Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

dent; Mrs. O. Brestle, junior vice-president; Mrs. George Griffiths, treasurer; Mrs. W. J. Arney, chaplain; Mrs. Ed. H. Long, secretary; Mrs. D. R. Matthews, conductor; Mrs. C. E. Brown, assistant conductor; Mrs. R. E. Looker, guard, and Mrs. James Landragan, assistant guard. The charter members included the above named with Madams Rose Brennan, Martha Blood, T. Crosson, M. Dowd, Hannah Davis, Elizabeth Frazier, Mary Galvin, F. E. Griffith, Mattie Griffith, Jennie Griffith, Ann Howells, E. Landragan, Mary Looker, Margaret Long, J. Matthews, H. McConnell, Mary E. Mock, Abbie Maher. Ellen Quigley, Harriet Ryan, Maggie Sherry, Rosa Smith, S. E. Stewart, L. Thomas, Misses L. Brestle and Mary Long. The Women's Relief Corps is presided over by Mrs. Harriet M. Ryan, with Mrs. Ella Kelts, secretary.

Gen. Thomas L. Kane Camp, S. of V., No. 237, claims J. L. Mitchell as captain, and Claude B. Gillis, first sergeant.

Patriotic Order Sons of America, was organized November 12, 1888, with the following named officials: Willis Jackson, George W. Neuls, John T. Campbell, J. H. Gillis, John E. Flake, W. H. Morgester, Charles Davis, George Smith, Dennie Davis, F. O. Peterson, G. H. Preston, Webb Evans, Webb Griffith, John W. Griffith. The presidents have been J. T. Campbell and Willis Jackson, while George W. Neuls was serving in 1889. W. H. Morgester, the first secretary, was succeeded in August, 1889, by John W. Griffith. The lodge claims thirty-five members. W. H. Davis was president, and Dennie Davis, secretary, in February, 1890.

In August, 1872, a military company was organized at Kane, with Joseph D. Barnes, captain; Thomas Crosson, lieutenant, and Charles Everson, second lieutenant. The membership was about fifty.

The Columbian League was organized at Kane in April, 1888, with A. A. Traxel, P. C.; T. Diffenderfer, C.; Arthur Morris, V. C.; W. W. Morrison, A. C.; George Wy viel, Sec.; Dr. J. L. Wright, Treas.; R. R. Hughes, Col.; J. McChessney, Chap.; A. N. Russell, Mar.; A. Clemenger and J. G. King, Trustees. This society was organized for mutual benefit, and offered a cheap method of life insurance.

The Loyal Legion claims the following officers: President, Bessie Staples; vice-president, Bessie McDade; recording secretary, Anna Campbell; corresponding secretary, Minnie Parsons; treasurer, Flora Lay; organist, Myrtie Vantassel.

The Kane Catholic Total Abstinence Society was organized in 1873, with

John H. Butler, president; McKean, treasurer, and James Landragan,

marshal.

Kane E. A. U. was organized August 4, 1885, with W. M. Bartlett, chancellor; R. L. Earl, advocate; M. W. Moffitt, president; Mrs. S. B. Thomas, vice-president; Mrs. L. M. Meese, auxiliary; Thomas J. Malone, secretary, and W. H. Davis, treasurer.

Encampment of Knights of Malta at Kane was named in honor or J. T. Griffith. F. B. Booth is E. C., and G. A. Robinson, C.

Branch No. 13, C. M. B. A., was organized in November, 1889, with thirty-eight members. The officers installed were: President, Peter J. Daly; first vice-president, James T. Kelly; second vice-president, Thomas Dwyer; recording secretary, Thomas J. Dolphin; assistant recording secretary, P. J. Sullivan; financial secretary, M. J. Daly; marshal, Patrick Curran; guard, Peter J. Crosson; trustees, John H. Garry, M. O'Shea, James P. Remond, P Curran, B. Crowley.

Miscellaneous.—J. D. Leonard was postmaster at Kane until the appointment of O. G. Kelts in 1886.

In the fall of 1889 a number of citizens met in O. B. Lay's office and organized what is known as the Kane Cemetery Association. At the meeting a committee consisting of Messrs. Joshua Davis, C. H. Kemp and M. W. Moffitt was appointed and instructed to procure the ground. This committee at once commenced work and purchased six acres of Erick Erickson at $100 per acre. Mrs. E. D. Kane donated four acres, making in all ten acres. This land has been fenced in. The services of Alson Rogers, of Warren, were secured, who did the work reasonable, and did it well. A part of the ground has been laid out in lots, and the committee are now ready•to dispose of them. The cemetery is situated about half a mile south of the borough, and a graded road leads to and through the grounds.

