Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small]

bears the family motto: “Tenez le vray.' From the Townley collection the copy passed to the library of Lord Amherst of Hackney, whose library was dispersed by sale in 1909.

One copy of this volume in the British Museum Library bears an alleged autograph of Shakespeare, of which the authenticity is in doubt. A second copy in the same library has a genuine autograph of Ben Jouson.

Purchased by The Trustees, November, 1909.

[ocr errors]

BIRTHROOM PORTION OF THE HOUSE.

:0:

THE KITCHEN. 347:-Eight-day clock, mahogany case. Thomas Sharp of Stratford-upon-Avon, maker.

Purchased at the sale of the effects of ROBERT

BELL WHELER, (historian of Stratford)

in 1870.

348.—An ancient oak dresser.

Presented by MR. EDWARD ADAMS, Stratford

upon-Avon, 24 April 1865.

BIRTHROOM. 349.—Two carved oak coffers sold out of the Birthroom, Shakespeare's House, at a public auction, 16 September, 1847.

Purchased from MR. J. RochELLE THOMAS,

London, February 10, 1900.

350.—A carved oak desk-box, formerly in the College, Stratford-upon-Avon. For the College at Stratford-on-Avon, See No. 77.

Presented by Miss AnNE WHELER.

4

THE ROOM AT THE REAR OF THE BIRTHROOM.

1

351.—THE

STRATFORD PORTRAIT-A portrait of Shakespeare in oils, on canvas, generally known as the Stratford Portrait.

This portrait which represents the Poet in the same costume as in the monumental effigy in the Church, seems to have been in the possession of the donor's family since 1758.

Presented by WILLIAM OAKES HUNT, 1864.

352.-A portrait, in oils, of William Oakes Hunt, painted by J. F. Ward, 1873. See No. 198

Presented by JOHN J. NASON, M.B., J.P., Stratford

upon-Avon, November 1894.

THE GARDEN DOOR. 353.—Two ancient oak pillars with brackets, the carving representing a crosier with a lily (emblem of the Virgin) suspended from it, and three crowned heads, supposed to represent the three Wise Men of the East who travelled to visit our Saviour at Bethlehem.

These pillars and brackets supported the upper storey of the north wing of a building called “Avon Bank” (taken down in 1866) adjoining the Churchyard. The old house seems to have occupied the site of the house of St. Mary in Old Town,” mentioned in the Stratford Corporation Records, p. 271, No. 202, 14 Henry IV.

Presented by CHARLES E. FLOWER, Avon Bank,

1866.

CENTRE OF THE GARDEN PATH.

:0:

354.—The base of the pillar of the mediaval Stone Cross which stood on the open ground beneath the old Market House at the north end of High Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, until that structure was demolished in 1821.

The stone was at one time in the possession of Captain James Saunders, the Stratford antiquary, and from his representatives it passed to Mr. Thomas Heritage, Church St., who sold it to the Birthplace Trustees, 7 March, 1861.

[graphic][merged small]

View of the Ancient Market House, by Captain James Saunders.

« ZurückWeiter »