Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

M. Nye, George W. Mitchell and E. E. Sherman. These officers were reelected for 1890.

Kendall Circle No. 74, Protected Home Circle, is presided over by E. R. Sherman, with Ellen Geary, vice-president; Mrs. M. Moseley, chaplain; J. J. Gonter, G.; Emma J. Gonter, accountant; C. D. Longfellow, secretary; Mrs. Martha Sherman, treasurer; J. T. Graham, porter; Mrs. L. Whitman, watch, and Dr. J. R. McCartey, medical examiner.

Equitable Aid Union No. 249 was organized December 28, 1885, and is presided over by D. Keibler, with Dora Boyer, vice-president, and Mrs. L. Hathaway, secretary. The remaining offices are filled by H. R. Wigner, D. Huntly, Mrs. C. Withery, Mrs. L. Dorrance, Mrs. Wilda Rice, Mrs. Alice Smith, Myrtle Hathaway, Cora Montrose and O. B. Coleman. There are 158 members belonging to this union.

CORYDON TOWNSHIP.

Corydon township occupies the northwest corner of McKean county. Here Corydon run flows west by north through the northern sections, while the two branches of Sugar run meander everywhere through the southwest and center, and flow together near the west line, whence the main stream rushes down to join the Allegheny river in Warren county, south of Cornplanter's run, which also rises here. On the divide between Willow and Quaker creeks (heads of the Corydon, in the northeast corner), an elevation of 2,210 feet above tide is recorded; while on the Warren county line, where Sugar run enters the Allegheny valley, the elevation is only 1,300 feet. Geologist Asburner, speaking of this section in 1878, states that the number of houses and shanties there could be counted on the fingers, and denied the assertion of local geologists in the matter of coal beds, asserting that never could coal be profitably mined here. He further termed it the "Barren Township," but acknowledged the existence of plateaus, to which he ascribed the general character of those in Lafayette township.

The population of Corydon township in 1880 was 154. In 1888 there were fifty Republican and thirteen Democratic votes recorded, on which total — sixty-three—the population was placed at 315.

The seated tax-payers of Corydon township in 1836-37 were Edwin Adams, James Anderson (a trader), William Brown, John Brown, James L. Baker, Albert and David Cargill, William Care (tavern-keeper), Benjamin Chamberlain, Chamberlain & Hall (saw-mill owners), Alfred Forbes (merchant), Andrew Flatt, Amos Flatt, R. M. Truman, J. W. Field (tavern-keeper), Seth W. Green, Walter Guy, William Gibbs, Comfort Hamlin, Orrin Hook, John Haseltine, Abel Morrison, Rice Morrison, Jacob McCall. Morrison, Stephens & Co. (saw-mills), Moses Parmlee, Zelotes Parmlee, Juri Perry, B. H. Pike (tradesman), Amos Patterson (merchant), Abiel Rolfe (tavern-keeper), Walter and George Seaman, Perry Shannon (saw-mill owner), Clark Stearns, F. H. Tracy, Jonathan Thompson, Ben. Tome, Isaac Williams, H. N. Wheeler (store-keeper and saw-mill owner), John Wait (store-keeper) and John E. Woodbeck (trader); A. Foster was the assessor... .Brownell, now of Tionesta, worked in Conover's saw-mill, at the head of Sugar Run, in 1857. This mill was erected in 1854-55, while the mills operated by the Templetons, south of the townline, were erected much earlier.

Early in 1843 a colony of German Catholics purchased a large tract of land in Warren county, near the east line of McKean, and established a commercial village, and in 1843 a post-office was existing at Kinzua.

The Corydon well, on Willow Creek, one-half mile up stream from the Allegheny, was in existence in 1850.

[graphic]
[ocr errors]

The township officers elected in February, 1890, are as follows: Supervisors, Moses Johnson, James Hinton; school directors, C. D. Seaman, B. D. Tome: collector, H. Schobey; constable, H. Schobey; justice of the peace, E. S. Payne; town clerk, Peter Parsons; auditor, B. D. Tome; judge of election, Philip Tome; inspectors, J. Rogers, Fred Flynn.

CHAPTER XII.

ANNIN TOWNSHIP—CERES TOWNSHIP.

Annin Township Topography And Natural History—Population—OfFicers Of The Township, 1890—Turtle Point—Newell Creek—Churches And Cemetery.

Ceres Township Topography—Oil Wells—PopulationOfficers Of The

Township, 1890—First Justice Of The PeaceEarly Settlers—ResiDent Tax-payers, 1836-37—Re-survey Of The Northern State Line.

Ceres Village First Arrivals—Post-officeMerchants Schools— Churches—Military—Railroads—Industries.

