« ZurückWeiter »
B. F. WRIGHT, proprietor of Wright's Hotel, Smethport, was born in Madison county, N. Y., in 1835. He removed to Oneida county, thence to Lima, Livingston Co., N. Y., and completed his education at the seminary there, after which he visited the West. In 1859 he removed to Smethport, and at the beginning of the war enlisted in Company C, First P. R. V. C. He was wounded at the battle of South Mountain, Md., and received a second wound at Spottsylvania Court House in 1864. On July 3, 1865, he was mustered out of the service, and returning to Smethport accepted a position with the Lafayette Coal Company at Lafayette. In the fall of 1866 he was elected sheriff of McKean county, serving one term of three years. In 1875 he built the hotel named after himself, becoming its proprietor, and being one of the representative men of the county, social and courteous with his guests, and hav ing a large and favorable acquaintance, Wright's Hotel is well and favorably known. He is a member of McKean Lodge, F. & A. M., No. 388, of Lodge No. 183, A. O. U. W., and of the G. A. R. He is a worker in the Republican party. In 1859 he married Miss Catharine L., daughter of O. L. Bennett, and they have five children: F. O. (an only son), Ella, Lena, and Lucy and Elida (twins).
HENRY WRIGHT, farmer, P. O. Smethport, son of Pardon and Clarissa Wright, was born in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., in 1849. With his parents he removed to Keating township, McKean Co., Penn., where they engaged in farming. They had a family of four children, viz.: Helen A., June, Mandana and Henry. Pardon Wright died October 23, 1885, and his widow has her home with her son, Henry. Henry Wright, in 1875, married Mary, daughter of Charles Guenther, formerly of Smethport, and they are the parents of four children: Mollie G.. William H., W. Leo and Sarah Alice. Mr Wright is a supporter of the principles of the Republican party, and was elected auditor in 1889. He owns and operates a farm on Marvin creek, in Keating township. Mrs. Mary Wright, for several years before her marriage, was a school-teacher of some note.
D. C. YOUNG, merchant, Smethport, son of Arthur and Laurinda (Stull) Young, was born May 5, 1843, at Farmers Valley, McKean Co., Penn. His parents were among the early settlers of that county, and his paternal greatgrandfather, William Young, was a native of Providence, R. I., where he married and became the father of a numerous family of children, and where he lived and died. Stephen, a son of William Young, removed to Norwich, Chenango Co., N. Y., when that county was comparatively in a state of nature, and then married Betsy Green, and reared a family of ten children. Removing with his family to Norwich township, McKean Co.. Penn., he purchased lands and followed farming until his decease in 1841, Betsy, his widow, surviving him until 1858. Their children were as follows: Clinton, Edward, Anna, Hannah, Arthur, Betsy, Harriet, Stephen, Malvina and William. The parents of Lucinda Stull, mother of D. C. Young, were also among the pioneers of McKean county, her father having located in Eldred township in 1811. Arthur, the third son of Stephen and Betsy Young, was born at Norwich, Chenango Co., N. Y., in 1813, and with his parents removed to McKean county, Norwich township, settling in 1821. When a boy of fourteen years of age he engaged in trapping for mink and otter, and after making a sale of his furs he found himself in possession of a sufficient sum of money to enable him to purchase a gun. Later he became one of the noted hunters of his day, and had the reputation of having killed a greater number of deer, bears, panthers and wildcats, than any other individual in the county. This gun, his first purchase, which he always used in his expeditions in search of game, he bei
queathed to his son, D. C., who cherishes it as a most valuable heirloom. Educational advantages were not as great then as now, and Arthur Young's experience in that connection was of a practical nature. After his marriage he engaged in farming, and became one of the successful agriculturists of McKean county. He was a member of the Democratic party until 1858, when he enlisted in the ranks of the supporters of Fremont, and ever after was identified with the Republican party. He never sought political preferment, choosing the enjoyment of the home circle rather than'the more exciting field of politics. His death occurred in 1879; his widow still has her residence upon the old homestead farm. D. C. Young, the subject of these lines, after attending the common schools at home, completed his education at Alfred University, Alfred Centre, Allegany Co., N. Y., after which he, in 1865, began his mercantile career as an employe of A. N. Taylor, at Smethport, Penn., with whom he remained three years, when he accepted a similar position with Henry Hamlin, of same place, serving him for a like period of time; then, in 1871, he became associated with his former employer, A. N. Taylor, as dealers in general merchandise. This partnership, however, was dissolved in 1875. and Mr. Young removed to Larrabee, McKean Co., Penn., where he carried on business for six years, and where he also owned (and yet owns) a large stock farm. In 1881 he returned to Smethport, where he has since been engaged in business, and is now one of the representative men and leading successful merchants of the place. In 1871 Mr. Young married Ada M., daughter of the late Hon. A. N. Taylor, of Smethport, and has three children: Raymond, Louis and Ada. He is a member of Smethport Lodge, No. 388, F. Ac A. M., Arnold Chapter, No. 254, R. A. M., of Port Allegany, and of Trinity Commandery, No. 58, K. T., of Bradford. In politics he is a Republican.
