Abbildungen der Seite

the mother died in 1844, and the father in 1845. F. A. remained with his parents until after his father's death, and then succeeded him in the ownership of the farm. He owns 236 acres of land on which are several oil wells, which have been the source of considerable revenue. In 1888 Mr. Moore built a handsome residence in Bradford, which is now his home. In addition to his other interests he has dealt extensively in lumber, and for ten years was manager for a coal company in Bradford and Lafayette. He was married in March, 1844, to Miss Edith, a native of Gates county, N. Y., and a daughter of Abraham and Dorothy (Vanderhoff) Vandine, the former born in New York, the latter in New Jersey, and both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Moore have two children, Amos F. and Anna, former being a prominent merchant of Bradford, married to Amanda Potter, of Friendship, N. Y. They have two children, Charles and Lillian Maude. In politics Mr. Moore is a Republican.

J. L. MORRIS, farmer and oil producer. P. O. Custer City, is a son of William S. Morris, and a grandson of Simeon M. Morris, a native of New England and a settler in Madison county, N. Y. Simeon M. Morris came to McKean county when a young man, and first located on a tract of land near Eldred. About 1812 he married Miss Louisa McCrea, second cousin of Jennie McCrea of Revolutionary fame, and about 1828 moved his family to Bradford township, where he purchased a farm at $1 per acre. He participated in the war of 1812. and his father was a Revolutionary soldier. He was a licensed exhorter in the Methodist Episcopal Church. His family consisted of four children: William S., deceased; Emeline, wife of Lyman Imus, of Bradford township; Dersy, deceased wife of David DeGolier, and Sarah, who died when young. William S. Morris was born near Ceres township, in McKean county, October 15, 1815, and obtained a good education for that early day. In 1843 he married Miss Eliza P., daughter of Jonathan Seaman, of Westfield, Tioga Co., Penn. He was a farmer and lumberman by occupation, and rafted lumber and shingles down the river. He started in life poor, but by hard labor and frugal habits met with fair success financially. He was identified with the Whig party, and was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He died in 1859; his widow still resides on the homestead. Six of their children are still living: Emma, wife of John A. Bell, of Bradford township; J. L.; Robert, of Stillwater, Mont.; Julia, wife of William Helenbrook, of Bradford township; Charles, of Bradford township; Adeline, wife of I. H. Burton, of Bradford township. J. L. Morris was born on his present farm January 1, 1846. He received the advantages of a limited education, and remained with his parents until twenty-six years of age. Since then he has been principally engaged in farming and lumbering, also in producing oil. In 1876 he married Miss Alice, daughter of John Helenbrook. of Olean, N. Y., and to them have been born five children: William. Minnie, George, Earl and Claud. Mr. Morris is an active member of the Republican party, and has filled various township offices. He is a member of the A. O. U. W., Tununguant Lodge, No. Ill, Bradford.

EUGENE MULLIN, attorney at law, Bradford, a member of the firm of Mullin & Mullin, is one of the most able criminal lawyers in the county of McKean. He is a native of the Empire State, born in Monroe county, a son of Timothy and Catherine (Wallace) Mullin, natives of Ireland, where they were married. Of their seven children, all save one daughter, were born in America. They came to the United States, and first located in Monroe county, N. Y.; then in 1846 moved to McKean county, Penn., and settled in Annin township, where they still live. Mr. Eugene Mullin was reared on a farm, receiving his early education in the schools at Turtle Point, in Annin township. His first occupation for his own account was teaching, but having chosen the profession of law, he entered the office of John C. Backus, at Smethport, and in 1876 was admitted to the bar at that place. He first opened an office at Port Allegany, but removed to Bradford, where he has since lived. He has met with marked success in criminal cases. He makes an able plea before a jury, stating the case with such clearness and force as to generally carry the jury with him. His arguments are convincing, and his own conviction of the justice of his client's claims makes him, for the time, oblivious of all else but the point at issue. Mr. Mullin was married in Cedar Falls, Iowa, in 1864, to Mary C. Harding, a native of Canada, of Scotch descent, daughter of John Harding, and they have a family of five children: T. F. Mullin, John, Wallace, Edward and Francis. Mr. Mullin and his family are members of the Catholic Church. In politics he is a Democrat.

