Abbildungen der Seite
[blocks in formation]

Edmund Plowden,

Francis Deakins. 1. George Murdock, 4. Perry Spencer,

7. Nicholas B. Moore, 2. John Gilpin, 5. Gabriel Duvall,

8. Littleton Dennis. 3. Martin Kershner, 6. William M. Robertson,

[blocks in formation]

John Morrison, 1. Dennis Smelt,

Henry Graybill.

2. David Blackshear.


John Coburn, 1. John Pope,

Charles Scott.

2 Isaac Shelby


Daniel Smith, 1. John Locke.

Robert Love.

The House of Representatives, on which devolved the choice between Jefferson and Burr, voted to commence balloting on Wednesday, the eleventh day of February, to attend to no other business while the election was pending, and not to adjourn until a choice was effected. Seats were provided upon the floor for the President and the Senators, but during the act of balloting the galleries were cleared of spectators, and the doors were closed. Upon the first ballot, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky and Tennessee, (8,) voted for Thomas Jefferson; New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, Delaware and South Carolina, (6,) voted for Aaron Burr; and the votes of Vermont and Maryland, (the representatives of which were divided,) were given blank. The balloting was continued, and the House remained in session, nominally without adjournment, for seven days, during which one hundred and four members were present. Some of them were so infirm or indisposed that it was necessary to provide beds for them, and one member, who was quite ill, was attended by his wife. On the thirty-sixth ballot, which was taken on the afternoon of the seventeenth, the votes of Delaware and South Carolina were given blank, while those of Vermont and Maryland were given to Mr. Jefferson, and elected him. The Vice-Presidency, of course, devolved upon Mr. Burr.


Tuomas Jefferson was re-elected President, receiving 162 of the 176 votes cast. This comprised the entire electoral vote of all the States, except Connecticut, Delaware and Maryland; the two first of which threw their full vote for Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, and the last gave nine votes for Mr. Jefferson and two for Mr. Pinckney. George Clinton was elected Vice-President by the same majority and vote, Rufus King receiving fourteen votes. The Electors

[blocks in formation]


Timothy Newell.

James Sullivan,
1. Elbridge Gerry,
2. John Whiting,
3. James Bowdoin,
4. John Bacon,
5. John Huthorne,
6. William Heath,

7. Thomas Kitteridge,
8. John Woodman,
9. James Winthrop,
10. Charles Turner,
11. Edward Upham,
12. Thomas Fillebrown,

13. James Warren,
14. John Farley,
15. John Davis,
16. Jonathan Smith,
17. Josiah Deane.

Constant Taber, 1. James Aldrich,


James Helme. 2. Benjamin Remington.

Jonathan Trumbull,

Lewis B. Sturges.
1. John Treadwell,
4. Asher Miller,

6. Sylvester Gilbert, 2. David Smith, 5. David Daggett,

7. Joshua Huntington. 3. Oliver Ellsworth,

Sylvester Dening,

John Cramer. 1. James Fairlie,

7. Ezra Thompson, 13. Stephen Miller, 2. Thomas Brooks, 8. Jonas Earl,

14. Adam Comstock, 3. Cornelius Bergen, 9. John Wood,

15. Albert Pawling, 4. Matthias B. Hildreth, 10. Joseph Ellicott, 16. Abraham Bancker, 5. John Herring,

11. Conrad I. Elmendorff, 17. Isaac Sargent. 6. William Floyd, 12. Henry Quackinboss,

NEW JERSEY. Solomon Freligh, 1. Alexander Carmichael, 3. Phineas Manning, 2. Moore Furman,

4. Jacob Hufty,

Thomas Newbold.

5. William Rassell, 6. Abijah Smith.

Charles Thompson,

Casper Shaffner, Jr. 1. William Montgomery, 7. William Brooke, 13. Henry Spering, 2. John Bowman, 8. Jacob Hostetter,

14. John Minor, 3. Matthew Lawler, 9. Thomas Long,

15. James Boyd, 4. William Brown, 10. Jacob Bonnett,

16. John Hamilton, 5. Robert McMullen,

11. Francis Swaine, 17. Peter Frailey, 6. George Smith, 12. James Montgomery, 18. Nathaniel Irish.


Thomas Fisher.

Maxwell Bines, 1. George Kennard.


John Parnham, 1. Joseph Wilkinson, 2. John Gilpin, 3. John Johnson,

Tobias E. Stansbury.

4. William Gleaves,
5. Edward Johnson,
6. Perry Spencer,

7. John Tyler,
8. Ephraim K. Wilson,
9. Frisby Tilghman.

Richard Evers Lee,
1. John Goodrich,

9. George Wythe, 2. Thomas Read,

10. Hugh Holmes, 3. Edward Pegram,

11. John Taylor, 4. Creed Taylor,

12. James Dailey, 5. William H. Cabell, 13. Larkin Smith, 6. John Taliaferro, Jr., 14. James Allen, 7. George Penn,

15. John Minor, 8. Richard Brent,

Richard Field.

16. Archibald Stuart, 17. William Ellzey, 18. James McFarlane, 19. William Dudley, 20. John Preston, 21. Mann Page, 22. William McKinley. 4. William Cahoon.

[blocks in formation]

James Madison was elected President, having received the entire electoral vote of Vermont, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Georgia, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Ohio, and 13 of the 19 votes of New York, 9 of the 11 of Maryland, and 11 of the 14 of North Carolina—in all 122 of the 175 votes cast; George Clinton received 6 votes of New York, and the balance (47) were given to Charles Cotesworth Pinckney. George Clinton was elected Vice-President, receiving 113 votes, while Rufus King had 47, James Madison 3, and James Monroe, 3. The Electors were :

Jeremiah Smith,

Timothy Farrar.
1. Oliver Peabody,
3. Samuel Hale,

5. Robert Wallace. 2. Benjamin West, 4. Jonathan Franklin,


Israel Smith, 1. Jonas Galusha, 2. James Tarbox,

Samuel Shepardson.

3. John White,

[blocks in formation]
« ZurückWeiter »