWIN, lumberman, Seattle, Wash., was born in Springfield, Penobscot Co., Me., January 9, 1844, a son of James M. and Ellen (Small) Baldwin, of Puritan stock, who settled in Otto township in November, 1849, being the fourth family to settle there. His father, who was a farmer, cleared and improved what is now known as the Gridley farm, on which he resided until 1869, when he returned to Maine, where he died. He had six children: Melville, Arvilla (Mrs. Charles Baldwin), Greeley, James M., Edwin and Ellen, James M. and Edwin being the only ones living. All of the boys served the Union during the war of the Rebellion. Melville was taken prisoner at Gettysburg, and died in Belle Isle prison. Greeley died of disease contracted in the army, twelve days after reaching home. Edwin served four years and four months in the Fifty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteers; was honorably discharged and now resides in Oceana county, Mich. James M. enlisted August 18, 1862, in Company G, One Hundred and Fiftieth Pennsylvania Bucktails; was wounded in the right wrist at Gettysburg and taken prisoner; was paroled on the battlefield, exchanged, and was honorably discharged September 23, 1863. He then returned to Otto township where he owned the land on which Duke Centre now stands, and engaged in the lumber business and farming to some extent, which he continued until 1874, when he sold out and moved to Oceana county, Mich., where he was engaged in the lumber business until the spring of 1S89. at which time he removed to Seattle, Wash., where he now resides, engaged in the lumber business. He has been twice married, his first wife being Melvina, daughter of Hubbard Champney, of Cooksville, Rock Co., Wis., and by her he had two children: Ellen (Mrs. John Joyce) and Arthur L. His second wife is Margaret, daughter of H. K. Barton, of Otto township, this county, and they have seven children: Gertrude, Greeley, Naomi, Roy, Ray, Evangeline and Merritt. Mr. Baldwin is a member of the G. A. R., and is a Republican.
H. T. BREESE, oil producer, Rixford, is a native of Chemung county, N. Y., where he was reared until twelve years of age. He then went to Illinois and Michigan, and in September, 1801, enlisted in the Fourteenth Missouri Western Sharpshooters (afterward changed to the Sixty-sixth Illinois Volunteers), served three years, and was honorably discharged at East Point, Ga., September 17, 1864. In 1865 he located in the Venango oil region, became interested in the oil business and operated in that vicinity until 1876, when he began operations in the Bradford field, being interested with different companies. He is now connected with the firm of Emery, Bryer & Co., who are operating fifty-three producing wells in this field. Mr. Breese is a worthy citizen of Rixford. He is a member of the Oil Producers' Association, the Grand Army of the Republic, and of the Union Veteran Legion. Politically, he is a stanch advocate of Prohibition.
JOHN V. BROWN, proprietor of the Duke House, Duke Centre, was born in Penn Yan, N. Y., February 15, 1835, a son of Ezra and Maretta (Downing) Brown. His father was a canal contractor, and built the Genesee canal from Scottsville to Rochester, N. Y. He died in Potter county, Penn., in 1867. John V. Brown was reared in Penn Yan and Tiffin, Ohio, and at the age of nineteen located in Bingham township, Potter Co., Penn., where he was engaged in a lumber-mill as fireman and engineer, four years. He then removed to Oconto, Wis., and worked in the pineries one year. In 1857 he returned to Penn Yan, N. Y., and ran a canal boat one season as captain, and for nearly two years thereafter worked in a distillery. In 1859. he again removed to Bingham township, Potter Co., Penn., where he engaged in farming until August 16, 1862, when he enlisted in Company K, One Hundred and Forty-ninth Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, and was promoted to corporal February 21, 1863, and to sergeant April 1, 1863; was wounded at Petersburg, Va., June 19, 1864; promoted to first sergeant July 1, 1864; was commissioned second lieutenant May 16, 1865 (not mustered); had command of a company twenty months prior to, commission, and was mustered out of the service June 24, 1865. He then located in Sweden township, Potter Co., Penn., where he engaged in farming four years, after which he bought and ran the Oswayo House, at Oswayo, as a tavern for four years, and then farmed in Sharon township, four years. In March, 1878, he purchased the Empire House at Duke Centre, which he successfully conducted eight years, and in 1886 rented the Duke House, of which he has since been the popular landlord. He has also been an oil producer for eight years. In 1855 he married Rebecca, daughter of John B. and Abigail (Brown) Harris, of Jerusalem, Yates Co., N. Y., and they have two children: Minnie A. and Charles H. Mr. Brown is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity, has passed through all chairs of First Lodge of Masonry, and belongs to Council Chapter, Commandery and Mystic Shrine; also of the Odd Fellows order, Grand Army of the Republic and Knights of Pythias. Politically he is a Republican.