P. MULQUEEN, proprietor of the United States Hotel, Bradford, was born in Ireland in 1848, a son of Thomas and Jane (Hennessy) Mulqueen, also natives of Erin. In 1865 he came to America, learning and working at the boiler maker's trade at Titusville, Penn. He subsequently went to New York State and opened a hotel at Hornellsville, where he remained until 1875, when he came to McKean county and carried on a hotel at Tarport, six years, and in 1877 removed to Bradford, where he has since conducted the United States Hotel, and is, besides, the owner of thirteen producing oil wells. Mr. Mulqueen was married, November 18, 1873, to Miss Rose A. Biggins, and they have had nine children, two of whom are dead. Mr. Mulqueen and his family are members of the Catholic Church.

S. A. MUNDY, of the firm of W. S. Weed & Co.,dealers in lumber, Brad ford, was born in Bradford county, Penn., May 3, 1858, a son of H. F. and Adelaide (Curtis) Mundy, former a native of Broome county, N. Y., and latter of Connecticut. He was reared and educated at Williamsport, and when eighteen years old entered the employ of an extensive lumber firm at Buffalo, N. Y., being their purchasing agent until 1884, when he became associated with the firm of W. S. Weed & Co., in Broome county, N. Y. Having large interests in McKean county, it became necessary to establish an office in Bradford, and in 1888 Mr. Mundy was appointed to represent the firm. They own 18,000 acres of land in McKean county, and give employment to 400 men the year round. Mr. Mundy was married, in 1878, to Elizabeth, daughter of John F. Swartz, and they have two children: Willie A. and Bessie S. Mrs. Mundy is a member of the German Reformed Church. In politics Mr. Mundy is a Republican.

FRANK H. MURDOCH, M. D., Bradford, is a native of Ontario, Canada, born March 5, 1846, a son of John A. and Jean (Hall) Murdoch, natives of Scotland. His father was a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, Scot land, and came to Canada in the employ of the government, becoming ultimately superintendent of public instruction in Lanark county. He died in Canada in 1868. Frank H. Murdoch was reared in Canada, and for a time, after the usual common-school training, attended the collegiate institute at Woodstock, Ontario, then taught school four years. In 1871 he entered the State University at Ann Arbor, Mich., and in 1873 graduated from the medical department of same, when he at once entered upon the practice of his profession at Parker City, Penn. In 1878 he removed to Bradford, where he has become established in a lucrative practice. In 1884 he took a post-graduate course at Post Graduate School, New York City, and then spent several months in Europe, visiting the London, Glasgow and Edinburgh hospitals. Dr. Murdoch is a member of the State, County and American Medical Associations, and is president of the county medical society. He is medical examiner for several insurance companies, and also for the Royal Arcanum; of which he is a member. In politics he is a supporter of the Republican party. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church.

JAMES MURTY, proprietor of the Capital restaurant, Bradford, was born in Union county, Penn., in 1853, a son of Owen and Harriet (Conrad) Murty, of German ancestry, former of whom died in Union county in 1878. Mr. Marty came to Bradford in 1878, and from that time until 1884 was employed as clerk in a restaurant; in the latter year he commenced business for himself, locating at No. 42 Main street, where he has met with good success. Mr. Murty was married in 1879 to Nellie Shields, and they have one child, Charles, Mr. Murty is a member of the A. O. U. W. His wife is a member of the Catholic Church.

W. O. NEELY, druggist, Bradford, was born November 2, 1858, in Columbiana county, Ohio, a son of Dr. William and Eliza (Black) Neely, the former of Irish and the latter of Scotch descent. Mr. Neely's father, who is a physician, now lives in Kansas. W. O. Neely, who was given a good education, graduated from the high school of Stark county, Ohio, in 1877, and in the regular classical course from Mount Union College, in 1880. He then began the study of medicine, and took one course at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore, and coming to Bradford in 1883, he here, in 1886, embarked in the drug business, and at the same time continued his medical studies. He keeps a full line of drugs, giving especial attention to filling physicians' prescriptions.

