« ZurückWeiter »
and Prudence (Wood) Kent, and was born in Allegany county, N. Y., in 1844. In 1853 K. C. Kent removed from New York State to Liberty township, McKean Co., Penn., and thence to Keating township, same county, and located on the farm J. T. Kent now owns. He had a family of twelve children, six of whom are living, viz.: Cordelia, wife of Manville Tuttle; Louise, wife of S. Tuttle; Laura, wife of F. Moody; Alvina, wife of H. R. Frisbee; America, wife of Asa Champlin, and J. T. Our subject was reared in Keating township, and after his marriage located on the home farm which he now owns, and has since been engaged in farming and in the lumber trade. He was married in 1866 to Charity Otto, and they have a family of four children: Frank, Winnie, May and Fred. Mr. Kent is a Prohibitionist in politics.
G. W. KING, farmer, East Smethport, was born in Smethport, Penn.. August 8, 1844, a son of H. B. and Jerusha (Rice) King, both natives of Rhode Island. H. B. King came to Smethport about the year 1818, and here met and married Miss Rice, who bore him nine children, of whom G. W. is the only one now living. The father died in June, 1880, the mother in June, 1862. H. B. King was a leading member of the Methodist Episcopal Church of Smethport for over half a century, and in his death the church met with a great loss. G. W. King, the subject proper of this sketch, received his education in the public schools of Smethport, and in 1861 he enlisted in the United States service, in Company E, Fifty-eighth Regiment, P. V. L, served five months, and was discharged on account of disability. In December, 1863, he married Miss Henrietta, daughter of Andrew and Amelia (Dart) Rifle, of Hamlin township, McKean county, who bore him one son, Wilford A. In 1881 G. W. King embarked in the mercantile business in Mount Jewett, McKean county, and there remained two years, at the end of which time he came to Smethport, where he was engaged in the same line of business for a short time. In December, 1881, he married Miss Clara E. Hauer, of Pine Grove, Schuylkill Co., Penn., and by her has had three children: Horace B., Roxie and Lloyd L. Mr. King and family live on the old homestead, which he farms. He is a member of Smethport Lodge, No. 389, I. O. O. F., and has held various township offices. In politics he is a Republican.
MRS. C. A. McCOY, Smethport, daughter of Dr. George and Lavinia (Cannon) Darling, was born in Massachusetts in 1813, and with her parents removed to Bunker Hill, Penn., or what is now known as Clermont, in 1822, where her father engaged in the practice of medicine, which he continued until his removal to Jefferson county, Penn., where he died November 16, 1869. His wife died in 1831. after which he married, for his second wife, Julia Clark, and she died in Jefferson county. He was the father of seven children, three sons and three daughters by his first marriage, and one daughter by his second. Miss C. A. Darling was married to Dr. W. Y. McCoy, December 13, 1832, and located at Smethport, where she had lived since fourteen years of age, and where Dr. McCoy first began the practice of medicine, which he continued until failing health necessitated his retirement. By close application to his profession, although beginning poor, he acquired a handsome competency. He died January 5, 1886. This union was blessed in the birth of ten children, six of whom are now living: Hannah L., wife of the Hon. Henry Hamlin; Charlotte M., wife of J. C. Hamlin; Ellen M., wife of Adelbert Bishop, an architect of Buffalo; Henry L., a practicing physician of Smethport; Alice E., widow of D. R. Hamlin; Edgar B., a druggist of Mount Jewett. Mrs. McCoy is still living on the old homestead, where for forty years she has resided, and in her declining years is surrounded by her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren, who are never so happy as when listening to Grandma's interesting recitals of events relating to the long ago. Mrs. McCoy had three brothers and two sisters, also a half-sister, the record of whom is as follows: Jedediah was at an early day one' of the noted practitioners, and was very prominent in the medical profession, died in 1871, at Smethport; Paul E. was a banker at Brookville, Jefferson Co., Penn.; George, Jane and Mary died comparatively young; Mary, the half-sister, married Henrv Gray, a merchant of Brookville, Penn.