The location of the town in the wilderness, near where the pioneers of \Villiamsville settled long ago, is excellent. When Gen. Kane came in later years and looked up from the valley of the Clarion he pictured the tree-covered hills, partially cleared of the forest, and in the openings a thousand happy farm homes. In after years, when the railroad sought a way out of the valley and its builders determined to cross the high divide, he selected the summit for a town site and dreamed great things of its future, seeing in fancy the porticoed houses of a happy people extending over the plateau and stretching away to the valleys. The pioneer dream has been practically fulfilled. Omit ting its poetic features the location is all that he pictured, and more than that, for conveniences of life which were not known a decade ago are found here, and great industries, which provide work for the industrious, take the place of fancy's castles. The town is an example of what enterprise may accomplish in a short space of time. It is very young, but very precocious, and the marker of its progress has work daily, for every day adds either a small or large contingent to the mercantile or manufacturing circle and many persons to the community. What history may say of this progressive town at the close of this century depends much on its residents of the present time.

CHAPTER XXII.

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES—BRADFORD TOWNSHIP AND
CITY OF BRADFORD.

JAMES L. ADAMS, manager of the Bradford Beef Company, Bradford, was born in Ossian, Livingston Co., N. Y., October 31, 1847, a son of Leonard and Amy (Crocker) Adams. He left school and served as private in the Union army, Second Army Corps, Third Brigade, Third Division, One Hundred and Twentieth New York State Regiment, Company I, from September 2, 1864, until the end of the war; was discharged June 15, 1865, at Kingston, N. Y., when he returned to school and graduated from the Rushford Academy, Allegany county, N. Y., in 1865; then attended Eastman's commercial school of Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and graduated in March, 1866, and then was employed for a time as bookkeeper, when he began the manufacture of cheese, which he continued until 1871. He then sold out his business and moved to McKean ■ county, Penn., where he was employed as superintendent and manager of the cheese factory at Kendall. In 1874 he accepted a position as bookkeeper at Bradford, which he held until 1886, when he became manager of the Bradford Beef Company, which was established by Swift & Co., of Chicago, Ill., in 1883. The business of the company has doubled since Mr. Adams became its manager, and they now sell three car loads of beef per week at Bradford. Mr. Adams was married July 4, 1870, to Miss Emma M. Tyler, of Farmersville, N. Y., and they have two children: Myrtie M. and Carrie L. In politics Mr. Adams is independent. He is a member of the Knights of St. John and Malta and the Knights of Pythias. The parents of Mr. Adams are native-born Americans of English descent; those of Mrs. Adams, James and Malona (Clark) Tyler, are also native-born Americans, and reside at Farmersville, N. Y., where the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Adams was solemnized. Although regular attendants at church, they are not members of any congregation.

H. H. ADSIT, superintendent of the Bradford Oil Company, Bradford, was born in Chautauqua county, N. Y., January 22, 1841, a son of Albert G. and Genette (Montgomery) Adsit, who were natives of Saratoga county, N. Y. The subject of these lines, who is the youngest son in a family of four sons and four daughters, was reared in his native county, and in his boyhood attended the common schools, later becoming a student at Fredonia Academy. In 1858 he began to learn the trade of machinist, and served an apprenticeship of three years. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he enlisted in the Forty-fourth New York Volunteer Infantry, known as the "Ellsworth Zouaves," being selected to represent Chautauqua county. The regiment was made up from the entire State, each county and each ward in the cities furnishing one man, who was to be at least five feet ten inches in height, well-built and between the ages of twenty-one and thirty. Mr. Adsit was appointed orderly sergeant of his company. He served faithfully until the expiration of his term of service, and was discharged in 1864; he was wounded twice—neither time seriously. After his discharge he returned to Chautauqua county, and worked at his trade a year. In 1865 he entered into the oil business, and in 1872 was employed by an English company to go to the West India Islands, taking with him men and tools. Returning to Pennsylvania in 1874, in 1876 he came to Bradford, where he has since been superintendent of the Bradford Oil Company. Mr. Adsit was married in 1878 to Miss Frances Nevens, daughter of William Nevens, of Titusville. This union has been blessed with three children, viz.: Grace, Bessie and Howard. In politics he is a Republican. He is a member of the Veteran League, of which he is lieutenant-colonel. He and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church.

C. P. ALLING, M. D., Bradford, was born in Norwalk, Huron Co.. Ohio, February 19, 1838, a son of P. and Eliza L. (Gibbs) Ailing, former a native of New York and latter of Connecticut. His father was clerk of Huron county ten years. C. P. is the second in a family of eight children, was given good educational advantages, and after leaving the common schools attended the Western Reserve College, from which he graduated in 1856. He then took a three years' course at Kenyon (Ohio) College, and afterward taught school one year at Milan, Ohio. He began the study of medicine at Norwalk with Dr. John Tifft, completing same with Dr. Charles Merrill, of Cleveland, in the meantime attending lectures at the Western Homoeopathic College, of Cleveland; received his degree in 1862, and entered upon the practice of his profession at Lima. The following summer the Doctor enlisted in one of the regiments formed for the defense of the southern border of the State, serving as assistant surgeon, and was discharged in December following. He practiced at Milan three years, and then, in January, 1867, moved to Dunkirk, N. Y., where he remained ten years. While there he served for a time as city physician, was chairman of the board of health, and an active member of the New York Homeopathic Medical Society. In 1877 he moved to Bradford, where he remained four years, and in 1881 went to Buffalo, but two years later re turned to Bradford, where he has since lived. While in Buffalo he served as city physician and was also surgeon for a railroad company. For five years he has been chairman of the Bureau of Microscopy and Histology in the National Medical Association. While in Buffalo he perfected the "Triumph Inhaler," which seems destined to revolutionize the treatment of all diseases of the head, throat and lungs. The Doctor now has a large practice, which is mostly confined to his office, and has been very successful in his treatment of disease. Dr. Ailing was married in March, 1863, to Miss Ruhamah Wakeman, daughter of W. H. Wakeman, and they have two children: Mary E. (wife of Capt. A. A. Fengar) and H. W. (now a medical student in the office of his father.) The Doctor and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church. In politics he is a Republican.