AUGUSTUS WILLIAM NEWELL was born at Newton, Mass., October 9, 1832, the eldest of the nine children of Artemus and Martha (Mcintosh) Newell, former of whom died, in 1873, in Massachusetts, where he had spent his life. His ancestors in this country were among the first settlers of Massachusetts, coming from England in 1642. They have for generations been farmers, never having aspired to political distinction, but in an early day one was appointed magistrate under George III, and for five generations this office has been held by some member of the family. Both great-grandfathers of Mr. Newell were soldiers in the war of the Revolution. A. W. Newell attended school at Brookline, Mass., until thirteen years of age, when he began to learn civil engineering, and from that time he has made his own way in the world. While studying his profession he clerked for two years in the office of his father (who was a magistrate), and while there acquired the habit of exactness. He had from a child a thirst for knowledge and decided literary tastes, and here he had some opportunity to gratify them. After leaving his father's office, he was employed four years as clerk for different railroad companies, among others being the Boston & Maine, the Erie, and the Atlantic & Great Western. His uncle, Daniel Kingsbury, had bought the property of the United States Land Company, which embraced 200,000 acres of land in McKean and adjoining counties, and when he was twenty years old Mr. Newell gave the money he had saved to his uncle to invest in land in McKean county, and two years later took up his residence in Bradford. He was for thirty-five years a civil engineer, and was in the employ of the Buffalo, Bradford & Pittsburgh Railroad Company, when the line was built through Bradford. His uncle, Daniel Kingsbury, already referred to, was president of and a large stockholder in this company. When the company went into bankruptcy, and stopped running their cars, he could not get his pay, and he finally conceived the idea of hiring an engine and running a train himself. Having obtained permission to do this, he hired a man, and together they mowed the track, with oldfashioned scythes, from Bradford to Carrollton, a distance of twelve miles. He then hired an engine and commenced railroading. He was fireman, engineer, conductor and brakeman, doing all the work himself. He soon made enough to pay the company's indebtedness to him, and here was laid the foundation of his own fortune. The enterprise was also very beneficial to the prosperity of Bradford. What money he had accumulated he invested in lands, and thus began his extensive real-estate business. Since Bradford has become the great oil town and railroad center, he has sold his land, which was laid out in town lots, at a great advance on the purchase price. He still owns 200 town lots, and fifty or sixty dwelling houses in the city, besides other valuable realestate. Mr. Newell was married February 17, 1861, to Anna M. Haynes, who died in 1864, leaving one child, Frederick Haynes Newell, who is now a promising young man in the employ of the United States Government as mining engineer. In 1877 Mr. Newell married Miss Phoebe Lewis, and they have three children: Lewis, Henry Foster and Augustus William. Mr. Newell, though not an aspirant for political honors, has served the public in various relations. His knowledge of engineering enabled him to render important services to the city in organizing a system of water-works, and for eight years he has been a member of the board of water commissioners. He has also filled the office of school director, and was postmaster at Bradford under Lincoln's administration. He was a commissioner from the State of Pennsylvania, by appointment of Gov. Beaver, to the late International Exposition at Paris. He is a member of the American Association of Engineers, and accompanied its excursion to Europe in 1889, where the party was received under the auspices of the English and French engineers, and banqueted in Guildhall, London, and on the Eiffel Tower, Paris. Upon his return home, the Pompelon Club, a permanent intellectual association of Bradford, afforded an opportunity for social welcome by giving a formal reception and banquet in his honor. Mr. Newell has been a member and director of the Bradford board of trade from the date of its organization, and scarcely any public enterprise of importance has been undertaken without his assistance. In measures for fostering the growth of the city his policy has, as in private life, been generous, bat discriminating and quite independent of popular clamor. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and was the first member initiated in the oldest lodge of Bradford, No. 334. For eleven years he has served as a trustee in the Methodist Episcopal Church.