H. A. YOUNG, farmer and lumberman, P. O. Farmers Valley, is a son of Arthur and Laurinda H. (Stall) Young, and was born in Keating township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1845. Here he was reared and educated, and in July, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, One Hundred and Fiftieth P. V. I. At the battle of Gettysburg he received a wound which disabled him, but nevertheless he continued in the service until August, 1865. After the close of the war he was mustered out, returned to his home in Keating township, and in 1869 married Miss Odelia N. Howell. The young couple located on the farm he now owns in Keating township, where he has since been extensively engaged in the lumber trade and in farming. To Mr. and Mrs. Young six children have been born: Arthur L., Mettie E., Eunice, Floyd A., Ada E. and Clinton B., all at home. Mr. Young is a member of the G. A. R. For three terms he has served as supervisor of the township, a position he now holds. He is a supporter of the Republican party, is active in politics, and is a prominentand representative man of his township.
WILLIAM A. YOUNG, farmer and lumberer, P. O. Farmers Valley, is the third son of Arthur and Laurinda H. (Stull) Young, and was born in Keating township, June 28, 1856, on the farm he now owns. His mother was the daughter of Joseph and Delinda (Brewer) Stull, and was born in Stull Town. McKean Co., Penn., in April, 1818. Her father was a native of Sussex county, N. J., and his parents removed toElmira, N. Y., when he was a child of seven years of age. There he was married, and later he removed to Steuben county. N. Y., and thence to. Sartwell, McKean Co., Penn., and a little later located in Stull Town. Their children were Alma (who married Lyons Dodge, and removed to Ohio, where she died), Abram (who died in Stull Town), John (now a resident of East Smethport), Abbey (now a resident of Port Allegany. McKean county, and who married Joseph DeLong), Camilla (now Mrs. John L. Daniels, of Scioto county, Ohio), Caleb B. (deceased), Laurinda H., Mary (widow of the late John Nolan, of Emporium, Cameron county), Jerome (of Keating township), George (deceased) and Joseph (of Stull Town). The maternal grandmother of W. A. Young, Delinda Stull, died in 1862, and the grandfather, Joseph Stall, died in 1866. Laurinda H. Stull was educated in the common schools, and attended the academy at Smethport one term. In 1842 she was married to Arthur Young, and located on the farm now owned by William A. Young, in Keating township, where they reared a family of seven children, viz.: Violetta, Flora E., Alma (deceased), D. C., H. A., William A. and Gardner. Stephen Young, paternal grandfather of William A., was born June 25, 1779, and married Betsy Green, July 16, 1803. Their children were Clinton, Edward G., Anna T., Hannah, Arthur, Betsy, Harriet, Stephen D., Amanda M. and William, of whom Edward G. is the sole survivor. Stephen, their father, died July 16, 1840, and Betsy, their mother, in March, 1858. William A. Young was reared and educated in his native township. October 30, 1878, he married Jane, daughter of Augustus Day, formerly of Farmers Valley, Penn., and they located at the old Young homestead, where he has since been extensively engaged in lumbering and farming. Mr. and Mrs. Young have five children, viz.: Ella, Edith, Ruth, Frank and Lena. Mr. Young is a member of the I. O. O. F., lodge and encampment, at Smethport. He is identified with the Republican party, and has been supervisor of Keating township for two terms.
BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES—FOSTER TOWNSHIP AND
PHILO ACKLEY, farmer and oil producer, Kendall Creek, was born in Cayuga county, N. Y., in 1821, a son of Ahiel and Clarissa (Olmstead) Ackley, natives of Connecticut, and farmers by occupation. At the age of six years Philo was sent to Prattsburg, Steuben Co., N. Y., to live with his uncle and aunt. He remained there three years and attended the district schools. In October, 1830, he came to McKean county, Penn., with his uncle, James DeGolier. They drove cattle and hogs from Steuben county, and located on what is now known as the Jewett farm, in Bradford township. Philo remained with them for nearly five years after coming to this county, and then hired to his cousin, with whom he worked from March till August, for which he received $2.50. With this amount of money he started on foot for Cortland county, N. Y., and arrived there in due course of time. He remained there about eight years, and added to his education by attending the winter schools. In 1844 he started on his return to McKean county, walking from Elmira to Bradford, where he obtained his living by day's work for some time. In 1846 he erected a blacksmith shop, and conducted a general blacksmithing business until 1879, having his shop in Kendall Creek for three years during that time. At the breaking out of the oil excitement, he leased 400 acres of land in Toad Hollow at $1 per acre for ten years. This lease ran out without being operated on. He afterward leased other land and succeeded in getting several good wells. In 1882 he purchased the Hollenbeck farm of 182 acres, at Sawyer City, on which he has produced a number of good wells. In 1846 Mr. Ackley was united in marriage with Miss Clarissa, daughter of Alvin Owens, of Smethport, Penn., and six children have been born to their union, two of whom are living: Charles L., of Bradford, married to Miss Alice, daughter of William R. Fisher, and has two children, Clara and Maud; and Luella R., married to Charles Bailey, who died leaving one child, Lulu, and she afterward married Bradley H. Barr, and is now living with her parents. Mr. Ackley has always been au active supporter of the Democratic party. In 1869 he was elected justice of the peace in Bradford, and served ten years. He also filled that office in Kendall Creek ten years, and the office of burgess also ten years. In 1874 he was elected supervisor of Bradford township, serving four terms, and for eleven years was constable of Bradford.
H. H. ARGUE, oil producer, Derrick City, was born near Ottawa, province of Ontario, July 22, 1843, a son of John W. and Esther (Wilson) Argue. His father was born in County Cavan, Ireland, and his mother in Canada. Her father, Hugh Wilson, served twenty-one years in the English army. John W. Argue moved to Canada when six years of age with his parents, and later followed farming as an occupation. He died in that country. His widow now resides in Derrick City. Their family consisted of nine children, six of whom are living: H. H., our subject; R. W., of Derrick City; A. G. and Thomas, of Gillmor; Esther Jane, wife of George W. Bettis, of Buffalo, and Sarah. H. H. Argue was reared in Canada, and there remained until 1863, when he came to the United States and first located at Portland. He started in.life single-handed, and worked at various kinds of labor. In 1865 he went to Titusville, Penn., where he took contracts as a well driller, and has since followed the oil business. He and his brother, R. W., now operate under the firm name of the Watson Oil Company. They also have a large quantity of gas, and supply Derrick City and Gillmor with gas for fuel and light. In 1871 Mr. Argue married Miss Ellen C., daughter of Daniel and Bridget (McCoully) McNeal, of Canada, and they have three children: Lizzie, Edwin Harry and Albert J. Mr. Argue is active in politics, and is identified with the Republican party. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, in Titusville. He and family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
R. W. ARGUE, oil producer, Derrick City, was born in Ottawa, Canada, March 1, 1845. He received a common-school education, and came to the United States in 1865, where he began life in Titusville, Penn., as a day laborer. He then associated himself with his brother, H. H., as contractor, and they have since been in business together. March 16, 1880, he married Miss Eva. daughter of Norman Allport, of Shamburg, Penn. They have three children: Edith, May and Ethel. Mr. Argue is an active worker of the Republican party. He is a member of Union Lodge, No. 334, of Bradford, F. & A. M., Bradford Chapter, No. 260, R. A. M., and of Trinity Commandery. No. 58, K. T.