ANNIN TOWNSHIP, south of Ceres, and north of Liberty, is the home of Annin Creek, which rises in the heights north of Annin, and enters the Allegheny river at Turtle point. Two Mile creek rises southeast of Annin, and flowing southwest enters the Allegheny below Port Allegany. Bell run, mentioned in the sketch of Ceres township, rises in the northeast corner; Newell Creek flows southwest through the northwest corner, and Rock run parallels Annin Creek northwest of the divide. Open Brook flows north through the southwest corner, where it enters the main river, which marks the northeast line of this corner. The high land one mile northwest of Annin is 2,345 feet above tide; two miles southwest an elevation of 2,340 exists, and two and one-half miles due south, near the Port road, a plateau 2,300 feet above tide was measured. In fact an average elevation of 2,200 feet for summits, marks this township, the lowest point being the mouth of Rock run, 1,435 feet. Northwest of the Smethport anticlinal are two small areas of Olean conglomerate, and between Annin and Two Mile creeks two more, but beyond such evidences of coal, there were*o minerals discovered up to 1879.

The population of Annin township in 1880 was 1,089. The vote in 1888 was 109 Republican, 117 Democratic, 10 Prohibitionist and five Labor Unionist, or 241, multiplied by five, equals 1,205, the estimated population.

The officers of this township elected in February, 1890, are as follows: Justice of the peace, S. R. June; school directors, L. E. Bishop and F. K. Winship for three years, and John J. Cawley for one year; constable, Joseph Mullin; judge of election, H. A. June; inspectors of election, Jerome Robinson, H. M. Harder; supervisors, J. J. McCarty, James Hooley; auditors, H. M. Harder for one year, Thomas McGavisk for two years, and Eugene McCarey for three years; collector, L. J. Phenix; town clerk, Lorenzo Hodges.

Turtle Point was the name given to the present village in 1836, when Henry Bryant, an Olean lawyer, erected the large saw-mill there. When cleaning out the mill-race the workmen found a large turtle buried deep in the mud. A few remnants of the old village were to be seen in 1885, although the new village was transferred to the corners nearer the railroad. Bryant invested $11,000 in this milling concern, but the panic coming on swept it away. Later he took Enoch Fobes as partner and James H. Wright as miller. In 1844 S. A. Backus purchased Bryant's interests, leaving the original owner to begin life anew in California.

Newell Creek and neighborhood were settled about fifty years ago. Among the names of old families are John and William Crawley, Ed. McMahon, Tim. Mullin, Marty and Patrick Driscoll, George Oliver, Patrick Masterson, Con. Doyle, John O'Connor, Jerry Riley, Michael McAuliffe, Philip Cooney, Thomas Dunn, Richard and Dennis Delany, Thomas Bizell, W. M. Londrigan, James Harkin.

St. Mary's Church was established here in 1847, and Rev. J. J. Burns was resident priest in 1850, when the old church was erected and dedicated by Bishop O'Connor. Fathers Dean and Galligan were missionary priests in 1847-48, and Father Smith was resident pastor from October, 1848, to June 16, 1850. In 1853 Rev. Coady succeeded Father Burns, who was followed by Father Madigan in September, 1856, and he by Father Murrill in December. 1866. Father P. J. Patterson, V. F., came in September, 1868. In 1869 he commenced the present church building, which was dedicated in February, 1872, by Bishop Mullen. The congregation comprises 150 families. The church at Newell Creek may be said to have absorbed old St. Mary's above Smethport, leaving the southern members alone to the new parish of Smeth port. The pastor died December 21, 1889. Father Cosgrove is successor of the venerable Father Patterson as pastor of St. Mary's parish, including Port Allegany, Austin, Costello, Duke Centre and other places.

The Annin Creek Humane Society was the name given to a cemetery association in June, 1851, of which D. Buckley, I. H. Holcomb, S. Foote, S. D. Cooper, Theron Cooper, J. P. Evans, Jr., Joshua D. Knapp, J. C. Evans, N. B. Foote, Joseph Hodges, C. Graham, J. H. Knapp and J. P. Evans were members.

The Methodist Church was incorporated in September, 1867, on petition of Joseph Merrick, Niles Kinney, C. H. Bessee, G. F. Tubbs, H. M. Harder, M. S. Hadley, S. H. Kinney and A. H. Bessee.

The First Baptist Church was incorporated March 21, 1887, on petition of S. L. Holcomb, Eli B. Buckley, L. H. and F. K. Winship and G. O. Buckley.

The First Regular Baptist Church of Turtle Point was incorporated June 3, 1887. The subscribers were Theron Cooper, D. C. Winship, S. L. Holcomb, Albertus Cooper and Darius Simpson.

CERES TOWNSHIP.

Ceres township occupies the northeast corner of the county. King's run of the Oswayo runs in a general northern course through the center; Bell's run parallels it in the center of the east half; Oswayo Creek enters in the northeast corner, flows northwestwardly to Ceres for two and a quarter miles, then crosses the State line, and eventually loses itself in the Allegheny river. The head-waters of Newell Creek are found in the southwest, and of Barden creek in the west center. Taylor's run and several smaller streams feed the creeks named. The highest measured elevation is 2,245 feet, one mile southwest of Glenn, at the head of Rock run, and the lowest point, 1,443, near State Line depot. The divide between King's and Bell's runs shows a general elevation of 2,200 feet, declining to 1,450 south of Ceres. East of Bell's run it ranges from 2,200 feet in north and south extremes to 1,500 in the

« ZurückWeiter »