HENRY L. McCOY, M. D., Smethport, son of Dr. William Y. and Char lotte A. (Darling) McCoy, was born in Smethport, McKean Co., Penn., in 1846. His maternal grandfather, Dr. George Darling, was the first medical practitioner of McKean county. Henry L. was educated in Smethport, and read medicine with his father, who was a noted physician of his day, also with Prof. Sanford Eastman, of Buffalo; he then attended two courses of medical lectures, and graduated from the University of Buffalo in 1868, commencing the practice of medicine in Smethport. In the winter of 1870-71 he attended a course of lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York City; thence returned and resumed practice at Smethport. In September, 1869, he married Clara, only child of P. Ford, and to them four children have been born: Alice, Grace, Agnes and Charles. Dr. McCoy is a member of McKean Lodge, No. 388, F. & A. M.; Bradford Chapter, No. 258, R. A. M., and Trinity Commandery, No. 58, K. T. He is also a member of the I. O. O. F., lodge and encampment. He is senior warden of St. Luke's Episcopal Church, of which his family are members. In politics the Doctor is a Democrat.
MRS. LOUISA McCLURE, Smethport, was born in Lockport, N. Y., in 1846, and was educated at Lockport, Oberlin and Buffalo. She was married in 1867 to John Francis McClure, who was employed in the telegraph office at East Buffalo (Stock Yards) until the consolidation of the Western Union and Atlantic & Pacific Telegraph Companies. He then received an appointment at Larrabee, Penn., to which place he removed and there remained four years. On B. A. McClure's removal to Coudersport, John F. McClure became his successor at Smethport, a position he occupied until his death, which occurred September 20, 1887. He was a gentleman possessed of exceptionally good abilities, of sterling integrity and of moral worth. He was a member of the K. O. T. M. Mrs. McClure is a member of St. Luke's Episcopal Church.
JOSEPH M. McELROY, prothonotary, Smethport, son of William and Catharine (McClintock) McElroy, was born in Allegheny county, Penn., in 1842. He attended the common schools and took part of an academic course, but was compelled to leave school before completing his studies. When fourteen years of age he began supporting himself, and for three years was employed as salesman for a mercantile firm in Pittsburgh. When the war broke out in 1861 he enlisted in the first call for volunteers for three months, but a severe attack of diphtheria prevented his serving. Under the call for three years he enlisted in Company A, One Hundred and Second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and joined his regiment at Washington in November, 1861. He participated in the battles of Williamsburg, Fair Oaks, the Seven-Days' fight in front of Richmond, Malvern Hill, Antietam, Fredericksburg and Chan cellorsville, where he was slightly wounded and was captured; he was confined at Belle Isle, but was paroled after fourteen days, and being exchanged afterward took part in the Wilderness campaign and in front of Petersburg; was also with Sheridan in the valley, when his term of service expired. November 2, 1864, he was honorably discharged from the service, and arrived at Pittsburgh in time to cast his first presidential vote for Abraham Lincoln. After remaining home a month he went to Franklin, Venango Co., Perm., where he was engaged in the coal business, and upon the opening of the Allegheny Valley Railroad in 1869 he went to Oil City, where he lived ton years and was prominent in the organization of the city government, was a member of the council, and also mayor one term. In March, 1879, he removed to Bradford, where he has also been prominent in public affairs and served one term as president of the city council. He was in the coal trade in Bradford until 1884, when he was elected prothonotary of the county, which necessitated his removal to Smethport, and in 1887 he was re-elected. Mr. McElroy is an able man, and has taken a lively interest in all that pertains to the county's welfare. Although so prominently identified with public affairs, he still finds time to attend to an extensive business, and his friends find him always courteous and genial and ready to extend to them the hospitality of his home. Mr. McElroy was married in 1868 to Martha J. Woodburn, daughter of John Woodburn, and they have had three children, two of whom, Fred and Howard, are living. He takes an active interest in Freemasonry, and is a past eminent commander of Trinity Commandery, K. T. He is also a past commander of Post No. 347, G. A. R., and is a member of the A. O. U. W.
BERNARD McKEAN, farmer, P. O. Smethport, is a son of Patrick and Mary (Kiernan) McKean, and was born in County Cavan, Ireland, in 1811, and in 1840 emigrated to America, locating in Long Island, where he married, in 1843, Bridget Graham, a lady of Scotch-Irish descent. He removed from there, in 1847, to Franklinville, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., and from there to Keating township, McKean Co., Penn., in 1849, and purchased a tract of wild land ,which he improved, and engaged in farming, and here he still has his residence. Mr. and Mrs. McKean's children were Thomas and Phoebe (twins), the latter the wife of George Garlick; James A., Mary and Willie (twins), the latter deceased; Charles; Edward; Mary is now Mrs. Henry Gallup, of Smethport. Mrs. McKean died July 18, 1888. Mr. McKean is a member of the Catholic Church, and in politics a Democrat.