ABRAHAM ANDERSON is a prominent flour and feed dealer in Bradford, formerly of Lafayette, same county, where he was postmaster for thirteen years. He also owns a farm of 200 acres, and is largely interested in the production of oil, working ten wells and receiving a royalty on a number of others. Mr. Anderson was born in England, and came with his parents to America in 1828. They settled in McKean county, being among its first settlers, at a time when it was mostly inhabited by Indians and wild animals. His father died in 1832; his mother died at the age of one hundred and three, retaining her mental faculties till the time of her death, December 3, 1889. Of their seven sons,' Joseph, James, Thomas, John, Isaac, William and Abraham,three are living: Isaac, in Erie county, Penn., and James and Abraham, in McKean county. Themother was a cousin of John C. Calhoun, the eminent statesman. Mr. Anderson has served as justice of the peace and deputy sheriff of his county. By special act of the legislature he was appointed State road commissioner, in which capacity he served six years. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Equitable Aid Union. He was married August 12, 1852, to Sarah Ann Elizabeth Beeman, and they have had four children: Burton J. (killed in a railroad disaster), Jesse E., Eva (wife of Charles Welch, of Newton, Has.), and Anna A. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a Republican, j ,

J. L. ANDREWS, proprietor of the Hotel Brunswick, Bradford, was born January 19, 1842. He was reared in Bradford county, Penn., and enlisted in 1802 in the One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvannia Volunteer Infantry, Company D, serving his term of enlistment. He has lived in Bradford since 1875, and has been one of the most active in the promotion of her public interests. He was one of the most prominent movers in the organization of the Bradford Fire Department, and was elected its first chief, serving in that capacity five years, and still enjoys the reputation of having been one of the best chiefs, the department has had. He is now serving his third term as a member of the select council of Bradford. In politics Mr. Andrews is a Republican, and he is a member of Bradford Post, No. 141, G. A. R. He was married in Jamestown, N.Y., in 1870, to Miss Blanche, daughter of Col. James T. Henry, and they have two children: James and Blanche Broder.

S. AUERHAIM, dealer in dry goods, millinery, etc., Bradford, is a native of Germany, born November 28, 1838. He was reared in his native country, and his father, Moses Auerhaim, being a merchant, he, when but a child, began to learn the business, serving a regular apprenticeship of three years. In 1850 he came to America, and in New York learned the cigar-maker's trade. He was obliged to rely on himself for support, and as he had not money enough to start the dry goods business, for some time he gave his attention to the manufacture and sale of cigars. He remained in New York until 1866, when he removed to Petroleum Centre, Penn., and there embarked in the dry goods business; later he went to Erie, and from there to Oil City, where he remained five years. In 1879 he located in Bradford, where he now has one of the best dry goods stores in the place. Mr. Auerhaim married Miss Fannie Kuntz, and they have seven children: Selina, Ida, Bertha. Emma, Clara, Samuel and Moses Martin. In politics Mr. Auerhaim is a Republican. He is a member of the Jewish Reformed Church, of which he is a trustee. He is also a member of the I. O. C. F.

HARVEY S. BAKER, M. D., one of the oldest physicians in Bradford, settled in McKean county in an early day, and has lived to see the wonderful changes in the county in the last half century. When he first came to the county, and for many years thereafter, his practice extended for twenty uiiles from his home, in all directions, and his professional visits were mostly made on horseback, he carrying his own drug store in his saddle-bags. He has had an extensive practice both in Pennsylvania and New York, and is one of the best-known physicians in the county. Dr. Baker is a native of New York, born May 26, 1827, a son of Thomas and Abigail (Shaw) Baker. His grandfather, Abner Baker, was a soldier in the colonial army during the war of the Revolution. Dr. Baker graduated from the Medical Department of the State University of Michigan, March 29, 1855. He was married September 26, 1S60. to Nancy J. Comstock. who died in 1S7S, leaving four children: C. L., R. N.*, Ernestine and Nancy J. February 23. 1881, Dr. Baker married Nellie M.. daughter of Emanulus O. and Lydia (Starkwether) Dickinson, and they have one child, Leala D. Dr. Baker is a member of the Methodist Epis copal Church.

J. W. BAKER, one of the prominent business men of Bradford, was born

« ZurückWeiter »