R. M. BROWN, oil producer, Duke Centre, is a native of Morgan county, Ohio, and was reared in Ohio and Pennsylvania, where he received a commonschool education. He first engaged in the oil business as a producer in 1874, at Millerstown, Butler Co., Penn., where he remained until 1878; then located at Duke Centre, where he has since resided and been actively engaged as an operator. He is a representative citizen of Duke Centre, a member of the Masonic fraternity, and in politics is a Republican.
V, PERRY CARTER, Duke Centre, was born in Victor, Ontario Co., N. Y., May 16, 1822, a son of Samuel S. and Lydia (Perry) Carter, both natives of Stockbridge, Berkshire Co., Mass., pioneers of Ontario county, N. Y.. and in 1824 they removed to Friendship, Allegany Co., N. Y., where the father, who was a clothier by trade, established himself in business, and resided until his death. He was a soldier in the war of 1812. V. Perry Carter was reared and educated in Friendship, N. Y., and in February, 1840, settled in Ceres township, McKeau county, where he was in the mercantile business three years. He then removed to Richburg, N. Y., where he was in business seven years, and three years thereafter was connected with a wholesale house in New York City. In 1852 he returned to Cere?, and embarked in mercantile trade and the lumber business, which he continued until 1879, when he moved to Duke Centre and engaged in the gas business, and here he has since remained. He piped Duke Centre for the supply of fuel and light from natural gas, the second town piped in the State, and has also piped several other towns in the vicinity for that purpose. Mr. Carter was twice married. His first wife was Almina, daughter of John and Lucy (Mott) Smith, early settlers of Ceres township, and to them were born three children: Frances E. (Mrs. Frank Commerford) Henry W. and Ella (Mrs. John J. Robarts). His present wife is Lottie K., daughter of Cyrus and Charlotte G. Kimball, of Cincinnati, Ohio, formerly of Concord, N. H. To them has been born one son, Roy M. Mr. Carter is a prominent and representative citizen of McKean county, and has always taken an active part in public affairs. He was postmaster at Ceres and Richburg, N. Y., over thirty years; has served McKean county two terms as county auditor, and one term as county treasurer. He is a Republican.
GEORGE H. DANA, manufacturer of torpedoes and nitro glycerine, Duke Centre, Penn., is a native of Buffalo, N. Y., born December 31, 1845, a son of George and Mary E. Dana, natives of Baden, Germany, who came to this country about 1830, and were reared and educated in Buffalo. He was reared and educated in Hamburg, Erie Co., N. Y., where he learned the tinsmith' s trade, which he followed sixteen years in Hamburg and Collins, N. Y., and in Titusville, Penn. In 1877 he located at St. Petersburg, Penn.. where he was superintendent and foreman of the torpedo works of Almar & Co., two years. In 1879 he came to Duke Centre, where he acted in the same capacity for the Producers' Torpedo Company, one year. He then, with his brotherin-law, George A. Piatt, erected torpedo works, which they conducted under the firm name of Dana & Co., three years, when George fl. Dana purchased his partner's interest, and has since conducted the business successfully alone. February 3, 1885, the factory blew up, killing two men, F. Sining and C. Thomson. Mr. Dana immediately rebuilt, and had the works again in operation within two months. Mr. Dana has been in the oil business as a producer since 1885, is the owner of five wells, and is interested in eighteen others. He is a popular and leading citizen of Duke Centre, and served three years as school director of the borough, and was elected to serve Otto township in the same capacity in the spring of 1889. He has been chief of the fire department of Duke Centre since 1886; is a member of the A. O. U. W., Select