JAMES A. McKEAN, farmer and lumberman, P. O. Smethport, was born at Glen Cove, Long Island, N. Y., August 11, 1845, a son of Bernard and Bridget (Graham) McKean. In 1848 his father moved to McKean county, Penn., and located on what is known as the "Bond farm," on Marvin creek. This he afterward sold, and then settled on the adjoining farm to the south, where he still lives. The mother died in the year 1888. They had a family of seven children: Thomas and Phoebe (twins), James A., Mary A. and William (twins), Charles and Edward B. James A. McKean had the advantage of only a common-school education, but improved every opportunity to obtain a knowledge of the English branches. During the summer his services were required on the farm, and in the winter months he attended the district school, there being but one in a district of ten miles, and a tramp of miles through the snow of the valley was necessary each day. But it was this experience in his youth that helped to form the character of young McKean, and that has made him the successful business man of later years. When eighteen years old he entered the employ of James E. Butts, at Buttsville, for whom he worked two years, in the meantime having charge of the building of the high dam across Three-mile Run. Later, he worked at the carpenter's trade, and then went to Kane, where he was employed in the car shops of the Pennsylvania & Erie Railroad, five years. In 1874 he bought the farm where he now lives, which adjoins his father's on the south, and since then has been extensively engaged in the lumber and bark business, employing during the bark and timber season from fifty to one hundred men. Mr. McKean has always been a stanch Republican, and cast his first presidential vote for Gen. Grant, in 1868. He has served two terms as supervisor of his township, and. in 1887, was elected a member of the county board of commissioners. In January, 1869, he married Mrs. Julia S. Hubbard, and they have two children: William Hubbard and Maggie. Mr. and Mrs. McKean are members of the Catholic Church.
LINN W. MASON, hardware merchant, Smethport, is a son of Lewis J. and Nancy Mason, and was born in Franklinville, Cattaraugus Co., N. Y., in 1843. and at an early age he removed to Smethport, where he attended the academy, after the completion of his studies he learned the hardware trade, and in 1859 became proprietor of a working interest in a wholesale flour and feed store at Emporium. He, however, returned to Smethport, and engaged in the hardware trade. In 1861 he went into the army with a sutler, remaining two years. He then purchased a hardware store of Mr. Nurse, but the Western fever had a strong hold upon him, and he is next found at Des Moines, Iowa, where he remained two years. He then removed to Tioga county, Penn.. where he remained four years in a hardware store, and in 1879 he returned to Smethport, where he erected the very fine building he now occupies, and fitted it purposely for the hardware trade. Having started six hardware stores, it is not to be wondered at that the last was the crowning effort of all, and that his place of business is conveniently and elegantly arranged with everything acces sible, and that he is enjoying a fine trade. He married Frances, daughter of David R. Bennett, and they have two daughters: Mary Louise (now Mrs. C. H. Kerns, of Smethport) and Cora. Mr. Mason is an active worker in the Democratic party. He and his family are members of St. Luke's Episcopal Church.
MRS. G. R. MOORE, daughter of Mander and Elizabeth A. Farnsworth. was born in Erie county, Penn., in 1830, and in 1848 married George R. Moore, son of William and Elmira (Rice) Moore, after which they located in Liberty township, McKean Co., Penn., where he was engaged in the lumber business, which was his life-work, with the exception of a brief time he was engaged in speculating in oil. He was at one time associated with A. M. Benton, of Port Allegany, this county, and also with E. S. Johnson, and sent the largest raft ever run down the Allegheny river. In 1873, during the coal ex citement, when the railroad was built to Clermont, he put up the first mill there for the railroad company. It, however, was burned, and having become associated with his son, they together erected another on the same site, and eventually a second mill, operating both successfully. Mr. Moore was compelled, however, by ill health to abandon active pursuits, and died October 24, 1888. Mrs. Elmira Moore, his mother, is still living. His son still continues the business at Clermont. Mrs. Moore is residing at their old home in Smethport. They had four children, three of whom are living: Jennie E., wife of John Eberspacher, of Texas; Ella E., wife of Henry Lehman, of Mount Jewett, McKean county, and Charles H. M* George R. Moore was brought up in the Methodist Church, and in politics was a Democrat.