JONAS ARTLEY, proprietor of the American House, Kendall Creek, was born in Liberty, Tioga Co., Penn., June 20, 1830. His parents, Abraham and Elizabeth (Long) Artley, were natives of that county and farmers by occupation. Our subject was reared on the homestead, and remained there until 1859, when he married Miss Sarah E. Shaffer. They then moved to Lycoming county, Penn., where they kept a hotel at Linden for six years, and also another hotel near there for two years. They then moved to Jersey Shore, where they kept hotel for eleven years. In 1877 Mr. Artley came to Kendall Creek, where he has since been proprietor of the American House,
and has also engaged in oil producing. He is the father of three children: Philip (in partnership with his father), Carrie and John. Mr. Artley is a member of Labelle Valley Lodge, No. 232, F. & A. M., of the E. A. U., of Kendall Creek, and of the Columbia League. He and family attend the Presbyterian Church.
F. E. BAKER, of the firm of Gillespie & Baker, Summit City, was born in Erie, Penn., January 7, 1856. His father, B. F. Baker, was born in Warren county, N. Y., and his mother, Sarah A. (Hurst) Baker, was born in Erie county, Penn. His father was a ship carpenter by occupation. The family are prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Five of their children are still living: Thomas C., of Foxburg, Penn.; Estella, wife of W. 0. Smith, of Oil City; F. E.; William A., of Washington, Penn., and Wallace B., of Pittsburgh, Penn. The subject of these lines was educated at Erie, Penn., and in 1875 went to Foxburg, where he engaged in refining oil. In 1880 he came to McKean county, and for three years acted as commercial traveler, handling petroleum, oil well supplies, etc. April 28, 1887, he engaged in his present business. In 1879 he married Miss Naomi, daughter of John Gillespie, and they have three children: Charles Floyd, Frank Howard and Sarah Hazel. Mr. Baker is a supporter of the Republican party. He belongs to Lodge No. 211, E. A. U., of Summit City, Assembly No. 6561, K. of L., and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
F. X. BIDAUX, butcher, Kendall Creek, was born in France, October 10, 18-16. a son of P. X. and Mary (Chappin) Bidaux. His mother died in France, and the father and his family came to America in 1867, locating at Titusville, Penn.. where the father is now engaged in the milk business. Our subject worked in a foundry for two years, and then engaged in the butcher business, which he conducted there for eleven years. In 1880 he came to McKean county, and has since conducted a meat market at Kendall Creek. He has also carried on a market in Bradford for several years. He was the first man to introduce Chicago beef into McKeau county. In 1870 he married Miss Felicie Gigogne. a native of France, who came to America when five years of age, and they have six children: Mary, Louise, Rosa, Sylvin, Goldie and Genevieve. Mr. Bidaux is a supporter of the Democratic party, and is a member of the borough council, m is a member of the Knights of the Maccabees, and he and family are members of the Roman Catholic Church. Mr. Bidaux owns several valuable city lots, and a fine farm at Saegerstown, Penn.
JAMES BISETT (deceased) was born in Dublin, Ireland, his parents, who were farm tenants, dying in that country. In 1850 he emigrated to America, and married in the same year Miss Mary, daughter of William Clark, also a native of Dublin, Ireland. Mr. Bisett was a stone mason by trade, and worked in New York a few months, then went to Massachusetts, where he remained five years. From there he moved to Ellicottsville, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., and engaged in farming. In 1857 he first came to McKean county, and in 1862 located on the present Bisett farm in Foster township. Mr. Bisett started in life single handed, and by his own efforts became a successful man. He was identified with the Democratic party, and was one of the representative and highly respected men of the township. He was a devout Catholic, and one of the original builders of the church of that denomination at Bradford. He died August 1, 1880. His widow, who still resides on the homestead farm, is a devout Christian, and a very hospitable lady. Fourteen of their children grew to maturity, twelve of whom are still living: Mary (wife of Joseph Henigan, of Olean, N. Y.), Jennie (wife of George Ferris, of Farmers Valley), Richard L., Edward W., Christopher C., Thomas J., Charles F., Annie Belle, John J.,