L. W. OAKES, in the real estate business at Bradford, was born in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., May 5,1848, a son of Nicholas and Mary (Rich) Oakes, natives of Massachusetts, former of German and latter of English descent. His father settled in Western New York in 1824, residing there until his death in 1884, after a married life of sixty years. Of his family of ten children, eight grew to maturity. L. W. Oakes obtained a good education, attending Griffith Institute, Erie county, N. Y. His first occupation was that of schoolteacher, which he continued two years, when he began to learn the printer's trade at Little Valley, N. Y., and after completing his apprenticeship worked at same, either as compositor or editor, seven years. In 1876 he came to Bradford in the employ of Ferrin & Weber, and assisted in establishing the Bradford Era. He subsequently went to Salamanca, N. Y., and acted as local editor of the Cattaraugus County Republican for one year, and then engaged in mercantile business until coming to Bradford. In 1879 Mr. Oakes was married at Jamestown, N. Y., to Miss Georgina C. Newell, a daughter of A. T. and Caroline (Rogers) Newell, early settlers of McKean county. Mr. and Mrs. Oakes have three children: Bertha Newell, Jessie Nelson and Ida Beatrice. In politics Mr. Oakes is a Republican. He is a member of the Royal Arcanum.

P. O'BRIEN, repairer of steam-boilers etc., Bradford, is a native of Canada, born January 7, 1854, a son of Martin and Kate (Leary) O'Brien, former a native of Canada, of Irish parentage, latter a native of Ireland. The subject of these lines learned the trade of a machinist in Canada, although he never served an apprenticeship. Being a natural mechanic, he gradually acquired a knowledge of the business. In 1876 he came to the United States, and worked in repair shops until 1884, when he began business for himself in Bradford, and now has a good trade, making a specialty of repairing steam-boilers. He is a self-made man, and has by hard work and energy been successful in business. He is not allied to any church or any political party, but is an independent thinker on all subjects.

THOMAS OSBORNE, constable and tax collector, Bradford, was born in Newark, N. J., May 3, 1852, a son of John and Mary (Smith) Osborne, natives of Ireland, who came to this country in 1841. Thomas learned the trade of lathing and plastering in his native city, and followed that occupation until 1880, when he became interested in the production of oil in the Bradford field. In 1881 he was elected city assessor of Bradford, and in 1883 was elected constable and collector of State and county taxes, which position he holds to this day; in 1885 he was elected county auditor, and served McEean county in that position for three years. He is a prominent member of the Bradford fire department, and has been, from its organization, holding several offices in the department from time to time; he is now director and first assistant foreman of the Exempt Fireman's Association of Bradford. In politics he is a Democrat, and was chairman of the Democratic county committee during the years 1887 and 1888. In 1887 he was married to Miss Sophie H. Reilly, daughter of Patrick and Sophie Reilly, both now dead. Mr. and Mrs. Osborne have one child, Florence, three years old. They are members of the Catholic Church.

ENOS PARSONS, dealer in real estate, one of Bradford's early settlers, was born in Cortland county, N. Y., April 22, 1818, the fifth of ten children of Reuben and Matilda (Morton) Parsons. His early life was spent on his father's farm, and in attending the district school, later becoming a student at Homer College. After leaving school he invested a little money in clocks, which he sold in the country districts, being employed in this way during the Harrison campaign of 1840. In 1846 he came to McKean county, and in 1847 to Bradford, where for eight years he carried on the '' Bradford Hotel.'' He then engaged in mercantile business, also in real estate, and was one of the prime movers in the building of the street car line from Bradford to Tarport, of which he now owns the most of the stock, his son, Newell B., being superintendent. He is one of the largest real estate owners in the city, and now devotes the most of his attention to that business. Mr. Parsons was married in 1849 to Mary Blair, and they have three children: Newell B., Charles and Grace. Mrs. Parsons is a member of the Presbyterian Church. In politics Mr. Parsons is a Republican, and in 1858 he served McKean county as treasurer.

B. D. PATE, painter and paper-hanger, Bradford, was born in Stark county, Ohio, November 22, 1842, a son of William and Maria (Helen) Pate, natives of Ohio, of Irish and English descent, respectively. He was reared in his native county, remaining with his mother (his father having died in 1859) till 1863, when he enlisted, in the defense of his country, in Company F, One, Hundred and Fifteenth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and was afterward transferred to Company F, One Hundred and Eighty-eighth Ohio Volunteer Infantry, in which he served until the close of the war. He then returned to

« ZurückWeiter »