C. H. MOORE, lumberman, Smethport, is a native of Smethport, McKean Co., Penn., born March 10,1849. He was reared in his native city, and was educated there and at Lima, N. Y. In 1876 he went to Clermont, Sergeant township, McKean county, and opened a hotel, which he conducted eighteen months, when he moved to Larrabee, same county, and there carried on a hotel until May 8, 1882. He then moved to Smethport, where he engaged in the livery business, and in 1883 he moved to a farm at Farmers Valley, but in addition to superintending his farm continued his livery business at Smethport until August, 1884, when he sold out and bought a tract of timber land and a saw-mill at Clermont, and he now carries on an extensive business, cutting 40,000 feet of lumber a day. Mr. Moore was married October 9, 1878, to Miss Mary A. Goodwin, daughter of Thomas Goodwin, of Farmers Valley, and they have two children: Lloyd M. and Leatha M. Mr. Moore is a member of McKean Lodge, No. 388, F. & A. M., Chapter, No. 251, R. A. M., and Smethport Lodge, I. O. O. F.
THOMAS D. NASH, merchant, Smethport, was born in Vermont. He received a practical business education in the schools of his native State, and in 1863 came to Crawford county, Penn., where he was engaged as a clerk, and also worked in a printing office. In 1880 he came to Smethport, and same year married Miss Mary A. Tracy, a daughter of Edward and Bridget (Riley) Tracy, of Smethport, Penn. In May, 1883, he went to Harrisburg, Penn,, under Hon. J. Simpson Africa, in the office of internal affairs, where he remained until May, 1887, when he returned to Smethport, and has here since remained, engaged in mercantile business. Mr. and Mrs. Nash are members of the Catholic Church.
JOHN E. OLDS, retired, P. O. Farmers Valley, is a son of E. C. and Jane (DeGolia) Olds, and was born in Prattsburg, Steuben Co., N. Y., in 1828. In 1840 his parents removed to what is now Bradford, McKean Co., Penn., where the father engaged in farming, also starting a tannery and shoeshop. In 1876 the parents came to Keating township, and made their home with their son, John E., the balance of their lives; the father's death occurring in 1878 and the mother's in March, 1880. Their children were Robert D.; Sibyl, the late Mrs. Edwin Colegrove, of Bradford; Marilla T., the wife of William McKean, of Nebraska; James, who was married, was a resident of Marshburg, in McKean county, and in blasting a well was killed; John E.; Rachel T., wife of Edwin Storms, of Michigan, and Abel W., of Nebraska, deceased. John E. Olds began his business life in the tan-yard and shoe shop of his father. He remained in Bradford until 1856, when he removed to Keating township and purchased a farm, which he cultivated in connection with his work in the tanyard and shoe shop, for a period of ten or twelve years. In 1862 he purchased the farm where he now resides and erected a new and commodious residence, and now, in the evening of his life, is living at leisure, surrounded by his children and in the enjoyment of the results of his earlier labors. Mr. Olds was married March 7, 1847, to Elizabeth, daughter of Charles Tubbs, of Farmers Valley, and their children were Frederick C., married to Miranda C. Arnold; Hannah F., wife of Orren W. Godfrey, of Olean, N. Y.; Abner R. (deceased); John A., who married Jennie Heinline, and is now a resident of Olean, N. Y., and Charles C, who married L. E. Cooper, also a resident of Olean. N. Y. In politics Mr. Olds is a Republican. Part of his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and part of the United Brethren Church.
F. C. OLDS, merchant and lumberman, Farmers Valley, is a son of J. E. and Elizabeth Olds, and was born in Bradford, McKean Co., Penn., in 1848. J. E. Olds was a native of Steuben county, N. Y., and with his father located at Bradford. F. C. Olds removed with his father to Farmers Valley in 1857, where he was reared. He purchased a steam saw-mill, and is extensively engaged in the lumber trade, in addition to which he is a dealer in general merchandise at Farmers Valley. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., and in politics is a Republican. He is one of the enterprising men of this portion of McKean county, and has been postmaster at Farmers Valley for the past twelve years. Mr. Olds was married December 18, 1872, to Miranda C. Arnold, of Cuba, N. Y., daughter of Gilbert and M. S. Arnold, and born in Stark county, Ill. They havo one child, Ethel M., born in November, 1874.